Tun Mahathir on Proton’s ambitious 2016 sales target

This year, Proton is aiming to sell 150,000 cars, a 50% increase from 2015’s sales figure of about 100,000 cars. A tall order indeed, but not a far-fetched one, according to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, the company’s chairman.

However, it isn’t an impossible one as history shows. In 2002, the national carmaker shifted nearly 220,000 cars that year. Those good times however, have slowly faded away over the years with increasing amount of competition from Korean and Chinese manufacturers diluting Proton’s market share.

Tun Mahathir concedes that Proton isn’t in its best shape, with 52% of the market in the hands of non-national carmakers. The remainder 48% may belong to Proton and Perodua, but the former only occupies 17% of said figure. Nonetheless, the chairman says it is a business requirement to set such high sales targets as an initiative for more effort.

Part of Proton’s efforts to revamp itself includes its new product line-up for 2016, beginning with the new Proton Perdana. Further into the future however, Proton hopes its new platform and engines will further convince the public of their return to form. Even a Proton Saga Turbo was mentioned as an upcoming offering in the future.

Tun Mahathir also expands upon Proton CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah’s statement that the national carmaker has lost its value for money advantage over foreign brands, due to the recent popularity of longer loan tenures. Here, he gives us more insight into the matter, including relations to the second-hand market and government’s policies and requirements. For a more detailed explanation of the points, watch the interview, here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ok.. all the best Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • You dont have attractive model to justify that figure.
    There wont be from no where suddenly a big crowd of people want to buy proton.
    Unless a buy one free one campaign.
    Even with that i personally wont buy proton.
    It is this bad proton in its own land.

Now it seem paultan is toward the direction of promoting proton.
    Numerous articles are on proton positive side of story.
    It never mention on the recent massive recall exercise by proton on preve suprima and exora.
    Would this site become a bias?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Hi, we report what has been said. As for the recall, we were the very first to report it: http://paultan.org/2016/02/16/proton-recalls-suprima-s-preve-exora-cfe-powered-variants-equipped-with-faulty-oil-cooler-hoses/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Annoynimouse on Feb 22, 2016 at 9:08 am

As a Malaysian, I love the fact that this blog focuses on stories which relevant and are closer to home rather than a test drive of a Bugatti Chiron in the middle of Europe, which I also don’t mind reading by the way. I think the coverage is natural,in-excessive, and interesting looking at the number of comments each story on Proton receive. If you prefer stories about foreign cars, there’s plenty more blogs out there in the web for you to read.
      Another classic case of fingers being way quicker than brain it seems.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Ambition is ambition, reality is reality. See the wawasan 2020 then you know.

• Low Budget on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:54 pm

There will be scapegoat if Proton cannot sell 150K units this year, we do know who will be the ‘Kambing’ don’t we?

• tokmoh. on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:44 pm

A. LGE
        B. DSAI
        C. Yahudi
        D. Cina
        E. Semua diatas.

• Naah. It be:
          A. Najib
          B. Najib
          C. Najib
          D. Rosmah
          E. UMNO
          F. TPPA
          G. 1MDB
          H. Liberalisation of markets
          I. Malaysian got more money
          J. Najib’s public transport plan
          K. Ini semua salah Najib

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 20, 2016 at 1:40 am

First to be ‘Kambing’ is Perodua as they are planning to roll-out a small sedan within this year after the success of Axia.

Next, Honda and Toyota for the higher end segment.

Finally, Malaysian that didn’t buy their ProTaik instead go for imported car or even cheapskate Perodua will be labelled as traitor and don’t love their own country.

• camtakpro on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:53 am

Don’t forget TunM power. The ambitious can be achieved by having Gov bodies to take up those Protons.

• Gamisah on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Ah Pek. Stop delusioning yourself and think your pride will regain itself. You destroyed your own brand. It’s 13% btw not 17%. I’m sure by now going into March should be like 11-12% cos Malaysians know now how have been cheated by your lousy products and no one will ever buy a proton ever again. I sure will never!!! So just shut up and go to sleep!! Shut down your pride permanently so Malaysians can be happier without your presence. I pray end 2016 you only sell less than 50k units and your market share becomes single digit. By 2018 your market share becomes 5% and by 2020 proton no more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • So everyone please work hard so no need to own a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:56 pm

17.3% bro not 13% for passenger vehicle (PV) oni.. if combine PV+CV p1 market share is oni 15.3%. U can confirm by asking paultan team here. (PV- P2 36.1%, Honda 16%, Toyota 11%)

• Syukurlah

• Anonymous on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:56 pm

hmmmm… talk n talk n talk… will TunM step down if P1 can’t achieve its sales target…? I wonder….

• yummykim on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Malaysia are damn famous for their pandai-pandai statistical manipulation….

Proton can make claims that sales for 2016 to be expected to grow 400% if they like.

Figure pluck from the sky, by dunggus….

• WT Fuchh on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:08 pm

With 2016 economic situation, good luck on high target.
    Pls i beg you, to ensure change of pm, so that M’sian can afford to buy your car.

• tokmoh. on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Wow.

Volvo looks set to have record sales three years in a row.

Volvo of Asia has that spirit too hohohoho

• Jobless on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:04 pm

How to increase sel by 50,000 when only new model is Perdana and it is a low volume model…and remember the boss ceo said prodon aiming for 500,000 cars in a year within few years time, at tst time tiv was 600,000..all bs

• Thedarkside on Feb 20, 2016 at 3:53 am

Thats why you are jobless now. Read more before commenting

• frank on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Tun maybe 90 but his mind is still sharp.
    He knows what he talks about even at this age. I still admire his energy and intelligence. His statement makes more sense than the CEO. oops!
    In business management, if you don’t set target you’re not leading. if you set poor target you gets nothing… target and result are two different thing. result is written in past tense. target is written in future tense….
    nothing wrong with that target. it only means, those working for proton and its sales channel needs to work harder… including those working on strategy

• kumaka on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:11 pm

It took too long, and too late now to realize to work harder, and work on strategy, for Proton.

The boat has sailed and gone away……

• frank on Feb 21, 2016 at 3:08 pm

a cursory survey of comments in paul tan’s website would have support your statement “..it took too long, and too late …”…
        If you’re a manager or in management, you still have to keep on ‘fighting’ else quit and leave it to others who are still ‘fighting’.
        I know Tun M is aware, it is a hard sell to regain M’sian trust. That’s the reason why he invite public to test drive proton first hand. then judge from there.
        it’s a tough sell for the team, and I wish they keep on fighting…. btw, I also make Malaysian-made products locally and compete with international players. it’s a hard sell to convince m’sian companies or managers how good we are. we have something in common.

• Anonymous on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:45 am

TunM mind may still be sharp… but at talking… it remains to be seen that P1 is turning for the better ever since he reutrned to P1 in May 2014.

• Support P1 = Support Tun M = Support Bersih = Support Party Hard = Support Dear Leader becum PM = Support ABU

• PROTON=TONS OF PROBLEM :D on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:45 pm

dream on u :D

• muhammad faris on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:48 am

Pls support our National Car Proton. Its our pride as Warganegara Malaysia. All the best to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Power Rangers on Feb 20, 2016 at 5:12 am

Can be done, since police already loading up with new preve…uptown got tons today…
    End up protong owners will be..government

• tinmilo on Feb 20, 2016 at 1:40 pm

With all respect tun, those problems that you mentioned are not exclusive to Proton only. The balance between price and features, the technology expectations of an engine etc. This is the reality of competition in the open world. Those Koreans had to go through that phase too.

Proton wasted 30 years of rakyat backing, and now when the cushion is removed, it suddenly feels the heat of having to compete and nothing to cover the butt… could you imagine if there is no duty and AP for car Tun? What will happen to Proton.

• QC Fail on Feb 20, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Just close shop and move on..30 years still need to talk about basic Quality issues..and keep rebadging here and there…i am one of the customer that give up on proton after own 2 proton models 10 years ago..sad!

• My first car back in year 2002 was Proton Wira. In fact my dad and two brothers were all buying Proton Wira (now they all buy Perodua). Some of the Wira parts are still using Mitsubishi parts back then. Even then my Wira was constantly having problem from the first year:
    1st yr: Engine shut off by itself when turning right/left due to air intake problem
    2nd to 5th yr: Aircond & fuel pump & manual gear clutch constantly breakdown
    5th to 8th yr: All kind of problems. Car broken down in the middle of drive more than 8 times (averagely 2 times a yr)
    8th yr: Change my car to Hyundai and so far no breakdown driving Hyundai after 5 years
    I believe Proton has missed out numerous chances to rejuvenate their reputation & brand. It is getting harder & harder for them to convince even Malaysian on their quality. As long as corruption and racism are not removed from this corporate they are doomed to fail.

• IrizX on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:43 pm

New Proton Engine…

Who wants to be guinea pig for Campro 2.0???

Good luck…