Driven Web Series 2015 #4: Malaysia’s cheapest cars – Perodua Axia 1.0 vs Proton Iriz 1.3 vs Kia Picanto 1.2

We’re back with a new episode of Driven Web Series, powered by Petronas Primax 95 with Advanced Energy Formula. As promised, we’re looking at Malaysia’s most affordable cars this week. Whether you’re looking to buy your very first car, or thinking of getting one for your kids, this episode is for you.

Yes, these are not actually the three cheapest cars available in Malaysia. But, we at paultan.org decided to ignore models without ABS for this episode; for obvious reasons, really. You shouldn’t be looking at vehicles without that basic safety equipment, just plain and simple. So out went the Perodua Axia Standard variants and the Proton Saga. The cheaper Myvis too, actually.

What we’re left with are the Axia SE 1.0, Iriz 1.3 and Kia Picanto, all in their cheaper manual transmission forms. So, which one of these cars should you buy? Watch the video above to find out our clear verdict.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 256
    • economy is bad.
      taking longer years loan do help reduce burden.

you raised a good point, how reliable and durable is kia picanto or proton iriz for such long lasting.
      affordable car should come with affordable monthly payment, maintenance and fuel consumption.

which is the topic of this driven review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
      • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:50 am

In Europe Hyundai and Kia are bought for being reliable (and affordable-ish). I guess they aren’t too bad.

That being said I think the Picanto is still too expensive, though if you mostly care about safety maybe the Picanto is still the one to pick. Frontal collisions the Iriz wins by a bit, but side impacts the Picanto wins hands down.

The Iriz MT makes the most sense IMHO. It has space, is reasonably safe (better than many more expensive models, think Vios, Almera etc.), fun to drive, nice to look at, … it almost has it all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 3
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 220
          • George Abdul on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:27 am

Oh that’s means Government are lazy… Government own brand manufacturer “should aim better and safer car” for Rakyat with affordable price… why so lazy “not work hard” for Rakyat safety???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
          • ProtonGSC on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:08 am

Driven trio host just giving advice to future owners… choose a car that provide more safety with affordable pricing. Most cars in Malaysia aka Bolehland are overprice or affordable with less safety spec. Cheap new car price don’t exist in Malaysia market due to AP cronies system policy !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • hardworking people don’t come here and criticise people. and stop acting like jeremy clarkson. u will never be one, with those pathetic use of words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Looking for
            1. Safety
            2. Reliability
            3. Fuel Saving
            4. Comfort

You won’t go wrong with our Prius C, only worth RM60k for used unit now.

Some ignorant Proton fanboys may say it is powerless, but it actually beat all non-turbo Proton with its 10.5s.

Why new Prius C so expensive? Thanks to Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
    • Think ur old shit, still same smell ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:47 am

Why u need 9 year loan for Axia? isn’t that defeat the purpose of buying cheap car..to have shorter loan period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • total wrong dude. Iriz comes with 7 years warranty even though the last 2 years is extended warranty but still it’s longest here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
        • confuse on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:32 am

loan and warranty are the same?

• Warranty indirectly means how much the company itself believes in the reliability of their own product. Of course u might saying it just a marketing strategy, however, no company really want to keep losing money in replacing new items for a car under a warranty. In other words, if u want to give a long warranty, then u need to produce a car that can sustain at least until the warranty period done. Proton really dare to do this in order to change peoples perception, perhaps.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
          • waran on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:05 am

hey oni read again what KZM write. loan man, not warranty.

you can have 7 years warranty with 3 years loan. no problem right?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Very simple:
            You CAN control your driving style and prevent accident.
            But you CAN’T control the parts from breaking down.

That’s why so many opt for Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • Why not? Some can only afford rm300 for monthly installment!

• Jamal on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:50 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 141
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:52 am

Proton are top class as Volvo and bmw claim by ministers of Malaysia… you don’t by Iriz you loss your live !!! Go buy now I give you more discount !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 47
      • theanswer on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:05 am

butthurt case la ni. no regret after using saga blm for 6+yrs and counting.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
      • aikon on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:09 am

what’s the basis for your allegation that proton cars are ‘extremely’ unreliable? hopefully you have some facts to back up what you’re saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • This is Malaysia. According to macai logic, u dun need facts to blindly bash Gov or Proton. U ask for it, means u r BN lapdog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Wickedswicket on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:17 am

So u’d rather get a toyota with less safety features than a proton with all the bells & whistles?
        It’s ppl like u that causes car manufacturers to short change consumers.
        Take Toyota for example – even their altis only has 2 airbags! And that’s a C Segment car mind u!.
        U want more than 2 airbags you have to top up more $$.
        Sorry, but I’m not gonna swallow shite like that….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • pepsi on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:57 am

one of my fren used to own a waja and later a vios. mind you, driving a vios also had problems,.waja gave her a good 10 years,. with minor problems.fixable with few ringgit. so the issues are relative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Year 6 using proton exora and the only problem i have was the abs sensor

• family aku pakai proton dari 1986 sampai sekarang ok jek. Dari saga satria wira iswara dan sekarang aku sendiri beli inspira. x pernah ada masalah pun. janji jaga time servis dan x lanyak memang ok.

• pepsi on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:42 am

but if the car is not durable, supposedly u shd take the loan tenure shorter la. so that the interest u incur will be lesser, and can dispose off before the market value drops further.

for more ‘durable’ cars then longer loan is ok. as it will b good for keeps,. and even if u shd sell later there is still rv,.. betul ka?

• WickedSwicket on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:14 pm

X berapa betul…
        U see a lot of European cars that are more durable and lasts a lifetime doesn’t really retain their resale value.
        In contrast, Japanese cars, regardless if they last as long or otherwise, will.
        The used car market is skewed unfortunately…

• If you are a hardcore fan of proton then you should buy low quality proton. Cant even afford a cheap japan car then you can go for myvi or picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Agreed with verdict. When compared like that the Axia has absolutely no chance of winning.

More ppl seem to be getting the iriz 1.6, though I wonder how many of them menyampah with their punch cvt equipped transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • 1.6 got manual also what haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • not a problem with the cvt though.. I feel more menyampah with the new MyVi Face lift thingy compared to the old myvi. A big reason why i jumped to iriz.. The new myvi face lift thingy is sucha rip off.. pity the buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Nissan on Oct 28, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 109
    • Kupang Boy on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Funny the only thing you can comment on about the show is the attire of the hosts. Since you mentioned it, I think they dressed cool… Nobody wants to be testing these cars in freakin suits nor full racing overalls either.

Anyways, I agree with the verdict in that the Iriz manual offers the best driving experience. Even if they throw in the Myvis and the Hyundais.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
      • camtakpro on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:18 pm

One thing they didn’t mention, is that turning the Iriz gear knob has the same feel as Perodua manual shifting. Sucks shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
    • Gabriel Hii on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Get a sense lar. Most affordable cara of course the attire must look affordable too. No one expect you to wear James Bond suit on Iris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • I think you buy Iriz means you don’t even have an immitation suit!

• Even hammond drive lorry with singlet. Yet top gear are world’s best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • neonceejay on Oct 28, 2015 at 10:18 pm

So I did indeed test driven a Proton Iriz 1.3 CVT and a Axia G auto via rental and I do completely agree what they’ve said.

(why auto? ask rental shop owner, not me)
    The problem of proton was, Quality Control.
    test drive a rental car could easily understand how the car behaves after being trashed and abused by their customers.

Overall, If you want a really, really reliable car, should just choose the Axia. Perodua engineers are too good in economics, they should be the economist instead.

And, did I mention the Axia I drove is without ABS and driving it in rain was so scary, considering the steering was damn numb and the brake are….

Iriz is much more fun to drive. The brake does have the “Stage” feel where you could feel how ABS kicks in.
    And the handling is better, but comfort slightly poor, when the road condition get jellies.

I’ve manage to handbrake corner with the Iriz and it’s a real JOY!!! to drove it!
    compared to the Axia.

But deep down, I know that Axia is saving my bucks, and of course, earning more bucks for perodua.

So, If I ever going to buy my first car, I’ll just wait for the 1.3 turbo 6 speed manual version and see:
    1.)Did they improved the overall QC?
    2.)Fuel consumption?
    3.)Please be a LSD’ed gearbox, warmhatch!

(did i mention that the iriz i driven have power window problem…..?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 18
    • Bruise on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:23 am

My Myvi got power window problem, so i think Axia is not reliable. I told my sis juz go buy Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
    • Thanks for the info.

How many DECADES now? And still power window problem. NEVER PROTON, NEVER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 53
      • recently, toyota have recall due to power window problem. so, never toyota also for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
        • George Abdul on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:14 am

That’s different Toyota power window problem that cause fire… Proton power window spoil at 2nd year “power without window” and you still taking loan for a spoil car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • PWfire on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:31 am

means that toyota power window problem (cause fire) is the worst case of all power window related problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
          • George Abdul on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:57 am

^ So u mean Proton were good to spoil so can’t cause fire?? and don’t use window at any cost !!! Both have same problem but in different presumption…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • BBASe on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:35 am

burn die, broken replace…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
          • George Abdul on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:18 am

^ I won’t buy cars that cause fire OR spoil on power window and engine fuel hungry in just 2nd years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Wickedswicket on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:21 am

You’re not too bright are u Abdul?

• U r wrong Wicket. He is uber economist. Najib & u shud listen to him.

• so how about the airbag problem? your life more important or the lack of power window more important?

• camtakpro on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Recall on potential issue with FOC replacement regardless where you service
          vs
          having *life-time* warranty on power window only for cars serviced by ‘Proton’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • nickeldeon on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:48 am

Come on la…! Proton got lifetime warranty what…??? What to worry…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • noobie on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:44 am

proton lifetime only 2 years, after that died already……and eat yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • noobie on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:47 am

lifetime doesn’t mean forever, numb nuts…ok…lifetime mean from born to die, for proton only 2 years…ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • Wickedswicket on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:26 am

Power window warranty for proton is actually 10 years.

• Arief on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:17 am

Perodua engineers?? Ouh.. you mean daihatsu engineers?
      Perodua engineers now just learn redesign and produced their perodua DNA’s which quite impressive compared to simply rebadge a car… hope after this they can produce a totally new design with just using the donor platform (daihatsu) like proton did to accord..
      Other than that, agree with u.. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:09 am

You mean Daihatsu Indonesia engineers, not Daihatsu Japan engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Satoha on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:41 am

My Viva Base Model DOA. Can’t even drive back to my house on 1st day. And after I get back a fully functional car and thought that my bad day is over, bam car send in to warranty for 3 times in the 1st year.

Yes it’s cheap but maybe too cheap??
      atleast for me I wouldn’t go perodua for my next car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Jamal on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:51 am

Dude uts still new. One year later your iriz feels like it’s 10 year old. That’s how bad proton qc is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
      • aikon on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:12 am

you own one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Jamal u drive Iriz or not???Jgn cakap saja, I bli Iriz premium last year ..perfect compact car..better than my 2012 Vios trd,Iriz is perfect driving machine,perfect in everything compare my TRD Vios Worth 90k buying the T logo..nothing to compare with Iriz..U drive U know

• test car on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:21 am

test car is not really good way to see how the car perform after some time, because nobody takes care of it. and you even handbrake turn it. if you do it in my car, i’ll kick your bottom. and god knows what other people do with it

• neonceejay on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:33 pm

well.
        in my opinion, rental car ages much quicker than an average car. The iriz i get was about a year old.
        So you do can really expect your car will turn jellies or not via rental car, cuz they’re used and abused rather than taken care of.

(and i didn’t said it turn jellies ryte?)

And what’s the matter with handbrake turn?
        i rent it, and I did it in a marooned newly constructed parking lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • neonceejay on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Guys, chill down cuz It’s my very humble opinion.
      The power window, actually not malfunctioning but it’s somehow “stucked” and I had to use my hand to pull it up, and it’s only the driver side.

Well, for those who really fresh and every single cents count, getting an axia is the more down to earth choice. Cuz it’s too simple, and basic, so wouldn’t have much trouble from point A to B.

And if you plan to get an iriz, I would said you made a smart move. Just pray that, the iriz you get is a properly fitted iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • camtakpro on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:22 pm

That’s the thing about buying Proton, pray.

However the God would slap you if you pray your Perodua manual to shift nicely.

• neonceejay on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Completely agree…
          Perodua doesn’t make good manual car.
          Kancil can be shifted much nicer than Axia, Alza, myvi…just imagine that. (gross)

• God would slap you just for buying a perodua. Period.

• Than U buy la Perodua…tin kosong,open door panel U see no safety bar inside there just plain …

• nabill (Member) on Oct 28, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Haters gonna hate… But u know what, since u bring the rm52k picanto i wd get the iriz 1.6 manual excutive not jus bigger engine, alot more toys as well… The axia is just crap… It kinda redefines the word crap! Its feels so hollow n bare…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:11 am

Don’t forget the 10+k discounts you can get for the Picanto. The Iriz would be more expensive.

For me it’s the 1.3 Premium MT… without the power sucking CVT the 1.3 should be enough, it’s not like the 1.6 is much more powerful. In turn you get all the equipment there is, including 6 airbags. The Executive doesn’t get those.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:09 pm

There is no 1.3 premiuim… There is only 1.6 premium…. Correct me if im wrong, but ya, picanto and iriz are going through some really good deals at the moment… Maybe next review should be the iriz 1.6p vs mazda 2,suzuki swift and the pug 308!

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:34 am

It was mentioned that you can get heavy discounts from nazakia for picanto, expect the price to come down between 38-42k. Which is why comparable to axia and iriz 1.3

• The CVT in the Iriz is not great, but it’s not that really bad either like need to be repetitively mentioned in the video. Be fair on it. It’s might be noisy if u slammed on the pedal but at the same time the transmission also contribute to the good acceleration in iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
    • Manusia on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:58 am

I drive my aunt car, Proton Saga SV and I really like the CVT. I like how CVT works and feel more relax.

I think most Malaysian driver not like CVT because they think they are racing driver.

I will choose manual for legal racing only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Really on Oct 28, 2015 at 10:51 pm

All cars can last up to 9 years and even more with good maintenance. Heck, most cars can get past 10 years with minimal maintenance. Just don’t blame anyone but yourself when your poorly-maintained car broke down or have atrocious fuel economy.

On the subject of hire purchase, taking a 9-year loan with some requiring 0% downpayment is enabling more people to afford cars. On the other hand, there is always the risk of defaulting. It is not hard to find cars repossessed by the banks that is barely one year old. The gist is anyone looking to own a car (whether new or used) should take into account not only the monthly instalments, but the running costs (maintenance, fuel) as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
    • I’m still driving saga 1991 (megavalve) without any major problem (except the power window). Just say hi to me on the right lane… :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:01 am

U see? proton mean ,
        P – Power window,
        R – Rosak,
        O – Oh!
        T – Tidak!
        O – Oh!
        N – No!

Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 67
        • hati sihat on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:44 am

Some people loves to comdemn others because of their built in attitude.

Remember.. What goes around comes around…same lorr..
          Pist off with your mindless comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • WickedSwicket on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Toyota short change customers, how can it be better??
          U Toyota salesman is it?

• i think my persona SV rocks !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • paanjang16 on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:23 pm

As cheap as the Axia is, one cannot simply deny that the Axia is severely lacking in the safety department. Especially when the Axia in Japan (Toyota Pixis epoch) comes with VSC and TRC as well as 4 airbags!

Link: http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/active/
    Link2: http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/passive/

Given a choice, most will buy the Axia due to its cheaper price, quality and lack of any viable alternative in the sub-30k segment. It’s too bad P2 is taking advantage of the lack of competition in the sub-30k segment by not including more safety equipment when it clearly shows that such safety equipment can be included into the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Bristol on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:35 am

My view is the car price vs spec offer, Perodua is consider expensive car. If want branded choose 150k above. Below than that juz use car price vs spec

• RakyatMalaysia on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:08 am

Agree with you about the safety difference between local and overseas model.

My opinions about the general Malaysians that tend to buy Axia are, I would say its all about prices. Quality? Ermm, I think not. I am pretty sure that people who choose Axia do not ever consider quality in the first place.

If P2 considers to put safety features for the base car, they would probably have to increase their prices and thus, will jeopardize their sale. Well, i think that installing safety features requires car manufacturers to make deals with the suppliers, therefore, have to invest on that. And since Malaysian laws do not enforce mandatory safety features for every car manufacturers put on sale here, plus the Malaysian’s mentality regarding the safety of a car, well, P2 really takes a lot advantages on that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • kia cars is the best, world wide best selling car, KIA PICANTO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • What happen to John? The hair, the cloth, the shoes…

• What?! No ABS on car is like riding without helmet on bike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:37 am

Or making love without condoms, perhaps. Anytime risk of accident. I mean, pregnancy. Hehehe

• George Abdul on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:20 am

Latest Saga and Axia will get saman from police… if your car don’t have ABS !!!!!

• Tan Suk Ong on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:21 am

For Sabah n Sarawak Axia is okay n if in KL I don’t think is capable . I am interested to buy a car use in KL.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Buy preowned Viva better than New Axia.. Viva have DVVT engine.. Axia no DVVT engine!

• WickedSwicket on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Where ever you drive your car, make sure you go for the ones with proper safety features. ABS is a must. ESP is a must. 6 airbags min is a must.

• Brainless on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Brainless fellow make comments.
      Sabah Sarawak people buy pickup and ninja king lah.
      You haven’t been there don’t comment lah.
      Small car cannot sell there.

• Korakora on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:25 am

20k axia vs 40k++ iriz and picanto? What do you expect? What do you think 40k axia would be then? Ohh i can buy 2 axias with 40k. Or i buy 1 axia and get married to a girl. 1 car and 1 girl next to me in axia. Yeahh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
  • tokmoh. on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:03 am

1. Most modern manuals are designed with ultra light clutch for an effortless driving. If people still complain “tiring to drive in jam”, I have a solution: drop dead since just living is tiring for you.

2. This is very price sensitive market segment, I’d be happier with smaller rubbers. 14″ and 15″ tyre price difference x 4 can be quite significant for intended target market.

Nothing to bangga la with 15″ anyway, next thing you see will be a Range Rover with 22″ pulling alongside you, rendering your attempt to bangga la mute.

And frankly, for about same money, I prefer better 14″ eg Michelin than caplang 15″ eg China/Silverstone/Sime/etc.

Now, more model specific thoughts:

Axia
    Yay : Most glaring plus points are fc and space.

Target market are prolly happy just with these 2 factors. The car works, for least amount of money to buy, run and service, fullstop.

Nay : I am sceptic about part replacement. Perodua older models’ parts are fuggin expensive, like, Conti car expensive. Kelisa rm1,000 engine mounting (expect this to haunt Axia too in the future, due to being 3-cylinder), aircond rosak (very common with any Perodua), RM1.5k fly to replace compressor, etc.

Perodua got good RV, but that’s a disadvantage in used market. Proton makes better buy in used market with poorer RV, and cheaper parts.

Picanto
    Yay : For equivalent spec in UK, this car sells for about £10k. At RM5 GBP exchange rate when this car launched here, it’s really small difference.

It impressed me that u can get this car with SIX airbags AND STABILITY CONTROL at a price very close to what you’d pay at “open, unprotected market” without “300% protection tax”.

As presenters said, last I asked, you can get 2015 model for RM42k after discount.

I love this car. I love the feel it’s specced like it’s for European market, yet very slight premium (or cheaper now!) than what Europeans pay.

The interior is the best here for me. Feels properly put together, and robust for the long run.

The clutch is so light, I refuse to believe a “tiring to drive in jam” excuse in this car. It feels so everyday usable comfortable, so workhorse reliable, so trusty, so safe, so you-can-rely-on feel.

Pretty good fc too for a 4-cylinder. Guess it’s more compact size helps to edge it over Iriz.

Nay : Questionable Naza after sales service.

I have no experience with caring a Korean car, so no idea how pricey the parts are relative to Perodua/Proton. But then again, I’m sceptic of Perodua’s, so maybe a tie with Perodua here?

Iriz
    Yay : It’s certainly the most car for the money here.

Being Proton, parts are cheap. Fact. If you eg get into fender bender, need to replace bumper/headlamp/etc, Proton should be most affordable to fix.

Frankly, I’m fine with standard spec. The exec spec is RM4k dearer, yet all you add are bodykits, USB outlet and rear wipers? Come on, save that RM4k, who cares about looking poor? It’s supposed to be just a workhorse, and it’s a proton anyway, not Godcar or Merc S-keras.

If only Proton allows to trade that RM4k for additional 4 airbags, I’d gladly spend it that way. But for bodykits? Poi.

RM4k is nearly 2 months of freshie pay. It’s silly for me to spend it on bodykits.

Nay : fc. Proton, proton, why is it so difficult to make good fc car…

Though, I feel it’s negated by cheaper part replacements, so really, it’s not too bad in overall cost of ownership in the long run.

Still, if it’s got good fc, it’ll be the success Proton wanted it to be.

So throw away the silly Punch CVT already. The Iriz is a better powertrain away from becoming best seller.

Also, Iriz has poor NVH, the door really feels hollow. I think it’s probably worth spending a bit to soundproof the car.

Verdict
    I feel it’s a close call between Iriz and Picanto.

Picanto betters in safety spec, fc and interior quality, NVH.

Iriz fights back with cheaper part replacement, driver’s car feel and space. NVH can be improved quite affordably too.

I guess either is fine, as long as it’s not Axia.

Axia feels a case of trading off too much just for best fc.

It’s not worth trading off safety, only one here with no stability control.

I just am not convinced it’s worth trading off a cylinder. This 3-cylinder will eventually make u feel “if only I have another cylinder”. And a Perodua makes u feel “Nokharooom RM1,060 mounting (inclusive GST)?!!! RM1,590 repair aircond (inclusive GST)?!!!”

Put simply, I don’t really feel peace of mind with Axia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:45 am

I feel like adding a little more thoughts on Picanto:

Back then, when I was test driving the Picanto, I haven’t driven a manual for a long, looong time.

Impressively, I got through the test drive without stalling it. It’s a testament to how easy it really is to drive it.

To some, the steering is vague, overly assisted, numb etc. IMHO, this coupled with the light clutch made it so effortless to drive, I was a bit shocked I had already arrived back at the showroom.

It most definitely isn’t a fun driver’s car like Iriz, but it is a very easy car to get A to B hardly ever breaking a sweat. I think it’s very relaxing to drive it.

So personally, the Picanto is my choice, but as I said, Iriz is fine too for its overall packaging is just as good.

• Andrew Yu Young Earn on Jul 02, 2016 at 4:31 pm

yes i agree but i still like iriz more than jazz,city,vw polo,iriz cvt,almera,vios,myvi and axia and fiesta and mazda 2.

• nice review bro. high five

• It’s interesting that you mentioned about Iriz’s bad NVH. I somehow found it to be the OTHER WAY around. In my opinion, Iriz NVH is one of the best for the car its price.

I drive Iriz Manual Standard 1.3L on a daily basis. One of the things that I really appreciate is that its ability to shield me from the outside noise. It makes me feel kind of separated from the outside world. An illusion of comfort because it’s so quite inside. A sheer relieve after a long tiring day at work. Even when long trelers or big lorries overtaking me on the road, it feels like just another small Axia (noise wise). Imagine, driving a manual Iriz when there’s no CVT to whine at you. The journey is amazing.

I’m not sure whether my Iriz is different than the one that you drove (it’s 2015 production), but my Iriz’s door… oh man. It feels like it was built for a war tank. It’s heavy and solid. When It closed, it produces this satisfying sound that tells you “all is lock, you should be fine now”.

• It’s interesting that you mentioned about Iriz’s bad NVH. I somehow found it to be the OTHER WAY around. In my opinion, Iriz NVH is one of the best for the car its price.

I drove Iriz Manual Standard 1.3L on a daily basis. One of the things that I really appreciate is that its ability to shield me from the outside noise. It makes me feel kind of separated from the outside world. An illusion of comfort because it’s so quite inside. A sheer relieve after a long tiring day at work. Even when long trelers or big lorries overtaking me on the road, it feels like just another small Axia (noise wise). Imagine, driving a manual Iriz when there’s no CVT to whine at you. The journey is amazing.

I’m not sure whether my Iriz is different than the one that you reviewed (it’s 2015 production), but my Iriz’s door… oh man. It feels that it was built for a war tank. It’s heavy and solid. When it closed, it produces this satisfying sound that tells you “all is lock, you should be fine now”.

• dugongx on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:37 am

I highly doubt any of the millennials or gen Ys gonna buy a manual or even can drive a manual car these days.

• neonceejay on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:36 pm

I am gen Y and i found this miserable and offensive…

Haizzzz…

• kumar on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:21 am

Driven team… y nvr took picanto with full spec? got more features meh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • olio benzina on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:49 am

Well done boys! Good honest comparison., telling it like it is. But even if the clutch is light, nowsadays there is a separate category for auto driving license which many new drivers choose.

• Brainer on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:58 am

lol..axia is just a rebadge car what the heck make a fuss abt it?

• ahzia on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:03 am

aiyooooo, the trios so dare belittle axia, how dare you……

this is the best car that will command about 100K units a year on the road.

after knowing the truth many axia ricer will have bad mood lah………

than how to have axia familia group later on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • after test driving the cars. iriz is the best. for the sake of wanting a cheap small car i took axia basic for its cheap 24k price. monthly installment just at 240 rm.

but my heart is stll on iriz.

• areos on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:37 am

many admit that driving produa cars especially on wet road is so scarry..for safety, spare parts n handling proton the better choice. U can buy axia and myvi if u are not a robust type of driver and not so concern about consumption.
    if u are risk taker, buy proton.

• Inked up thuggin on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:54 am

Put iriz and axia in one article and everyone loses their minds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • In my opinion, proton iriz 1.3 must be compare with suzuki swift and perodua myvi 1.3 which are same class while perodua axia must be compare with mitsubishi mirage since both of them are eco cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • leonardo on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:14 am

I applaud to Paultan and team for making a stand on safety of cars in Malaysia. Yes, entry level cars may be cheap and the equipment level offering is just the basic items. But there should be no compromise on safety. ABS, VSC, minimum 2 airbags, are the minimum requirement today. (The safety list will go up ever year).
    The lives of all drivers and passengers are all valuable, regardless of the cars you own and drive. The safer car may cost a bit more, but what is the price of the lives of your loved ones?
    Again, Bravo Paultan and the team, for taking a stand on safety and putting the pressure on car manufacturers to make their cars safer for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Say what u want.. I love my 12 years kancil 660 so much.. Muahaha.. No problems at all.. Except for engine sounds like ‘ teksi tua’.. Hihii.. Byk berjasa da woii.. Pergi balik keje rm5 x abes..

• tokmoh. on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:49 am

Kalau axia brand new harga macam kancil kat second hand market sekarang, gua tak complain.

Masalahnya, bayar rm37k untuk tissue box holder, anti snatch hook, coin box holder, looooooooooooool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • selvam on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:58 am

Belilah barangan tempatan

• cheapest car my ass.. I still can’t afford any of this car..

• jinggo on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Tulah ko, dulu org suh gi skolah ko lari.. kalu tak skrg ko keje gaji beso bai.. nasib ko la..

• andrekua on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Sometimes it fun reading comments for P1 and P2 supporters.

Admittedly I have driven Wira and nothing major broke. Everything still intact after years (yeah, bad nvh, rattling sound, infamous throttle body causing engine die when shifting gears etc. Other than these, pretty much problem free). Proton problem doesn’t lie with the car but the people within Proton.

The attitude problem really is a major headache in many sc. I have been to Hyundai and its the same. They are only interested in business and less on warranty claims. My aircond was poor and many sc (even glenmarie) just replied fuel savings as answer. I suffered for a year before finally writing to Hyundai Korea and guess what. Suddenly I got a call to replace air cond compressor. Problem was fixed right away.

With oversea brands, they still care about their image and will response. Same case with Toyota. However who can you go to when you faced such problem with P1?

• Peter on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:23 pm

You need a politician to get reply from P1 or P2, and to be treated as a customer.

• the video said axia has over asisted EPS.
    and the lack of servo for brakes.

for me as the owner of axia basic, the steering is more on the dead center manner which is not quite favourable. while on the brake side, it has a good amount of servo assisted. only that the grip level of a small light car is less when the rubber to the road adhesion to be concerned with.

• waitnsee on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:24 pm

welcome back harv…always excited to c u in action again despite previous episode…very entertain by your natural sense of humour….thumbs up..good review

• proudpersona on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:07 am

I owned Proton Persona Elegance for 5 years, and I have a habit of resetting the odometer every time I refuelled (full tank using credit card). In 5 years the fuel consumption never drops, it gave me more than 450km before fuel warning light comes on. During long journeys I can manage to get up to 530km. So those who said proton cars is fuel hungry after 2 years is totally full of craps OR blindly compared “RM50 boleh balik kedah/kelantan/terengganu” which is not correct due to gasoline price difference OR never maintain the car properly.
    Already sold the persona to buy Exora CFE Premium with ABS & ESC.
    We Malaysian should appreciate safety features more compared to brand names.

• paul tan is getting more and more unprofessional. yes, being paid by proton does not mean that you have to turn that way.
    What did paul tan shout about when Iriz was launched? THE MYVI KILLER is the slogan. So why no comparision with the Myvi? The joke is to compare a 1,000 cc car costing Rgt35,000 with a 1,300 cc car costing Rgtb 45,000. why not compare the Iriz against a VW polo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:55 am

Hi, I believe the reasons why we picked the three cars here have been clearly explained both in the video, and in the post above.
      Thanks.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 31, 2015 at 3:19 am

What the hosts said are being fact and not based on biased opinion. If you strip the car down, Iriz chassis is the best among those in comparison. It is comparable with the Polo and the Fiesta, Myvi is nowhere near the Iriz.

Besides praising about the handling, safety and ride, the hosts did mentioned that the quality of the interior is lacking especially the cheap aircond switches.

• “A segment” car like Axia is meant for city driving. In Japan they are called “Kei Car” (see Wikipedia), where the speed limit in Japanese street is usually less than 60 kph.
    I have a Peugeot 308 Turbo 1.6 Auto and an Axia G 1.0 Auto. The 308 is good for balik kampung travel when speed, safety and steady handling is vital. Axia is not so suitable for balik kampung because it is not powerful enough, nor does it have ABS, ESC, TSC, EBD, cruise control, etc. But Axia is suitable for a nippy trip around town. As long as you don’t speed, and drive below 90 or 100 kph, it is OK and fun to drive.
    Of course, if you want a better car, you have to pay more. The 308 costs 4 times the Axia (RM35k vs RM138k). You can get a good second hand 308 for around RM38k to RM45k, spare parts are expensive, and fuel consumption is 70% to 100% more.
    If you use Axia for balik kampung, my advise is DON’T SPEED, definitely not above 100 kph — just drive slow and steady. It is stupid to drive Axia like the other powerful 4 cylinders cars on the road which have better safety features, such as the 308 which has 3 times the power and torque, and lots of safety features.

One thing I discovered about the Axia that I don’t like (because I think it is too much for the manufacturer to compromise) is the lack of a PROPER HEAD REST FOR THE SAFETY OF THE BACKSEAT PASSENGERS. In the event of an serious accident, backseat passengers may suffer injury from whip-lash to the neck. This safety feature is simple to make and the manufacturer should NOT COMPROMISE on this. ABS is also important, but I heard that from January 2016, Perodua is going to put ABS in ALL Axia, but at an additional RM1500.
    PERODUA, how about putting proper HEAD REST for the backseat passengers? Life is more important than saving a few bucks. You made head-rest for the front passenger and driver, why not do it also for the backseat passengers?

Despite its weakness, Axia is better than riding a motorbike for those who wish to save money. It is definitely better than Kancil, which sold 722,000 units before production stop. It is also better than Viva. So Axia is expected to sell well in Malaysia, because their previous models, Kancil and Viva, sold well, even though they were also poor in safety features.

If Axia is the ONLY car you have, I advise to use it mainly for city or town driving, and not to go above 90 kph. If you keep within this speed, it will take you safely from point A to B—until you can earn enough to upgrade to a better car. I quite enjoy driving my Axia for shopping and getting around the city—easy to drive, easy to park, low maintenance cost, low fuel cost, with 5 years warranty, and fantastic air-con (very good air-con, better than the 308).

• I never have a good impression when I saw Kia Picanto on the road and always wonder why the heck this guy bought a car that look like that. Plus, I never thought a car that small actually has ESC. This post changes everything. Hail to the Picantorian

• Great review. I love it