Hyundai N sub-brand targets VW Golf GTI, BMW M3

hyundai-n-performance-i30

If you’re going to make a grand entry into the world of high-performance cars, you should look to challenge the best in the game. That is precisely what Hyundai’s performance sub-brand, N, is looking to do, as it has named the Volkswagen Golf GTI, BMW M3 and BMW M4 as benchmark targets with its upcoming line-up.

However, the N brand will not be looking to compete only in the horsepower war. Speaking to Drive, Hyundai North America vice president of product planning Mike O’Brien said, “it’s going to be focused on balanced performance, not just the best horsepower or the best 0-100 km/h time.

“It’s going to be more about a combination of great acceleration and performance and great driving dynamics as well,” he added. Hyundai’s N brand is said to comprise a wide range of vehicles including the i30 and Veloster. Recently, it released a video that reveals the “beginning of N,” featuring both models. Expect other models to be added as time goes by.

Hyundai has already rendered the services of former BMW M VP of engineering Albert Biermann to lead its N sub-brand, a statement of its high ambitions. “Our first step with Albert is a clear step that second best is not going to be acceptable for us. We want to make sure we have the very best and brightest folks working on this,” said O’Brien.

The Golf GTI may be a benchmark for say, an i30 N, but the company is also looking to produce a car to compete against the BMW M models. The N brand can contribute to this effort by working with Hyundai’s other newly established sub-brand, Genesis.

Hyundai America president and CEO David Zuchowski told Drive, “to play in that segment I think that becomes really important. It’s important because we really never have established a performance image in this market.”

GALLERY: Hyundai i30 N spied at Nurburgring

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• spongewai on Nov 20, 2015 at 12:41 pm

GOOD LUCK TO YOU IF YOU BEAT BMW M3 OR VW GOLF GTI

• Joe jambu on Nov 20, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Meanwhile Proton here rebadge old Hondas..hahaha

• Cue laughter.

• Jaguh Kampung on Nov 20, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Meanwhile proton still go brother accessories and print some stickers on dated proton and called it Proton Type R…..Rempit konon.

Baik main telur dan minum teh.

• people around the world still think Hyundai a cheap brand.. they not even thinking about hyundai when they afford BMW

• Captain Slow on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Good luck Hyundai..Even Lexus have hard time to beat the M4 with their RC-F

• Sammy Loo on Nov 21, 2015 at 9:13 pm

This N junk cannot even compare with 20 years old VW Golf GTI and the BMW M3 in terms of performance. Maybe only the RV can be compared with the 20 years old VW Golf GTI.

• Contilover on Nov 23, 2015 at 3:14 pm

haha…Hyundai dont have double clutch that switch gear thousand miles per seconds dont ever said u want to compete these technology. I know after this somebody will mention DSG problematic..yaa right honda/ toyota salesman..