Volkswagen engineers overinflated tyres, added diesel to engine oil to cheat CO2 emissions testing – report

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 14

Another one to add to the “dieselgate” saga – after Volkswagen admitted that up to 800,000 vehicles in Europe have been provided with falsified carbon dioxide emissions data, German newspaper Bild am Sonntag now reports the sordid details as to how engineers within the company cheated in-house tests to gain better emissions and fuel economy numbers – and with it, lower the tax imposed on the cars.

One engineer opened up to Wolfsburg regarding some of the manipulation techniques employed by the employees, which include raising the tyre pressures beyond 3.5 bar, as well as mixing diesel into the engine oil in order to improve engine operation and reduce fuel consumption.

As Germany’s Federal Motor Transport Authority (KBA) only used manufacturer-supplied data – it doesn’t do actual emissions testing like the United States’ Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) – the doctored figures were freely accepted.

The latest scandal sparked from now-resigned CEO Martin Winterkorn‘s audacious target – announced at the 2012 Geneva Motor Show – to reduce carbon dioxide emissions by 30% in 2015. The engineers claimed it wasn’t possible to achieve that goal through legal means, but feared punishment from the top brass for underperforming, so they began to rig the tests – apparently as early as 2013.

VW jetta TDI US-spec

Volkswagen’s BlueMotion range of supposedly cleaner, more fuel-efficient vehicles was particularly hard hit by the engineers’ manipulation of data – the Polo BlueMotion presented the biggest inconsistency, producing 18% higher carbon dioxide emissions than the stated figure, while Golf models emitted as much as 15% more CO2 than officially claimed.

Since the fraud was made clear by the engineer, the company confirmed the inconsistencies, after which CEO Matthias Müller and chairman Hans Dieter Pötsch delivered the news personally to German chancellor Angela Merkel in Berlin. Müller is also said to have championed for a new, more open corporate culture since taking office in September, with less fear of punishment from the top management.

As previously reported, the inconsistencies in CO2 emissions will affect the taxes owners will have to pay for their vehicles, but Volkswagen has already said it will be working on paying the difference rather than having customers foot the bill.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Diesel tuner pickup on Nov 09, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Vw go back kampung tanam sayur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • The 18 billion dollar question. Who from VW approves it?

• Passat Owner 2014 on Nov 11, 2015 at 3:01 pm

I want to burn my Passat if there is 100% coverage from insurance company

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 11, 2015 at 4:06 pm

While Proton could never be brought from the vege farm to show ppl. It is pure embarassment. lol

• Noob Hai on Nov 09, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Diesel mix with engine oil for smooth operation. For diesel car owners, you might try this in your engine. Proven tested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • DonkeyKong on Nov 09, 2015 at 6:32 pm

LOL.. the consequences of iron-fisted Nazi-style management.. good riddance to Winterkorn, thanks to him VW’s reputation has been severely degraded. It’ll be a tough job rebuilding the brand.. Even Peugeot & Renault are viewed in better terms in Europe than VW at present..

• Like that for petrol car, can we mix minyak sawit to achieve the same result?

• Minyak urut cap kapak will gip you better results. Try it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
      • Pumpkin76 on Nov 10, 2015 at 9:18 am

John you can use minyak batin, more suitable for you. Hahahaha

• hazamiey on Nov 10, 2015 at 1:02 am

How often do u come across with bumi-led companies in malaysia? Most of us bumi employer work with non bumi boss. And most are happy with their job and their salary. The lousiest company i have been working for is a bumi company with bumi boss. Please dont simple stir something irrelevant here. Keep your redshirt attitude in your desktop computer.

• And you can keep your yellow shirt comments in Mkini, Harakah, Rocket thank you very much

• wonder what else vw been lying about???

• xoxox on Nov 10, 2015 at 8:56 am

pay the engineers to cheat? :o

• camtakpro on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:09 pm

No doubt German Engineering is top notch, especially fact engineering.

• gundam mama on Nov 10, 2015 at 12:04 pm

VW are cheaters! (Afterall, VW did involved with Nazi during WW2)

I pity the owners of VW supporting cheaters…..and paid so much money for their VW. Surely damn malu driving their VW cars now…

• Danny Yao on Nov 11, 2015 at 11:12 am

Why should VW owner need to malu?! I am driving Jetta and never malu about it at all. In fact, alot of pretty chick enjoy sitting in my Jetta and I enjoy driving it. I know ppl like you are jelly of VW owner, because always “tiong” your car in highway.. DUH! I pity your mouth for being so jelly.

• tiong on Nov 11, 2015 at 4:29 pm

-daddy-daddy, why is the world such a dirty and difficult place to live in?

–because daddy enjoy “tiong” other cars on the highway with his VW Jetta. Also this cancer that I now have really rocks my world!

• camtakpro on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:30 am

Cheating or not, there are no penalty in Malaysia. When the owners need to pay emission tax, they will eat the stuff from VW exhaust.