2020 Proton X70 – no AWD variant due to low demand

When the Proton X70 was launched in December 2018, buyers were offered four variants to choose from, which included an Executive AWD option for those who required all-wheel drive. However, looking at the revised variant line-up of the recently-launched 2020 X70 CKD, you’ll notice that the all-wheel drive model has been dropped entirely.

While the variant count remains the same as before at four – Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Premium 2WD and Premium X 2WD – the locally-assembled SUV is now front-wheel drive only. So, why did the national carmaker decide to proceed with this move?

The short answer is that there is just not that many customers interested in an all-wheel drive variant. Up until now, around 29,000 units of the X70 CBU have been delivered, and from that figure, around 50% of buyers opted for the then range-topping Premium 2WD variant.

By comparison, only 5% of buyers went with the Executive AWD option, and when there’s a lack of demand, a drop in supply is usually warranted. In the case of the X70 CKD, the low demand for all-wheel drive with the CBU version prompted the national carmaker to forgo an all-wheel drive option altogether.

Given that the previous Premium 2WD was the only variant that came with Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) – it can be presumed that customers preferred to have a host of safety and driver assistance features over an all-wheel drive system.

Those who are for all-wheel drive would welcome its sure-footedness, while detractors will bring up the additional running/maintenance cost that typically comes with the added complexity of such a system. On the latter, the difference in maintenance costs over 150,000 km/7.5 years for the 2WD and 4WD variants is only RM129.68 following Proton’s service schedule for the X70 CBU.

Of course, some would prefer to have ADAS and all-wheel drive in one package, but as Proton doesn’t offer a variant with both features, we’ll never know if there’s any market appeal should it be introduced to the market. What are your thoughts on the matter? Would you be interested in an even higher-spec X70 with both AWD and ADAS? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

2020 Proton X70 CKD Infohub

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 CKD official images

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight that the decision to not offer an AWD variant of the 2020 Proton X70 was largely due to low demand and technical challenges, such as the limitations of the 7-speed DCT transmission. Many believe AWD is unnecessary for Malaysian roads, which are mostly wet and urban, and point out that all-wheel drive is more relevant for off-road or snowy conditions. Some commenters express disappointment, wishing for a full-spec AWD version with ADAS to meet safety expectations. Others debate whether AWD truly defines an SUV, with comparisons to brands like Subaru emphasizing that true SUVs often come with AWD as standard. Overall, the sentiment suggests that Proton's choice reflects market preferences and technical constraints rather than a lack of capability.

• An “SUV” without AWD is just a tall hatchback. As best, it can be called a crossover.

That goes to Honda and Mazda as well with their lower variants of CR-V and CX-5.

Big respect to Subaru for standard symmetrical AWD on Forester and XV. These are real SUVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • Truckers on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Lol! Becoz Subbies don’t have any other config except AWD, and that is why they suck more petrol compared to FWD SUVs from other makes. This is the reason why X70AWD was dropped, people driving on normal roads don’t find the need for AWD performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • How’s ur sales Subbies? Resale Value even worst than Proton….

• MHK I on Feb 13, 2020 at 4:33 am

Funny, if an SUV without AWD is just a tall hatchback, what would you call a hatchback or sedan with AWD? A short SUV? And a long boot SUV? Clearly AWD doesn’t define an SUV.

Beside AWD doesn’t do much in everyday driving on the road other than when it’s slippery, wet road. Even for that matter, FWD with VSC is adequate for MY weather. If you’re off-road more often, you’re better with 4X4 rather than AWD.

• Hatchback/sedan with AWD
        – performance variant
        – more capable model
        – improved traction option
        – all-weather grip pick

What’s so difficult to understand? You don’t call the old Evo or WRX an SUV don’t you? Funny fella lah you.

• Truckers on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:44 am

Why would a family man want a performance SUV in a Proton?

• Reality Check on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:34 pm

Reality is, an SUV is still an SUV, regardless of AWD or not. That’s the point.

What so difficult to understand?

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:19 am

How many of us need AWD in daily drive? With add on AWD the car will gain more weight and eventually bring high fuel consumption. You pay big respect to Subaru but did you know Subaru is well known as thirsty monster of fuel.

AWD is particularly important for high power and high torque vehicles. If torque is high but 2WD the wheelspin will happened frequently. But for car like X70 the torque is 300nm although is good but the car is too heavy and it does not need AWD. AWD in fact will put more burden to slowing down the vehicle while consuming more fuel.

• Easy to tell apart the actual subaru owners and those who google about AWD looking like they know what they are talking about.

• Real LLort on Feb 15, 2020 at 10:43 am

It’s never a requirement for SUV to have AWD or 4WD. In some country like US, SUV is somewhat described as a station wagon with “usually” four-wheel drive setup. That means that it’s not unusual for an SUV to not have four-wheel drive. But that’s in the US. In Malaysia and neighboring countries, SUV is not usually translated to a “four-wheeled drive vehicle”. We mostly refer to those type as “FourByFour (4X4)” instead.

• Matchy on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:27 pm

I have a feeling that the real reason is that they lack of the technical expertise to assemble the AWD car… and of course it doesn’t make sense to source for AWD parts where only 1 variant will be using.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Engineer on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:10 pm

There is no additional technical challenges from assembling FWD to AWD cars. There is just less appreciative market demand for AWD making it nonviable to continue with this option. Plain and simple.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:22 am

You feeling is wrong man. How hard to get technical expertise to fix when you can always go back to SC to get it fix. All SC have to strictly follow the service guideline set by principal. Even the CR-V AWD isn’t selling well. AWD is weight higher and consume more fuel than 2WD.

• OK lah, this one is funny I will give you that.

• Walau! CKD Car is RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:53 pm

Malaysians are so disappointed with the diskaun we got for CKD car.

Is this the company we sacrificed to much for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Work harder if you cannot afford it. Stop complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Popia basah on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:12 pm

I hope Geely and Li Chunrong observe the CKD QC. Otherwise without supervision, Proton will mess up again and gave us X70 with Game Over quality

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:12 pm

No problem there. Our DRB workers are top notch, even VW admitted their Wolfsburg German workers aren’t as capabled as our Pekan mari boys. So I’m no doubt Dr Li & Geely are more than happy with the staff they inherited.

• RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:13 pm

If DRB was top notch, why did the PRoton brand fail the past 20 yrs and only did well when Li Chunrong and Geely took over?

• Engineer on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:19 pm

DRB failed because they were strangled by their old man advisor. Now with Geely and Dr Li having freedom to make business decisions w/o an old man meddling, you are seeing Proton is flying high. They basically have the same setup, same people, same products but they are getting more successful. What’s the difference? Ans: Geely coming and their old advisor leaving.

• Patriotic Malaysian on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:23 pm

As a patriotic Malaysian, i expected the price to be lower and affordable. After all, Proton is meant to be the people’s car. I want to support barang buatan Malaysia.

NowP roton is catering to the rich..rakyat cry cry

• Proton Engineers Pls Wake Up on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:22 am

DRB was the sole cause of Proton losing its marketshare. In early 2000, Proton was doing very well

Good China is showing us how to run a car business

• Geely Boyue RM60k vs Proton X70 RM120k on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:35 am

Still beyond reach of Malaysians. We sih it was far cheaper.

• newme on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:49 am

Their CBU quality was lousy to begin with. Even their prized possession, Volvo have lousy quality as reported in survey.

• Blabla on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:07 am

Because nobita said ckd will be more expensive than cbu

• Jeremy on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:33 pm

This is assembled here mate. Whatever virus will have died by the time you get the car. Happy buying folks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:31 pm

as above

Malaysians especially Proton fanboys were expecting RM70k to RM80k

• Why So Serious on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:23 pm

As above what Gary said.

• CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:14 pm

Malaysians today so disappointed that CKD prices are nearly the same as CBU prices

• X70 Buyer on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:44 pm

I am not disappointed at all. My X70 RV is still intact with the new pricing. I am glad Proton didn’t cheapen the car.

• Tahniah P1! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

• Dass botak on Feb 13, 2020 at 10:49 am

So disappointed. The car is cheaper and have extra features. I bought my x70 first batch.. Means no value already now. My car maybe drop 50k come 2021.

• Comments like this are why there are still racial problems in Malaysia. I bet you dont even wash your hands. Another reason why you hid your name because you are shallow and ignorant.

Great car, fantastic to see CKD developed by Malaysians for Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Mirror on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:01 am

You mean yourself Mr.Xav? Why don’t you put your profile here as well since you’re such a popolar person?
      The CKD wasn’t developed by Malaysians, it was jointly developed.
      Sendiri kentut cakap bau sedap.

• Sir. This model in locally assembled. The CBU one is already discontinued. For your information, coronavirus cannot survive without host for a long time especially when some of the parts come long way from China

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 12, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Proton/Geely don give lame excuse. A lot of customers asking for ADAS and AWD together. People are willing to pay for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • Only u? Most Buyers don’t really want it, bcos seen useless for town use. Yet it consume more fuels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Aikon on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:23 am

Why not you do your own research first and then show proof of what you said to disprove of their own research. Facts and numbers don’t lie. Show proof that there are really a lot of customers out there who are willing to pay for what you said. Otherwise, you’re just blowing hot air and nothing else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:39 pm

where are your facts and numbers then

• You make the statement, now your asking others to prove it with their facts and numbers? Good joke man.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2020 at 10:24 pm

he claims to have facts and numbers. im merely asking him to prove me wrong.

• Got air purifier in the car.

• Ahmadjr on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:10 pm

I think plug in hybrid should be main priority. All those gov fleet should use it and promote the hybrid at the same time

• ondemand on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:25 pm

if there’s an awd version with all the premium x’s specs, would be great, even if it has a long waiting to make one by order…

• Because the AWD variant did not come with full specs

Only mazda 2.2 diesel, santa fe and sorento were sold with all wheel drive and full specs

• Offer a AWD premium model and see the response…..c’mon proton… buyers nowadays are not willing to trade safety features …They want it together with AWD as a complete package. I was hoping for a premium AWD model ….now you’ve lost 1 customer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • AhoyMatey on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:22 pm

No AWD? Sucks mate! Was looking forward to it

• AWD price RM115.8k
    New premium price RM119.8k
    Premium X RM122.8k
    hmm…i think the AWD is a bargain ^^

• Buyer on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:10 pm

In a country with rain almost allover the year, an AWD is useful. The very weird thing is, most of AWD models in Malaysia “except Subaru” offer the AWD with loser specs than the premium! which is the real reason behind less demand on AWD models.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:40 pm

difficulty in servicing as most malaysian service have really poor technicians

• The said awd low demand? because they not offer awd variant with premium spec before. So people want the premium spec no choice to choose 2wd. Oh come on, no meaning suv without awd.

• I will only buy an SUV with AWD. Even better if it includes all the safety features.

• What a lame answer.... on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:54 am

What a lame answer as to why people do not buying enough of the AWD version….The previous AWD version simply was not sold as a Premium….It was only sold in the Executive version MINUS all the functional high end items equipped in the Premium version….so that’s why customers opt for the Premium 2WD instead….Sell it in Premium AWD option with all the extra items, and only that you will know the answer….:(

• AWD is just for marketing on Feb 13, 2020 at 12:10 pm

We don’t drive in snow or dessert. No need AWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:41 pm

u never been to sabah and sarawak, where the roads are not roads at all?

oh yea..i guess whatever….sabah and sarawak doesnt matter anyway

• Guys… It may be due to the fact that the new 7 speed DCT is not designed for AWD application, hence the decision to offer only FWD models. Was reading an article that Boyue Pro models are only FWD. Maybe anyone can confirm that ??

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 3:14 pm

There are 7DCT models with AWD in China – not the Boyue, but other models under Geely, Volvo and Lynk & Co. It’s a conscious decision not to have an AWD variant here, not forced upon Proton.

• Why all car manufacturers never know what people want is the full spec variant? The same goes to manual car, you always offer manual car with the lowest spec, how you want people to buy it?

• Wong meewah on Feb 14, 2020 at 7:28 am

I hope proton will bring back the X70 AWD with full spec including ADAS.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2020 at 10:28 pm

#x70awdforeastmalaysia #budaksemenanjungracis #eastmalaysiapower