Gov’t decides no ban on Uber, but will need to regulate

uber-x-car

Despite calls from certain quarters to clamp down on it, the authorities have decided not to ban app-based ride hailing service Uber, The Sun reports. The service – as well as the likes of Grab – will however need to be regulated to ensure it does not hurt the existing taxi industry, according to Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar.

The commission had a meeting with the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) last Friday, and both parties agreed that the mobile app should not be banned. Syed Hamid added that according to SPAD’s online survey, 85% of taxi passengers prefer to use Uber, which has been talking to transport authorities to find a resolution to the issue.

“The main problem is Uber cars do not have any licences from SPAD and the related authorities. Uber needs to be in our system, then we can regulate them,” Syed Hamid said. He added that they will need time to sort out how to regulate Uber vehicles, but declined to elaborate.

Meanwhile, taxi services have been responding to the demands of the day. “In order to be more competitive, some existing taxi associations or clubs already started their own app to offer better services. We all should know that technology can bring us a step further,” he said.

He however expressed his disappointment that people were not using the the “Meter-on” app, and said the government has no plans to extend services for the app, which has only around 20,000 users.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Like some smart taxi drivers already joined Uber and Grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:56 am

Government sure will side Uber cause Khazanah got a big stake in Uber. Google this and see. But the big question is this, SPAD chairman’s wife got so many teksi companies and this conflicts with Uber. So now, got conflict of interest with SPAD chairman. Side Government and Uber or Side Teksi gangsters and thugs and his wife.

Wow, I also takut lah like this if I was in his shoes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Buble Mic on Mar 28, 2016 at 1:31 pm

He should be neutral in making the decision. Neither the WIFE nor the Stakeholder thing shall become the factors. Once he has this thought, it considered as abuse, and dishonest.

Yet, wondering any standard / guidance in making such law.

• Carl Lee on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:51 am

I was waiting to pick up my son outside of Time Square on the road side. Apart from the regular taxi queues beside me whose soliciting customers there for not using the meters which is a very common sight there. Next I’ve seen common SUV such as Toyota Innova and Naza Citra which is definitely not a taxi, picking up customers there too. So whatever SPAD and the taxi associations are focusing now is just trying to justify their existence only, as there are even more major concerns to look into. Anyway, those customers who reject the “fixed price” taxi, somehow can easily flag off any passer-by taxi too.

• Reload Food on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:20 am

Regulate just to let you tax the $$? I guess no way since Uber is already cut down so many incentive and yet you still want to tax the driver? Imagine a short distance just can earn RM2. Why don’t you just tax Uber management instead and let Uber bare the fee from their 20% earning?

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:22 am

Please get rid of taxis la. If you look at all the major shopping complex most of the jam is created by all these stupid taxis lining up to rip off passengers. Then when they see ride-sharing cars they go vandalise when the driver is an honest hardworking person whose car is a million times better than those ‘taxis’ (not sure you can even call it a vehicle) at less than half the price IF using meter. Such a waste of space these taxi mofos

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • Gov bodo. Korea alredi ban it, Germany alredi ban it. Apa lagi tunggu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 96
    • kimochidesuneh on Mar 28, 2016 at 2:42 pm

ban all and stay inside jungle
      otak kayu always otak kayu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Uber not cheap but still better on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:16 pm

People prefer Uber not mainly because it is cheap. Uber has surge pricing at certain locations at certaim time of the day. During surge, an Uber ride will be more expensive than Taxis. But people still prefer Uber over Taxis. Why? Because Uber is not driven by thugs. Most Uber drivers are office professionals with good characters and professionalism. They are polite, well-educated and respectful. These drivers are subject to rider reviews and if their rating drop below the minimum threshold, they will be banned from driving. This is a guarantee for riders to only get rides from non-thuggish drivers. However, on a flip side, it is very easy to become an Uber driver. The sign up process is so simple that sometimes a psychopath passed the screening process. There is still some risks. But look back at Taxi drivers. I bet those thuggish taxi drivers don’t even have background screening process. What is commercial insurance going to do help the riders if something bad happens? Conclusion, insurance doesn’t do shit until it’s too late. Uber is not perfect but it is definitely better than thug taxis.

• NSTai on Mar 29, 2016 at 7:27 am

My experience says uber-x is always cheaper then taxi. Big time !

In malaysia where fuel is cheaper,toll is slightly lower, salary bracket is higher, our taxi in comparison running 5km vs Thai taxi 5km, we far more expensive. Not to mention their abundant everywhere.

Imagine, you are at shah alam after work hours trying to flag down a cab..say proton factory section 26 relying only only grab app, call sunlight or public cab and passing by taxis..I bet u will need to wait an hour or perhaps pay more with those demanding drivers knowing its either you board or continue waiting for another hour.

Uber brings convenience and of course more courteous drivers where safety let alone is no doubt safer compared to taxi.

• transformer on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:41 pm

“Regulate” means 30% share for Dumno cronies?