C205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe launched in Malaysia – three variants, RM309k to RM389k

Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe C 200-14

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has officially introduced the C205 C-Class Coupe in the country. First sighted locally last month, the latest addition to the brand’s Dream Cars Collection in Malaysia goes on sale in three variant forms, namely the C 200 Coupe, C 250 Coupe and C 300 Coupe.

The C-Class Coupe, which made its debut in Frankfurt last year, measures in at 4,686 mm long, 1,810 mm wide and 1,405 mm tall, with a 2,840 mm-long wheelbase. The numbers translate to it being 95 mm longer (wheelbase, by 80 mm) and 40 mm wider than the old car, with 60 mm of that extra length going between the firewall and front axle alone.

Design-wise, the styling of the front end is similar to its W205 C-Class sedan sibling, but the rear shape takes after the S-Class Coupe – on the flanks, the dropping line extends further past the rear wheel arch compared to the sedan. The long bonnet is paired with a raked windscreen, low greenhouse, high beltline and long frameless doors. Boot space is 400 litres.

Mercedes-Benz_C300_Coupe_AMG_Line_Malaysia_005

Standard fit across the entire Malaysian model range is Eco Start/Stop, an AMG Line exterior and AMG Line interior, a Mirror Package and a Parking Package, which lumps in active parking assist and a reverse camera into the bundle, as well as a sports steering wheel with flattened bottom and sports pedals.

Also on the general equipment list is Dynamic Select, which offers five driving modes (Eco, Comfort, Sport, Sport+ and Individual), runflat tyres and a tyre pressure monitoring system as well as Collision Prevention Assist Plus, Attention Assist and Pre-Safe on the safety kit front.

A single gearbox equips the entire lineup, this being a 7G-Tronic Plus seven-speed auto, driving the rear wheels in all three variants – no 4Matic all-wheel drive to be found here.

The base C 200 Coupe is powered by the same configuration 2.0 litre four-pot turbo as seen on the sedan, the M 274 DE 20 AL offering 181 hp (or 184 PS) at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm at 1,200 to 4,000 rpm in this case. Performance figures for the 1,525 kg offering – which is equipped with an Agility Control suspension – include a 0-100 km/h time of 7.3 seconds and a 235 km/h top speed.

Aside from AMG bodystyling elements such as special bumpers and sills and a diamond radiator grille, the exterior features a twin-pipe exhaust system, LED high performance headlights and 18-inch AMG five-spoke alloys, the last similar to those found on the C 250 AMG Line sedan.

Inside, items on the list include Artico leather upholstery, light logintudinal-grain aluminium trim, an Audio 20 entertainment system with Garmin MAP Pilot and a seven-inch display screen, a Thermatic automatic climate control system, a Keyless-Go starting function and cruise control with a Speedtronic speed limiter.

Next, the C 250 Coupe, which adds on full leather upholstery, Artico leather on the upper section of the dashboard, 19-inch AMG multi-spoke alloys, LED Intelligent Light System headlights, adaptive high-beam assist, Keyless-Go, remote bootlid closing on top of that found on the C 200, and a sports suspension takes over from the latter’s Agility Control setup.

On this one, the M 274 DE 20 AL’s state of tune has been bumped to offer 208 hp (211 PS) at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm at the same rpm rate as that for the C 200. Performance numbers for the 1,540 kg vehicle include a 6.8 seconds sprint time from zero to 100 km/h and a 250 km/h top whack.

The range-topping C 300 Coupe is also equipped with the same M 274 mill, but ups the numbers further to 241 hp (245 PS) at 5,500 rpm and 370 Nm at 1,300 to 4,000 rpm. Despite carrying an additional 25 kg of kerb weight over the C 250 Coupe, the century sprint time from standstill drops to 6.0 seconds courtesy of the added push, though top speed remains identical at 250 km/h.

Mercedes-Benz_C300_Coupe_AMG_Line_Malaysia_004

There’s additional kit on top of that found on the C 250, of course, and this is made up of a larger 960 x 540 resolution 8.4-inch, free-standing COMAND Online DVD infotainment unit with a 13-speaker Burmester surround sound system and an electric panoramic sliding glass sunroof.

Also on, an analogue clock, full Keyless-Go functionality with hands-free access and black open-pore ash wood trim (first few units get the carbon-fibre trim you see here). The C 300 Coupe rides on 19-inch multi-spoke wheels identical to that on the C 300 AMG sedan.

Finally, we get to the pricing of the C 205 range. The C 200 Coupe is priced at RM308,888, while the C 250 Coupe goes for RM333,888. The range-topping C 300, meanwhile, is listed at RM388,888, making all the coupes a fair bit pricier than their sedan cousins. All prices are on-the-road without insurance.

Refer to CarBase.my for full specification of the C205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe in Malaysia.

GALLERY: C 205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Coupe

GALLERY: C 205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Coupe

GALLERY: C 205 Mercedes-Benz C 300 Coupe

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ahmad on May 19, 2016 at 10:50 am

looks good but the back feels really weird :/

• With that price for the C300, I think itll be wiser to get a CLA45

• Head Hunter on May 19, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Another 12K and you’ll get blistering performance. 0-100kmh in just over 4 sec. Full fledged AMG some more.

• More expensive. Less door. Not really sexy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Doesn’t seem as appealing as the 4 series. Well to younger buyers at least

• Ya right… go for 4 series… i’ll keep myself loyal to Merc. If I’m observance enough, I notice there’s no Bmer more than 30yo running on the street, but there’re tons of Merc above 30 yo still roaring he street.

• Dr Rich on May 19, 2016 at 11:11 am

Australia : bmw 420 89000 AUD
    mbenz c200coupe 65000 AUD

here……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Philip Lau on May 19, 2016 at 11:53 am

Hey dim wit, you would pay AUD 12 for a plate of chicken rice in an eatery 2 miles outside the CBD. Should we all guess how much is a plate here in PJ, Damansara, Subang or Puchong?

Or should we debate and compare gas prices? Energy bills? A box of briefs by hush puppies?

Look guys, it’s unrealistic to make price comparisons of every single damn thing we have or we imported. If you can afford it, get it. If you can’t afford it, ignore it and stop barking around.

I read all the time how bashers make a fuss about the Toyota’s pricing or how Nissan is offering 2 airbags instead of 6 or how Proton cars are crap or how Audis are essentially VWs.

I mean, seriously, wtf?? U earn X, buy a car you can afford, and shut up about it already. Carmakers or importers in Malaysia can’t please everyone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • Tyler Durden on May 19, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Very well written Phil!

I couldn’t agree more with your comments. Too many blokes with 3rd-world mentality here in Malaysia and of course, Bolehland’s very own keyboard warriors.

No matter what models being launched, no matter what variants are introduced, no matter whatever the F the prices are/were, there’s always criticism.

Guys, evolve and grow some balls already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Katy Berry on May 19, 2016 at 1:01 pm

I agree!

Funny how ppl compare our car prices with American’s, with Australian’s, with the Brit’s – but, have never been to any of these countries let alone lived there.

Malaysians tend to criticize, criticize, criticize! Local cars are the most affordable in Malaysia buy hey, we say it’s unrealiable, we say it’s expensive, we say it’s rubbish.

Japanese cars — the utmost reliable vehicles; we say they’re overpriced, we say they’re underspecced, we say there’s just too little airbags. We also say that Lexus and Infiniti are both silly brands – that they are “merely” Toyota and Nissan (WTF?!).

Korean cars — beautifully deisgned and priced slightly lower than Japs; we say they’re gonna cost next to nothing when we sell, we say “might as well get a Proton or Toyota, we say they look like sea-creatures.

German marquees — established auto manufacturers for decades and/or over a century, but hey, we say they’re just too expensive, we call Audi cars as good as Volkswagen’s, we say Mercs are cars for the uncles, we say BMW’s break down twice a year.

Don’t even get me started with the Frenchies!

Now, to my fellow Malaysians: whether you are prepared to pay and own a Proton, a Perodua, a Toyota, a Lexus, a Porsche or even a Ferarri. Don’t criticize. Enjoy your car, keep calm when you drive, don’t tailgate, no point claiming that your car can “smoke” someone else on the road and finally grow up already.

Let’s banish this third world mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Nikolai on May 19, 2016 at 1:06 pm

As a permanent resident of Australia and currently living in Melbourne, I wholeheartedly agree.

Energy bills are already bad enough as it is. Not to mention food prices as well. A plate of nasi lemak from PappaRich in the Melbourne CBD (at QV Mall) already costs A$13. Which is pretty eye-watering compared to Malaysian prices.

It’s like comparing apples to oranges, really. High car prices in Malaysia are offset by cheaper prices for just about almost everything else. Also, Australian Mercedeses don’t come loaded with options. By the time you spec up a C250 here to match the specs available on the C250 in Malaysia, the price would’ve been higher than the Malaysian variant. One thing though – the Driving Assistance Package Plus option is standard on the C250 here, but isn’t available on any C-classes in Malaysia, not even as an option (at least it’s optional here in Australia on the lower-spec C200).

• In SG must add 300% COE. Minimum. Axia can go up to 500% COE.
      So ur point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • U cant own even we are selling at Aud price level. I hate our high price. But u gotta understand. The aud u are looking is a starting point without any options. Added in all the options, the price are almost onpar with local pricing. Btw, C coupe is cheaper compared to previous model.

• lionel leong on May 19, 2016 at 2:30 pm

bro……what the heck are you muttering. cant type properly I wonder how you talk oh

• Dude, if u cant understand a single word i muttered. You can 1st brush up your England. Then perhaps proceed to look mfor a better job with higher pay. Then, maybe… I mean maybe.. U can afford on of this beast.

• bodow on Jun 03, 2016 at 8:57 pm

income tax in oz how much? hmm? want to compare car price alone. fail economics is it?

• Dude, stop doing a comparo. The price in AUD if we buy accordingly to our local spec will definitile cost much higher albeit not our standard. An AMG spec coupe with goodies like our market will cost around AUD 75-80k and u need to plus on-the-road cost which varies in respect to where u live.

• illogic on May 19, 2016 at 11:20 am

Less doors & practical but costlier.

• Geoff on May 19, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Yes, that’s the very definition of coupe models

• Ya, but so far after 4years, I still enjoy my ride(C207). My in-laws won’t tag along on any occasion, that alone worth the money. Heheheh..

• Narmi on May 19, 2016 at 11:28 am

Handsome little devil I must say

• seancorr (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 11:45 am

So what is the difference between the Keyless Go on the C250 and full Keyless Go on the C300?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 11:51 am

Both have keyless entry and start, but the C 300 adds on comfort access for the boot (kicking action under the boot to open), particularly handy since this car has no physical external boot release. The C 250 does not have a powered boot, so it misses out on this feature.

• clinttt on May 19, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Is the carbon fibre finish standard on c300?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Yes, it is. But we’ve been told that only the first few units get the carbon-fibre trim, while the rest of the C 300 Coupe will get the C 250/300 sedan’s open pore black ash wood trim instead.

• 1 engine 3 tuned

• Just wait for the EEV version. You’ll save a further RM50k across the series.!!

• pomen on May 19, 2016 at 7:24 pm

to get the EEV incentive, they need a CKD model…not all model get local assembly..

• Paul, mind sharing where can I see one? Federal or Tun Razak?

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 6:34 pm

how come there is still manual key insert into the key hole for C300 while it should be full keyless?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 6:44 pm

The push start button, which inserts into the keyhole, has been removed in these pictures.