Peugeot 308 2.0 HDi in M’sia – 370 Nm, 1,300 km range

Peugeot 308 e-HDi Malaysia 9

Nothing eye catching about this grey Peugeot 308 sitting lonely at the 2015 ASEAN Auto Show, but its decals stood out. With 370 Nm of torque, a range of 1,300 km, low CO2 emissions of 107 g/km and fuel consumption of 4.1 litres per 100 km (24.4 km/l), it can only be a diesel.

The T9 Peugeot 308 was launched here in April this year with a sole THP 150 variant, so could the petrol be joined by a turbodiesel soon? Unfortunately, Nasim has no plans to bring the 2.0 HDi, as seen here, into Malaysia.

It’s yet another mule for testing purposes, but there shouldn’t be major technical hurdles should Nasim decide that there’s sufficient demand for such a variant – the 508 is already available here with a diesel engine (2.2 HDi with 206 PS and 450 Nm), and so is the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso, the latter with the same 150 hp/370 Nm 2.0 BlueHDi oil burner as the 308.

We’ve actually driven the 308 in this configuration before. This writer noted then that the BlueHDi had “enough low-end thrust enough to wake up the drowsy, if not the dead” and the oversized motor (1.6 diesels are the norm in this class) possesses flexibility that makes the 308 a relaxing car to drive fast, rattly nature and slight lag from take off aside. The Aisin-sourced six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox is also a smooth operator. More from the review here.

Spec wise, this 308 is a fully-loaded one with Enhanced Park Assist (detects and steers into space, P button right of the steering wheel), seat heaters and full leather seats (our THP 150 gets a leather-Alcantara combo) that aren’t in our car. So, do you think there’s a viable market here for rapid but economical 308 2.0 HDi?

GALLERY: Malaysian-spec Peugeot 308 THP

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jobless on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:48 am

Hardly seen any latest 308 or even 208 on the road..the former is clearly overpriced at Rm130k ++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • JEMAH on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:45 pm

U JOBLESS TAK ADE DUIT TAK BOLEH KELUAR RUMAH…AKU SELALU NAMPAK ATAS FEDERAL HIGHWAY …BUKAN TEST DRIVE PUNYA OKAY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:35 pm

yea, i saw even more on used car dealers. So many ppl bought it and sold it within 3 years. Peugeot is just an European’s Proton, equally junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
        • Nosushi on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Wah nowadays p1 been compared with conti. Japs are rubbish cannot make its class higher. Cant even make the airbags right. Pity.

• You kerja security guard kat proton of course la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Koyak on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:10 pm

What is the servicing cost?

• French Tosei on Nov 17, 2015 at 6:03 pm

If you ask you can’t afford. Only sorhai malaysian will buy french shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • hailthepurist on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:25 pm

where’s free steering lock..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • If you guys think this is made by the same Peugeot from 2004 I highly suggest you test drive the new 308. The first thing you notice is the mount of sound dampening they’ve done. Nothing rattles or feels like its gonna come after 10 minutes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • smart on Apr 26, 2022 at 7:59 pm

yes please go buy it and see your money become zero after few years.

• 150hp with that torque? the engine gonna sound like a bus. no thanks im good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • 1300km full tank! wow!

• Robert on Nov 17, 2015 at 2:26 pm

If the diesel example comes here, and priced below 140k, I’d buy it

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 17, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Take my money…where to buy?

• gangully on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Since France banned the use of diesel cars in towns, PSA will need to sell their Diesels somewhere… where better if not Malaysia…

• intermilan on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Since the prince engine (petrol) give a lot of headache (even now), turning to diesel engine is a logical choice.

But this HDi engine need euro 5 diesel to work properly. The lousy euro 2M diesel will surely kill this engine ASAP. And Peugeot will not de-tune or reconfigure the engine to accept euro 2 or any sub-par diesel.

Unfortunately, Euro 5 diesel is only available in Klang Valley and JB.

Nationwide roll-out was postponed (by MITI) to 2020. And without euro 5 diesel, Peugeot / Nasim seems not going to sell it here. So.. that’s it I guess.

But.. Having said all that, I’m not particularly sure how Citroen/Naza Euro Motor and Peugeot/Nasim managed to decide in selling C4 Grand Picasso and 508GT, which are equipped with HDi engine. Dont’ they know the risks? Or they know something we dunno?

Coz if they can sell C4GP and 508GT with HDi engine, why can’t they do the same with 308 or other diesel models for that matter?

Perhaps its not about the fuel but rather there is no business case/justification based on forecast / projected sales i.e. its not viable.

• Robert on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Both C4 and 508GT do not have the DPF anymore. Similar to what BMW did with the 320d.

I live in Klang Valley, so I’m seriously hoping they’d bring it to Malaysia.

• French Tosei on Nov 17, 2015 at 6:02 pm

It will breakdown and dpf error fault before the full tank is used up.

• hammer on Nov 18, 2015 at 9:18 am

what a mindset. every car will break down if doesnt hv proper maintenance. btw, car manufactures already removed dpf for malaysian market

• Diesel Power!!! on Nov 17, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Wow..diesel rocks..but the price is too high if introduce here..sigh..another problem is the assembly..is it as good as cbu form? Not so keen on the local ckd capabilities..

• Jobless on Nov 17, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Unfortunately many soohai i knew bought the old 206 Bestari (remeber the 12 year old loan pomotion) and old 308 and wats even more soohai is they THINK it is a PRESTIGE car,..some of them boasted in FB and some kampung chicks oso thought BMw

• Sammy Loo on Nov 19, 2015 at 2:14 am

this junk got even worse RV compared to kimchi, just 3 years you can get it for below 50k