VIDEO: 2016 Toyota Prius is the ultimate getaway car?

Toyota isn’t afraid to make fun of itself when it comes to promoting its all-new Prius. Joining its “raising heck” Super Bowl ad is another light-hearted spot titled The Longest Chase, where a Prius appears to be the perfect vehicle for bank robbers.

In the ad, four bank robbers find themselves without a getaway car due to their incompetence. Stumbling upon a red Toyota Prius, the courteous thieves commandeer the eco-car for an unorthodox escape. Even the police find it amusing that they are chasing a Prius.

Toyota Prius police chase ad

Thanks to sheer luck and the questionable capabilities of the police force chasing them, the thieves manage to lead the cops on a nationwide chase, all the while highlighting the car’s agility, safety features (autonomous emergency braking), full hybrid powertrain and its impressive fuel efficiency of 40 km/L.

Still not convinced by the Toyota Prius and its Lady Gaga-inspired looks? How about a video of the car drifting? Or one wearing a bodykit? Or even a racing version? Are any of these working for you?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Prius at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ManoCB on Feb 17, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Kereta ini Ada VCS,VSA…kah ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Fok! Why leaves a bag of money? I won’t pay even a single cent for this shit! Is so ugly and everyone would recognize this shit in the chase!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • machan on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:11 pm

My Camry hybrid suck oil like dinosaur. Unless I drive it slow like a kancil only got save fuel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • OMG…No wonder I see many camry hybrid moving slowly on road, haha!

• machan on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:21 pm

My Camry hybrid instrument got one display showing instant fuel consumption one. You press just a little, the combustion engine activated and the whole “green bar” gone! (means very bad KM/L)

Yes the car can go fast, but no perks of driving a hybrid anymore. Worst feeling when driving on highway. If U know what I mean…

• joker on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:06 am

do you mean suck oil or suck fuel?

• Since when a Camry Hybrid advertised as build for fuel saving in mind? The engine under the hood is even been used for the Alphard Hybrid.

• Toyota Moving Coffin on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Toyota is a good car. But only in overseas. In Malaysia, UMW has been cheating Malaysians with poor safety cars. In overseas, all toyotas come with VSC an about 6 to 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, because of the fact that UMW is GLC and Government owned, UMW can do anything. In Malaysia, UMW is known as Al Capone or Mafia. They strip the Toyota to basic level and sell you the Toyota, which, in global standards are highly dangerous.

In Malaysia for example, even top of the range Camry costing now RM160k has only 2 airbags and no VSC. The global Camry, which only cost US$22k, comes with 10 bags, VSC and about 20 other safety features taken out from UMW’s version of Toyota.

Why does UMW do this? Simple. They want to reap more profits at the expense of your life. How can we stop this? We can’t. UMW is the Government.

So, as you know, in Malaysia, you cannot complain against the Government
      UMW also don’t care if Toyota lose money. Janji their cashcow Perodua brings in the bulk of the cash, they are happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • FireAce on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:34 am

Agreed in most what you say about UMW Malaysia is selling us short. But you don’t have to copy paste your post in every-single piece of article about Toyota. Btw, Prius & Prius C is CBU from Japan for Malaysia market, it means we get the same safety features as the rest of the world. I know because I’m driving one, 7 air-bags, VSC, EBD, ABS, Hill assist, etc.

• policeman on Feb 17, 2016 at 6:08 pm

I don’t understand how they entered the Prius? A literal keyless entry system?

• George Abdul on Feb 17, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Nice, thanks to ajib BN sudden 100% tax on Hybrid, Malaysia Rakyat only “the Rich” can afford a Prius now !

• No…is ultimate moving coffin rubbish crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Juz now i watch a movie RIDE ALONG, a police officer want a car chase escape ruffian, a Prius stop, police officer refuse n said get away!!! Later he get Dodge pickup. Hahaha

• it means Prius very easy to get stolen?

• ben yap on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:42 am

this prius can hit 250km/h or not? and 0-100km/h in under 8 seconds?

if cannot, better push it into the river.

• Syukur lah.

• Just AN AD!!!. A lot of good muscle car in US can easily beat this Prius anytime @ anywhere.
    BTW, the so called Evo “Ego” car already being dump out from their market.

• Neither a hater nor a lover on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:02 am

This video gives a new meaning to the phrase : Drive it like you stole it !!

• no seasick coz of the trademark floating feel?