Proton releases new pricelist; up to RM2k, 4.6% higher

Proton_Iriz_ 001

Earlier this month, Proton announced that prices of its cars will go up from February 15, and here’s the new pricelist from Proton Edar listing the new and increased prices for the Saga, Persona, Iriz, Exora, Preve and Suprima S models. Prices are up by RM312 to RM2,024 depending on model, a jump of up to 4.6%. See our chart below (solid paint colour, OTR with insurance) for before and after prices.

The national carmaker says that the move to increase prices is due to the impact of foreign exchange and that “many raw materials are purchased in foreign currency.” The weaker ringgit affects Proton’s operating costs and the entire eco-system chain, Proton said.

Proton-2016-pricelist

Click to enlarge pricelist

The company adds that it has put in efforts to reduce operational cost and rationalise operations where necessary, to cushion the impact on its bottom line. This has been going on since August 2015. Despite the efforts, the depreciation of the ringgit continues to put pressure on Proton and affects the industry as a whole, the company reasons.

Over in Rawang, Malaysian market leader Perodua says that it has no plans to increase prices yet, although forex has impacted 8-10% of components, negatively affecting profitability by 25-30%. “We will continue to monitor until the impact is so great.. then we may need to review that (price hikes). As of now, not yet,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said on January 20.

The start of the year has brought about new and higher prices for Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen and Audi vehicles.

proton_on_the_road_price_after_gst-20160215

Click to enlarge pricelist

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:41 am

Champion of the rakyat konon…pui

• Same L0rrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Increase the price doest mean the RV also high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Increase the price means Nasi Lemak’s manager pocket also high!

• Proton Penipu on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Masih mahu tipu rakyat lagi? Proton is MADE IN MALAYSIA, thus is not affected by foreign exchange rate like other imported cars. There is no reason to raise the price except for the pocket of Dr. M and his crony shareholders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Rashuk_Khan2 on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:12 pm

As explain the price hike is due to weaken ringgit. Raw material source from outside become expensive. You should blame the minister those say the weaken ringgit benefit for economy recovery. Or hanya orang gila tidak nampak kebaikan kejatuhan ringgit….

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:46 am

Ha Ha Ha. This is a joke. Malaysian Government made so much from GST. Unofficially, they made a cool RM100 billion but declared only Rm50 bil. Now, hantam the rakyat puas puas. There will be fools here that will say Proton is not Government and it is in private hands of DRB.

Hello? Get a life. Proton is 100% Government. Long after in DRB hands also, Government gives Proton billions in so called “research and development” grants per annum.

Proton should be closed down. It is a waste of time supporting a company that sucks billions from us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • frossonice on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:00 pm

If Proton close down, what do you expect then?

Car price will go down?

Or we have to buy milo tin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • truthbutnotsonice on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Shut up and just close it down. Stop giving lame excuse to keep this company afloat for another 30 years. Rakyat have enough of it

• If Proton close down, i expect minimum celebration like Chinese New Year with fireworks and a countdown with all the rakyat saying ‘Finally…’

• camtakpro on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Blasphemy! This is not only CNY level.

Since this is for the benefit of the whole country, it should be at least Merdeka + New Year celebration level.

• Sudirman on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Belilah barang buatan Malaysia.

• john eat sh** on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:52 am

Tee hee hee, this year Proton’s sales will be less than 100k units

• Another Way to Songlap on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:46 am

In 1985, in the Grand Opening of Proton, Mahathir said Proton will be fully Malaysian made and we won’t have to rely on foreign parts of exchange anymore. 31 years have passed, why is the parts still subject to foreign exchange? Billions have been given to Proton to research and develop their own parts in Malaysia. Roughly Rm100 billion since 1985.

the problem is Songlapping. When Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell.

Proton is doing badly because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

Quality will never go up. How can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.
      Malaysians have already suffered so much.

For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

• tokmoh. on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:52 am

Even so, Iriz is still cheaper than launch price.

http://paultan.org/2014/09/25/proton-iriz-launched/proton-iriz-pricelist/

No need to be alarmed, just hold your purchase for promotion period, confirm big discounts given, way bigger than the amount increased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • superman on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:58 am

Oh wow, so many people worried because they were all lining up to buy proton cars now they are more expensive they will but other cars…. Seriously who cares….,

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:04 am

Proton always think of Rakyat first, so increase little price… and never cheat on NCAP safety again! Tun DrM comfirm support local product and comfirm safety first (except saga). Tun DrM think of Rakyat demand (not include increase price).

• Close Down Jamban Proton on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:32 am

Raise prices? Proton sales already so bad. 100k figure is false. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive. And now, they want to increase prices?

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.
      If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.
      Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
      Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
      Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:37 am

4.6% and it is cheap? lol
      Why Malaysian have to pay money for junk? Shouldn’t junk is free yet no one bother??

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:26 am

Why is car prices getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Malaysia is actually a very rich country IF there is no songlapping. Malaysia is far richer than Singapore because we got oil, gas, tin, rubber, gold, bauxite, iron, kelapa, kurpum, copper etc. Singapore has ZERO. Why is Singapore richer than Malaysia? Again, very simple, it is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. In Malaysia, you are rewarded for songlapping.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher car prices every year. Our guardians are more interested in Songlapping than fighting for the rakyat to get lower car prices.

• Where is Najib's Promise?? on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:30 am

Where is Najib’s famous election promise? He said he will reduce car prices by 30% if people voted BN in. Malaysians trusted Najib, now we kena tipu besides the RM2.6 billion he sapu.

Najib spend Rm500 million on a new plane despite having 4 personal and private jumbo jets already in the hangar and yet, he ask us to eat kangkung, tanam jagung and buy RM1 for whole chicken.

I look everywhere also I cannot find RM1 for whole chicken.

• Andas on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:59 am

Opposition also promised PLUS to be toll free.. but Penang tunnel which was awarded to china company with consession will have toll.. im a johorean but if LGE will give free toll for that tunnel, i will give my vote to his father in Gelang Patah so that his father can win big in next GE.. can ahh???

• stasta on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:43 am

your taxes pay to federal gov, but yet u expect state gov to subsidize the penang tunnel ? do u even logic ?

• stasta on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:44 am

your taxes paid to fed gov, but yet u expect state gov to subsidize the penang tunnel ? do u even logic ?

• George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Don’t mention whole chicken… even a chicken Wing cost more RM1. His “promise” always left in excuses and empty promise !!!

• Anonymous on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:49 am

64!… 64 different configurations…! No wonder P1 mgmt is densed… since P1 complains… (and they always do…) about not selling enough units… why not just it cut down the configurations…? P1 wants to be everything to everyone… thats a problem.

• Proton says “Shut up and give your money”

• Proton, u dig a grave for yourself

• nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Tbh, every car u wanna buy, has some sort of discount, nobody pays retail price… Just showing up to a showroom already entitles u to some 2k-5k discount anyway….
    For those who are already set on buying a car, the increase wont deter them, over the loan period, the difference is jus too small

• How is a 720 increase on Suprima S 3.51% ?

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:35 pm

based on car price. excise duties and GST is calculated differently, based on car base price.

• SagaFanBoy on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Proton Saga has the most price hikes due to “impact of foreign exchange”, means saga has the most raw material bought in foreign currency, saga owners should be proud of this. XD