Kejara demerit system should be enforced soon – IGP

malaysian-driving-license-001

The Kejara demerit points system should be enforced as soon as possible, according to Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar. The reason was to make sure motorists don’t run foul of the law, he said, noting that a proposal to up the maximum fine for traffic offenders will soon be submitted to the government, The Sun Daily reports.

“There is no need to talk too much about it. We already have the system in place, so what we need to do now is to implement and enforce it,” Khalid stated. “I’m sure Kejara will deter stubborn motorists from continuing to violate traffic rules as well as reduce road accidents,” the IGP asserted.

The Kejara system, which was previously scrapped, is slated to make a comeback in March. Accumulating 15 demerit points will lead to a suspension. If a driver is suspended three times, it will lead to the cancellation of his driver’s licence. A further proposal has been submitted to have demerit points set in stone, even though fines have been settled.

As for the number of points to be deducted for different traffic offences, the government will be seeking public feedback regarding this, according to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai. The minister also believes that the Kejara system is more effective in educating road users compared to high fines.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Hello Abang IGP on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:49 am

Hello PDRM and IGP, ask your polis officers to chase the motorbike who beat raffic lights daily. Infront of 4 or 5 officers manning 4 way junctions also, polis officer in 30 minutes can see about 100 motorbikes beating the red light. this alone can cause major accidents.
    PDRM, please do your job. Saman or chase the motorbikes. This simple thing also you cannot do, now want to do Kejara points ah?

PDRM got the tendency of ignoring crime and catch offenders when suka hati. All lazy to chase the moto offender.

How many of us have seen moto beating the red light and the polis just stand and do nothing?

• karam singh on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:51 pm

need to educate m/cyclists first when they stopped outside the sensor marking and there are no cars there, the traffic light will not go green but will skip it instead.

happens to all the time but now i know. everytime i see a traffic light i will stop in the sensor markings instead of far from it. the traffic light will detect my bike and it will go green during my turn.

other bikers see why my light no green – on of the reasons why they langgar red light. because they dont know. we must help bikers to understand better.

• Should enforce songlap system first so that BN gets more money to feed IGP to improve their efficiency

• hahaha on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:58 pm

dun worry system always down…

• Kejara and Duit Kopi on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:51 am

Hello abang IGP, I got saman before, I go to balai to pay fully at payment counter, the seargeant call me aside to back room and told me he will settle it for me for RM50. He said got no receipt though.

This is why Malaysians are not scared of saman. Don’t even have to bribe polis officer who saman you. When you go balai also, no need to beg or appeal for reduction. Polis themselves come and offer you their “services”.

This is why, even RM1000 saman also, we Malaysians will be cool about it. Go to Balai, officer will now ask RM100.

Clean your polis first lah IGP. Then come and talk big about doing Kejara.

Kejara will fail until the Polis clean up their force.