Grab Malaysia is ready for gov’t regulation, says boss

GrabCar JB April 7-01

Speaking to reporters at the launch of Grab’s ride-sharing services in Johor, Jaygan Fu, country manager of Grab Malaysia, revealed that his company is ready for the proposed government regulation. According to The Star, the Grab boss said that he has been in close contact with the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) and other authorities.

“We have been meeting regularly and cannot recall how many times we have seen the officials,” he said yesterday. The country manager added that his organisation will continue to meet with the authorities until the issue is resolved, and that he expects this to be soon.

“We are here not to deny the livelihood of taxi drivers but are giving alternative choices to users, whether they want to hire a taxi or travel in a private hire car,” he said. “Johor Bahru is poised for great development and we see an avenue for us to introduce our services as an affordable alternative transportation option to the people here.”

Fu continued by highlighting some of the benefits Grab customers enjoy. In Malaysia, he said that customers may choose to pay either by credit card or cash. The also said that the fee displayed on the app when a booking a ride is fixed, meaning that customers stuck in traffic don’t need to worry about increasing fares.

As previously reported, ride-sharing services such as Uber and Grab will not be banned in Malaysia. They will however be subjected to government regulations such as the need to purchase commercial insurances and submit to regular Puspakom inspections.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Josh Ling on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:49 pm

I do think Grab Car is doing great things here in Malaysia as a whole.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Bravo! Every consumer wants good service/quality for every sen they spend. Period

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:25 pm

I can only think that private hire will have to pay a different type of insurance and possibly a routine checkup hopefully not too often like how taxis are supposed to go since it’s a part time for hire vehicle.

• Ricardo on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:19 pm

I took Grab Car this morning from Imbi to Connaught Avenue and so convenient and hassle free. For one ringgit offer. Then back in JB as well from Skudai to Taman Sutera for one ringgit. Nissan Teana some more. I will not taje a regular cab again.