VIDEO: All-new 2016 Honda Civic Coupe walk-around

The 2016 Honda Civic is already in Asean and will be making its way to Malaysia in the very near future. The tenth-gen sedan is a radical redesign and looks really striking, not just in the segment, but in the general automotive landscape. If you like it, you’re likely to love this Civic Coupe, which of course we’re not getting.

Revealed in November last year, the 2016 Honda Civic Coupe is set to go sale in the US this month, and in conjunction with that, Honda has come up with a walkaround video of the two-door variant of the 2016 North American Car of the Year.

It’s a good overview of the new Civic Coupe’s features and improvements over the old two-door, although you might have to bear with an overenthusiastic scriptwriter – lines like “coupe buyers will experience driving nirvana” and the Civic Coupe “lets you express your own personal vision of automotive perfection” are cringe worthy. Ok, we geddit, it’s the best Civic ever!

Like the US-market Civic sedan, the Civic Coupe gets two petrol engine choices – a 2.0 litre NA engine with 158 hp and 187 Nm or a 1.5 litre turbo with 174 hp and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,000 rpm. The NA motor can be had with a six-speed manual or CVT gearbox, but the turbo mill is CVT-only. Five trim levels are available (2.0 LX and LX-P; turbo EX-T, EX-L and Touring) with eight colour choices.

The video highlights the Civic Coupe’s five-inch shorter rear overhang compared to the sedan, five-inch extra rear legroom compared to the previous Coupe, and 10% roomier cabin. Also shown are the personalisation options for the car – a bodykit, flashier 17-inch rims and rear spoiler are on the list, along with blue LED footwell lighting and light strips along the centre console.

The base LX kicks off the Civic Coupe range at US$19,885 (RM82,321), while the top end Touring sells for US$26,960 (RM111,611), which is slightly cheaper than the Touring sedan at US$27,335 (RM113,164). Prefer hatchbacks? A five-door hatch version of this Civic is on the way.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic Coupe

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xxxxxxxxx on Mar 16, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Ok, only in US la. we here keep dreaming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • WT Fuchhh on Mar 16, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Let’ s boycott all Honda products unless they bring in the hatchback to Malaysia. Bloody hell……Malaysia RM is not money., ahhh….???

• Nothing on Mar 17, 2016 at 7:55 am

You can blame Honda Malaysia. They decide on the product strategy here. But then maybe they figured that bread and butter conventional cars are where the money is in this country? Honda Malaysia focuses on practicality not fun or luxury.

• thepolygonal on Mar 17, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Can this steal some sales away from other coupe buyers and even some audi TT fans… I mean look at it… on it’s side profile and look at audi TT’s side profile. Back seat really usable here. Of course in terms of performance you can’t really compare.

• Leon Leon on Mar 16, 2016 at 6:08 pm

They still make the Coupe for Japan. Perhaps can test market here since CRZ is already absent from the market. It makes sense .

• Henry on Mar 16, 2016 at 6:19 pm

So sad we won’t be getting these nice cars.

• Martual on Mar 16, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Honda Malaysia should consider 1.5 Turbo for Malaysia. I believe that the car can overtake most of the continental cars if the price is below 130k

• Driving a 2 door turbo coupe, but with CVT….

• takNakP1 on Mar 16, 2016 at 9:04 pm

every time when there is new model announcement, i only feel disappointment.

is either we don’t get or accessories get cut down and worsen with high pricing

• Bob_B78 on Mar 16, 2016 at 9:56 pm

If the figures are correct, it seems that the new 2.0 is producing less torque than the outgoing model. Slightly lower torque is for US market only or worldwide?

• Jobless on Mar 16, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Omg looks like copycat of the weird Hyundai Veloster hahaha a shape only an ah beng can love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • I miss the high rev NA and slick manuals of Civic Type R EP3 that I had the privilege to drive. One of the best motoring experience that I have. Always make me wonder how good the NSX type r would be like. Too bad I can’t afford it then.

• La la land on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Dear Honda Malaysia, please bring in the Civic Coupe. I want to buy it!