Transport Ministry to reduce summons rate to RM150?

polis-saman 630

The Transport Ministry is mulling the idea of reducing the current summon rate for select offences from RM300 to RM150, according to its deputy Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi, in a report by Bernama.

However, he said the proposal would require the approval of the Cabinet as well as amendments done to the Road Transport Act 1987 prior to its implementation. For now, the proposal is still being discussed between the ministry and the Government.

Under the proposal, the lower summon rate for certain offences will follow an “early payment incentive” scheme. For instance, should one receive a RM150 summon and settles it within six months, the payee only needs to fork out RM150.

However, should the offender fail to settle summons within the assigned period (six months), the summons amount will increase. In short, the longer you delay settling the summons, the more you’ll need to pay, said Abdul Aziz.

AES_Camera

The proposal not only encourages early settlement of summons, but also standardises the summons rate between agencies for the same offence. “We do not want cases where for one offence, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) issues a summons with one rate while the police (PDRM) issues another with a different rate. With this proposal, the rates are standardised,” he said.

On a separate matter, Abdul Aziz told the Dewan Rakyat that the Transport Ministry is suggesting to the Government to carry out the repayment exercise for all summons issued by the Automated Enforcement System (AES) that was delayed before this.

“Today, there are about two million summons that have yet to be settled by motorists that had receive AES summons issued to them, following the implementation of the suspension of payment of AES summonses since 2012,” said Abdul Aziz.

With the police set to increase traffic fines by the end of 2016, do you agree with the Transport Ministry’s proposal to reduce the summons rate for select offences? Which do you prefer? What about its suggestion to the Government to restart the repayment of summons issued by the AES? Let us know in the comments.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Purbka on Apr 05, 2016 at 4:21 pm

This guy talks a lot. Yes yes we realize you just been promoted. Lets move on.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 05, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Rm150 or Rm300 makes no difference. When I go to Balai to pay at the counter with official receipt, the sergeant quietly ask me to go to the back to speak to the pegawai.

Then, the pegawai himself ask RM50. he say, semua selesai. Tak ada receipt.

So, the rakyat don’t really care if RM150 or RM300 or RM1000. The moment you go to Balai to pay, many officers will approach you to settle the matter unofficially.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
      • Samy tipu on Apr 05, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Hahahah…..what a joke.

• WT Fuchhhh on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:23 pm

How about reducing the fine to Rm 50. Just consider it as a political donation to poor rakyat. There’s no law against it right ???

• Ah fee on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:57 am

muniandy i need help, where u pay the summons leh… I went to several police station nobody want to give discount… I even met the guy at the back talk nicely still dont give discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • OMG…hahaha…300 to 150 only, mana cukup, 15 baru good.

• Putting a 90kph speed limit on the plus highway is theft by the govt, oh wait they already stole 2.6 billion in a single day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Putting a 90 kph speed limit on the plus highway is theft by the govt, people are on the verge of revolting.

• Andrekua on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Malaysia is the holy land where you get to pay less when you broke the law twice. First you commit the offense followed by another, which is not paying which would then make you eligible for discount. Brilliant…..

• I totally disagree. There should be a summon of RM 300 + gst 200% imposed to discourage errant behaviour

• rchoo on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:51 am

The entire AES from the start is “CONFLICT OF INTEREST”, it has no merit in the sight of LAW.

Private company involved in

1. Won the tender.
    2. Executing the operation.
    3. Reap th ebenefit from AES violation (note it is not violation of country law).
    2. Won the tender

• cendol (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:04 am

But IGP said wants to increase summons because people think RM300 is too little and people keep breaking the law

• rakyat patuh undang2 on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:12 pm

It’s not fair.
    I already paid rm300.
    Can I get back my rm150?

• IVAN LIEW on Jun 23, 2018 at 1:55 am

trafik polis should be more considerate before issuing summon to vehicles parking by the roadside as mostly all the owners only parked for less than 10 minutes… and NOT even obstructing traffic flow. ALSO to allow all overdue(old)summons under this category be settled at a FLAT rate of RM30 or RM40 considering the offence are unintentional.