Lotus Evora 400 – 6s faster than Evora S at Hethel

lotus-evora-400-hethel-lap

What can you possibly achieve in six seconds in everyday situations? Perhaps take note of the title and the first question here? See, six seconds in real life might not seem like a lot but on the circuit, it’s a whole different story – even a second might feel like a lifetime to racing drivers.

So when it was announced that the 2016 Lotus Evora 400 had taken a whole six seconds out of the Evora S‘s best lap time at Hethel, we can understand why this is news worth shouting about. To quell speculations, Lotus has stated that the pre-production Evora 400 prototype responsible for the 1:32 lap time was trimmed to the exact road-going specification (with road tyres) and featured a standard suspension setup.

The previous lap time of 1:38 was set by Gavan Kershaw, Lotus Motorsport’s technical manager, who was also the man responsible for piloting the Evora 400 around Hethel this time round.

Lotus-Evora-400-Geneva-4

“Our commitment to reducing weight to create a lightweight and efficient supercar has paid off. The extra 55 hp in conjunction with the 22 kg weight reduction and the tremendous traction from the Limited Slip Differential (LSD) lead to benchmark handling,” said Lotus CEO, Jean-Marc Gales.

The Lotus Evora 400 was first unveiled at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show. It featured a supercharged 3.5 litre V6 engine pushing out 400 hp (an increase of 55 over the Evora S) and 410 Nm of torque. Transmission options include a six-speed manual and automatic transmission with power going to the rear wheels. A 0-100 km/h time of just 4.2 seconds and a top speed of 300 km/h is quoted.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• proton losing money on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:10 pm

how much rakyat money wasted on proton and lotus? all jibby company friends and rakyat suffer gst. even my wife buy flour for baking must pay gst. say ABUP for next election!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 54
    • ProtonGSC on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:20 pm

What is this?

Please stop now and just focus on automotive related comments.

BN troopers and Pktroopers just leave this blog peaceful and find your own place/blog.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
      • wake up! on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:46 pm

u so blind just follow what gov say? say goodbye to our country future. wake up before too late

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
        • titiwangsa on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:52 pm

u guys really got flawed logic system. boss out today ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • ProtonGSC on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Every person do like their country to improve.

But can you troopers make statements on a more affective place or other forum.

Back to automotive news please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • disappointed on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:49 pm

both sides also same now. propaganda like crazy people. leave us to our automobiles!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • thedarkside on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:59 pm

understand your hatred bro…we all hate our govt. but lets talk about cars lah in here. Im eagerly waiting for the review of this car…the ceo claimed no car will be faster than lotus in its segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • U came from hospital tanjung rambutan?

• Wiwiwiw on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Ahhh… Must be that proton persona side mirrors

• Lotus msport technical manager is the one who pilot the car for this laptime.definitely one of the coolest job in the world

• Jimmy on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Tun Ma is right in certain ways.

He is a clever man.

The Thor.

The lawyer.

• agree on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:44 pm

pakatroopers gtfo. we want car-related comments only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • spongewai on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:45 pm

ehh, what is he/she talking bout??!

out of topic plak

anyway, when Evora 400 comes here the price will be ridiculously

price est bout RM600k for this

• I agree cars in M’sia is expensive anyway…. But, compared to a basic Cayman @RM600k, this is cheap!

• Delloid on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:02 pm

To reduce weight, Lotus better throw away the power windows to gain extra speed. (And it’s going to be rosak also anyway).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19