LRT rail pix Bernama

Prasarana has announced a new fare structure for its entire rail transport network that is comprised of the LRT Kelana Jaya Line, LRT Ampang Line, and the KL Monorail Line. The new fare structure will come into effect on December 2, and will include a fare differentiation mechanism between cash and cashless modes of payment to encourage savings under the new fares structure.

Currently, the fare structure differs for each serviced line, with the Kelana Jaya Line charging passengers based on the different rates between stations in the central business districts and non-central business districts.

Meanwhile, for the Ampang Line, it is based on the number of stations travelled, whereas the KL Monorail Line will charge passengers based on the distance travelled. The new fare structure put in place will see all three serviced lines adopt a distance-based fare structure instead.

According to Prasarana’s president and group CEO Dato’ Azmi Abdul Aziz, “under the new fare structure, passenger would be charged a flag fall plus the actual distance travelled multiplied by the corresponding rate that decreases the further the passenger travels.”

According to The Star, the single flag fall price is 70 sen and for the first four km, LRT passengers would be charged another 30 sen per km of travel. This amount is decreased, where for distances of 4.1 km to nine km, passengers would be charged 26.4 sen per km.


For distances of 9.1 km to 14 km meanwhile, it would be 21.6 sen per km. Continuing on, distances of between 14.1 km to 19 km, it would be 18 sen per km, for, 19.1km to 24km would be 14.4 sen per km, and for trips above 24 km, it would be 10.8 sen per km. Monorail trips will be charged 58.8 sen per km for the first four km and 37.2 sen per km for the following 4.1 km to 9 km.

Azmi also stated that all fares were subject to a special extra charge called the Transit Acquirer System that unifies payments for the country’s multiple transit operators under a single transport ticketing system. The system is managed by Vix Technology and will be put in place by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

Additionally, Prasarana would provide discounts to passengers travelling on cashless payment mode compared with those who purchase tokens by cash, following the government’s request for a fare differentiation mechanism to ensure passengers experience savings.

“As an added incentive, passengers who opt for “MyRapid Smart 7 Weekly” or “MyRapid Smart 30 Monthly” would enjoy discounts of between 18 and 26%, and 20 and 35% respectively on the distance rate compared with cash,” Azmi explained.


Senior citizens, people with disabilities, and students would continue to enjoy 50 per cent discounts from the cash rates. Consequently, the new fare structure would see passengers travelling to certain stations be charged with lower or similar fares when compared to what they are paying today.

Citing a few examples, Azmi stated that passengers travelling between Chan Sow Lin and PWTC would soon pay RM2.30 in cash compared to RM2.40 today, while those travelling between Imbi and Dato’ Keramat would pay only RM3.40 via cash compared to the current fare of RM4.40.

However, for passengers travelling between KL Sentral (Kelana Jaya Line) and KLCC, they would need to pay an additional 80 sen, RM2.40, in cash compared to RM1.60 today. Keep in mind that these fares are before the savings obtained when using the cashless payment mode.

Commuters can begin purchasing the “MyRapid Smart 7 Weekly” and “MyRapid Smart 30 Monthly” at a nominal premium of RM2.50 and RM10.00 respectively from the Rapid KL Customer Service Offices at LRT and monorail stations beginning November 15, or when their existing passes expire.