Police plans to raise traffic fines by end of this year

Cop-shop

The police has decided to follow through on its proposal to raise the maximum traffic fines. This comes a few days after it initially made the suggestion in an attempt to reduce the fatality rate of motorists on Malaysian roads.

In the report by The Sun, Bukit Aman Internal Security and Public Order director Datuk Muhd Fuad Abu Zarim said the process is currently being reviewed, which will include amendments to the legislation. The increase in traffic fines will be implemented before the end of 2016.

Muhd Fuad said, “of course it will have to go through the legislative process, as previously, the maximum compound of RM300 set was part of Section 120 of the Road Transport Act 1987.

Sarawak-Road-Traffic-01-e1447927708973-850x573

“So if we want to make amendments, it must go through the process at the Cabinet level, then it will be presented to Parliament, and only after being approved by the Parliament, it can be enforced,” he explained.

However, he said that the current existing law will be retained until the amendments to the legislation are put in place, which is hopefully by the end of this year. Muhd Faud said that move to raise traffic fines was necessary as it had remained unchanged for 28 years, and may not be a strong enough deterrent for errant motorists.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Should the police increase the traffic fines? If they do, what would be an appropriate amount? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• -BigBalls- on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:24 am

Ayoyo, since when higher fines equal to less accidents? Show me a study which proves this, or this stinks of governments desperation to collect even more money from the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Now days everything went up,
    the only thing down is My confidence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Fellow Road User on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:19 am

Raising fines will only encourage a certain popular “abuse” in malaysia. What will really work is the merit-demerit system, and if a person breaks the law enough that his merit points hit zero, his driving license should be revoked. This will be able to deter motorists from all walks of life (eg. very rich) to follow law.

• t2357s on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:29 am

Just wait for discounts…

• Open Letter to IGP Khalid on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:55 am

Hello abang IGP, I got saman before, I go to balai to pay fully at payment counter, the sergeant call me aside to back room and told me he will settle it for me for RM50. He said got no receipt though.

This is why Malaysians are not scared of saman. Don’t even have to bribe polis officer who saman you when he tahan your car. Of course, many give duit kopi then and there to selesai the saman. But assuming you don’t want to settle when your car kena tahan, when you go balai also, no need to beg or appeal for reduction. Polis themselves come and offer you their “services”.

This is why, even RM1000 saman also, we Malaysins will be cool about it. Go to Balai, officer will now ask RM100 and not RM50. Polis very reasonable one, even RM1000, they won’t ask RM500. They very considerate.

Clean your polis first lah IGP. Then come and talk big about increasing saman and having more operasi.

We can have all the laws in the world, but when your officers makan duit kopi, what is the use of those laws and operasi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Deputy IGP, your boss songlap RM2.6 billion also, you scared to even question him. Now, here, your bola so big, want to increase saman for the normal rakyat.

• kaya kronies club on Feb 22, 2016 at 12:18 pm

kopi marney oso goes up?

• yipikaiyeh on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Increase saman will not work here bcos 1. The gomen will give discount later. Reward the non payers. Punish those who pay early. 2. When there is big hue n cry the gomen will do their flipflop decision again. Revert to old rate. 3. Corruption is no 1 here. 4. There r no cars on the road bcos roads r closed for bike street racing.

• Dagpa on Feb 23, 2016 at 4:20 am

Even RM300 is one third or a quarter of many people’s monthly salary.Try to reduce the salary of the police force by one third or a quarter every month.Then let us know sedap or not.Cannot suka-suka kasi naik RM10 fine enough.