GALLERY: Lotus Evora 400 – Hethel’s flagship in M’sia

Lotus Evora 400 43

Here’s a full live gallery of the Lotus Evora 400 for a better look at the new entry. Launched late last month by Lotus Cars Malaysia, the Evora 400 is the performance flagship of the Malaysian-owned British sportscar maker.

Unveiled at Geneva 2015 by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, the Evora 400 is not your regular lightweight, spartan Lotus, but one with supercar performance. It’s based on the Evora, but over two thirds of the 400 is new, including a new aluminium chassis incorporating a fresh interior, and a lightweight composite body that has been changed significantly both at the front and rear. It also gets goodies like 370 mm composite two piece brake discs from AP Racing and a limited slip differential.

The ‘400’ in the name is a nod to the 400 hp and 410 Nm produced by the charged 3.5 litre V6 engine, which is a Toyota-derived motor with an Edelbrock supercharger and a new charge cooler. It laps the Lotus test track at Hethel six seconds faster than the Evora S, does the 0-100 km/h benchmark sprint in 4.2 seconds and has a max speed of 300 km/h.

Lotus Evora 400 44

To compare, Porsche’s hardcore Cayman GT4, with a 911-derived 3.8 litre NA flat-six, pushes out 385 hp and 420 Nm. The manual-only flagship Cayman is beaten by the Evora 400 in the 0-100 km/h sprint and top speed, at 4.4 seconds and 295 km/h.

The Evora 400 is available as a manual or auto, and with several option packs in Malaysia. The Base option has metallic and signature paint, cruise control and yellow or black brake calipers. Option One comes with the Base option plus the leather or Alcantra trim pack and the Black pack, with the roof, sills and mirror caps blacked out. Option Two sees the addition of gloss black 19-inch front and 20-inch rear forged 10-spoke wheels to the previous option package. The unit here is a top-spec auto.

Prices for the manual Evora 400 are: Base – RM597,999, Option One – RM624,999, Option Two – RM640,999. With the self-shifter, it’s Base – RM610,999, Option One – RM637,999 and Option Two – RM653,999. Lotus Cars Malaysia is offering a discount to the first 30 purchasers, with the base manual model going for RM539,999 and the base automatic at RM552,999.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• policeman on Feb 17, 2016 at 6:12 pm

oil cooler hose ada problem ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • i could see the side mirrors identical to some proton models.

• policeman on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Oh shit, its true. Click on the image with the full side mirror. Zoom in. On the clear cover you can see “DELLOYD” and next to it the Proton logo. WTF!

http://s2.paultan.org/image/2016/02/Lotus-Evora-400-7.jpg

• 2008 Porsche Carrera S - Rm200k on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:12 am

I just bought a 2008 Porsche Carrera S, low milegae for RM200k on the dot. I save Rm400k buying this Proton Clone.

Also, 3 years later, I sell my Porsche for RM150k, easy. This Lotus, next year sell for RM200k also, you will be lucky! Lotus cars RV is the worst! One year can lose Rm300k

Guess which car would give me better handling, fame and I can pull chics? Porsche or Lotus?

• Minister on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Tun M made a good choice when he use his Porsche Cayenne as his weekend car rather than Proton whatever

• Blackbox on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Lotus Elise S1 was selling around RM180k brand new, 15 years ago. After 15 years, selling around RM80k. I belive Lotus have an amazing 2nd value.

• proud to own proton on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Saga / persona side mirror…

• Bcos using Toyota engine, i dun want this type of sport car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • MrDDR on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Bcos Toyota engine too expensive for you. Kancil engine sure you can afford one.

• Nah…all related to Toyota i dun like. Is not bcos of Toyota engine too expensive is too suck!!!

• IrizX on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Unfortunately, the too suck engine can smoke your Proton woh

• Sorry, i didn’t drive Proton, stupid

• Axxx only takes Bus Mini Wilayah. Proton is too expensive for him. Haha

• You can don’t like the styling, the handling, or the stupid engine start button that still needs a key.

But Toyota is the company that has made Supra’s, WRC Celica’s and the super exotic LFA. And it’s arguably MUCH more reliable and easily serviceable than most American or Italian engines.

Some sports cars need the entire engine to come out just to change spark plugs. Oil change, need to remove entire rear bumper, etc.

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Typical Malaysian idiot thinking…

• The Truth About Lotus on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Honestly Lotus owners syiok sendiri. They think spending Rm550k on a car with a Toyota engine is such an achievement and want to show they have made it.

Can I remind you guys one thing, Lotus died 20 years ago lah. Lotus had its glory when the Lotus Esprit Turbo was famous, and it was everybody’s pin up poster, after that, Lotus became a Pariah. Every car after that failed.

And then, when Malaysia bought Lotus, somemore it become a pariah. And to make matters worse, when Proton bought Lotus, Lotus really died.

Now, Lotus is just a syiok sendiri car company for Proton to fool the kampung people by putting emblems on their Protons saying “Engineered by Lotus”. This creates a gian and syiok amongst the Proton buyers.

But in truth, Lotus is just loss making with ZERO tech and ZERO results. Proton has benefitted from ZERO tech transfer from Lotus and Lotus is just a big drain on Proton and our LHDN money which indirectly goes to Lotus through Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 39
    • TheTruthAboutYou on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:36 am

You know, if you can’t afford the car just say so… no need to bash the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • shut up laa…dunno how to use ur brain ka?

• Yeah Toyota Vios much better, no need to smoke Evora because it can fly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Of course no need lah, Evora use Toyota engine. Evora can smoke every Proton can already

• OMG !! - Malaysian Proton Parts on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:02 am

I saw this car in flesh, semua benda also Made by Proton and Made in Malaysia!!! Ha Ha Ha. Spend RM650,000 for something like Akira DVD Player (still use Sony chipset)

But Akira sell RM80. Sony DVD player sell for RM300.

Here, pakai Proton parts, but sell 10x more than Proton.

• Anonymous on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:00 pm

I’m just amazed at the fact that people are hating on lotus just because it’s owned by proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • I’m more amazed at the fact that people are hating on Lotus just because it has Toyota engine

• Blind hatred knows no depths

• When all get screwed over by Proton for over 2 decades, the hatred is deep….

• Dear Lotus,

Can I have a test drive for a week?

Regards
    Lotus fans.

• Syukurlah ada Toyota engine, bukan guna Campro Proton

• LOTUS SUTRA on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Was a great toy for driving pleasure. But in today’s market and stronger better competitor, Lotus is lagging behind. Maybe for british, lotus still meant something for them but for international markets…

• Another moving coffin.

• tinmilo on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:22 am

It is an eyesore to see “Lotus” and “auto” in the same sentence.

• idealtech on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:47 am

Fatty keyboard warriors bashing whilst idling in a second hand Myvi/vios. Funny coz most of us here don’t stand a chance to feel the century speed 0-100 in 4secs,even if it is from Toyota-derived engine. Shame? Shambolic refers to yourselves talking nonsense and such a nuisance to the society lol.

• Lousyideal on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Only people who can afford can have an opinion over a car?
      Gee, which school did you go to….

• loler on Feb 18, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Ok i have opinion too, Myvi/Vios are rubbish cars, lol

• idealtech on Feb 19, 2016 at 4:18 am

Know the definition of “opinion” and “blatant bashing”. Oh yeah i forgot, i did go to school and learn vocab and comprehension, since you have failed in defining the word, please do yourself a favour and resign from any position. It’ll be a misfortune for your organization to let you compose any sort of letter or emails :(

• macromedia on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:49 am

Seems like LOTUS is just a shell company to launder money. I mean come to think of it, what innovation has it done except hiring really expensive CEOs with little to show for so far?

• Proton in Disguise - Rm650k on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:41 am

This car, every part of it comes from Proton. I work for Proton and I am in charge of sourcing. The engine is, as you know, a Toyota.

But every single part of this car is made by Proton and this Lotus has many sharing parts with our Proton cars.

Eventhough I am a loyal Proton fan, I have no idea, how this car can cost RM650k

For example, on the clear cover you can see “DELLOYD” and next to it the Proton logo.

http://s2.paultan.org/image/2016/02/Lotus-Evora-400-7.jpg

I hope buyers are happy to buy a car that cost no more than a Preve to Proton but the fool buyer pays RM650k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • idealtech on Feb 19, 2016 at 4:11 am

So the Iriz shares the same electric steering from the same supplier (ZF) of BMW, BMWs handles the same as the the Iriz? wow im amazed! What a weird cognitive pattern, you.

• interior level of refinement still lack of something when compare Cayman.

• Interior aircond button and dashboard look quite smiliar with my proton saga 08 year….lotus designer steal the proton saga idea….damn,that y i everyday driving my saga full throttle feel like lotus,i love my car

• Mustang on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:19 am

Surprisingly.. this car have poor fit and finish.

Mmmmmmm