LRT Kelana Jaya Line

Prasarana has announced that by next Saturday, four new Light Rail Transport (LRT) stations are scheduled to begin operations. The new stations – Awan Besar, Kampung Muhibbah, Alam Sutera, and Bandar Kinrara 5 (BK5) – are all part of the Ampang LRT Line Extension Project.

Speaking to The Star, a spokesman from Prasarana said they have been given the green light to start operations by the Land and Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

Approximately 400,000 people residing in Kinrara and Puchong will benefit from the new service, with the Alam Sutera station catering towards residents in Bandar Kinrara 1 and Bandar Kinrara 9, including those near Puncak Jalil.

Meanwhile, the BK5 station, which is located near the commercial hub of Bandar Kinrara, will serve those from Bandar Kinrara 2 to Bandar Kinrara 8, as well as residents nearby from Taman Kinrara and Taman Bukit Kuchai. The station also has a dedicated park-and-ride facility as well. The Awan Besar and Kampung Muhibbah stations on the other hand, will serve residents in Taman OUG.

No fare structure was provided to accompany the announcement. Come October 31, an increase in the fare structure for both the LRT and monorail is expected to take place.