Proton prices to increase on Feb 15, by up to RM2k

Proton_Iriz_002_BM

It has happened. Proton has announced that prices of its cars will go up from February 15, as previously hinted at. The range of increase is from RM312 to RM2,021 depending on model, although the new price list will only be released at a later date, according to the company.

The national carmaker says that the move to increase prices is due to the impact of foreign exchange and that “many raw materials are purchased in foreign currency.” The weaker ringgit affects Proton’s operating costs and the entire eco-system chain, Proton said in a release.

The company adds that it has put in efforts to reduce operational cost and rationalise operations where necessary, to cushion the impact on its bottom line. This has been going on since August 2015. Despite these efforts, the depreciation of the ringgit continues to put pressure on Proton and affects the industry as a whole, the company reasons.

In view of this, Proton is urging buyers to take advantage of current promotions, which include interest rates of 2.8% and a special graduate scheme with monthly instalments starting from RM258 a month. Rebates of up to RM6,200 on selected 2015 cars and 30% discount on merchandise are also on offer.

Separately, under the Loyalty Reward programme, a rebate of up to RM3,000 is offered to all existing Proton owners who wish to replace or buy another Proton vehicle, valid until March 31, 2016.

Meanwhile, Malaysian market leader Perodua recently announced that it has no plans to increase prices yet. The start of the year has brought about new and higher prices for Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen and Audi vehicles.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• naik jangan tak naik on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Even now at current price, less Proton are on the road. Increase price, more vendors gulung tikar. Then bungkus. Move your old 2015 stock by lowering your price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 11
    • Yaa…3 out of 10 is Perodua, 1 out of 10 is Proton, 1 out of 10 is Honda, 1 out of 10 is Toyota, 4 out of 10 is others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • George Abdul on Feb 02, 2016 at 6:45 am

Let’s continue increase price… Proton is moving to a right way(closed shop). MAA promise reduce price! NOW even local product Proton increase price… Where’s MAA now???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • Where is Najib's Promise???? on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:09 am

How can Perodua increase their prices? Already their cars are so basic, no ABS and no VSC. Give Malaysians a ZERO safey car also, still want to increase prices?

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.
          He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM18k per month by 2020?

Don’t blame economic downturn or currency. Blame Songlapping. Because of Songlapping, investors are pulling out of Malaysia. This is why currency is falling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 02, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Scare what lar? Now increase RM 2k, Raya promotion discount RM 12k, only sozai will buy proton on original price. If you get a 2014 stock even more discount, the car is UV tested under the sun for 2 years in warehouse some more. Best!

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:17 am

Why is car prices getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Malaysia is actually a very rich country IF there is no songlapping. Malaysia is far richer than Singapore because we got oil, gas, tin, rubber, gold, bauxite, iron, kelapa, kurpum, copper etc. Singapore has ZERO. Why is Singapore richer than Malaysia? Again, very simple, it is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. In Malaysia, you are rewarded for songlapping.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
          It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher car prices every year. Our guardians are more interested in Songlapping than fighting for the rakyat to get lower car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • Maslan on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:25 am

I think u’ve mistaken MAA with MAI.

• George Abdul on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:50 am

Typo error and thanks for the correction, MAI / MITI and all AP’s is just a big lied !!!

• OMG..where the MAI cibai hiding now? R they blind or deaf?

• Every1canTalk on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:31 am

Potong did say majority of the part, material, suppliers are from local, the main purpose is to overcome the capital outflow and currency exchange rate, now should be the time for potong to show off its advantages.
      But end up still the same, then what is the point for localised those components, parts, suppliers? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Untung Rugi on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:17 am

So many news about Proton but none reporting how much profit/loss made by Proton financial year.

So far RM1 billion profits made? Or loss again?

Why so reluctant to tell it to rakyat but if about new engines dreaming big sales bla bla bla so fast got news about it.

• Where is Donkey & John? on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:46 am

Where r the 2 BN cybertrooper that goes around “licking” their supportive comment?
      Pls enlight M’sia with your “solid” facts that Proton have every rights to jack up their prices

• They are stuck at the toll (with increased toll rates), trying to get their power window to work to use their Touch n Go card.

• Why UMW Prices Going Up? on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:03 am

Perodua is fully owned by crony GLC UMW. Now, Government got no money. You know why Government got no money? It is because UMNO private piggy bank, Petronas has run out of money.

In Sweden, because of oil money, each citizen is now a millionaire. The Government has kept all the oil money in a sovereign fund for all its citizens the past 30 years.

In Malaysia, when oil was high the past 20 years, DUMNO sapu maximum the money every year. Instead of saving over the years, every year they rape Petronas. Petronas was at that time making about RM100 billion per annum. All steal nicely the money. Not even a sen was kept for a rainy day or for the rakyat or for times like this, economic downturn times.

Now oil collapse, Petronas and Malaysian Government cry like baby. Actually 30 years of drilling, about RM1 trillion was stolen (despite Petronas ploughing back billions per annum into research and more drilling)

The Malaysian government very negligent. During good times, all jolly and sapu left right and centre. Now during hard times, got ZERO savings for the rakyat.

So, they ask all their GLC like UMW, to naik harga, to compensate for their private piggy bank Petronas that is empty now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Open Letter to Najib on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:06 am

Hello Najib, besides car prices, why our petrol prices so high at RM1.75? According to global prices, our oil prices should be about 90 sen per litre. Already 30 years we kena screw with super high car prices, now, you want to increase even more?

We are giving the Government free money. Each time I fill up 50 litres for my tank, I am giving RM50 free money to the Government.

Calculate that with about 10 million road users, Government makes RM Billions Per Day untung. Plus from GST collection alone last year, that was over RM100 billion. The tax you collect from our cars alone amount to RM10 billion per annum…..still want to hantam somemore?

You hantam Malaysians with petrol prices, car prices also you hantam Malaysians. Our car prices are 3X the car prices globally. Tiga kali ganda. And yet, our GDP per Capita is one of the lowest in the world. Singapore petrol prices are so much cheaper (despite Singapore not producing oil) to Singaporeans cause Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5X that of Malaysia.

Why are we paying so much for petrol when we ourselves are an oil producer.

You ask us to tighten our belts and eat kangkung and your RM1 chicken but you spend RM500 million on a brand new jet despite having 4 other jets in your hangar.
      How lah Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Why pay Mahathir Millions? on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:20 am

Proton don’t need to increase prices. Why pay Mahathir Millions per MONTH in remuneration just to be figurehead Chairman? I hear it runs to over Rm1 million plus a fancy office, plus unlimited entertainment allowance, plus driver, plus car etc.

Proton should show their sincereity by asking Mahathir to do free work with no remuneration. After all, Proton was Mahathir’s baby and he should be doing it for free.

Also, tell Malaysians how much CEO is also earning. He should be taking a pay cut instead of enjoying 6 figure salary per month and fancy company car. He should be given a Wira as company car to drive.

Instead of increasing Proton prices, cut cost by giving Mahathir and the CEO, CFO, CTO a 10 year old Wira.

Why give them fancy cars with drivers and increase the price of Proton cars?

• Bungkus on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:26 pm

My area numbers of Proton cars same with Perodua cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • OMG…haha, that will be P1 old cars ….just 2015 car sales, u can see P2 almost double P1 sales. Kiss goodbye to P1.

• Close Down Jamban Proton on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:15 am

Proton sales are so bad. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu units to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive.

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
      Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
      Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.
      Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

• Don Ring on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Good move, we will see more and more car at stockyard waiting for new owner. Where is promise to reduce car price by 2018? Another 6 more month, TIV in stockyard more than MAA sale projection. Should qualified to register car as a voter in Bolehland.

• OMG…they just wanna clear 2015 cars with big discount by saying 2016 cars is getting more expensive…

• torque on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Good…increase price so less consumer purchase hence lower sold units and the more you realise even with your so called protective market, people will eventually purchase a vehicle that does return them value of their money.

• Petrol Turun Semua Pun Naik on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Can’t they just absorb it with their fat profit margin?

• aikon on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:08 am

how much is their margin anyway? you have any idea since you claim that they’ve got a fat profit? if you don’t know, please do not make statements based on assumptions.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Proton where got fat profit, it’s only RM500 for each Proton Saga sold (that’s why even few Toyota salesman bought Proton Saga FLX/SV for their children)

• RIP Proton :(

• Johan Kia on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Excellent move by proton to further boost the sales of other import brands. Keep raising the price and see yr sales tumble like the MYR against the USD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Nissan on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Most of the part is locally made yet u choose to burden your supporter. Please mind that there are not many left and your stupidity will send u to lose more market share in years to come.

• samydon on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Janji kerajaan umno bn dicapati to increase.car price not to lower after Pru13 kah kah you get what you want.

• Andas on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:04 am

And PR promised PLUS to be toll free BUT the tunnel to penang island will have toll.. should i continue???

• sompua on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:06 pm

proton under DRB=Dah Rugi Besar

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Meanwhile, Toyotaik under UMW = Untung Manyak Wang ‘haram’.

• “Proton is urging buyers to take advantage of current promotions,”

What a desperate move to increase sales.

• Anonymous on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Kesian the new suzuki vendor having to sell P1 cars…

P1 sales have been floundering for some time now… now say cost is high… why not start with P1 top mgmt n TunM getting a salary cut..?

• stupid proton marketing on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:45 pm

proton tapau ! proton tapau !

• Milo Tin Lemak! on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Akhirnye, naek jugak… Malaysia currency getting better naek pulak… Tolol betul…

• tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:58 pm

P2 already overpriced, of course can afford to maintain price.

P1 should be bought during promotion period only. The discounts are good, disregarding what one may feel about the products itself.

Iriz is solid product, many good vs cons. After sales can be subjective and specific to individual dealership experience irregardless of brand. For the money, in overall total ownership cost, proton isn’t too bad, so long expectation is kept realistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • kazanixm on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:14 am

I`ll be honest, i`m seing a lot of Iriz instead of Myvi in my area.

Or is it Myvi design is being to common to my mere eyes?

New Myvi or old Myvi design is almost same (albeit differences is the front & rear externally) which is why maybe i did not spot the new myvis so often…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Tadalaku 1M on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:58 pm

proton is tightening his own noose….

• This is Abbey on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:09 pm

This is Abbey.
    Abbey does not want to buy new cars.
    Abbey really don’t give a shit.
    Abbey is here just to read the funny comments.
    Abbey knows the car prices here are ridiculous.
    Abbey knows the government wants people to spend.
    Abbey does not want to take long bank loans with interest.
    Abbey thinks insurance companies are evil suckers.
    Abbey doesn’t like to lose car resale value.
    Abbey doesn’t want to pay high car taxes to government.
    Abbey doesn’t want to support AP cronies.
    Abbey thinks the industry is monopolized by the elites.
    Abbey buys good used or nearly new cars.
    Abbey have reputable and trustworthy mechanics.
    Abbey do not want to support the Malaysian car industry.
    Abbey encourage Malaysians to do the same.
    Abbey is smart.
    Be like Abbey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Lulu on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Harga naik RV ikut naik

• Seth Abdullah on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Proton. Perdana 2016 bila mau open book. Wanna book 16-20 Perdana for BOD of my company. Thanks.

• normal_user on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:38 pm

I thought streel prices were also on a downtrend, in line with other commodities.

• firdaus on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:41 pm

who cares….by March ’16, there will be promotions to clear 2015 stocks by RM10k…and still won’t sell!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Andas on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:56 am

If they solve the latest CFE issue and give rebate 8k, surely will trade in my car for preve.. u dont care, just keep ur money under your pillow la.. y care if people want to buy? My money not urs.. somemore condemn people who bought p1.. get a life la.. in SG, people condemn goment for COE.. for a piece of paper worth 40k to 50k dollar.. but in MY they condemn goment P1 and P2 for the taxes.. and they believe in if all these gulung tikar and goment change to PR, they will get cheaper car.. dream on.. maybe decrease of price, low tax but still have.. its one of goment income.. anyway, just my opinion..

• sales tgh teruk pun lagi mau naik harga. sepatutnya perkenalkan edisi SV untuk model boleh jd hot mcm Preve dan Iriz (tak jd hot faktor harga). Dah dpt byk sales dah raih kepercayaan barulah fikir mau naik harga. Dgn isu after sales service lagi, you mau bankrap cepat2 ke. Buruk punya keputusan.

• abdullahsani on Feb 02, 2016 at 1:37 am

Rakyat already stopped buying P1 cos come 2017 the value
    of their cars will depreciate badly. Already seen the stockpile building up
    behind blue fences in Seksyen 27 Shah Alam adding up to the 2015 unsold stocks.
    Proton actually using shock & awe tactics to ramp up sales for all the unsold units.
    Nice try but try harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • AlreadyLowSales on Feb 02, 2016 at 1:52 am

ady low sales still dare increase price

• Atilla on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:27 am

*cricket sounds*

• Old dog on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:03 am

Polis, taxi, gov are the only protong customers now…

• F*ck P1 on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:29 am

jz tell rakyat the truth…….. Is it you wanna cover the lost of profit for selling those milo tins in uk and aust……? As far as i know our P1 milo tins here at home are much more expensive compare to those exported to uk or aust…. P1 you guys are jz a bunch idiots who thinks cunsumers are idiots…… Take MAS as example…… Your steps are real close dy…….

• Proton clown will say “Shut up and take my money”/

• ahmad mazlan on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:53 am

dengan keadaan proton yang sedang bergelut dengan masalah kualiti komponen pada produk mereka terutamanya yang membabitkan enjin CFE, masih ada lagi keinginan untuk menaikkan harga disebalik usaha yang sepatutnya dilakukan iaitu mengembalikan kepercayaan pengguna PROTON?

• Smart on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:57 am

With the steep depreciation of the Ringgit, there is no way out for proton, in fact, there is no way out for most Malaysians. For proton to increase its products at this juncture is like adding salt to injuries, it would definitely hasten its decline in market share.The marketing strategies of proton were seriously flawed in the first place. Proton will never learn from its mistakes but keeps on repeating the same old things. It would need more than just protections to turn the table around.

• Syukur lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • applegreen on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:05 am

it is a bad news. However this year they will launching at least 3 new cars in different segment and we know proton cars are usually cheaper than competitors. So i think they still can sell proton cars and no gulung tikar.

• while i understand why some dislike proton due to the high taxes and pricing of local brands..i am amazed that most commenters bash as if they are non malaysians..for one i think regardless of p1 existence, taxes will always be there. should be carefull of bashing as you are in a way condeming yourselves indirectly..nothing is ever good ,made by msians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • tarmizi on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:29 am

So what is wrong at condemning when we have been supporting this brand for 30 years and yet nothing has improved.
      Expecting another 30 years of blind support?
      Open up the local market and see how competitive P1 & P2 can be w/o protection.
      600 mil in R&D and only 100k units sold.
      The numbers don’t lie so does the math.
      Its not that nothing is ever good made by Msians. Its just Proton and the NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Atilla on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:58 am

There are many many Malaysian brands that don’t get bashed and always get praise from local consumers. P1 supporters are blind to this.

• power rangers on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:15 am

this will help us to have less protong on the road! good move..

• power rangers on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:21 am

To the whole Ringgit depreciation “con-man” scheme of all the cars seller

Did you realize many car prices were set during our FIXed exchange rate at RM3.8 to $1. JPY also 3.8 to 100 Yen. Euro at RM5 per 1 Euro.

There is zero reduce of price when ringgit appreciate to RM3.1 to $1. Euro was down to RM4 to 1Euro. 3.1 to 100 Yen.

Now, the USD to RM is 4.2 (about 10%) higher than then fixed 3.8, and all car seller increase price using depreciation as an excuse. Funny is YEN is still lower than RM3.8 for 100 YEN! Euro is still lower than RM5 per Euro

This is earning not enough for the pocket excuse. Not ringgit depreciation excuse since majority monopolized by GLCs.

• ghazali on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:47 am

The very reason why Proton was taken private was because they wanted a cover up of all the mess that is going inside and in came tycoon Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary & DRB Hicom.
    Look at its share price now. It speaks wonders of how successful Proton is.

• wow. all proton supporters suddenly vanished.

• Ong Chee Boon on Feb 02, 2016 at 11:43 am

Wow.Last Proton article i read is about lowering cost in engine making, and this article showing them increasing price again. Guess those hypes about new engine manufacturing can decrease are pipe dreams anyway, expected from Proton.

Instead of slashing unncessary costs, eliminating underperforming suppliers, they chose to hurt their beloved customers. They really got their priorities wrong.

• goodtoseeprotondiggingowngrave on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:52 pm

haha… everytimes proton increases its price it is closer for them to close shop.. good news though.. please increase more to kill urself… btw, john and donkeykong must be crying like a baby

• 2015 Perodua oledi increase price maaaa..

• angry birds on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:28 am

u people said increasing price starts 15 February 2016, what if I book my proton on 5 of February 2016, why still I got increase of the car price???? this is totally not fair!!! as u said starts on 15 feb 2016?? when buying, u people said my vehicle won’t get price increasing, but now u tell me that price increasing?? roti prata la proton!!!!