GALLERY: Toyota Alphard with TRD Sportivo aerokit

Toyota Alphard TRD Sportivo 2

Last week, UMW Toyota Motor announced a range-wide kit upgrade starting from September, throwing in stuff like aerokits and DVD-AVN systems for free on certain models. Among these, the Toyota Alphard received a TRD Sportivo aerokit, LED daytime running lights and door visors at no extra cost – but we had no idea what those items looked like, as there were no associated images included in the press release.

Fortunately, we managed to track down a 2.4G model equipped with the new package – as you can see, the aerokit is very minimal, limited to a front spoiler and rear bumper appliqué; the latter comes complete with large, prominent “TRD” script moulded across the rear surface. The DRLs consist of two diodes on either side of the front spoiler.

Overall, the whole shebang does give the luxobarge just a touch of Japanese VIP to it, which I suppose is the sort of thing buyers of the MPV are looking for anyway.

Everything else remains the same – both 2.4G and 3.5G variants get self-levelling HID headlights, 17-inch wheels, dual powered sliding doors, keyless entry, push-button ignition, auto wipers, power-adjustable first- and second-row seats (with powered ottomans for front and second-row passengers), leather upholstery, dual moonroofs, triple-zone auto climate control with Nanoe ioniser and a 7.0-inch touchscreen DVD-AVN system.

Pay the extra for the 3.5G and you’ll get adaptive headlights and a powered tailgate added to the mix. No matter which one you choose, however, standard safety kit includes seven airbags (including a driver’s knee bag), stability control and Isofix child seat anchors in the second row.

No change to the mechanicals, either, so the Alphard soldiers on with a choice of either a 168 hp/224 Nm 2.4 litre four-cylinder engine mated to a CVT with seven virtual ratios, or a 271 hp/340 Nm 3.5 litre V6 paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox. As mentioned earlier, the extra kit comes free, so the 2.4G is priced at RM333,547, while the 3.5G retails at RM393,100 (both prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ganni on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:22 am

still look dull..they need to add up the sideskirt like the grey import version, then it will look complete

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:23 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant salesman. This body kit is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia. Nobody wants a Moving Coffin lah UMW.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC on your other cars? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard! Must pay over RM300k for VSC ah?

Our lives not important UMW?

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM100k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

• Let us buy Pampers. on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:25 am

Toyota Salesman are crying like baby. Can we all at PT buy pampers and pass it to each Toyota show room please??

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

No point Alphard got Sportivo when the car can tumbang so easily and not stable.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

Malaysians already see the light. they know now UMW and DRB Hicom BOTH tipu the rakyat with Toyota and Honda.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

• Stupid "Let us buy Pampers." on Sep 08, 2015 at 1:25 pm

U stupid ar? U dunno M’sia tax structure? Then shut the f**k up, n dun misled other ppl

• Perghhhhhhh… the powahhhhhh of TRD Sporty kit, instant add on 100hp and 50nm!! Never underestimate the power of TRD!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Albert on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:34 am

If you have a budget of rm 300K plus for a Toyota Alphard,wouldn’t you be tempted to survey the AP parallel import market for reconditioned Alphards?
    Some of these imported Alphards have gone thro the best CAR SPA and you would find it very difficult not to consider the PEKEMA dealer’s offer.
    I doubt, with parallel imports for recon Aphards,UMW can really sell a significant quantity of this MPV.

• Sam Loo1 on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:36 am

Unwanted stock clearance. Please come buy.

• FATCAT on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:00 am

UMW just bring in the new Alphard lah ! why want to put body kit, for what .

• intermilan on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:25 am

Its not luxurious, its not sporty, its not economical, its not cheap, its not good looking, it doesn’t handle well etc..

What is it? Its just a bigger Avanza!

• KitKat on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:04 am

When car is ugly, body kit is of no use.
    When car is beautiful, body kit is of no need.

• Same L0rr on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:12 am

You got no wrong with this sushi car.. good RV!

• wth got no audio controls on the steering wheel.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:43 am

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

• Meh. Now this coffin mover wants to be sporty. Might as well install a loud exhaust. It will literally wake up the dead inside.

• tinmilo on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Everyone else including Indonesia get the new Alphard with “Hannibal” grill.. while we still make do with the old model with some useless bodykit

• shlee on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:46 pm

UMW this is old model ok!!..Jan 2015 new alphard n vellfire 2.5 lauching in Japan .. if those buyers who can buy this car do u things they will take the old model??? lol

• littlemin on Sep 08, 2015 at 1:44 pm

come on laa UMW… indonesia and thailand are already brought in new Alphard, u baru nak add on the not-so-bodykit bodykit and the old school stereo?

And sell it for 400k. Seriously UMW???

• peninsula jarcoon on Sep 08, 2015 at 2:12 pm

prince-success memorial park will book few units as hearse soon. removing all back seats, who wanna buy the seats?

• Peter on Sep 08, 2015 at 2:19 pm

A bun is a bun, don’t pretend to be a soap.
    It’s like adding sport kit to a coffin-car!

• thomas bondan on Sep 08, 2015 at 2:41 pm

when Malaysia gets old Alphard with TRD body kit, Indonesia and Thailand got the all new Alphard

• DPCraft on Sep 08, 2015 at 4:28 pm

When the new models is coming to malaysia, car makers will add a lot of treats to the old model and call it new. Stock clearance !!!

• PeterGriffin on Sep 08, 2015 at 4:54 pm

I just went back from Japan. The top of the line Toyota Vellfire over there only costs RM150k++ (after tax). Not that they really need a car while living in the city (their public transport is top notch). Yeah I know it’s our country tax system at fault, but yet the price difference is too big to ignore.