VW CEO Martin Winterkorn resigns over diesel scandal

Hauptversammlung 2013 am 25 April in Hannover

Martin Winterkorn, left, next to now-ousted chairman Ferdinand Piech

Volkswagen Group CEO Martin Winterkorn has officially announced his resignation from the post, as the scandal involving VW and Audi diesel models in the United States – which have been found to have so-called “defeat devices” that help them cheat stringent federal air pollution tests – deepens further.

“I am shocked by the events of the past few days,” he said in a statement. “Above all, I am stunned that misconduct on such a scale was possible in the Volkswagen Group. As CEO I accept responsibility for the irregularities that have been found in diesel engines and have therefore requested the supervisory board to agree on terminating my function as CEO of the Volkswagen Group.”

Winterkorn added that the move was in the best interest of the world’s biggest car company, even though he was not aware of any wrongdoing on his part. “Volkswagen needs a fresh start – also in terms of personnel. I am clearing the way for this fresh start with my resignation.

“The process of clarification and transparency must continue,” he said. “This is the only way to win back trust. I am convinced that the Volkswagen Group and its team will overcome this grave crisis.”

Winterkorn’s resignation comes just weeks after he was confirmed to stay as head honcho (after a long leadership tussle with then-chairman Ferdinand Piech saw the ousting of the latter) until at least 2018, pending board approval; voting on the proposal was slated for Friday. It also follows mere hours after his public apology on video (as shown above), in which he vowed to “get to the bottom of this.”

To recap, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has reportedly begun lobbying for a recall of roughly 482,000 VW and Audi vehicles in the country, due to an illegal code in their software to allow them to pass emissions tests, but otherwise produced “up to 40 times” the permitted levels of nitrogen oxides.

The group is facing possible fines of up to US$18 billion (RM79 billion) as well a criminal investigation by the US Justice Department, and has already seen its share prices plunge 23% on Monday, wiping out at least €15.6 billion (RM74.8 billion) of its market value. Want to know more about how VW allegedly managed to keep this quiet for so long, and how it finally got caught in the act? Read our in-depth story here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Diddy cool on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:07 am

This is the difference between first world and third world leadership. Neither are perfect but the former knows it is answerable to stakeholders at large. The latter just clings on for dear life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 7
    • dugongx on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:24 am

I thought ours is 4th world leadership

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
      • Gargantia on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:00 pm

“The process of clarification and transparency must continue,” from1st world leaders… Hope our leaders will learn from this… but it will never happen from Dumno leaders !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
        • VGM VGM Where are you??? on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:31 pm

I am shocked. 1 week has passed after the cheating scandal in USA. Everyone and even the whole world is talking about it.

Our VGM has not even issued a statement to VW owners and to Malaysians in general about products in Malaysia.

Eventhough Malaysia has no diesel VW cars, it is only responsible for VGM to issue a statement to tell Malaysians not to worry about their other products.

Unless there is something to hide and they don’t want to stir problems with Malaysians questioning the DSG lemons.

Such an irresponsible brand in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • DSG Owners Pls Sue on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:56 am

they are too scared because then they will have to compensate all the DSg customers in Malaysia. At least a few Billion Ringgit.

• Malaysia When Probe VW? on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:46 pm

India has just ordered a probbe into VW cars in India. When is the Malaysian government going to order a probe also?

Or are they worried it might affect DRB Hicom’s business

• celsor on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:12 pm

First of all. This issued is only affected diesel engine but not petrol car. Further more, this scandal is totally not affected Malaysia at all. Why have to come out statement as Malaysia is not affect at all?! There is nothing to hide here in Malaysia

• celsor on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:15 pm

How would you claimed that VW is irresponsible brand in Malaysia?
            1. This issued is only affected in US and diesel engine.
            2. Since there is 0 affected in Malaysia why need bother to come out with a statement?

• Code Red on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:27 am

Dumno leaders will rally in red shirts and demand you to hand over 50% of Petaling Street

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • Germans Also Lie Ah? on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:49 am

They always say, when there is a lie, there is always 9 other lies hidden and will slowly come out.

the same with cheating. It is just a matter of time before the lies start to come out. Now, the BMW lie is already out in the open. Soon, many lies to be coming in the open.

VW in Malaysia should compensate Malaysian buyers at least RM30k per vehicle because VW customers also suffered with DSG problems for years and even till today.

DSG and Dirty Diesel scandal is the same. Scandal is Scandal. Lie is Lie. They should compensate every VW buyer in Malaysia

• celsor on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:22 pm

I dun think VW will cheat la! Such incident happened because it is due to some error happened in somewhere. Since now VW had admited their mistake I believe they will take action immediately fixing this issue as soon as possible.

• thingse on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:32 pm

come on la! VW nvr lie and something really impressed me is they admitted their problem and VW will take the matter seriously and is cooperating with the investigation with US government to find out the cause and fixed this issue as soon as possible
            VW had recalled back for DSG issued and the problem had been solved already.. I dun understand why ppl like to take such news for granted!

• IrizX on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Proton CEO should resign over falsely claiming their cars are ‘BMW of Asia’ whereas the quality is no where near BMW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 5
        • VGM VGM Where are you??? on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Yes this is true also. Many people bought the Waja thinking it was at par with BMW. They misled the public. Sold something that does not corrspond to its description.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Yes true, not even close to the BMW in 80s

• bmwcheater on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Of course quality no near BMW, p1 not cheating. VW BMW cheated people.

• kooop on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:00 pm

BMW = banyak masuk worksyop. All people know that.

• Anonymous on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:31 pm

At least a proton does not die on you on the way out of the showroom gate!

• Tongkat Ali on Sep 24, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Not only that, but cheated Malaysian for 30 years using tongkat. Rakyat ask it to close shop but refuse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Justice Bao on Sep 24, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Time to bring Proton to justice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • Bob_B78 on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:54 am

I believe proton was refering to its handling on par with bmw. After acquisition of lotus, proton cars handling are one the best in their respective segment. Build quality still very lousy. A friend whose iriz just 3 months old already have power windows failure. Spare parts more than 1 month still havent arrived

• Passerby on Sep 24, 2015 at 3:06 am

difference between a good leader and a corupted leader also…
      a good 1 will always admit to his fault while a corrupted 1 will always find ways to blame others people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • Protong on Sep 24, 2015 at 5:15 am

Proton CEO should resign over Exora scandal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Josh Ling on Sep 24, 2015 at 8:14 am

sorry, fyi, this one had just ousted the former CEO Ferdinand Piech so that he could do whatever he wanted to do, not long ago. responsible? mostly due to the pressure from the board of director. so is he respectable in my eyes? no. sorry, there’s no way he didn’t know this practice existed in VW in the first place. no way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Dude get your facts right. Piech was ousted out of VW when He was CHAIRMAN. A whole other different position.

The reason why he has always had a more active road throughout his time in the company than a normal Chairman would was because of the deep family ties he had with the company(through Porsche) and also because he is a bloody good engineer …. but he was never as good a businessman as Winterkorn who pushed VW through its most profitable phase in all his positions up until CEO..and as the saying goes…its all about the MONEY..which is why stakeholders backed Winterkorn up during the recent power-play…

Piech resigned coz he’s just Piech..he didnt want the rift to mess the company..he still owns a family stake..

With that being said..he must be fuming right now…

• Josh Ling on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:26 pm

ya, more profitable, but with what means achieving that? and regardless, winterkorn and piech are not in good term is an open secret already. and piech did stop quite a number of things winterkorn wanted to do previously.

bottom line, if you say piech wasn’t a good businessman, winterkorn wasn’t really a good businessman either. and the more he stressed he and the company were “innocent” and “unaware” of how this thing happened, the more disgusted i am with him.

it’s almost like when certain dumbass in government gave some racist statements or did some controversial actions, and his/her superior clarified few days later, after fierce objection from the public or certain group of people, that whatever he/she did and said had nothing to do with the stance of that particular department, and that they were unaware of his/her actions and speech. ya right, like i am gonna believe that crap.

• Factd on Sep 24, 2015 at 9:20 am

If you believe bolehland is 3rd world country, you are WRONG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • You are right, more like 4th world or Stone aged!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • VGM VGM Where are you??? on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:33 pm

We are already soon to be declared junk status by Moody

• There’s no such category as 4th World. Contrary to popular belief 1st, 2nd or 3rd World does not relate to their economic or technology advancement status but rather their political stance. The term was popular around WW2.

1st World refers to countries aligned to or friendly to the U, among other those NATO countries and the like.

2nd World, largely forgotten or being overlooked refers to countries aligned to or friendly to USSR.

The rest, including our wonderful country, belong to 3rd World.

• Aaron on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:48 am

Chill your arse people are just being sarcastic

• urnaive on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Just admit you are naive. Even bashing without giving any reason. That’s pathetic.

• Exactly.
      If it is me I’ll hang myself for being such a disgrace to the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…Cheating?… Bye VW…Bye Winterkorn, u can plan how to spend ur whole “winter season” now…lol

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:20 am

“Volkswagen needs a fresh start – also in terms of personnel. I am clearing the way for this fresh start with my resignation.

This sounds that he is a scapegoat for VW. I don’t think his only responsible on such lie. His level is not until this extent and I strongly believe on VW group dishonesty.

• Observer on Sep 24, 2015 at 1:22 pm

There’s one general statistical rule that says, ‘if you found 1, there’ll be 10 others in existance’. So VW caught one cheat, so there can be 10 others in working.

• It should be nitrogen oxide or NOx. Not nitrous oxide. Just fyi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 24, 2015 at 1:39 am

Indeed, it is misleading. Fixed. Thanks for pointing it out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Salambangi on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:09 am

Dear Jonathan

Please be more careful when writing next time. I forgive you this time around.
        Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
        • Mark Tan on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:52 am

with this much higher Nitrogen Oxide Emissions.

The potential of harm is not quantifiable.
          The health effect is very scary.

• thus, other than penalties.

the Affected owners should starts to sue Volkswagen for cheating them.

Consumer’s right.

• Donkey J on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:57 pm

behave your manner ,i forgive this time.

hemp.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 24, 2015 at 2:23 am

In Malaysia, after kantoi got RM2.6b, still can hold to the post as PM. When people ask to step down, all crazy reasons been given, konspirasi, Yahudi, negara asing, nak jatuhkan kerajaan Melayu Islam, fitnah pembangkang etc.. Shame on u, the now functionless PM.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
    • Just becoz some pipu dun like him, doesnt mean the majority. And democracy always follow majority rulez, minority must shuddup.
      Forcing a democratically elected leader down without going through proper due process is as undemocratic as the charges laid onto the leader himself.
      Unlike a lot of misconception, the Westminster system does allow a leadership to be vacated during his tenure (ie Abbot, Brown, Mahathir, Badawi). But all went through due process of no-confidence either internally or externally.
      What is shameful is that some pipu believe a Malaysia Spring is good thing. Just ask the Arabs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
      • Oompaloompi on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Takut le tu

• Ye. Takut Malaysia jadi macam Syria

• Oompaloompi on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Takut takde kontrek, dahlah skill takde

• illim on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:05 pm

You want to talk about politics go to political blog. This is not even about bolehland. Gosh are you people out of your mind?

• Minority must shuddup? Your head lah. Its a democracy, majority or minority should have a voice. Since when the majority likes najib either? Its true after all, otak bangsat is otak bangsat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • And how do you know majority dun like najib either? By reading all negative comments in mkini, rocket kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • And what make you so sure that majority are against him? Through numbers on street rallies?
          Thats not democracy. It must go through ballot boxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • kington on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Yes, an Arab spring is not a good situation. But when the leadership has proven to be flawed with countless accusations of corruption and mishandling of politics in this country, what can people do? Certainly a proper vote would suffice but this too has proven futile as they have the law, money and power under their control.

In the case of VW, i believe they had no choice as when scandals of such magnitude occur, the head has to roll first. This is no laughing matter, not a mistake nor an accident.

• proveme on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Proven to be flawed?
          What’s the proof?

• kington on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:39 pm

the most basic and fundamental element in running a government. Dividing the races in its people.

• manyak kantoi on Sep 24, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Still see some brainless idiots dislike ur comments ..

• Something to do with the EGR system? If you delete it, you will have a much cleaner engine, better burn and better power. But will cause higher nitrogen oxide levels. I already did this to my car, i wont let dirty exhaust gas back into the combustion cycle, its already happened to so many.

• justsomedude on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:14 am

Well i guess former CEO ferdinand piech finally got his wish

• Dai Suk on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:50 am

And Faurecia who is the strategic partner of VW and main supplier of exhaust emission systems say they are not part of all these and they do not know…what a joke.
    DRB Hicon which has a JV with Faurecia supplies to VW Malaysia and Proton…a lot of credibility at stake now.

• Dai Suk on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:52 am

DRB Hicon which has a JV with Faurecia supplies to VW Malaysia and Proton…a lot of credibility at stake now.

• Buy a Lemon A Day Keep VW at Service Bay on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Borg Warner supply faulty DSG also, they still using.

• Dracula on Sep 24, 2015 at 8:33 am

The truth will always come out. Nothing can be swept under the carpet. This is probably one of the many discrepancies in the group. DSG will at some point surface too.

This what they get for conning others.

• Sir Zaini on Sep 24, 2015 at 9:41 am

What an honourable thing to do; not yet convicted but stepped down none the less and take responsibility for the scandal. Unlike someone we know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Proveme on Sep 24, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Who? Proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Oompaloompi on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Perasan le tu

• Pening on Sep 24, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Aiya no need for proof la…1 question asked if he did received 2.6b and so many contradicting answer came out….wat further proof do you need? Anyway he and hippo got 2.6b to spend on shopping, wat do you get? rm 10 to write good stuff on his behalf? btw have you receive yr nasi bungkus and water ration yet? lolz….

• No need proof? Do we now live in a world where you are guilty until proven innocent?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:43 am

VW isn’t the only one who’s cheating on emissions. read more Jalopnik
    http://jalopnik.com/watchdog-group-says-other-car-companies-are-cheating-on-1732615322
    http://jalopnik.com/how-the-epa-won-1-billion-from-diesel-cheaters-long-be-1732109485

• lembu jinni on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:52 am

Major automakers are damned worried, fossil fuel burner days are numbered until unless they go Tesla way…

• Oompaloompi on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:42 pm

They are moving the electric way. It may take another decade for infrastructure to change to support the trend.

• Gaviny on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:59 am

Yes I feel bad for his multi million euro severance package plus compensation to not join a rival car maker for at least 3 years

• choha on Sep 24, 2015 at 8:12 pm

this corn surely tastes better than shit….no, najis

• Abr 90 on Sep 24, 2015 at 8:27 pm

C’mon old man, you must do it in proper way!
    Go apologize like Japanese do, kneels down put your face on
    the floor! What a shameful sin a giant corporation can do. Yuck!

• jinggo on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:34 am

PM bila nak resign? Ada scandal juga..

• Aero (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:27 am

I don’t think many understand why VW’s emissions scandal is as serious as it is.

2015 has been quite unfortunate, because we had TWO automotive industry-related scandals on a global scale. In case anyone forgot already, yes, it’s the Takata airbag scandal. But there’s actually a huge difference between VW’s and Takata’s scandals; one is intentional fraud, while the other is negligence.

However, it’s also true that Takata’s case is a design or quality-related one. Takata also had a scandal involving seatbelts in the past. There was also Toyota’s stuck accelerator pedal scandal not too long ago. If we go way back, to one of the worst ever scandals in the auto industry, there’s the infamous Ford Pinto petrol tank scandal. All of these scandals have something to do with flawed design or poor quality products… whereas VW’s recent scandal has absolutely nothing to do with design and quality, it is 101% deception and lies. They have nothing to defend themselves with… unlike Takata, which could claim it was negligence instead of fraud, which I believe does not involve penalties as heavy as a fraud case.

It’s good that VW admitted it in the end, but now they will have to pay the price. Toyota can rest easy knowing that VW won’t be able to challenge their no.1 best-selling car brand in the world title.