Trailer ploughs through more than 20 indiscriminately parked cars outside Hang Jebat Stadium in Melaka

SAPU

Rakaman video treler sedang merempuh kereta penyokong-penyokong JDT yang parking tepi jalan dekat Stadium Hang Jebat malam tadi. Marah betul driver Lori Treler ni ye?

Posted by Friends Of PDRM on Monday, 14 March 2016

It was a case of déjà vu in Malacca after approximately 20 cars belonging to football fans were badly damaged when a trailer smashed into them. The deliberate act is highly reminiscent of an earlier occurrence in Nibong Tebal, where indiscriminately parked cars incurred the wrath of a lorry driver then.

This time, the incident took place outside the Hang Jebat Stadium during a football match between Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) and PDRM. According to news reports, fans had double-parked their vehicles along the Sungai Udang-Paya Rumput-Ayer Keroh (SPA) Highway.

The resulting traffic congestion resulted in only one lane of the dual carriageway being passable by other road users. As a result, the infuriated trailer driver forced his way through the narrow path, ploughing through the parked vehicles and causing massive damage in the process. The driver is believed to have fled the scene afterwards.

It was reported that fans only found out their vehicles were damaged after they were informed them at the end of the Super League tournament. The extent of the damage can be seen in these photos from various Facebook posts.

Certain quarters on social media are applauding the trailer driver’s act, while others condemned the lack of restraint and patience on his/her part. What are your thoughts on the trailer driver’s deed?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• When constant reminders and advice from the authorities coupled with zero enforcement happen, then these owners of cars parked illegally have no one to blame but themselves when other road users take the law into their own hands.

padan muka letak kereta macam tu, semata-mata nak tengok bola sepak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 0
  • carazy on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Should I say, “serves them right” or “pity to hear that”????. Anyone help me pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Hunda on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:49 pm

This will become a trend

• StreetJustice on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:52 pm

1st thoughts.

If the area surrounding the stadium has alot of free parking space. Then these guys deserved it. If police wont enforce the rules on you expect street justice to happen and give you your due.

2nd thoughts.

There were alot of empty spaces from what people said in social medias around the stadium but these dumbasses still park there to beat the JAM.

Good job lorry driver, should have totalled the car so they rugi 100% to be honest.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • good job Mr. Lorry Driver!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Immameleis on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Two words: padan muka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Marcus on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Would have done the same if I had a monster truck. Serve these a**eh*les right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Park-the-bus on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Serves them right…the only way to teach double tripple parking drivers who does not concern about others…i loooiikke it

• The trailer driver is not a hero that we need, but the one we deserved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • happy face on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:46 pm

well done!!!

• Alan Leow on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Thats the cost they need to liable for too selfish.

• armandd on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Good job lorry driver. However the biggest risk is anyone in the vehicle could be injured or killed. Just imagine if there’s a mother with her child in the car at the moment. If the lorry just scrape the cars that’s okay I think.

• Double parkers ought to shot

• Monster Truck on Mar 15, 2016 at 4:03 am

Thank you, Mr. Trailer! I know it could have been a case whereby you just lost your patience that moment but honestly that is what I had wished for many times when I see indiscriminately parked cars. When PDRM themselves is either doing this or sleeping on the job, it is about time someone did their job of “cleaning up” for them such as “cleaning up” their cars. We should all chip in to buy you a new truck!

• That’s the risk for indiscriminate parking…

• Of Course the trailer driver needs to be penalized. But make sure all the cars parked illegally are also fined for illegal parking! I’m familiar with the stadium, so I find it hard to believe that the parking areas at the stadium were inadequate. Even so, there are plenty of space within the complex for illegal parking without having to park on the highway.

• Cover on Mar 15, 2016 at 11:17 pm

If I were at the accident scene, I will definitely say I don’t know, I didn’t see it hear anything…

• Charles Lim on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:56 am

It is not a matter of right or wrong anymore. These are signs of a stressed society. The act of incinsideration will draw inconsiderate acts. When social inconsideration escalate to this level, this is how it balance off. If the authority do not acknowledge it and restore more order to the society, then it will escalate further.