Honda Civic named 2016 North American Car of the Year, Volvo XC90 2016 Truck of the Year in Detroit

It’s good news for both Honda and Volvo in the US, as both the all-new Civic and XC90 have won the 2016 “North American Car of the Year” and “North American Truck of the Year” award, respectively. This represents the second time both models have each won their corresponding awards, the Civic clinching the title back in 2006, and the XC90 in 2003.

The North American Car of the Year Award (NACOTY) is awarded by a group of 53 international automotive journalists from the United States and Canada. Presented each year at the opening of the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit, it identifies the most outstanding car of the year based on factors including innovation, design, safety performance, handling, driver satisfaction and value.

For us here in Malaysia, we already have access to the Volvo XC90, which made its launch debut here back in early December 2015. Priced at RM453,888, OTR, without insurance, the CBU plug-in hybrid SUV is available in a sole range-topping T8 Twin Engine variant. Volvo Car Malaysia has also confirmed that local production efforts are well underway, and that the first CKD units are expected to be ready by the second or third quarter of 2016.

As for the Honda Civic, we may need to wait a little while longer for the tenth-generation model to make landfall here. However, with the recent sighting of “The Best Ever” Civic in Thailand, we’re keeping our fingers crossed that the wait won’t be too long. In the US, the Civic is available with two engines – a 2.0 litre naturally aspirated engine with 158 hp and a new 1.5 litre turbo engine with 174 hp.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic

GALLERY: Volvo XC90

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Civic COTY on Jan 12, 2016 at 5:11 pm

I’m sure that the new Civic won Car of The Year because of the new innovative Earth Dreams 1.5l DI Turbo engine. Honda bosses have already confirmed that Malaysia will not get this engine and will only have the NA 2.0l. Although the new Civic looks promising, we will only always get the lower spec version in Malaysia =(

• If Honda Thailand gets the 1.5T then there’s a good chance that we will get it too..

• David on Feb 11, 2016 at 12:08 am

I knew it.. Thailand won’t get the Turbo engine… Looks like I won’t be buying the civic now… Who wants to buy a low spec car

• anaconda on Jan 12, 2016 at 5:29 pm

This Civic looks weird for me. somehow i don’t like the design. Hope i will change my mind when i see the actual car in the showroom.

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Ah yes, the other place on earth where Honda cars are relatively popular other than malaysia – Canada.

• sewel on Jan 12, 2016 at 11:48 pm

The new blue oval focus can bring their 1.5 t engine..why can honda?

• shawal on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:03 am

I can imagine the civic’s brochure is smattered with awards emblems when it arrives here….

they used to sell accords with ‘Japan’s car of the year logos’ on the c pillars last time…

• Euro2 on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:31 am

The direct injection earth dreams engine will not come to Malaysia.
    This is what we seen on the New Jazz. Honda Malaysia offer the conventional injection L15 engine.

Some said, its because of Malaysia fuel grade still on Euro2 (RON 95) therefore, its not suitable for Direct injection engine.

Our RON 95 is not equivalent to Europe/US Ron95.
    Its far below from them..
    Engine Knocking, Carbon build up, sludge, could reduce your engine performance even serious mis fire.

Malaysia, boleh land, always drive backward.