GALLERY: Proton Iriz in chrome, SD Aerodynamics kit

We’ve seen the Proton Iriz wearing an SD Aerodynamics bodykit before – the full look is striking, to say the least, so can you imagine what it would look like dressed in chrome? Well, you don’t have to imagine any longer, as someone has wrapped an example in a mirror finish and posted the results on Facebook!

The end result is spectacular, if extremely polarising – it’s made all the more divisive by the deep front bumper with gaping front air intakes, side skirts, reworked rear diffuser insert, twin centre-exit exhausts and tailgate spoiler add-on by SD Aerodynamics. It does look really garang, however, particularly when lowered on the 17-inch seven-spoke wheels.

Alhamdulillah… #myIrizchrome wrap fullbody done 100%!!-first iriz chrome & sunroof in malaysia!!-full custom…

Posted by SAPOK Tembo Wrapping on Tuesday, 24 November 2015

It should be noted that although it’s white underneath, like the kitted-out Iriz we shot earlier this year, it doesn’t appear to the same car. This particular unit has been fitted with a sunroof, and also features the usual Proton badge on the tailgate instead of “Iriz” script. The interior also features a “My Iriz 2020” plaque on the dashboard as well as the signature of Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad – how cool is that?

So, what do you guys think? Does the Proton Iriz’ funky styling go well with an extra dollop of bling and sportiness, or is it all just a bit much? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• superman on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 218
    • saidtheguywhodrivesamyvi on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:26 pm

said the guy who drives a myvi….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 13
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Dec 02, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Hahaha P2 Myvi eat this !!! Proton Iriz will continue dominant the market until 2020 and DrM comfirm will make Proton to global… Others same segment should “balik kampung” dan don’t stay at city with you lousy P2 cars !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
        • saidmyvi on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:26 pm

lol , proton remain proton ..it wont become lamborghini..accept the fact :v junk is still junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • Memang la proton x jadi Lamborghini..at least kereta mampu milik yg berbaloi dimiliki, pemanduan yg stabil,yakin dipandu laju Dan stabil..Myvi Ada???120km/h dh rasa macam naik bot…x percaya pg test drive antara Iriz dn Myvi.. Sendiri pandu baru tau

• hailthepurist on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:11 pm

why iriz..

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:03 am

Chrome or gold plated, it is still a Proton. Just like those China phone designed so hard to looked like iPhone. Classical piece of joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Apa cerita pulak myvi limited edition 10 years???buruk gila sticker x tentu pasal..rim pun mcm siot,lagi mau kata limited edition..phuii

• it wasn't me on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:04 pm

You are the ugliest human alive… hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Are you like 10yo?

• is it even legal to drive the chrome-wrapped vehicle on the road ? so reflective

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
    • JPJ patut ambil tindakan… membahayakan pengguna jalanraya… kereta tidak patut berada di jalanrayaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • u should look the comment on the fb..the designer will keep barking to people who question their design on this car..i think he should follow from behind this car during 12pm and let us know what happen

• Sales failure on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Another syok sendiri session.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 62
    • it wasn't me on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:01 pm

I wonder how your “syok sendiri session” of your vehicle looks like?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:32 pm

These kind of ppl are all dumb. After silver wrap, they think turn into supercar or what? to me it turn into chinese herb chicken roasted only, Please lah, Iriz stand for idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 44
      • Ini pun x boleh faham..this is accessories design..x kn kalau wrapped body jd Crome keta boleh tukar jd supercar..Bodo punye comment

• LOLOLOL on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:58 pm

+1. Still saying “My Iriz 2020”. Is this the joke of the joke? 2020 already a SUPER joke among malaysian, now come out again a piece of junk! WTF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
  • Nissan on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:06 pm

The model is already fugly now put on stupid kit become more fugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 90
  • john is otak batu on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Pimp’s car

• kereta_lembu on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:26 pm

I dig the bodykit and the rims for this Iriz. The chrome though is too flashy. But good effort! Nice number plate too!

• Iriz looks good with the SD Aerodynamic kits… But chrome is just a bit overkill. Under direct sunlight, it will hurt the eyes of those looking at it.. In Malay terms we call “menyakitkan mata memandang” (no pun intended).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • goodman on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:34 pm

The reflection is still not up to my standard. The reflection is not sharp enough. Although it is high reflective, you still can see the reflection is very blur. Improve your product please.

• alldisc on Dec 02, 2015 at 3:26 pm

I believe it is because of wrapping instead of fully chroming process

• i believe the product is just fine…there are other types of chrome out there if you want to know…personally i love the chrome to be more blurred, like satin-chrome…

• Typical

• FIST (Member) on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

y u no hide number plate?

• Iriz seems even better. But if suit to Myvi, damn ugliest.

• FireAce on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:13 pm

I would not want to drive near this car any time in a day. Reflect sunlight in the day, reflect car head light at night. Blinding and cause accident.

• Potong Iris Iris on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:23 pm

woww.. so innovative. this for sure will increase it’s horsepower & top speed. also, improve it’s fuel efficiency. a top notch engineering mods by malaysian which very equal to european & japanese mods, congrats, proud to be malaysan. kipidap & don gibap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Cool

• Kuinosan on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Don’t see the point of a chrome wrap whereas the current trend is black matte for MOD enthusiasts??? Looks like a paper car ready to be torched!

• tohellwithplagiarism on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Since when this site promotes ahbengs ride n asked for comments ? Really ? Our streets already filled with ‘sports car’ d laa dheyyy ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • junk! on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Even u coat the iriz with gold plate it is still a junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Lets appreciate the innovative and creative idea. Don’t let the brand clouded it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • hshshah on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:46 pm

at day light become silau, malam pun silau.. everyone gonna hate you now

• unknown person on Dec 02, 2015 at 3:14 pm

what is the point having a car warped in chrome?I rather paint my house than a standard car.

• Wrap to pay more duit kopi to JPJ..

• lehman on Dec 02, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Talk kok sing song
    No matter what u put on the P1 Iriz
    even 24kt gold is of zero value cos the
    car sucks and the sales numbers don’t lie.
    Face the truth & don’t even dream of all the global , game changer & onzz crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Come on on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Am I seeing wrong!? Come on paultan, how come you put an article for something that is so “Ah Beng” one? somemore with proton car. If the car is lambo, ferrari, etc then worth it, Iriz?! Is that because today no more car news from around the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • nabill (Member) on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Im not sure why is everyone having a go at the car… Yes his taste is very ‘challenging’… But its his car, his money… U all should jus chill n dont take it personally la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • jasni on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:12 pm

This is the end product of too much vaping.
    Money wasted hallucinating items like these
    and syok sendiri.
    Don’t forget your RV plummets when u put all these useless stickers & add ons.
    Was JPJ consulted on its roadworthines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Nua Jon on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:36 pm

they show creativity, please take positive….this is good show and much better then Ah Beng sticker put some cars in Malaysia road…kipidap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Another Stupid thing ever done by Malaysian in 2015 after 1MDB scandal and RM27Bil issue. Our nation are pride in Guinness worst record!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Godcar the best on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Mat Kutu wet dream car. Only this mat driver will feel syok where else people in Toyota will laugh kau at this fella…Sorhai !

• Iriz Rempit on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:22 pm

So what….chrome here and there, body kit like shit…but at the end, near toll gate, open car door ambik ticket. Power window spoil. Priceless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • IloveProton on Dec 02, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Good effort guys. Next time use gold colour like the one we seen in Dubai. It will elevate the status of our proudly national car. Again just ignore those bashers, they are just a bunch of butt hurt idiots who always think that overseas cars would be better. iriz is my dream car some more with this absolutely stunning chrome deco, WOW. I am a loyal Proton car supporter as all my cars are Protons. Car other then Proton are a piece of shit. That’s all I’m saying!!

• hahaha on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:14 am

I like to see those guys face when they read all the comments here.. probably they still unwrap the iriz .. lol

• MalaysiaBaguss on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:05 am

Good effort. Looking forward for another project from u guys. I’m not a fan of Proton but I always support local talent. Never give up on your work and always keep on improving. Wishing u guys a great success!

Malaysia is for people who proud to be Malaysian.

• I am proud to be Msian but just don’t be
      a blind supporter.
      Any crap served to you and you think its caviar ? Please !!!

• tohellwithplagiarism on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Proud to be msian yo ! So proud of our country’s scandals .. Proud of our govt .. Proud of Rosmah which is local talent too .. N they never gave up on their work too .. Great success !