Ford Ranger T6 facelift set to debut next week – public ‘experiential test drive’ event on Oct 9-11 at 1Utama

ford ranger experiential test drive

Last week, the Ford Ranger T6 facelift was sighted on a transporter leaving Port Klang, which hinted that the pick-up’s launch was imminent. Now, it has been confirmed that the Ranger FL’s Malaysian debut will take place next week, as an announcement of a public test drive event – and that garnered from a brief YouTube video clip – suggests.

Ford has announced that the truck will be showcased at the ‘Tough Done Smarter Experiential Test Drive’, which will be held at the Central Park Avenue outdoor area of the new wing in 1Utama on Oct 9-11. No advance bookings are required, and admission is free.

Visitors will be able to experience all the capabilities of the refreshed Ranger at the event – each visitor will be paired with a professional driver, who will lead them through a course that simulates tough driving environments – challenges such as water wading and navigating steep terrain are in the mix.

Aside from demonstrating its on- and off-road capabilities, the event will also highlight the pick-ups technologies, such as Forward Collision Warning and the SYNC2 connectivity system.

Ford Ranger Facelift BKK 2015 16

The facelifted Ranger had its world premiere at the Bangkok Motor Show in March, and exterior changes include a new face, now featuring a bold, chrome trapezoidal grille that isn’t too dissimilar from the F-150 Raptor’s in shape. New too is the headlamp design, upgraded to projector units, and there’s also a new hood with strakes in the middle.

Three Duratorq TDCi engine versions should be available here – no output changes to the P5AT 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq, which continues on with 197 hp and 470 Nm of torque, though the ZSD-422 2.2 litre four-cylinder Duratorq TDCi’s output has been bumped up to 158 hp and 385 Nm from the 148 hp and 375 Nm found on the pre-facelift. The high-efficiency derivative of the ZSD-422 also gets a slight power hike, now offering 129 hp, six more than now.

Mechanical revisions include the introduction of stop-start tech – which is claimed to offer improve fuel efficiency of around 3.5% – and a longer final drive ratio. Transmission choices remain as before, the 6R80 six-speed auto and MT82 six-speed manual being the options. The Ranger also gets electric power steering, which is a first in the segment.

Indicative pricing hasn’t yet been revealed, but expect a bit of a hike – it was intimated back in August that pricing for the facelift was set to be around 3% higher than currently, but the Ringgit’s performance since then might see a price increase beyond that. Guess we’ll find out next week.

2015 Ford Ranger T6 facelift world debut, Bangkok Motor Show

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• KevinChia on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:29 pm

How is the maintenance for this pickup truck? And the warranty? Is it the same as the other Ford cars? Do we have to wait long period to get the spareparts etc? Im interested with this new ranger.. Toyota should launch their hilux as soon as possible..

• Diesel on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:45 pm

No worries over toyota hilux. They launch at what moment also people will buy especially in sarawak. But personally I would go for Isuzu instead of all these because conclusion of my research, Isuzu J engines still deliver best durability & efficiency.

• Ford 3 months Wait on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:32 am

Be prepared to wait for 3 months for any part, no matter how small. And the best part, they will hold your car for 3 months.
      if this is your only car, you will cry

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:59 pm

I am a Ford owner.
    1) Have you guys tried calling Ford AutoConnexion to service your car?
    2) They never pick up your calls with automated operator.
    3) You need to book an appointment as they do not accept walk in customer.
    4) I called yesterday and their earliest appointment is ten days away.
    5) I will never buy a Ford again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
    • superbird #43 on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:43 pm

you’ve got sime darby auto connexion to blame, not ford.
      ford is an auto manufaturer while sime darby is the agent (crony) responsible for the distribution of ford vehicles in msia.
      sori to bust the bubble… :)

• waters on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:51 am

Good morning!

There is no bubble to burst.

As a consumer, I don’t care who is behind the scenes. I’m buying a Ford not a Sime Darby car.

So wiwiwiwiw’s concerns are valid.

• beware on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:48 pm

100% with you!

• SamLoo on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:29 pm

diu lo how my HILUX HILAT TRD GONNA SELL??

MY MITSUBISHI TRITON ALSO NEED TO GIVE MORE DISCOUNT

• policeman on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:28 pm

For work go for Hilux.
      For work/leisure go for Triton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • SamLoo on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:02 am

that tliton so ugly you want me to buy? seriously?

• policeman on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:17 am

Yes tliton is do ugly like your face.
          Triton look the nices amount all, it looks like more ordinary SUV not like the bulky lorry pick-up truck.

• Drust on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Dude don’t la personal attack. Design is very subjective. You found it nice but others can find it ugly. I personally found it ugly, the previous model looks better. The new Triton just not outstanding in their design maybe this is the ordinary that you talking about.

I owner a D-Max thus I will say they are the best! :D

• SamLoo on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:50 pm

wa your eyes sure got problem.

your wife sure like rosmah!!!

• 4X4 Doc on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Dream to buy 4X4
    But is it OK just drive to Office?
    What Brand shall suggest?

• policeman on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:35 am

Drive to Office, Triton.
      SUV look, comfort and more useful accessories.

• beware on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Beware of Ford after sales service. SDAC is bad. like really bad.

• Wee fuk yew on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:50 am

Owned 3 rangers as far back as 1999 and found them to be reliable if you maintain them properly” that goes for most cars” Never experienced a breakdown unlike my other cars.I find the normal wear and tear items , I to be reasonably priced and yes the rangers are built tough. Dont know about SDAC, but the service from other dealers are ok. Dont expect Lexus level of service experience and you would be ok.And yes I would consider buying the latest ranger when the need to replace my current ranger arise.

• Letstorque on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:33 am

Went to Ford yesterday.

They can’t confirm on price and specs.

2.2XLT expected to be almost RM110k while 3.2 Wildtrak around RM130k.

Instrument cluster and entertainment system different for Wildtrak and XLT.

Wildtrak get just like those in Everest.

Difference I can spot for Wildtrak compared to pre-facelift are:

-12v power outlet in cargo bed

-cargo bed lighting with activation button inside cabin (I think XLT facelift also has this, cant remember)

-230v power outlet in cabin, rear part of centre console.

-rubber/plastic flap in front of front wheels. Just like in SUV or cars. For aerodynamic purpose I think. Pre facelift either dont have these flaps or too small to be noticed. As I am comparing both in these same compound.

-5 colours to choose for facelifted Wildtrak compare to just 2 as for pre facelift Wildtrak. White and Orange.

Total 5 power outlets excluding USB.
    2 12v for front, in cabin
    1 12v and 1 230v for rear, in cabin
    1 12v in cargo bed.

Btw they mentioned of giving 4k discount on prefacelift Wildtrak.
    Good offer when you consider that 4k is from RM120k selling price not new (expected) RM130k price.
    And you are still getting the same horsepower and torque with 85% identical spec.
    Maybe the facelifted has better FC I dont know.

• jonirico on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Sureeeeeee or nottt got more then 2 colors for Wildtrak.. I just called the dealer in SDAC again.. he said where got?? he said 3.2xlt got la 5 colors..

I’ll be picking up my Wildtrak asap..

better be sure ma before u give out info.. aiyoo.. confucious people oni like dis..

• Letstorque on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:20 pm

That is what the sales agent told me. From what I’ve read in the internet, there are 3 colours for Wildtrak. Orange and White. And another new colour. Brighter colour I supposed.

Forgive me if I’m wrong. I am just relaying info.

• Letstorque on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:40 am

If want to drive around with passenger at the back, in cabin, Ranger is not a good choice.

Triton or Colorado are better.

For off road Hilux is better.

Go for Ranger only if you do most of the driving alone or with just one passenger.
    And if you loves corners and bends, this is the best pick up.

But if you loves corners why buy a pick up truck.

If you want reliability, only go for Hilux or Dmax.

• nizam on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:17 am

Hi.. I manage to view the new 2.2XLT new FL ranger in Ford Rasah Seremban. Have some pict and inside view. The meter panel is different from the one showed at Bangkok. Infortainment screen also a bit different for Malaysian spec.

• nizam on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:21 am

However.. The ranger is more taugh than previos one.. Good system installed. Just waiting 8oct to test drive..

• Hermm..saw a test drive unit in Muar Ang trading 2 weeks ago..Thers is already a dozen people already test drive it..