Four new LRT stations to begin operations next Saturday; services Puchong and OUG residents

LRT Kelana Jaya Line

Prasarana has announced that by next Saturday, four new Light Rail Transport (LRT) stations are scheduled to begin operations. The new stations – Awan Besar, Kampung Muhibbah, Alam Sutera, and Bandar Kinrara 5 (BK5) – are all part of the Ampang LRT Line Extension Project.

Speaking to The Star, a spokesman from Prasarana said they have been given the green light to start operations by the Land and Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

Approximately 400,000 people residing in Kinrara and Puchong will benefit from the new service, with the Alam Sutera station catering towards residents in Bandar Kinrara 1 and Bandar Kinrara 9, including those near Puncak Jalil.

Meanwhile, the BK5 station, which is located near the commercial hub of Bandar Kinrara, will serve those from Bandar Kinrara 2 to Bandar Kinrara 8, as well as residents nearby from Taman Kinrara and Taman Bukit Kuchai. The station also has a dedicated park-and-ride facility as well. The Awan Besar and Kampung Muhibbah stations on the other hand, will serve residents in Taman OUG.

No fare structure was provided to accompany the announcement. Come October 31, an increase in the fare structure for both the LRT and monorail is expected to take place.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• gaviny on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:47 am

house owners rejoice, instant 50% value up

• But during construction, the same house owners curse najib, tiu 1MRT, saying their value drop 100% but unwilling to sell at their own-valued price. Malaysian hypocrisy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
      • ben yap on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:56 am

those houses directly in front of the stations will have lesser demand as traffic congestion is higher, higher noise level and possibility of people parking in front of your house.

those slightly further such as BK4, certain areas of BK5, BK6 and Kinrara Residences will enjoy increase in value as it is still near the station but not too near.

• Im also including those pipu whose house are away from stations. ie those who demo against TTDI station is not just those living beside, but even 5 km away. You say leh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Bonboncak on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:44 pm

If you want to stay in a regressing country without any room for improvement, be my guess. I live near bk5 and this definitely gonna save my money for trips to office.

Sometimes backwater people like u can only complain but have no alternattive ideas to improve our lives.

Talk is cheap, and you doing plenty of it over the net.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:26 pm

do you ever see Japan MRT system? The station, the track n house is basically side by side.

• Frustrated John on Oct 23, 2015 at 10:42 am

John Stop it la. Every post you post racist and negative things. Then you post as another john, then again you will post cursing that john as rba john.

We all know, all the johns are you, one person. You are frustrated in life. No friends and no family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • its depends,
      when you want to buy it will go up
      (good location, near lrt bla..bla..)
      when you want to sale it will go down
      (traffic prone area, people will stop for drop and pick up same like Seri Petaling station)

• Studies show higher crime rate and house break-ins in areas near public transport facilities e.g. Wangsa Maju, Taman Bahagia, Kelana Jaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 10:04 am

Parking at Giant Kinrara (which is free now) is gonna be full of cars due to proximity to the station. Think they should start charging per hour (after say 3 hours of parking). This will prevent people from parking there whole day, and to park at the designated parking spots for the LRT station.

• Same like Giant bandar puteri puchong. But that not because of lrt station but near to banking area.

• Happy on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Giant parking is indoor and clean, it is definitely a better choice over the designated parking for the BK5 station which is open air and limited. I will park in Giant even if they charge. Just don’t understand why they never build the multistory parking for the station.

• Bonboncak on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:50 pm

I remembered it was almost 10 years ago since my family moved to bandar kinrara my mom told me there are planned lrt station to be built here.

Some how it felt a bit nostalgic, but i thank god that i managed to finally use the LRT now.

Hope the service works smoothly.