Toyota, Lexus prices going up by 4% to 16% – UMWT

toyota-showroom

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has announced that the prices of Toyota and Lexus vehicles will go up from 4% to 16%. The price increase will only be effective from January 2016.

This move is due to the sharp depreciation of the Malaysian ringgit against the US dollar. Asia’s worst performing currency, the ringgit has fell by almost 20% to the greenback year-to-date. The US dollar is the world’s default trading currency.

UMWT says that it has “implemented strategic moves to protect the interest of its customers in the midst of the fluctuation of ringgit, and absorbed additional cost to a certain extent over the past months.” The company says that it has weighed all possible options, but has no choice but to pass on some cost to the consumers to offset rising input costs due to the forex situation.

2015_Toyota_Camry_Malaysia_ 001

“Since the beginning of this year, the fluctuation of the ringgit has impacted our business as some of our parts and components are imported, resulting in an increase in overall cost of production. We have implemented cost-efficiency measures and reviewed our operations across the supply chain to mitigate the weaker ringgit,” said UMWT president Datuk Ismet Suki.

“The company would have implemented necessary measures to minimise forex losses impact and address the fluctuation of ringgit if it dropped gradually. Unfortunately, the sudden and huge fluctuation of ringgit within a short period, has given great impact to our operations. Hence, the company will have to increase the prices of Toyota and Lexus vehicles effective January 2016. The increase is inevitable as there is no clear indication on when the ringgit will rebound.

“We have tried our level best to keep the price increase as minimal as possible. With the increase of our vehicle price, we could only recover partially, not 100% from the impact we have been absorbing. If the ringgit continues to slide in the near future, we may need to review our pricing structure again,” he added.

Lexus ES Facelift Girls 1

However, the UMWT head is optimistic that the impending price increase will not have a big impact on sales, and the company is on track to meet its business targets.

“We are facing challenging times but UMW Toyota is confident we can ride out the storm. We have strong fundamentals and a proven track record. I believe customers will continue to choose us and our vehicles as we deliver quality products and services that complement their lifestyles,” he said.

UMWT did not release any figures along with the statement, but expect the cheaper cars to have the smallest jump (eg. Vios 4%) and the costliest CBU models (eg. Alphard) to have the most significant impact. Announcing this move early could be clever strategy by UMWT that will give sales a boost in the final quarter, a period where carmakers traditionally dish out incentives to clear stock. Check out post-GST prices for Toyota and Lexus models.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration over Toyota and Lexus price hikes up to 16%, attributing the increases to the weakening Ringgit and currency fluctuations. Many believe UMW is raising prices to maintain profits amid economic challenges, with some criticizing the government’s role in protecting Proton and exacerbating the situation. Several comments highlight that other brands like Honda, Mazda, and Nissan are benefiting from the price increases, while some suggest the hikes may hurt sales or lead to industry closures. There’s skepticism about the effectiveness of discounts and concerns about profiteering, with a few users lamenting the overall economic impact and feeling that prices may continue rising regardless of currency stabilization. Overall, sentiments lean toward dissatisfaction and suspicion of profit-driven motives behind the pricing adjustments.

• spongewai on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:43 pm

tq, Mr PM

you failed us once again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 1
    • Wahai Orang Orang Red Shirt on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:10 pm

ha Ha ha. Masih sayang BN ke? Sedarlah. Kamu ditipu oleh bangsa sendiri sampai 30 tahun pun tak nampak.

Sedarlah. Musuh anda bukan kaum lain tetapi kerajaan anda sendiri yang menipu anda.

LHDN sudah kutip RM50 bil dari GST sahaja dalam 3 bulan. Tidak termasuk income tax lain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 8
      • Inion on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Since when gomen sells toyota cars? PNB only has 10 percent share in UMW. Get your fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 76
        • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Why Toyota so expensive in Malaysia? Thanks to Proton and its awesome protection.
          Why Toyota getting even more expensive now? Thanks to government.
          See how much government love us. Cukurlah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • Where is Najib's Promise? on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce cars by 30%?? Now its going up and up and up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
          • expensiveanywhere on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:35 pm

CBU cars in Thai are expensive too, and that’s when no Proton there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Proton is the one of the CBU there. Sadly no one even bother to test drive it.

• Rashuk Khan2 on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:59 am

Price hike for orther brand nothing to do with Proton. UMW itself also not blame the problem from Proton but impect of weaken Ringgit vs Dollar

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Toyota already so expensive, because MITI not allow to be priced cheaper, to protect Proton.
            Now Toyota even more expensive, because of the weak currency.
            Now you understand my words? Faham?

• Otak Udang on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Government owns UMW through various bodies dungu. EPF, Kahazanah and many other GLCs that own UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Basherstupid on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:27 am

Omg you read or not? List down here what percent of those companies have in share in UMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Cortanut on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:22 am

UMW shareholders percentage
            51.61% PNB
            15.86% EPF
            14.26% Local Shareholders
            18.27% Foreign Shareholders

PNB is the parent company for Amanah Saham Nasional Berhad (ASNB) which operates a number of unit trust schemes, and is a wholly owned subsidiary of Yayasan Pelaburan Bumiputra and is as a pivotal instrument of the Government New Economic Policy to promote share ownership among the Bumiputera.

So does this answer your question??

• I hope UMW can both give an extra 8% bumi discount to selected buyers. I don’t see why we should limit the discounts to houses alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
        • Cakap jangan pakai lutut
          Dont talk with ur diiiick

http://www.4-traders.com/UMW-HOLDINGS-BHD-6491131/company/

Permodalan Nasional Bhd. 49.7%
          Employees Provident Fund 16.5%

This 2 more than 50% already.
          Who owns PNB and EPF?

• Kaum Lain on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Mash ramai kaum sendiri belum sedar lagi, masih buat bising kat petaling street! Satu atau dua ratus boleh gaodim! Banyak Sedih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • Buka Mata Anda on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Malaysians already paying 3x the global prices of cars. That means, UMW makes at least so much profit from each car sold.

Camry, I think they make at least RM90k clean profit from each Camry. Now Ringgit jatuh, instead of being less greedy, ie make RM70k clean profit, they still want to hantam Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • kuning n Merah on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Harap tuan baju kuning pun tk bodoh yer…wa nk bg tau lu GST tu bkn LHDN kutip yer itu Cukai Kastam kutip..baju Kuning u Sgt Pandai…Fakta pun bleh salah….mcm mn nk perintah negara ..LHDN n Kastam pun Tatak tau….lu ilmu tak ada aka bodoh jgn tunjuk pandai simpan..sikit kot2 jd Member of Parlimen senang sikit nak kencing pengundi hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
        • Samelordupe on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:29 am

P1 bashers just bash. No proof is ok coz they believe in hearsay

• Rashuk Khan2 on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:05 am

kuning n Merah….LHDN dan Kastam tu duduk bawah Kementerian Kewangan…Mcm TLDM dan RAMD bidang kerja berbeza tapi tetap didbawah ATM…Kementerian Pertahanan…Jgnlah terlebih nak mempertikai komen orang lain…

• policeman on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:11 pm

What is your contribution to the country?
      Other than to whine, is there a point to your existence?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
      • Otak Udang on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Government owns UMW through various bodies dungu. EPF, Kahazanah and many other GLCs that own UMW

• Otak Udang on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:27 pm

What is your contribution besides leeching on the Government for help, sleeping, thinking about marrying more and being lazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Currenct on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:30 am

Better than best selling p2 while more money goes to jepunis

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Yes, Toyota will be more expensive. And you think Honda, Mazda, Mercedes, BMW, Hyundai and Kia could remain same price? haha…
        Good but expensive car, ppl still buy. Cheap and junk car, give out free also no one touch.

• paulnut on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Then explain why you bought junk saga for your 25 yrs Los son September last year?

• UMW Mampus on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Great, next month Honda sales is going to up again.

Pui to UMW Toyota, price already so expensive with empty safety spec (specifically the “all-new” VIOS which has nothing new inside the hood) still wanna raise price!! *face palm*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 5
  • Goiter on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:44 pm

*prepares popcorn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • xxXxxXxx on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:45 pm

very good ….. Proton the winner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • xxXxxXxx on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:48 pm

If RM back to 3.2, will the price drop back? I doubt it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • Do you think RM can back to 3.2?
      Ans: Mission Impossible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • You really think so? So what do you think our prospect as a country in the future? Forever with Asia’s worst performing currency?

If you’re at least a bit of a Malaysian(if you’re our neighbor I would understand the hate), do us a favour and start believing we will change for the better sooner or later through collective effort by the then government and the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Gargantia on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Worst idea because Rakyat still being bully monopolies by this cronies Government for another 50’s years??? Change is the only idea !!!

• najis on Oct 06, 2015 at 7:42 am

unless the thick skin turun la

• redseed on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:49 pm

myr turun, harga naik. najibai mesti turun sekali!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Maximus on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Dont buy Toyota… Very expensive ‘Tin Kosong’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 3
  • Everything naik…bila mau turun!!!

• ben yap on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:03 pm

UMW be my guest to increase the price.

no one cares as people are going for honda already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Bomoh on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:09 pm

OK loh kena tipu lagi..
    this is not the 1st time and will not the last time also..
    so what’s next again?

• UMW… You can close down already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Sigue sigue on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:13 pm

This is good for toyota resale value

• Maximus on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Where is Same Lorrr… Pergi buat part time jual ikan pasar malam…

• modesto.h on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:29 pm

ringgit depreciation against Japanese Yen or USD causes the price increase?

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:29 pm

UMW toyota doesn’t care and will increase their price cause the bulk of their sales are from government fleets, which is basically guaranteed sales. At the end of the day, it’s the tax payers that is paying for it.

• felda boy on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Janji PRU ke 13 tak ditepati – Harga kereta tak turun 30%
    Apa alasan lagi??
    PRU ke 14..wahai org kampong pikir dan renung2 kn la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:57 pm

What is the point of CKD again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Sam's best friend on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:06 pm

LOL sales down, to clear year end stock.

Claim next year price going up.

Top kek.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Sixteen percent?

GG.

• Lincoln on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:08 pm

It’s US dollar value increase, kenapa Toyota nak naik kan harga pula? Japan nothing to do with this

• Up or down 70% car price, i still not buy Toyota brand

• punk'd ! on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:13 pm

LOL..desperate UMW scare tactics to push toyota & lexus sales!
    dont be fooled. honda, nissan, bmw, benz hold steady…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Beware bolehland ppl on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:00 pm

All prices will go up by end of the year due to super management by our nasi lemak gomen and our inteilligent PM. All the electronics prices already go up including household prices… Since its nasi lemak managed country, the prices will go up again n again. Just wait!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:09 am

This is not the time to purchase any vehicle unless u absolutely need to own one. I’ll continue to wait for the Ringgit to stabilise before buying any vehicle.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:54 am

Good cars like Toyota and Lexus are no problem with the price hike. This will result even better RV!

Buy a Toyota or Lexus now and enjoy good RV later. Dont waste your hard earned money on those Kimchi, Dim Sum, Chapati, French Toast or Nasi Lemak cars.

• Something that I would like to say on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:59 am

Hopefully people now can stop comparing Vios with Prevé although it’s not the same segment . Minor problems we may face in any car . But end of the day we all want a car with good handling , safety and a bit of powerful engine just to our make driving more exciting . Good day :)

• applegreen on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:09 am

If they increase car prices more toyota showrooms will close or going bankruptcy. Honda and other competitors joyous happily

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:38 am

I checked out Lexus Malaysia’s website last night. Got a shock when I saw the prices for the yet-to-be-launced IS200t had already gone up. It was almost RM300k for the base “premium model”. RM344 for luxury. But strangely F Sport was cheaper at RM340. I don’t know if something wrong with my laptop or the website had errors. But this morning (ie right now), the IS200t site is down. Anybody know whats going on??

• flipper2uman (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:20 am

Bro, I think currency fluctuate to much on a daily basis, the accountant having big headache figuring out how to price it in local currency. At the rate our currency is depreciating, maybe next week when you check the base model IS200t will be 350k already. I am not sure whether to cry or laugh anymore.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Anyways, the IS200t site is up & running again. Its back to the earlier pricing, which though cheaper than it was last night, is still pretty expensive compared to the comparable Infiniti Q50 turbo. I do hope Audi will offer a good price for the new A4. It is a very tempting car indeed.

• UMW lelong sale on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:03 am

toyota naik harga – honda, mazda, nissan HAPPY :)
    lexus naik harga – benz, bmw, audi HAPPY :)

• effective jan 2016?

what if ringgit appreciate by then? still increase price? ^^

• Embee on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:30 am

Useless Toyota, always the first to increase prices. No harm operating under lesser profits for the sake of customer loyalty. This entire Ringgit issue wont last too long either.

• Rusmah on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:10 am

Toyota, use cost up to clear current discounted stock.
    It’s “laughing stock”.
    2 airbags + no ESP
    Free Camera & DVD.
    Coffin stock on sales right now!

• Hi Latttt on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Whether your price up or down it doesn’t matter to me…totally given up”T” brand…yawn….zzzZ