Driven Web Series 2019: New Proton SUV against rivals – Proton X70 vs Honda CR-V vs Subaru XV

Driven Web Series returns for another instalment, powered by Petronas. For the first episode of 2019, we’re talking SUVs, and this trio is sure to pique your interest, especially since it involves the newly launched Proton X70, the popular Honda CR-V and the capable Subaru XV.

The national carmaker’s first SUV has been the talk of the town ever since it went on sale back in December 2018. With prices starting from RM99,800, there are four variants of the X70 to pick from, all powered by a 1.8 litre turbocharged engine. This particular unit is the top-of-the-range Premium 2WD that goes for RM123,800, which packs a rather impressive amount of safety equipment.

Of course, the X70 will have to compete against a big name in the SUV segment, the CR-V. Honda’s offering is not only the market leader but is widely regarded as the benchmark for C-segment SUVs in Malaysia. Lest we forget, the CR-V also managed to edge out the Mazda CX-5 and Peugeot 3008 in a previous episode, which you can watch below – this explains the CX-5’s absence against the X70, which many commenters have asked about.

Well, the CR-V is back again, and the range-topping 1.5TC Premium 2WD variant makes it the costliest model in this line-up, retailing at RM163,191. Like its Proton counterpart, a turbocharged engine powers the CR-V as well, albeit a smaller-capacity one at 1.5 litres, and its Honda Sensing suite comes feature packed.

Of course, the issue of pricing is something that car buyers are very sensitive about, and with a RM40k gap between the Honda and Proton, we thought we’d bring in something priced a little closer to the X70.

Enter our final entrant, the Subaru XV, which in 2.0i-P guise, is priced at RM126,788, making it a legitimate alternative to the X70. The XV is a smaller car compared to others in this line-up, and it also has a significantly different skillset.

For starters, there’s a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated boxer engine instead of a turbo in-line four, and while the Proton and Honda are front-wheel drive, the Subaru packs the brand’s well-known Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system.

So, what are the strengths and shortcomings of these SUVs? Well, we’ll answer them in this video and hopefully, you’ll identify which one suits your lifestyle best. Now, grab a drink, a snack, a friend, a family member, and enjoy the first episode of 2019 of Driven Web Series. Don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments section below. Happy watching!

GALLERY: Proton X70 1.8 TGDi Premium 2WD
GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.5 TC Premium 2WD
GALLERY: Subaru XV 2.0i-P AWD

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• somer on Jan 25, 2019 at 10:28 pm

(Like) Proton X70
    (Dislike) Honda CRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 40
    • Delicious Roti john on Jan 25, 2019 at 10:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 161
      • sam123 on Jan 25, 2019 at 11:14 pm

Honda CRV got the best RV than other two…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 105
        • U pay more, u get higher RV. Get an X70 and invest the Rm40k price difference, by the time we both sell the cars, my investment will be higher than ur RV. So what to crow about a depreciating asset?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 27
          • Susukotak on Jan 26, 2019 at 7:38 am

do you really have rm40k.in your hand? or just dreaming paying your purchase in cash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
          • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:06 am

This is the same guy who told us Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world and Proton has ZERO debts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
          • Johny on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:17 am

Car is always on liability site, will never be on asset side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
          • John is Craving Dedak on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:39 am

Can Proton publish the parts prices list and give a jaminan that prices will not go up in the next 7 years?

Until today Proton never publish the list

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
          • Blurkkk on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:00 am

After 5 yrs this rm123 x70 RV will become rm40k, while the rm99k x70 will be rm30k. Mean while crv will be at rm80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 45
          • X70 Buyer on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:25 am

Yup yup. Agreed. Fully agreed & I agree with the verdict of the presenters which is why I went for X70.
            For those who asked if there is RM 40k in hand, that’s a dumb question. If the prospective buyers doesn’t have it, then surely they can’t even afford for CRV, ergo X70 is a nobrainer. If they do have RM 40k in hand (like I do), then as john said, investing that 40k price difference would certainly net a higher return than any RV differences. With my RM 40k and some savvy investing, my X70 will basically pay for itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 13
          • X70 Buyer on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:33 am

To add, while the poster at 8.39am is clearly a troll and I don’t usually reply to trolls, I will just add that I have no problems with Proton not publishing their parts prices. It is immaterial to me because I look at the overall servicing cost and this is published on their website. You asked if Proton can ensure 7 years no change in parts prices, then let me ask you which brand does? My X70 is still faraway and I will gladly cancel it and buy from that brand if you show me conclusive proof and not just empty talk to fool X70 buyers like me. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame you even more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
          • X70 Buyer on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:09 am

To Blurkkk, I can turn that RM 40k price difference into RM 60k in 5 years. Do I really want to care about the low RV (if true) in 5 years?
            I can topup the RM 40k difference in RV to get the next Geely/Volvo-derived car and still have RM 20k to roll as investment on top of the next car price difference with equivalent Japanese branded car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • X70 customers r those who definitely has more brains. Kudos to u! U made the right choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
          • X70 customers r those who definitely has no brain. Habisla to u! U made the wrong choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Proton still has their attitude problem. Go to their SC and complain, they will tell you, “Biasa lah bang, ini Proton, what do you expect”

At least P2 always attend to your problems with a happy outlook

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:08 pm

Buy Perodua Aruz at RM72k. Use 3 years also you still can get RM50k

Buy this Proton X70, use 3 years, you still get RM50k

So, your initial spending is RM72k VS RM123k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:20 pm

This is really Geely’s success and Geely’s hardwork. All credit must go to Li Chunrong and Geely for this beauty

But why Proton has failed all this why and needed Geely to save it?

Proton was born in 1985. Geely was born in 1997. So Proton is more senior.

Why is Geely having so much of success and expertise in car industry when it is 12 years younger than Proton?

I cannot understand why one company can sell 1.5 million cars and another company can sell only 50,000 cars.

Why does Geely make USD$30 billion (RM100 billion) in profits last year and Proton makes RM4 mil in losses per day?

Proton also could have marketed our cars to all over the world and China market as well. World markets was open to Proton all these years.

Infact, it was harder for Geely to compete in China as there are more than 10 local car companies in China competing with Geely. Proton only had Perodua to compete with.

Furthermore, Proton had World markets to market our Proton. Geely had no world markets opportunity like Proton had as the world had no confidence in China cars then.

So why are both companies so different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:25 pm

Why couldn’t Proton give us a good SUV all these years and we had to wait for China in 2018 to give us a proper and safe car?

Proton was born in 1985. Geely was born in 1997. So Proton is more senior.

Why is Geely having so much of success and expertise in car industry when it is 12 years younger than Proton?

I cannot understand why one company can sell 1.5 million cars and another company can sell only 50,000 cars.

Why does Geely make USD$30 billion (RM100 billion) in profits last year and Proton makes RM4 mil in losses per day?

Proton also could have marketed our cars to all over the world and China market as well. World markets was open to Proton all these years.

Infact, it was harder for Geely to compete in China as there are more than 10 local car companies in China competing with Geely. Proton only had Perodua to compete with.

So why are both companies so different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
          • Sulaiman on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:30 pm

China products always show after one year their problems.

Ask any Xiaomi owner. After one year, all the problems start to come. Initially look nice and syiok.

Ask any Xiaomi owner, after first round, they always go back to Samsung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 48
          • Avenger on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Aruz? Why bother to compare a jacked up B-segment MPV with a proper C-Segment SUV? That’s like saying why buy Aruz at RM72,000 when an Axia at RM30,000 will do the same. Saves RM 42,000 what. PaulTan clearly knows how to do a proper SUV comparison by leaving out Aruz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:42 pm

Proton never tell the truth. 15,000 orders kononnya but only delivered 2000. But in China berlambak tens of thousands of Boyue cannot sell and under the hot sun. Estimated 50,000 Boyue made but cannot sell. Few months cannot sell

The truth is, Proton only sold 2000 X70.

15,000 is their imagination

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
          • John Tunggu Dedak BN on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Too many fake cybertroopers promoting X70 today.

I wish Proton play fair. Be honest for once!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
          • John Tunggu Dedak BN on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Where is our resident Toyota basher with his 20 dupes? I guess he is working hard today potraying as X70 owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • The Truth About Proton, Geely, X70 and Malaysian Journalist on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:11 pm

The truth is, Proton is a big advertiser to various local car magazines and car sites.

Car sites are too scared to write anything bad about them because it is big advertising money that will be lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:14 pm

Look at the homepage, buddy. Honda advertises on our site too. As do both Proton and Subaru. There’s no bias here

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 6
          • John Amat Sayang Dedak on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:22 pm

Many X70 owners say Proton X70 is a gas guzzler. Like this better buy Aruz. P2 cars are always money saving!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
          • Dun mind the trolling by dupe basher, Haf bro. He just a fearful, desperate little salesman who feels really threatened by X70 and GeelyP1 flourishing partnership. Imagine that, just 1 model alredi gave him the frights. What happens when Binrui, Binyue, Jiaji, VF11, FY11 comes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • John Minum Teh 8X - Circus Clown on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:30 pm

Habisla Paultan.Org! This site comment section is filled with keyboard warriors who don’t have any knowledge of cars and just talking nonsense without any facts. Spreading fake news in every articles, disliking critical comments and talking nonsense. Therefore, they must let go of their keyboards and pack their bags to the nearest circus to apply for a job. Becoming a clown will be suitable for them as they have the perfect skills to be a clown. For example, using peculiar names and fooling themselves with their nonsense statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:20 am

Proton X70 is too new for me to risk so much of money on. I will wait to buy it after one year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:23 am

@john, this is a motoring blog. Pls take your anger issues elsewhere. We all know about your different names the past few years here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • Hussein on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:32 am

I hope Binrui, Binyue, Jiaji, VF11, FY11 come to Malaysia soon.

Then bye bye Proton. Proton will be history. 35 yrs of motoring down the drain

Proton becomes official reseller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Shazmin on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:35 am

enough of your lies and your so many dupes john. Pls respect this forum. Enough is enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
          • Abdul Jalil Minum Teh 693X on Jan 27, 2019 at 12:25 pm

@Abdul Jalil, this is a motoring blog. Pls take your anger issues elsewhere. We all know about your different names the past few years here such as you, YB Kunta Kinte, John Minum Teh 8X, John Amat Sayang Dedak, John Is Craving Dedak, Roti John Sdn Bhd, Amran, Malek Saad, Azmi, Hussein, Arshad, John Tunggu Dedak BN as well as your other 50 dupes.

• keep paultan.org to be environmental friendly on Jan 27, 2019 at 1:21 pm

Dear to all readers, always keep in your mind, pls don’t ever read John Minum Teh 8X Comments, YB Kunta Kinte Comments, Sulaiman Comments, Hussein Comments, Abdul Jalil Comments, John Amat Sayang Dedak Comments, John Tunggu Dedak BN Comments, Malek Saad Comments, Blurkkk Comments, John is Craving Dedak Comments, John Menangis Kuat Kuat Comments, Delicious Roti John Comments, REAL JOHN Comments, ROTI JOHN Comments, john bodo pasal banyak makan dedak Comments, Ahmad Albab Comments and Shazmin Comments cause everyone already suspected that these comments that had been using other names, it is YB Kunta Kinte and John Minum Teh 8X who spreading fake stories in every articles in paultan.org.

To all Paultan Members, PLS MAKE SURE WE DON’T WANT TO SEE John Minum Teh 8X Comments again and other his names comments that John Minum Teh 8X had used in every articles in paultan

One more thing is that, always remember those comments, not only John Minum Teh 8X and his other names that John Minum Teh 8X had used, those many users who are always cane from Honda Salesmen and Nissan Salesmen that post fake stories, rubbish stories and talk liars in every articles in paultan for other carmakers like Proton, Mazda, Volvo, Geely, Toyota, BMW, Volvo, Mercedes and other carmakers, you always need to remember that you shouldn’t always read the user comments who are always coming from Honda Salesmen and Nissan Salesmen as many Honda Salesmen and Many Nissan Salesmen will always definitely will cheat on you cause Honda Service is Very Terrible and ETCM known as Nissan Malaysia Management will always never give any promises to give better features as ETCM Management will always lousy junk cars to the consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 28, 2019 at 3:54 pm

@keep paultan.org to be environmental friendly

You got mental problems writing a long essay and bringing my name into the picture.

Are you hallucinating? I comment using my name only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • YB Kunta Kinte Super Salah! on Jan 28, 2019 at 6:19 pm

@YB Kunta Kinte

You got mental problems writing fake news in every articles using different names and spamming upvote button on your comment while downvoting others real news.

Are you hallucinating? You comment using 50 dupes.

• Dr Strange on Jan 28, 2019 at 6:43 pm

It is common for one personality not to know what the other split personalities had done. A fine example is Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde. You are a clear example as well, Mr Kunta or whoever is the main personality I am referring to.

• Susukotak really otak sperti kotak. you buy higher price, repayment also higher. go for Toyota then your problem solved. all other brands of car is rubbish car.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 26, 2019 at 7:47 am

Is this really a Malaysian car? This is because the price is at a whopping RM123k. According to EPF’s own statistics, 78.3% of all its contributors earn RM1500 and below.

To get a RM123k loan, you need to be earning RM8000 and above. How many Malaysians earn RM8000 and above?

Proton was created in 1985 for Malaysians to have affordable cars. Infact, because of Proton, all car prices went up like about 700% from 1985 to 2019 to protect Proton and “force” people to buy Proton cars to give Proton a free ride in business

So, is this fair to Malaysians? We supported a car company for 30 years suffering with super high car prices in Malaysia, only to be given now a car that cost RM123k.

By the way, the same highly acclaimed Japanese SUV Forester is RM123k also. The brand new CRV 2.0 VTEC (not the 1.5 Turbo)
          is RM129k (after discounts)

These cars have won awards all over the world and is sold in all FIRST WORLD countries. They even won awards in every single First World Country

Geely Boyue aka Proton X70 was rejected in ALL First World countries because of low standards. Geely tried so hard to market their cars in Western Countries and even in Japan but failed.

95% of all Geely cars are and can ony be sold in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 39
          • KingofTrolls on Jan 26, 2019 at 9:55 am

Tongsan mari sudah… maluapa8055ku

• john bodo pasal banyak makan dedak on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:31 am

Not 95% but 99.9%. You go to Russia or UAE, you also cannot see Geely cars there. More rare than Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:07 pm

Better to just buy Perodua Aruz. It is a 7 seater car and uses pure Toyota time tested engine.

Toyota engines are known to be the best VVTi engines in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:14 pm

People always wonder why UK and USA car magazines never review China cars not give it any awards compared to Japanese cars or European cars.

No China car has ever won an award. Kenapa ek?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
          • John Tunggu Dedak BN on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Proton spends all their money to employ cybertroopers to promote their cars. 9 out of 10 owners here are fake owners of X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • John Amat Sayang Dedak on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:23 pm

I save RM50k from buying an Aruz than a China made junk. That is a lot of money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:22 am

I dont know anything about this car. To me RM100k is a lot of money. I will only buy something that has been in the market few years

• correct bruh. i asked my coliqs why buy used Accord than spanking all new P1 Perdana , although exactly same car and price… u know what they response

• John is Craving Dedak on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:35 am

Proton cars never had RV. Worse still China cars. Look at Haval in MAlaysia. Within one year, the Haval become RM30k from RM100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
          • That’s the only thing trolls have to say: no RV. How pathethic, you guys have nothing else to say? Cars are liability to begin with, so don’t talk as if a Honda or Toyota will make money for you. Looking at the reception for the X70 during launch, the RV may not be as bad as you trolls trying desperately to portray. RV depends on demand, and there’s high demand for the X70. Seen a few units on the road already and I must say it look quite nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 31
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:10 pm

The Proton X70 is tonggek. It is too high. Go fast on corners, sure to terbalik like the old Perodua Kembara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • Boooooooo ETCM and Honda Malaysia. Honda Service Is Very Terrible and Nissan Malaysia Management known as ETCM is extremely worst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:26 am

Proton X70 is too overpriced for Malaysians. Just like the Perdana that was overpriced and went flop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • X70 Booo on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:11 pm

X70 Buyer is keyboard warrior only. Talk only pandai. Next 5 years let see if u really willing to top up 40k lols lols lols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:12 pm

From the first Iswara to this Proton X70, Proton cars have the worst depreciation ever. Sellers will get a shock when bank asks them to top up their loan when they sell their cars 3 years time. Buy now RM123k, 3 years time become RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Proton should sell this car cheaper at RM70k. After all in China the price is RM65k. Why come here the price is RM123k?

Proton thinks Malaysians is their bank?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:07 pm

It is suicide to buy a China car with no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:28 am

I phoned customer service and they cannot answer most of my questions on the car. I asked them where the parts are made, they said Malaysia. But this is CBU isnt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • sam123 stupid idiot on Feb 03, 2019 at 3:24 pm

stupid sam123, if u want RV dont buy car, go invest ur money buy asset.

• John Minum Teh 8X Fake News on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:53 am

When Proton X70, Toyota RAV4, Hyundai Tucson, Mazda CX-5, Kia Sportage and Subaru XV comes here, HABISLAH Nissan XTrail and Honda CRV as both Nissan X-Trail looks extremely BORING And OUTDATED and Honda CRV have less features Proton X70, Toyota RAV4, Hyundai Tucson, Mazda CX-5, Kia Sportage and Subaru XV. No wonder, this is why YB Kunta Kinte (John Minum Teh 8X) is always hiding like cockroaches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • John Minum Teh 8X Real News on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:59 am

When Honda CRV, Nissan X-Trail, Toyota RAV4, Hyundai Tucson, Mazda CX-5, Kia Sportage and Subaru XV comes here, HABISLAH Proton X70 as Proton X70 looks extremely BORING And OUTDATED and Proton X70 have less features Honda CRV, Nissan X-Trail, Toyota RAV4, Hyundai Tucson, Mazda CX-5, Kia Sportage and Subaru XV. No wonder, this is why john is always hiding like cockroaches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
        • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:16 pm

Last year, Toyota sold more vehicles than Proton, according to MAA figures

So malu. Once upon a time, Proton sales over 200,000 per annum. Now only 60,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Don’t lie. I know you always come from Honda Salesman or Nissan Salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:30 am

Proton needs to improve customer services, they just tod me the car is fully made in Malaysia. I got shock!!

• You should cry because the X70 is good, really good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:22 pm

Every year and every launch, Proton always say game changer. And every launch also they send their cybertroopers to put good news about their cars.

But at of the day, all the cars lingkup. Even Iriz also had so much of hype, but see….lingkup also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:41 am

I rather wait 1 year to buy this car once it has gone through a few batches.

Gila to spend so much on something untested

• Sulaiman on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Proton and Geely cannot be trusted. Recently also Geely got caught for lying about their stock inventory and sales figures.

Bloomberg and Reuters proved that their figures were misleading and there were thousands of Boyue in the stock yard cannot be sold (now all shipped to Malaysia as X70 ie Malaysia dumping ground)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • Bloomberg and Reuters also proved that Toyota C-HR got defects and hundred thousand of Toyota C-HR recalled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • John Tunggu Dedak BN on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Cybertrooper today trying so hard to increase sales of Proton X70. Still very low. So many cancellations because all lompat to Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:02 pm

I am still waiting reviews of Boyue or X70 from impartial International car magazines.

Malaysian motoring journalist have to consider whether Proton is a big advertiser or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Brian on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:35 pm

If you don’t like the reviews of Paul Tan and team, then why are you still here? Go setup your own autoblogsite specific to hentam and tell stories about p1, and geely, and whatever floats your boat. You can even comment on your site using multiple names like you do here. You know, this blog can do without you and your insinuations against Paul Tan and team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • U can go to Proton showroom test urself. Why need somebody come to tell the car is good or not good?

• Engineer on Jan 28, 2019 at 9:43 am

@Axxx.
            This joker is not looking for someone to tell him how good is the car. He is finding for reviews telling him how bad it is, but so far he has been disappointed.

• Because now X70 is the best among all SUVs in Malaysia, if not, u won’t came here to curse Proton.

• Yeah they all sang praises for the china car. No surprises because they have been gushing over this thing as they have been china car fans for decades. Now anything geely is number one news on this site. Can be brand ambassadors.

I was waiting for them to utter the evergreen “game-changer” like they always do but they settled on “world-class” instead, LOL. Malu apa bossku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • Engineer on Jan 26, 2019 at 9:43 am

Malu kan, for being a frog in a well, never been to China and see how much they have progress?
        Malu kan for never seeing how Huawei Mate P20 pro is so much better than any iphone or Samsung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • LOL, you think I haven’t been to china? I am so grateful that it is a geely that came CBU with a funny tiger logo instead because we know the “quality” that comes out from local baoteng factories here. Wait till you see how they screw up the CKD versions later.

• Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:27 pm

So shy that China had to save Proton and give us finally a decent car. You are right, CKD quality will be so bad. Better buy CBU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:37 pm

This is why the whole world is banning Huawei……every country now banning Huawei. Are you katak di bawah tempurung and never heard news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Avenger on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Which whole world are you referring to? Asgard, Alfheim, Svartalfheim, Jotunheim, Vanaheim, Niflheim, Muspelheim, or Hel? Becus what you said doesn’t sound like reality on Midgard.

• YB Kunta Kinte fake news company on Jan 28, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Yes because we have never been in you dreams before so we don’t know any news that is happening in your dream

• Kelab Anti-John on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:28 am

John always has unrealistic dreams. Whatever he says, he thinks it will happen. He is NEVER pragmatic.

No wonder he always criticises Toyota, Honda etc. He expects them all to be like a Rolls Royce. He really thinks his P1 is the BMW of Asia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Nissan Salesman and Honda Salesman Detected. Honda Service will never improve at all and ETCM Malaysia Management always never improve at all. So Booooo ETCM and Honda Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:32 pm

Do you buy Akira aircon? No you don’t. Because you know, the aircon is not as good as Panasonic or York.

Only fools buy Akira, Hisense etc. They kaput very fast.

Expect the Proton X70 to kaput too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Dr Strange on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:25 pm

40 years ago:
            Do you buy a Matsushita aircon, or a Toyota car, or a Sony TV? No you don’t. Because you know the aircon is not as good as Carrier, or the car is not as good as Ford or GM, or the TV is not as good as GE.

Only fools buy Matsushita, Toyota, Sony, etc. They kaput very fast.

Expect (insert Japanese product) to kaput too.

Time travel is a strange thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
          • Dr Strange and Malek Saad Super Super Salah on Jan 26, 2019 at 6:11 pm

40 years ago:
            Do you buy a Matsushita aircon, or a Honda and Nissan car, or a Sony TV? No you don’t. Because you know the aircon is not as good as Carrier, or the car is not as good as Ford or GM, or the TV is not as good as GE.

Only fools buy Matsushita, Honda, Nissan Sony, etc. They kaput very fast.

Expect (insert Nissan and Japan product) to kaput too. Sure will definitely close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Does DK stand for Donkey Kong? Because you, sir, certainly sound like a donkey.

• No bro. The real DonkeyKong commenter has an gravatar and definitely has more brains and talk more sense. This DK is just another dupe of dupes. DK really just stands for “Dupe King”.

• You don’t have a better retort I see.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 26, 2019 at 1:23 pm

So many butthurt comments from Japanese fanboys and salesmen. Did this come from fear, arrogance, or incompetence – confidence? If they were confident in their respective SUVs, they would have said nothing; their cars would sell themselves.

• Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:39 pm

Proton salesman, DRB staff are all full swing commenting here. But end of the day, just like all Protons, sales will be bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Lolwhut? on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:46 pm

Lolwhut? Oh wait, haha. It’s just the trolling salesman again. Lol.

• Abesla on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Are you no different? I see you talking crap and lies about Proton X70. You cannot explain to me why should I not consider the X70 over the substantially more expensive CRV, you cannot explain to me why even when compared with XV at equivalent price, the XV pales in comparison. Abesla like this!

• How many “how cool is that?”?

“Haf: This is the best car period”. “Harv: Would u still buy the P1 without the price advantage? Haf: Definitely, without a doubt”.

“Haf: Would u still buy the P1? Matt: Yeah, I would still buy the P1. Harv: Yeah, no brainer, P1!”

Loud and clear, my dear PT team. LOUD AND CLEAR!!!

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 41
    • JOACHIM on Jan 25, 2019 at 11:45 pm

Yeah, did you guys rehearsed on that line or agreed to say the same thing? Can’t be you guys got telepathic powers once entering the X70, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • VCB 7144 on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:11 am

Now to use telepathic powers to cajole the majoriti balik kampong gang to swap from our newly upgraded Honda jazzes and civic, Sekenhen forte and crv, and Rekond estima alphards. Back to embrace proton again and buy in droves patriotikally ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • Thank you China! on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:41 am

this shows we need to send more JPA and MARA students to Beijing to study how to succeed in business

• Dr Strange on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:35 am

Strange… None of our current Ministers have studied in Beijing as well. You trying to imply something?

• Our esteemed comrade, Friz personally bought Proton X70 for his dad..

Its stronk stamp of approval for this much coveted China SUV , esp from a seasoned auto blogger. To take that leap of faith returning to Proton, hopefully many more Malaysians and ex P1 owners will give Proton one more chance. The change to a greater Malaysia.

• Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:43 pm

China finally save Proton. 30 years we could not save Proton!

• Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:52 pm

Proton owners never come back. It is not the car. It is how the SC treat you and the lies they tell you. My Proton I send for service, I go home I check my oil, still got black dirty oil.

they dare to give empty container to show me they changed my oil.

Too much lies. So, it is not the car. It is Proton attitude that no Proton owner will come back again

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 26, 2019 at 7:55 am

Proton is still losing RM4 mil per day despite Malaysian Government giving RM20 billion in bailouts to keep Proton alive.

Proton will need to sell about 400,000 cars just to break even and stop making losses.

Hopefully they CKD this car in Malaysia soon so that Proton can at least make some money from it. Currently it is CBU until October this year.

This means all profits from the sale of X70 goes back to Geely and goes back to China making China richer.

At least once CKD in Malaysia, Proton can make 50.9% profits from the sale of the X70. Even with this figure, Proton would need to sell 400,000 cars per annum just to break even and stop losing money daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Damon Lee on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:58 pm

Tesla also losing money and gets assistance from both USA and Saudi gahmen, yet nobody sound them. So?

• Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Malaysia is a poor country. We are not USA and we are not Saudi to pour money into a dying company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Brian on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:36 pm

It is obvious we are not poor enough to setup another 3rd national car project. So come again with that poor excuse?

• Abesla on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:13 am

Abesla! All those fake news salemen talking crap about X70 got nowhere to hide anymore!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 26, 2019 at 7:50 am

I hope this SUV saves Proton because Rakyat have sacrifised so much the past 30 years to keep Proton alive.

Malaysians have sacrificed enough for Proton and its protectionism. Because of Proton, all car prices have gone up 700% since 1985.

For example, Toyota Corolla in 1985 was RM20k. Today, in 2018, the Toyota Corolla is RM139k

The same Toyota Corolla in Japan has only risen 50% from 1985 to 2018.

Car prices actually have gone down over 30 years all over the world due to automation, robotics and economies of scale despite inflation.

50% vs 700% – a big huge difference Malaysians have to pay.

According to statistics, Malaysians have overpaid by RM350 billion for cars from 1985 if one were to compare if Proton was NEVER born.

So, I really hope this SUV works out for Proton. We have really spent a lot of money to save and rebuild Proton. Many Malaysians have suffered paying high 9 year car loans just to keep Proton alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Sense on Jan 28, 2019 at 6:06 pm

Do you know why Geely bought Proton? They going to use Proton as a proxy to enter Malaysian market and sell their car with big profit without being controlled by AP System. Much like Toyota created Perodua to sell their cheap Daihatsu at a high price.
        Now if Proton is just going rebadge like Perodua we Malaysian are getting con by car manufactures with super high prices by simply creating a local brand and calling themself our national car, when really we could have a Geely Boyue(x70) in Malaysia for 60k and Daihatsu Sirion(Myvi) for 20k.

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:08 am

Don’t be so proud. Lucky China saved your Proton. Before that always kutuk China. Now, China had to save your beloved Proton.

Tak malu ke? 35 years all the PRoton workers did not learn anything from Mitsubishi. Mitsubishi tried to transfer technology but Proton workers could not understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • JOACHIM on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:00 am

Not learn anything? Did you just came out from under a rock or something? There are so many, many indigenous Proton cars out there. And speaking of Mitsubishi, look what happened to them, on a downward slide and being bought over by their rival. What a laugh! Looking at how Mitsubishi treated Proton and Daihatsu treats Perodua, we do learn that these Japanese will never treat us fairly and only look to us as their dumping ground. Just look at what they equip their JDM cars compared to what they sold in this region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • The Japanese know there are many Jap-wannabes and worshippers here. These people will lap up anything they throw at us. The Chinese at least gave us current models with latest techs, while the Jap gave us old models they not selling anymore.

• JOACHIM on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:51 pm

That’s not the worse! They even dared to sell 3rd class cars here, ones that they themselves won’t dare to sell back in Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Bashet on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:34 pm

they won’t dare to sell Hilux back in Japan

https://paultan.org/2017/09/12/toyota-hilux-returns-to-japan/

• JOACHIM on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:31 pm

You picked one model only? What about Vios?, what about Corolla Altis (not the better Corolla they have there)?, what about the Rush?, what about the Innova?, what about the Avanza?, what about the Fortuner?. So tell me, are any of these on sale in Japan? No? Why? Aren’t they good enough for Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Kilingkiang uu on Jan 27, 2019 at 6:25 pm

What about Sienta? What about Harrier?
            What about 86? What about Almera? What about

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:31 am

bro.volvo trucks n its subs has nothing to do with geely. they are still maintained as pure swedish

• https://paultan.org/2017/12/29/geely-to-acquire-8-2-stake-in-truckmaker-ab-volvo/

I never did say Geely din maintain VolvoTrucks as Swedish, same goes to VolvoCar is oso Swedish and P1 is MY.

• Thank you China! on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:40 am

China brains has done it again. China brains only can make a car sell well.

Thank you China. Thank you for guiding Malaysia. Pls come here and lead us to success

• would they still buy it, if it came with a geely badge instead? Cakap senang….

• X70 Buyer on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:41 am

Clearly they will, why not? They pitted the car against well established Japanese brands, and still they prefer X70. It’s easy for those who cling onto their misconceptions to dismiss the car and Proton and Geely, but as you said: cakap senang.

• In the face of reality that the X70 is really that good, rival brands car salesmen can only cakap kosong. Looking at the amount of bashings and trollings, they are getting more desperate.

• I agree with you, taksub one. I am thinking of buying one too, then immediately do the right thing and replace all the inferior branding with geely logos, as how it was designed and engineered in china to begin with. do justice to the car and recognize the real makers and workers lah. give credit where credit is due.

• X70 Buyer on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Sure, suit yourself. Ahh but to be a purist, why not re-convert your X70 back to Left Hand Drive just to maintain that fallacy of yours? Do remember not to drive on the wrong side of road here. Stupidity cannot cure.

• Darren on Jan 26, 2019 at 1:13 pm

Gotta love it when people have zero clue as to how resource intensive and how much engineering that Proton and Geely put into doing a proper Right Hand Drive conversion, come up and spew their nonsense. Congratulations.

PS. If you want to know what I mean (see https://s2.paultan.org/image/2017/06/Peugeot_2008_Puretech_Int-17-108×108.jpg)

• Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:54 pm

Cherry and Haval failed in Malaysia because quality was so bad. And in China everybody knows, Haval quality is better and higher than Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • wah, so taksub sampai getting emotional we see? Sabarlah dik, ini semua dugaan. Chill lah, yang penting, it’s tongsan mali.

• tokmoh. on Jan 25, 2019 at 11:51 pm

Geely bought Volvo in 2010. The Boyue was one of the first Geely models to benefit the know-how gained by poaching talents from Volvo, including the famous Peter Horbury. Even so, the Boyue was launched in China in 2016, so it took awhile for their ‘Refined Vehicle Era’ to bear fruit. Many bashers say Proton is slow to convert the Boyue to RHD, but they only showed their ignorance and foolishness.

And the proof is in the pudding. The X70 is like 80% Volvo at 33% of the price. Volvo may be most known for safety, but what they’re an absolute killer is at providing a ‘balance’ in packaging that makes it THE car for thinking people. Volvo is more than just safety, they provide comfort, refinement, composure, power, economy, reliability, value for money, and they balance every of this factor so well, it results in a packaging that is simply unrivalled. It becomes the central pillar of reference for almost everything else, then you realise for something you gain eg Honda may be slightly more fuel efficient, you miss out on others that is too good to sacrifice eg nappa seats, quiter ride, ionizer air purifier. What is a little more fuel to pay for how the X70’s comfort help improve the journey’s quality for every second you spend in the car? You need to gain something truuuly good to beat Volvo’s packaging eg BMW’s ultimate driving machine like the M4, Mercedes’ made for boss S-class. The best at what you want, or nothing.

Geely has adapted these skills at providing balance in packaging from Volvo very well, for far, faaar less money. And it will get even better when it will be locally assembled with a newer 1.5L turbo + 7DCT powertrain and excise duty incentive. For the rest of the carmakers, if they struggle to put up a good case against the current X70 fully import, where SST proved to be more cruel on than GST, it will only get worse when local assembly begins and Proton starts to enjoy the benefits like they did.

I have not had a chance to have a go with CRV, but I’ve tried civic ketam tebu. I dunno with CRV, but the civic had really loud engine noise. And cruising on highway is just unbearably loud with wind and tyre roar, it just spoils my mood and want to get the journey over with ASAP. Sharing the same engine, i don’t expect the CRV experience to be far off, being the loudest of the trio kinda gave me a clue to believe so too. The powertrain can be quick, and i suppose very fuel efficient too, but for scoring so badly in soundproofing, it just isn’t a car i feel can be enjoyed as is, please invest to soundproof it, your body will appreciate it.

I have tried the previous gen Subaru XV, it wasn’t bad, i agreed the CVT is so good, very silky smooth and almost no rubber band feel at all. I have read this newer gen builds up on it with stiffer, more hot-pressed platform, even better signature AWD system, etc finer details. It’s a shame it feels tin milo kosong without any ADAS equipment, and for about the same money as the other 2, it’s very difficult to build a case for XV lest you’re truly a Subaru purist. Otherwise, you get so much more car for the money with X70, it’s not gonna hold a candle at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 36
    • Badri on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:26 am

Definitely a job well done for P1 at last , albeit a long 33 years in making and after many a bitter frustrated P1 car owner experience.

Next to come, the baby XC40 in Proton X50 guise and Exora MPV replacement model. So Good luck P1! To another Happy and prosperous year with Geely , Maaf Zahir Batin, Kosong Kosong Dari Hati —

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
    • Hayenadeblue on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:35 am

You said it tokmoh. I like X70 but since I just bought Iriz (CVT) 2 years ago, I’m going to wait Proton’s future SUV with Lane Departure Assist (not just warning) and hopefully with semi-autonomous driving. The rest about X70 are fine except wobbly driver’s seat adjustment buttons. I can only hope Proton will get a completely flat rear seats when fold, just like Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • John is Craving Dedak on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:37 am

Be careful of Proton X70 parts prices. When Geely took over Volvo, in 8 years, Volvo prices went up 3X

When Geely bought London Cabs, in 8 years, London teksi drivers complained parts prices went up 300%

Now, when Geely bought over Proton…….buyer beware lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • X70 Buyer on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:46 am

Proton used to have a tagline: “smart ones gets it” and I can say I am certainly above those who have blind badge loyalty. Which is why I made an informed choice and the verdict of the presenters only serves to strengthened my choice. I can see so many competitors sales staff coming here and bullcrapping this and that. It only serves to tell me, X70 is something really special and while I have to wait 8 months for my car, I will gladly wait for it. As a buyer, the more they crap here the more I look forward for my X70 arrival.

• Be patient and wait for it my fren. Im sorry u got fooled by the resident basher who has many fake dupes to fool prospective customers, but u wun be disappointed. Remember, gud things comes to those who wait.

• Message to Jealous Nissan SA and Honda SA on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:54 pm

Bro, should be careful there are lots of Honda Salesmen and Nissan Salesmen who spreading the fake liars in every articles in paultan

• Message to Jealous Nissan SA and Honda SA on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:39 pm

I mean the statement that I type on the last sentence which is the word as “liars” is actually wrong word that I used. It should be

“Bro, should be careful there are lots of Honda Salesmen and Nissan Salesmen who spreading fake stories in every articles in paultan”

Then it is correct. So pls read on my second statement and don’t read on my first statement due to unchecking words that I type on the first statement

• Dun worry about me bro. Whatever he do is all fake news bollocks and many have seen his tricks & dupes. Dun affect me whatsoever, the more talks about X70 the more sales it gets. But at same time, here hold my… wheat beverage…

• Message to Jealous Nissan SA and Honda SA on Jan 26, 2019 at 5:59 pm

True john. Let YB Kunta Kinte be. Whatever YB Kunta Kinte had said, YB Kunta Kinte will always come here just talk rubbish and talk lies on every articles in paultan. That’s why I always have to believe john including other carmakers fans like Proton, Mazda, Toyota, Volvo, Mercedes, Geely, BMW and other Brand carmakers than YB Kunta Kinte, Honda Salesmens and Nissan Salesmen. Anyway, I always support you john and You are always awesome man as I always appreciate you in what you are saying. As well as, john is not even BN Cybertrooper at all.

• Shazmin on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:34 am

Enough of your lies and dupes john. Pls get out of here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
          • Shazmin on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:46 am

I think john, pretty obvious you are writing to yourself and writing messages to justify all your posts using different names. How sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
          • John Minum Teh 8X Fake News on Jan 27, 2019 at 12:23 pm

John Minum Teh 8X becomes Shazmin. Aiyoo……don’t lie that I always know John Minum Teh 8X is using his other names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Malek Saad on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Only person proven to have fake dupes in this site is you john. Stop your nonsense here. Keep PT clean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • From ur lazy copy pasta bollocks, ur the same lazy basher. As I say b4, dun come and reply me with ur dupe bollocks. Do it with ur other dupes where u can jizz on ur own conversation. Once u get some brains and some sense, then come to reply me.

• Brian on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:40 pm

OOOH, savage john my man!

• Shazmin on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:37 am

Enough of your hatred in this forum john, we don’t need your lies and your many different names here. For all we know you may even be Malek. Just trying to create problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
          • Shazmin on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:39 am

Pls get a life john, go find a job like the rest of us. We don’t need your cybertrooper behaviour here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
          • Abdul Jalil on Jan 27, 2019 at 11:43 am

I think many here are sick and tired of your abuses and vulgarity here john. Mind your language. We have tolerated your rubbish far too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • I feel pity and sad for you, Abdul Jalil or whoever you truly are. Sad that you’re an insecure little troll, pity that you resort to using fake identities to back you up when nobody sees any reason to defend your stupid actions.
            BUT I don’t feel sorry for you. You were sounded quite rightly by Hafriz for trying to slander this blog’s good name and yet you continue with this stupid acts. You do not show any sense of shame and remorse, so I do not feel sorry for you because you do not feel sorry for yourself. Only a shameless person can do that, and only a shameless person does so using fake identities.

• X70 Buyer on Jan 28, 2019 at 12:11 pm

Thanks for the kind words ,john. Yeah, I kind of noticed that same negative comments going around and around, often copied and pasted whole. Only then I realised many were being trolled, including me. Live and learn, never to take such comments even when written by different names, as the truth.

• tokmoh. on Jan 28, 2019 at 9:21 am

Join the few X70 group on fb, SA lurk around there too.

Just last night I saw a SA said a customer cancelled Premium white, so she got 1 ready stock. Many replies from interested people, so probably snapped up, but if more pops up and you’re in luck, you could wait much shorter than 8 months likely.

• X70 Buyer on Jan 28, 2019 at 11:55 am

Thanks for the infor. Mine is the very sexy Premium Flame Red so far no cancellation luck at showrooms near my place. I was hoping on the many thousands cancellation being commented but now I realised it was all a trolling lie. Coming back after the weekend I see so many further trolling against X70. I think many just can’t accept how good this car really is, I mean… yeah it can do with a powered tailgate but that’s asking way too much for its price point. Based on what I have seen and tried myself, the car really lives up to the hype.

• tokmoh. on Jan 28, 2019 at 4:49 pm

If thousands really cancelled, I’d see way more posts of “suddenly ready stock” available haha.

What I see is more and more people sharing them collecting their new baby, go do premium tint, ceramic coating etc, loaded people liao lol.

There are a few that installed powered tail gate with foot sensor, but it’ll void warranty. Still doesn’t stop more and more installing it lol.

• X70 Buyer on Jan 28, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Yeah, honestly those who keep saying that is really have mental problems or if they’re representing competitor brands, then they really should be reprimanded or I will assume these competitor brands are unscrupulous and have no ethics in serving the car market. I would have booked my X70 earlier before the preview at KLIMS if I weren’t fooled by those comments which are just devious and mischievous lies.

• FYI the X70 does not have a single component from Volvo. It is even mentioned in the PaulTan comparison test. All 100% developed and made in China.

• X70 Buyer on Jan 28, 2019 at 12:16 pm

I think no one really was under the illusion that X70/Boyue has significant Volvo parts, it would be too expensive, however Volvo design and engineering philosophy certainly made the X70/Boyue a very well sorted car which punches above its weight.

• isengard on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:50 am

2019 Malaysia Best selling SUV – X70, CX5, CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • REAL JOHN on Jan 26, 2019 at 1:31 am

So funny to compare X70 with XV. X70 is C-segment but XV is B segment only. How to compare ?

You should compare X70 with Forester.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • ROTI JOHN on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:17 am

So funny to compare X70 with other SUVs. X70 is lowclass segment but other SUVs is a highclass segment. How to compare ?

You should compare X70 with Axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Take pity the Axia. It can’t even hold a matchstick to X70 sheer brilliance. Stop with the poor comparisons.

• Ben Yap on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:53 am

how can the X70 win? it only has 2 benefits better than CRV which is quieter cabin and cheaper price.

The CRV beats the X70 in performance, practicality, badge, fuel consumption and more intuitive features. So many areas the CRV is better than the X70.

the sales of the CRV tells you that the CRV is always the better car compare to X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • You starting to sound like a Honda salesman. Wait, you are one!

• There are plenty bored Honda Salesmen including bored Nissan Salesmen who always talk rubbish news in every articles for Proton, Volvo, Toyota, Mazda, BMW, Mercedes and others

• Damon Lee on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Want to talk about sales figure? Sure. Per year, Honda China sold 130,000 CRVs while Geely sold 290,000 during the same period. Still want to talk about sales figure?

• It’s Saturday and you should be watching cartoons kid, not go online and post things where adults trade barbs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Are you any different?

• DK Super Salah! on Jan 26, 2019 at 2:19 pm

It’s Saturday and you should be watching cartoons DK, not go online to be a keyboard warrior and post rubbish where adult trade barbs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Oloh oloh kesian budak ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Ben Yap on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:34 pm

i got people defend me. they agree that CRV is better than X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
          • Ben Yap Salah Total! on Jan 26, 2019 at 5:50 pm

It’s Saturday and you with DK and other bashers should be watching cartoons, not go online to be a keyboard warrior and post rubbish where adult trade barbs

• Ahmad Albab on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:14 am

Only stupid buyers will buy a car that never even worth a mention in Japan, US and Europe. This particular Geely model never was featured in any ranking in any part of the world. But here in Malaysia is such a hype. Perhaps the marketing team people involved really are amazing. Well, I wonder what’s gonna happen with Made in China machines here – given the already bad Proton RV is. Good luck to X70 buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • I shake my head in pity every time I see the china car on the road or parking lot, thinking of the pour soul who parted ways with cash thinking it was a good long-term buy for their image.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • X70 owners should pity at you for being a slave to badges. Spending more just because you think a H or T badge would make you have a bigger d*ck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
    • Why Japanese fanboys so salty? Because its stablemate Volvo XC40 won COTY in their cherished Japan homeland?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Jack salah! on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:33 am

So-called Japanese fanboys are not salty. They are just shocked at the fact that people would buy a car without an award-winning reliable engine.

FYI, Volvo only has Geely’s money. But their workers are all hardworking Swedish men. Not like P1, they straight away rebadge a China-made car. Habisla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Copy Paste on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:57 am

Can share which award did L15B7 and EJ20 won? Or is that another one of your fake news?

• Yeah right on Jan 26, 2019 at 12:21 pm

You forgot that Ford also poured money into Volvo before Geely, but wasn’t even half as successful as today. Volvo at one time even used Honda parts, but still they almost bankrupted.

• Old dog on Jan 26, 2019 at 6:16 am

What is so proud of a rebadge (and fully import some more)..It brings nothing but creating job for the main lander…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • exactly, I can imagine seeing the baoteng factory workers here beaming in pride seeing their funny logo on a car that they DID NOT MAKE make its way down from the vessels docking at the ports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Philip on Jan 26, 2019 at 9:08 am

The best thing I like is not the cars but these guys. Multi races and so muhibbah.

• Tomzy on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:41 am

Honestly the presentation of Proton X70 is poor to compare with the look of the suv. The guy never give proper details of the exterior and interior. I believe X70 is better than how it is presented. Pls check out YouTube on how to present a car or suv. The advert of X70 on YouTube is far more better. How you present a car or suv make difference. Thanks..

• i-love-proton on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:45 am

Please ask yourself, Is that worth to pay above 100k for proton? As it local brand and local made, it should be cheaper and contribute back to Rakyat malaysia. If honda, toyota,nissan,subbie..etc treat the same equality tax as proton, i believe those japanese car much more cheaper than proton. Agree ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • You talking about contribute back to the country, but at the same time talk about buying foreign brands. Doesn’t sound very convincing.

• Dun be naive…. China company only hv one priority in mind.. Maximize Profit!!

• Eternalgl0ry on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:14 am

When you buy car need to also consider their after sales. As we all know how proton perform after selling the car to you

There is a reason why there are a lot haters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • U meant this? https://paultan.org/2018/10/17/j-d-power-2018-malaysia-sales-satisfaction-index/

• Go ahead, open the link I posted.

Nissan, Isuzu, Honda, Toyota, Mitsubishi ABOVE AVERAGE. Proton, Mazda, VW, Perodua BELOW AVERAGE.

Even Mitsubishi which I always bash is doing better than Proton.

• fadhli on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:26 am

thanks guys for doing such a superb review…which car to buy is the consumer choices but u guys help a lot in that matter…nice job…

• Go to the Proton showroom.Test drive the X 70 and you will be worried for the mediocre Japanese manufacturers. Credit must be given when due. ( i am using the new CRV. Should have waited for the x70) For sensible opinions, please test drive before the harsh comments based on perceptions…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • well done guys

• they say the x70 front grille design was inspired by some traditional wood carving motif, but i notice the merc GLA has similar looking front grille ^^

• alibaba on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:27 pm

now CBU sure quality good/premium feel…wait till u get the local OEM part suppliers come in….it will feel lousy and cheap again ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • After a year will know x70 is a good car or not. :)

• interfooler on Jan 26, 2019 at 8:08 pm

XV shouldn’t be compared against these 2 because it’s 1 size smaller. It should compete against the HRV.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 26, 2019 at 9:02 pm

this proton x70 is just like ola bola. crazily overhyped on patriotic sentiments. but the real experience is just meh.

its a rather nice car this proton x70, but its not that fantastic. the interior isnt quite there yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • QChan on Jan 27, 2019 at 7:28 am

I quite agree.

And I thought it just me. For me the interior is not attractive enough and yes, not quite there yet, but it’s miles better than all other current Proton models.

However, the exterior fares much better – rear and side profiles I like. On the whole, it’s a thoroughly modern vehicle and buyers today expect nothing less.

• Wong Kok on Jan 26, 2019 at 9:38 pm

Can someone please tell me the link or website saying that this particular Geely model using engine or transmission from Volvo as proudly mentioned by all of these X70 supporters? I’m considering to buy one but really hesitating to buy anything related to China made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • X70 Buyer on Jan 28, 2019 at 12:06 pm

Impressive as it is, I read through most of the comments here and I never did come across anyone mentioning that. Would you be so kind to point out which comment that mentioned that?

• frankC on Jan 26, 2019 at 9:48 pm

Thanks Guys for the “Driven” review.
    X70 indeed makes Proton competitive again.. just like the grand old Wira. Reality is that both are rebadge in some way. As I remembers, this is a CBU version from China. Well let’s wait and see what comes from the CKD version. Will we expect more adaptation or changes to X70 ? will X70 have the distinctive Proton Handling features tuned up ? I do hope so… well let’s wait and see

cheers

• I have driven the X70. I feel that if it doesn’t come with those grab handles near the gear console area, the front seats will be much more spacious especially for fat people. I’m surprised that Hafriz did not complain at all. That aside, the interior is nothing like a Proton at all. More like a true European car instead.

I only wish the CKD variant in future improve on the audio headunit. I dont like Baidu map, I want Google map. I want Android Auto and Apple Car Play.

Perhaps on the move, my only complain is the engine. It has a turbocharger, on paper it has 285NM of torque but does not pull away with massive acceleration power. Looking at the speedometer it feels no different than a Mazda CX-5 2.0L . Perhaps someone should just dyno this car and see how much power it has on wheel or is it just Geely lying about the power figures. Plus this engine needs 5L of engine oil unlike the other 2 car in the showdown.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 28, 2019 at 4:09 pm

The “problem” with the power-train are the 1.7 ton body weight, 19″ rims & inefficient DSI 6-speed gearbox. Read somewhere that this DSI gearbox is around 80+% efficiency Vs the new 7-DCT of 90+% efficiency. Some turbo + gearbox ECU tuning might help but something has to give (perhaps sacrificing the long term durability & premature wear and tear).

As for the 5L engine oil, ALL T-GDI have lubricant loss due to the design. The extra 1L is the buffer against this loss. Even the new generation BMW turbos are well known to require 1L top up sometime halfway between service. I’d rather have this buffer build in then to have to go back SC to top up 1L. Besides, having bigger engine oil capacity means that the engine has more lubricant, cooling & cleaning, which is advantageous for turbos.

• winwin on Jan 26, 2019 at 11:18 pm

In 23:38, when Matt was talking about the USB port at the back of the rear mirror of the Proton X70 ,how come it shows the Subaru EyeSight feature instead ?

I do agree that the sunroof is quite unpractical in this country, however alot of people dig this thing. You can see many of those Wira/Satria owners install sunroof on their cars .

Being said, I wish the X70 has powered tailgate with proximity sensor to avoid accidentally hitting the wall when it’s opening up in a parking lot.

Sacrifice the sunroof to get powered tailgate ? Hell yeah!

• ufolkSknoWhOwToreAd? on Jan 28, 2019 at 1:47 am

sacrifice sunroof for powered tailgate? don’t speak for others and don’t pandai pandai suggest this.

• typical malaysian on Jan 28, 2019 at 10:52 am

LOL, there are plug and play auto tailgate modules for X70 already in the market. it is in fact easier because only have to plug and play, rather than having to install sunroof from scratch. Win in my books for sure.

• Saktish on Jan 27, 2019 at 12:58 am

Worth to take note on Proton’s customer service. I asked about the components covered in the 5 years warranty, if it includes all the sensors & the cameras, when I visited two different Proton showroom. Well, two sale agents told different answers. Then I called Proton, through their hotline, and the customer agent basically asked me to check with the nearest showroom! When their sales agents couldn’t even give a consistent answer.

• Ahmed Jalil Lukman on Jan 27, 2019 at 8:46 am

Only in Malaysia and using proton DRB high connections TO GOV a third class Chinese car gets to be compared with HONDA and SUBARU. GEELY is not at the level to any other first class cars from Europe, China or Korea. Maybe they can compare it to Range Rover also. What a joke. Funny is that all the ones here who are paid by DRB to praise it if they were given the chance to have any of the three they will never chose the Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • U r totally wrong, choosing normal car go for spec not the logo unless u want to showoff then choose Merc, BMW or Audi. Which car manufacturer offer the best value added, that car is the best choice. Furthermore, all the above supporters from Malaysian and not received paid from DRB, they love Proton.

• CrazyMobilo on Jan 28, 2019 at 1:07 am

I am bad to say that i am looking forward for a secondhand X70 unit… Coz its RV is gonna be a catch…

• C.P. MOHAN on Jan 28, 2019 at 8:20 am

Compared, Honda looks more “progressive” with it smaller engine and better performance.

• Engineer on Jan 28, 2019 at 9:40 am

A higher boost setting can do that but it means the smaller 1.5L lump is working to its limits. Already man issues are seen from 1.5T CRV and its stablemate Civic. IIRC, Civic turbo in USA had a mass recall prior to Civic launch in Malaysia.

• typical malaysian on Jan 28, 2019 at 9:37 am

Comments here sure are funny. I personally own a Suprima, City and Axia. All with their flaws; Suprima has wear and tear after 4 years of usage (my daily driver), City has dashboard rattle (despite it being by weekend car), axia has aircond problem. Shows flaws are very subjective when it comes to being assembled in Malaysia. For the Suprima, the OCH everyone kept saying like a “time bomb” has never bothered me, and I drive hard going to work and back, and I only changed it ONCE(free during recall). However, the response to any parts ordered still sucks (window seals and door hinge still waiting to arrive, ordered 12/2018). The City everyone praised good whatsoever, first the gap problem, it is solved after 6 months complaining (cased raised to HQ), now dashboard rattling (still on going report, might raise to HQ to expedite case, again), and I use only for 2 out of the 7 days a week (Amazing, right?). As for the Axia, went to SC a few times to complain about aircond problem (during service as well), got answered by the mechs there, “kereta 25k, standard la x tahan lama, murah apa”. It’s not that I requested free replacement, I am willing to pay for the labour and parts, LOL. So 3 different brands and models, 1 common similarities, all assembled in MALAYSIA. So the problem is never the brand or model, but who handles it. That is truly the FACT. Just wait until x70 is assembled locally, will have problem also. Nothing is safe when it comes to assembled in Malaysia.

• X70 Buyer on Jan 28, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Fully agreed with you on those points. I have lived through Proton’s idiosyncrasies and have been disappointed with Japanese makes (the airbag recall was a big sore point).

So I can fully understand where you’re coming from.

At the end of the day, there are no big differences and the only thing that really matter is what value we get from the car of choice, and AFAIS Proton’s X70 is giving me maximum value for my money.

• thefact on Jan 28, 2019 at 1:15 pm

ehem..my fren.
    Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, Mercedes, BMW, VW, Renault, Peugeot, Kia, Hyundai, – most if not all are assembled in Malaysia :)
    (maybe i missed some other brand as well)

Have 4 brands at home. 1 local, 2 japanese, and 1 european. all ok. Malaysian assmebled.

• Well i will buy 2nd x70 after 5 yr…if it’s rv really drop to rm40k..But leaked x50 look good on paper..

• Andrewdelacruz on Feb 04, 2019 at 5:23 pm

With over 30k bookings, very soon the X70 will become like pasar malam, you’ll see one on the road everytime you front. back, left or right. It will be so common that no one wants to buy it second hand after 5 years. Lol