Driven Web Series 2015 #5: best pick-ups in Malaysia – Nissan Navara vs Ford Ranger vs Mitsubishi Triton

And we’re back! Here’s a brand new episode of Driven Web Series 2015, this time powered by Petronas Dynamic Diesel. As promised, we’re looking at Malaysia’s rejuvenated pick-up truck market.

Present are three of the latest and greatest trucks in the market: the all-new Nissan Navara, the facelifted Ford Ranger and the second-generation Mitsubishi Triton – all represented here in range-topping forms. So which one should you put your hard-earned money on?

Newest here is the Nissan NP300 Navara, which will be officially launched very soon. The top-spec VL here has an estimated price tag of RM125,000 with insurance (final prices will be announced tomorrow), and comes with a 190 PS/450 Nm 2.5 litre turbodiesel engine mated to a seven-speed auto.

Just given a facelift a few months ago, we’ve included the Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak, with its class-leading 200 PS/470 Nm five-cylinder engine. It also asks for a lot, RM132,188 without insurance. The third contender is the Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure, relatively cheap here at RM110,218 without insurance.

Do enjoy the episode, and make a date with us next week as we pit the brand new F48 BMW X1 against its two prime rivals, the Mercedes-Benz GLA 250 and Audi Q3.

Nissan NP300 Navara 2.5 VL
Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak
Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 VGT Adventure

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Harv, is that a TAGHeuer Carrera Calibre 5, I see?

• Toyota Salesman Need Pampers on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Poor UMw salesman like Sam Loo (ori1) and Same Lorrrr. Now, nobody talks about hilux anymore. Beside being called the Moving Coffin, the Hilux is now termed as shitlux.

Malaysians now don’t want a car with no VSc and ZERO safety features. Ranger, Navara and Triton are the talk of the town.

When you pass UMW showroom, you can hear the salesman now crying like a newborn baby just delivered from the mother’s womb.

I appeal all readers here to donate a packet of pampers to each UMW showroom so that we can help these crying babies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 17
      • here in east malaysia more n more new register hilux on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
        • Hilux is for poor people. Toyota is competing in lower class category with Isuzu and Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • dex tuazon on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:03 am

Saudi arabia is one of the richest country in the world..why they prefer hilux than ford poor ranger..the ratio is 1000hilux 1ford poor ranger..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • karam singh on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Upcoming new Hilux specs from Thailand is that good with Stability Control,
        But when it comes here, I think its gonna strip down lots a lots of it, or maybe the price gonna be sky high.
        UMW Toyota – rubbish greedy bastard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
      • Now i remember that u the one that umw tyt sacked before for cbt. Dont emo lah bro…

• Triton > Navara > Hilux >….> Ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
        • Jeremy Yeo Zheng Jie on Dec 15, 2015 at 4:53 pm

John,its true. The Triton is quite reasonable in price. Now they gave Rm9000 cash rebates. The Triton has also quite a throaty engine and power is also plenty at any rpm range. The Mitsubishi Triton is also very easy to maintain. Parts and service are reasonable and easily accessible. The older Mitsubishi Triton is still in very good condition even placed under harsh condition. Comparing the Mitsubishi Tritonand the Ranger is two different things. The Triton is much more beautiful, more reasonable price and very much higher resale value. Too bad we do not have the 2.4 mivec engine which has more power and better fuel consumption. The Triton is very worthy to be owned and has quite a captivating design if i do say so myself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
        • Andy Khoo, on Dec 15, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Yes Jeremy Yeo and the Triton is a good car indeed, after owning it for a month or so, I had found it is quite reliable. I wouldnt want the Hilux as the price will soar up like nobody buisness due to UMW Toyota. The Mitsubishi would not and yes they give Rm2000 rebate when I bought my Triton adventure. the hilux would not be in my list and i would say that if you are considering upon buying a pickup truck, the Mitsubishi triton wadventure would be the one you would want to get

• Here I am on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:20 am

Why don’t u come over to Borneo and test drive those trucks you’ve mentioned, other than Hilux. Drive them as how they are :- no upgrading. You’ll surely regret of what you’ve said. Those trucks are meant to be driven on a-less-tough roads. I’ve tested Triton, Ranger, Dmax and Navara on tough roads. Still Hilux is d best when it comes to crawling though it has less airbags, no fancy meters, bling2 here and there.

• ProtonGSC on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Rich choose Ranger… affordable price choose Navara… Triton can wait for clear stock… Hilux waiting for the new version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
    • Rich will buy Ninja King.

look @ borneo, plenty of Rich.

• “Rich choose Ranger”- hahaha..very funny, the rich will definitely not look at pick up truck.
      Or the ranger owner think that they are rich???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:38 am

What I mean is that “rich” or have extra money to spend will choose Ranger… If I say “Rich people” then will choose luxury and not common brand… But seen that the Government makes others common brand at luxury price in Malaysia that’s ridiculous.

• Hello, who say rich cannot own a pickup. My friend dad is super rich with many supercar and luxury. However he need a pickup which he choose triton to his construction site and forest. Alhough it has a single digit plate on the triton.

• iamsuperpro on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:26 pm

most stupid comment ever.

• Wow! such a big reaction, are you one of the ranger owner that think owning a ranger is very rich?? ticker ticker…

• Here I am on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:24 am

This is a real joke! Rich people will buy Ninja King instead.

• Alexander on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Only a bodoh will spend 140k on a pickup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 59
    • I rather be a bodoh who can spend 140k on a truck, than be a bodoh who cant even see 140k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • hahaha on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:20 pm

not really.. sometimes its the ground clearance and the reliability that make people prefer pickups more than SUV.

• tokmoh. on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Save RM30k, get Ranger 3.2 manual. Still get ESP, 5 cylinder gooding feel, that 6 speed manual gearbox hnnngggghhh

Muricaaaa fark yeaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • But Ranger is very weak, need 3.2L to fight with 2.5L. The Ranger 2.2L is like a lame chicken, and 95% of Rangers in Malaysia road are 2.2L. So if you drive a Triton or Navara, you will tapao practically 95% of Ranger in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • Yo roti john, i am driving a 2.2l ranger with manual t. And i dnt see myself being practically tapao like you said. Go home kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • i would vote for the best riding rather than best driving.
    hence, Ford ranger with bad comfort for rear passenger is a no no for me..

any other coming up to my car will feel like sitting a truck. Prepare for comment if one drive a Ford Ranger.

Triton got the best ride overall, White the Navara giving the good ride but added with SUV class Front seat comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Elchino on Nov 25, 2015 at 8:33 pm

It’s not really fair to field the 3.2 ltr wildtrak against the other 2 trucks. You should have used the 2.2 ltr Ranger instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • If they use the 2.2, then the ranger have no chance, cna’t even smell the smoke of Triton and Navara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Here I am on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:25 am

2.2 is seriously underpower when tested. As worse as 2.5 DMax.

• Here I am on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:26 am

2.2 is seriously underpower

• Triton vgt gs on Nov 25, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Triton got really poor durability. Steering rod, Collum, steering liquid valve, drive shaft so problematic. We used it on heavy off roading. 3 triton here (including mine) got same problem. Overall ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Not to mention the Triton is roughly 200Kilos lighter than the 2.1 ton Ranger.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 25, 2015 at 7:41 pm

This is what we want, great videography, great comparison and critical reviews. Keep it up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Aye to this, now they’re talking like full time professionals who really knows their stuffs! Great job!

Now, my personal thoughts:

Mitsu Triton
      Lack of stability control, even for their most flagship spec is a big nono to me. Seriously MMM, you think flappy pedal in a pick up is useful? Too much lepak with Maslan got to you?

Nissan Navara
      The Goldilocks of these three, looks competitive overall packaging.

May not attract serious trucker fans maybe, due to lowest payload. I can almost see only people who just want a pick up for the style would get this, with comfortable handling, fuel efficient powertrain, and more value for money pricing.

Ford Ranger
      Muricaaaaaa

Nothing less expected from land of freedom. All those expertise should mean the Ford gotta give the most pure trucking experience.

But Sime Darby pricing nokharoooom. About a decade ago, pick up was picking up (hohoho) popularity because they mostly priced under rm100k, yet versatile enough as serious business tool or to ferry a family. Albeit the ride and space wasn’t ideal but hey, 10 years ago what other choices do we have? It was a fair compromise for its asking price.

Now that pick ups’ refinement has greatly improved, so has the pricing. This is a bit disappointing, almost like the carmakers taking advantage of consumers’ demand. Yes, Ford Ranger today is so much better than 10 years ago, but >RM30k premium? Too much songlap laaa

Personally, the Ranger gives the absolute best overall packaging sans pricing. The only way to go around it is to opt lower spec Ranger, and I’d prefer that over the Navara IMHO. At least even cheapest Ranger gives ESP, that matters more than saving 0.9km/L for me. That 5 cylinder hnnnngggghhh. Muricaaaaa

They see me rollin’, they hatin’
      Patrollin’ like they tryin’ ta catch me ridin’ dirty
      Tryin’ ta catch me ridin’ dirty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Totally agree though one can’t dismiss the part where the lack of side and curtain airbags in the Nissan is a bummer. Especially considering that it has almost car like features, having the full suite of airbags would actually make it a cool car for family use too.

Actually, the Ranger was developed wholly in Australia, so it should be StrayaM8!

• LandoCars on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:54 pm

My 3.2 is a year old now. Was looking at other makes before that, Navara and Hilux were rather dated.

Could afford a T6 in Wagga, a whopping AUD54K for the Manual. Phew!

No regrets driving this Red Fire Truck!

• snoopay on Nov 25, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Terrible showmanship, painful to watch. Sorry guys – just being honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • Ibnu bakrin on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Well, the information I gain here is not enough. I still need to know more on the other criteria.
    Should consider the load, towing, warranty, service cost, and tray loading capability.

In between these 3 trucks, there have Mazda BT-50 and Isuzu D-max. Not bad for these 2 trucks. Some people are happy to own them. Forget about Hilux which we all know the reason.

From the beginning, Paultan’s team just compare for 3 models, but for the trucks, I think it’s insufficient enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Lumpis pato on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Welcome back big man!!..but please lose the background music when they are talking..and no more after credits???!!

• akulahaku on Nov 25, 2015 at 10:01 pm

i think they should include the DMAX also for comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Excellent episode guys! I really enjoyed it!

On the side though, if you guys knew the Triton would suck that much, why not bring the Isuzu D-Max instead?

• Tbh, I can’t even hear what Hafriz says. He speaks too fast la like rushing to end the program. No boycott but I think he should speak slower and more clearly so that we can get the most out of him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Matchy on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Hmm… No off road and pay load comparison?

• PTreader on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:10 pm

yea, that’s better one now. beside the vehicle price, do not forget about the road tax as well. 3.2L vs 2.5L is no joke. cheers

• Love the review. It does nail a few points correctly. The Ranger have an 800mm water wading height which makes it the top choice for off-roading activities. If i am not mistaken it does have one of the best slope approach degree(?)

Downside of Ranger is that its really huge on city road and car parks. I have personally seen Triton zapping in and out the bay parking but with Ranger, you just have to take careful movements when doing the parking.

For the Triton, it maybe comfortable for the rear passengers but it have lacks the driving experience. Though its the cheapest around and look super good once fully modded. Triton works very well with dark matte colors. Trust me, my neighbourhood have all truck brands, including myself owning the all new Ranger :D

I have a different figure on the FC part. My experience with 3.2 and 2.2 new Ranger, I can do 9.5 and 10.5km/l with both mixed city and highway drive. 9.3 and 9.6km/l on full city drive with an average of 30mins of peak hours traffic

• Great review… Unbiased!!!

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Good review, I would go for the Ranger 2.2XLT. Should have put Sam Loo and his Hilux stuck in the mud in the video.

• This is a great episode and iteresting

• Clement on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:15 am

When video about trucks, it is not just about urban driving. The team should consider retake another video with actual pick up truck practical tests instead of road-test which meant for passenger cars.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:26 am

I’d like to see the stats on the pick-up market. I bet that the vast majority of sales are for trucks below 100k. It might be better to compare the trucks that people actually buy rather than the top of the range.

• Driven Fan on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:48 am

WOW, what a big improvement Driven Crew & finally some new music with the show, very good videography and the reviews were really good, covered much and good overall comparison done. It was a bit mellow the entire show but again it was done very well as mention the reviews done were very good. Keep it up Drive and again what a bog difference and improvement in this episode. Well DONE :)

• nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:58 am

Id like all of them take turns n drive all the othr trucks..we can hav more prospective rather than one guy drive the same car all episode….
    Id take the ranger..but not the 3.2…will take 2.2….n probably in orange…the triton has its own fans…n known to be very robust actually… Navara i have no clue how its gonna do saleswise…but it always played 2nd fiddle to the others…

• Toyota hilux vnt on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:39 am

not dare to go off-road and test it? Still the toyota hilux can go off-road, better take it out the transfer case and for highway use only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Seven king on Nov 27, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Did u want the video. They said these truck not for uncle chong

• JinHsien on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:18 am

Finally, a good episode. As much as I hate to say it, it’s the reviewers. The new guys are obviously trying hard and… they are new I know, but really you guys should stick with the veterans for the show. At least until the newbies get their feet wet enough to be able to have some credibility.

• Pick_up market in Malaysia still not mature enough.But when comparing to this heavy machines.please do included others as well.Every Pick -Up have their identity.some big monster.other nice to drive in urban but not in rural.hard to determined which is better.as user ,up to u guys.

• Alexei on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:23 am

Weird comparison to match a 3.2 against a 2.5 engine. Ranger has the best handling no doubt. But personally prefer the Mitsubishi Triton over the Navara. We don’t go off road everyday, when it comes to city driving or long distance traveling, Triton is still more comfortable than the Navara. And definitely more affordable than the Ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • macromedia on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:57 am

WOW… this episode of DRIVEN is fantastic! I love how it’s done, clean and concise. TQVM. Keep up the good work!

• saynotohilux on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:01 am

very nice episode guys. kipidap

• drove on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:22 pm

I have a great experience with my new wildtrak. Never regret owning one..

• Felice on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Why didn’t they take them off-road??

• I think Isuzu D-Max should be in this comparison as well.

• Hi, its my first time considering a pick up on my daily commute to work.
    I have short list the Ranger (2.2) & Dmax.
    Appreciate your valuable comment.
    Cheers!

• kaki ayam on May 18, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Klau tggl kt Sabah Sarawak krta yg pling bbaloi bli mmng pick up.sebab?blh jd family car dn bwa pg kbun skali, .org sabah n srawak kbykn nya byk tnah nk usahakn, mcm2 blh letak belakang,.keperluan ok, bkan ckap kaya atau miskin.klau tggal kt bandar n keja office knpa nk bli pick up klau x byk guna?tp x apelh klau nk bli pick up klau suka.mmng skrng trend pkai pick up.asalkn mmpu byr.

• Pabloo on Aug 02, 2016 at 4:59 pm

aye chill fam

• LDesp on Jan 06, 2017 at 8:26 pm

Ford Ranger Limited Auto 4×4 2.2TDCi 160 4p
    or
    Nissan Navara 2.3dCi EU6 190 CV (140 kW) Auto 4×4
    What one is best?