GALLERY: Proton Iriz, Suprima S by SD Aerodynamics

SDAerodynamics_IrizSuprima_02

Here’s something that will definitely split opinions. Automotive customisation outfit SD Aerodynamics Automobile Design has come up with a set of tuning solutions for the Proton Iriz as well as the Proton Suprima S – a quick check reveals that other Proton models are also included in its portfolio.

Let’s begin with the Proton Iriz, shall we? First up, it should be noted that this particular unit here has been equipped with the Stage 2 programme that is comprised of a body kit, lowering springs, additional LED lights within the main housing, 17-inch wheels (wrapped in 205/40 Falken tyres), a smattering of red pinstripes, reworked rear diffuser with twin exhaust outlets and a spoiler on top of a spoiler.

The entire package costs RM7,000 although potential clients can opt to include each add-on as a separate purchase. Customers with the Proton Iriz 1.3 will be able to spec up their respective vehicles with similar bits and bobs for RM6,000 – whether or not that seems like good value is entirely up for debate.

SDAerodynamics_IrizSuprima_05

Moving on, the Proton Suprima S you see before you appears to be equipped with a body kit of a similar disposition. Up front, the reworked grille and bumper provide the Suprima S with a Forte-esque vibe, we reckon. Elsewhere, red pinstripes feature heavily alongside 18-inch BBS wheels wrapped in 225/40 Continental tyres. The rear sports a tailgate spoiler and a redesigned rear apron, replete with quad exhausts.

All in all, it’s a noble effort, to say the least. As mentioned, we’re pretty sure this piece will divide views amongst our readers so sound off in the comments section below. Would you have your own Iriz or Suprima S kitted out in a similar fashion? And if so, how much are you willing to fork out?

Proton Iriz by SD Aerodynamics Automobile Design

Proton Suprima S by SD Aerodynamics Automobile Design

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• the Iris is probably one of the best protons i’ve ever seen, in some way its even nicer than the myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 297 Thumb down 15
    • karam singh on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:55 am

Agreed, The blue Suprima front looks like the new type R turbo in blue red stripe.
      I love it.
      Somehow the BBS rim looks good and fit nicely on Suprima.
      But on the Iriz, the front too much redline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • dhaka on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Should be No.1 best seller in Bangladesh soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 67
  • Both look like ah beng car . People who buy these cars will not simply spend that amount of money on kits.It’s supposed to be a cheap affordable daily car. Just stay that way la.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 125 Thumb down 134
    • yeah, now Proton also Ah Beng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 61
      • Aint critizing the actual vehicle. I mean both Iriz and Suprima S are decent affordable cars for the rakyat so it should stay this way. Ain’t too happy when Myvi went for their SE kits and all. Are they trying to rip the rakyat out of more money?. Might as well invest in better safety features rather than kits.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 18
        • Pakcik on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Come on uncle. It’s up to the owner if he want to make up his own vehicle. Even some uncle also like to modified his ride to look better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • True however not every uncle would want to modify their PROTON and go out with that kit. They rather go for a more practical vehicle as they get older. An SUV , big sedan etc etc. Youngsters got so much money nowadays to buy car with added kits.. all born rich ah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • doesnt look like ah beng car to me.. just a normal sporty version just like what toyota and nissan did.. i wonder if any uncle would buy vios trd sportivo or almera nismo.. summore its just an aftermarket customisation for specific target audience, nobody is forcing an uncle to buy this

• urzu3 on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:01 pm

do you mean people with small budget on their car cannot have fun and make their car looks better..? who are u to judge them anyway..? ahmad maslan’s macai?

• Imran Rahim on Aug 06, 2015 at 9:25 am

You forgot to mention the rear number plate has been reposition to the bumper for Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • C.P.MOHAN on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:00 am

If one can’t compete in technology (I presume HP/torque remains) you “play” with the body although safety should be priority (like more air-bags) not “looking good”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
    • stupidcar on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:44 am

You know this is aftermarket, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
      • i believe half of the readers dont even know that this is an aftermarket.. lols

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:45 am

its an aftermarket bodykit.. its meant to be for people who want their cars to look good. As for safety, it isn’t just about airbag count which is “passive” safety. “active” safety like stability control, good handling, etc. is far more important as their job is to prevent the accident in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • mafia war on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Agreed with you. Some people are having ah beng mind and it is not the car. Now calling low yatt xum ahbeng car. Muahahahaha

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:01 am

this is one great thing even though i agree with CX-3 it does look a little ah beng but on the other hand this is how car tuners began.

Mercedez has AMG as its own in house tuning division, but also has Brabus & Carlsson as independent tuners.

BMW has the M division but also AC Schnitzer and Hamann (among others).

The way i see it Proton will have R3 as its official tuning division. This SD Aerodynamics can become the independent side.

gut IMHO try to lose the ah beng image often associated with products from Brother’s accesories – they should be more on trendsetter rather than follower.

but the cars do look nice. kipidap guys!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:09 am

When you mention ‘Stage 2’ I thought there was engine modification done as well. Turns out it’s just an elaborate kit with lowering springs.

• Look great. Not really ah beng imho. Hope they can do something to the interior just like gear-up did.

• I just think Its still too Expensive Malaysian Cars..i remember in Australia the Proton was imported there the price for a brand new Satria 1.8 was Half the price in Malaysia And they are earning Dollars we earning Ringgit..its not Fair not sure Why its so expensive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • tokmoh. on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:29 am

That rear hatch black lining, and Iriz wording, very Volvo-ish. Suprima’s blue paint also look different shade, more similar to Polestar’s Rebel Blue shade.

RM6,000 is insane money to spend on bodykits and tyres for a Proton. Volvo’s R-design kit or Polestar tuning upgrade costs about the same (totally better way to spend RM6k, upgrade the engine performance), but it’s a Volvo, a premium Conti car, not a basic economic car to cater lower end of market.

Plus, 17″ tyres on a daily car like Iriz/Suprima is stupid as hell. Rims look ugly/ah beng/ricey, and ride will be stupid uncomfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • mohsin on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:30 am

when the “Prancing Deer” speaks out loud! hahaha!
      when you grow up, you want to be a “Prancing Horse”, right!
      I can’t stop laughing la kawan… kehkehkeh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • tokmoh. on Aug 06, 2015 at 6:07 pm

It’s prancing moose, u don’t seem to know much about Volvo.

And it’s just sticker that costs nothing compared to bodykits and ridiculous wheels.

• keeven on Aug 07, 2015 at 1:24 am

its MYR 13 260 not 6k

• Both Iriz and Suprima S are decently good looking car and although I m not a big fan of such exterior tuning by adding body kits and a few other things here and there, I must admit that SD Aerodynamics have done a great job here. Personally for me I prefer to “revamp” the ECU and try to increase the power output from there if possible, not for racing or beating the speed trap though, you need that extra power when the car is fully loaded with passengers and bags and stuff and things on the way climbing the treacherous mountain road in Sabah – “go balik kampung”…

• Annoynimouse on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:57 am

The ECUS for these cars are predominantly tuned for fuel economy and reliability on standard drive cycles. Sheer power is not at the top of the priority list right now for almost every car makers. If buyers have their own preferred driving style with more or less fixed travelling routes, then they can opt to have the ECU remapped to suit their preferences by outside tuners. Even adjusting the throttle response will change a lot of the perceived performance, but a very sensitive setup might not be too good for some people.
      As far as the CFE turbo engines are concerned, you can always increase the boost pressure over the engine rev range by changing the waste-gate openings, but then there will be other issues such as lag and exhaust temperatures at high speeds. A clever tuner who has the time and resources on their side can in fact improve on the current ECU settings. The boys at R3 are probably doing just that right now.

• #saynotoPunch on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Don’t bother. Weakest link is the Punch cvt. Proton has to get rid of the underperformed gearbox before the CFE can realise it’s full potential. “tuned for fuel consumption”? My foot. The first batch of Preve had the best tune for fuel consumption until Proton decided to follow owner sentiments to give it more oomph.

• i’ve found out that proton saga CVT has much faster 0-100 time than manual counterpart. Even manual spin wheel still loses to CVT

Manual 0-100 – 10.9s
          CVT 0-100 – 10.4s

how come CVT is underpowered?

• Edwoo on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:36 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 155
  • apisfuat on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:48 am

people want more engine tuning…not some ahbeng bodykit…u want bodykit u go kedai abang cheaper lar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Commendable efforts! And proton itself must courage this. Its a free customer awareness campaign buy independence parties, even more, they’re tuning houses. MY SUGGESTION TO PROTON, IF YOU NEED TO JV WITH OTHER AUTOMAKER IN THE FUTURE, MAKE SURE THE POWERTRAINS ARE WIDELY TUNABLE. OTHERWISE, IT WOULD BE LESS ATTRACTIVE TO M’SIAN DRIVERS.

• Simply Iriz on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:14 am

I own proton iriz 1.3 manual. So far so good, the handling, the FC, the pick-up, the response. The only setback I found is the look of the 14-inch wheel, sometimes it looks nice but most of the time it does not. If I change it to 16-inch, does it affect the ECS and terms of warranty? Need a comment.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Provided that proper tyres and reasonable wheel geometries are installed it will not damage the ESC. However, you MIGHT have to do some modifications to the body/suspension or tire setup to accommodate the larger wheels. If so, it can be used against you when claiming a warranty. Otherwise, some service centres will keep a blind eye and help you out with the warranty claim. Don’t quote me on this as I can’t say that this applies to all service centres nor do I know in great detail the actual Proton policy on this.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Furthermore, installing larger wheels and thus having a larger tire surface contact might increase your FC. You’d have to consider this since you drive a smaller engined version of the car, which is more sensitive to wheel and tire contact.

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:56 pm

the 1.6 is using 15 inch wheels right? that just go for 15 then. my honest opinion.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 153
  • Henry on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:56 am

The souped up Iris look very nice. I like the alloy rims.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 162
  • DPCraft on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Iriz looks quite sporty, Suprema Ass very Ugly.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:10 pm

If these mods actually improve the aerodynamics of the cars or at least not make it worse, then I don’t mind paying extra. As far as the designs are concerned, I personally think the red decals should only be reserved only for special ocassion cars. Firstly, it requires additional painting process which increases cost and secondly it does look a bit over-the-top and trying too hard. The overall designs of bumpers and wheels do look cool on both cars. RM6000-7000 for the whole set including the wheels and all is reasonable. I think you’d pay the same for a full set by R3 for the current models e.g Neo… no?

• wow! that Iriz so damn nice!

• shawal on Aug 06, 2015 at 1:01 pm

As boy racer kits go…
    Those are tastefully done….
    1.6 manual with a bolt on turbo shud provide ample of fun

• Rafiq on Aug 06, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Ugly looking bodykit. Should’ve stick with the original.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Agree.. especially front bumper, love the original front design.. Rear bumper might a little bit OK thn the original..

• mystvearn on Aug 06, 2015 at 2:54 pm

I own a Suprima S. Passengers already say 17″ is firm. 18″, stupid idea.

The iriz mod looks nice.

However, I bet you those additional custom stuff weighs more than the standard car. The standard will be quicker from 0-100 km, more FC and does not scrape the humps. If the mod includes engine mod as well, then what is the point of tuning the engine for more performance since its weighed down by other bits.

Sorry, but I am no mod fan, unless the mods improve FC, improves acceleration. All other mods are just for the eye.

• wats with the big black grille look on the iriz? is so outdated…and too many red stripe!

• Same Lorr on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Proton if add until RM20K body kit still make the car going bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
  • Really? on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:22 pm

People complain about ah beng this that but they forgot 1 thing, market demand. Of course people start making kits for cheap cars when there’s a demand for it. I’m just saying that people who own such cars want to be stylish too, if they have the money to invest for it, they will. I definitely sure some would say “if they have money, why proton?” That is an answer you have to ask them.

• alfanatix on Aug 07, 2015 at 8:51 am

Knowing SD Aero and build quality, after one month paint will chip, and after 2 months body kits will crack. And then come the ‘mcm bagus’ after service.

• tinmilo on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:50 am

Why spend thousands on bodykit for the Iriz?
    Can someone please come out with a compatible gearbox as an after market parts for the Iriz? Even just a 4 speed auto…

• dodol on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:23 am

Nice one.
    the rear spoiler of the suprima S looks like A45 AMG spoiler.

• putra_rider on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:45 am

I thought it should have add some hp..like amg did to merc car.But it is not..

• simon on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:53 pm

In my opinion both the front and rear bumpers on both the iriz and suprima do not look nice as it looks very “empty” with plenty of ‘wire mesh” only..earlier Dtuned came out with a very nice kit for the preve..they should have been engaged with this job. However, the rims looks splendid on both

• Eewww. This is more to Gen Y ah beng kit to be precise. Red trims are everywhere and effing big. The design looks off, no continuity. Honeycomb grills? Plus wire mesh? Come on. This kit may lifted up ur ahbeng lifestyle one step.

• williton on Oct 31, 2016 at 11:17 am

where can purchase iriz bodykit?

• Rookie on Jun 06, 2017 at 5:03 am

If the Suprima is on BBS wheels, what about the ones on that Iriz? Sorry I’m kinda new.