CKD BMW X1 and X4 get EEV incentives, new xDrive20d for X1, lower prices – RM229k to RM397k

BMW X1 Malaysia-4

Late last month, BMW Malaysia announced that the X1 and X4 models will be locally-assembled and CKD production will begin sometime in mid-year. No prices then, but the company has now revealed that the CKD F48 X1 will be priced from RM228,800 and the CKD F26 X4 RM396,800.

The imported X1 was launched locally in October last year, with a single sDrive20i petrol version (2.0L, 192 hp/280 Nm) going for RM279,800. The RM51k difference in CBU vs RM228,800 CKD pricing isn’t just down to local assembly – the X1 and X4 have received their customised Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status incentives. Like the CBU petrol X1, this variant is in Sport Line trim and front-wheel drive.

There’s a new X1 variant in town to complement the above, the xDrive20d. Everything opposite from the sDrive20i, this one has xDrive (AWD), is powered by a 2.0L diesel engine and comes in the more rugged xLine trim. It is priced at RM255,800.

F48 BMW X1 Malaysia  008

The CKD X1s will have BMW ConnectedDrive, including BMW Navigation with a 6.5-inch display and iDrive touch controller for the sDrive20i. The xDrive20d gets a bigger 8.8-inch display with split-screen function and optimised rendering, Navigation Plus including head-up display, and the iDrive touch controller. Both will get the Parking Assistant (auto parking) feature.

As for the X4, which has been available in Malaysia since August 2014 as an xDrive28i, the CKD car will be the same variant (2.0L, 245 hp/350 Nm) priced at RM396,800. That’s down from RM465,800, BMW says. It will follow the X1 in getting BMW’s ConnectedDrive features, plus Driver Assistance systems (Lane Departure Warning, Person Warning and Approach Control Warning) and Services & Apps.

All prices are on the road without insurance, with BMW Malaysia’s five-year unlimited mileage warranty, free scheduled service programme and BMW Tyre Warranty. Both cars will make their debuts at the BMW xDrive Xperience 2016 event this weekend (May 21-22) and next weekend (May 28-29) at all BMW dealerships.

Last month, the BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo, X3 and 5 Series received the EEV status that the 1 and 3 Series have earlier received. Prices for all the CKD models have come down as a result. Read our reviews of the F48 X1 and F26 X4.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• advisor on May 19, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Just go for the pre-reg units.
    40% cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
    • how soon before the pre-reg units become available? I’m guessing 2017?

• rchoo on May 19, 2016 at 4:50 pm

40% cheaper, are you serious? don’t think so. maybe max 15-20%.

• RM229k makes it a much more sensible price. Also if you are thinking of getting the X1, I’d suggest the diesel variant. Yes it’s 30k more but it’s far more economical & the engine combined with the xDrive system really helps the car get going.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Tong Sampah on May 19, 2016 at 10:36 pm

infact, this is the price that BMW selling during 2011..

the GST and so-called ringgit depreciation claimed by dealer mark up the price..dont forget Euro was dropping like made at one time and this dealers are making tons of cash..

• Ikan bilis on May 20, 2016 at 9:20 am

With b10…then engine will be gone…

• nabill (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Actually this is a pretty good value for the x1. . Will probably eat into 3series territory as well…
    Prepared to see more of it odr

• This or the 2015 xc60? About the same price :)

• seancorr (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Wow big jump in price for the X1 and X4 and finally we get to see some driver assists that is usually reserved for higher end models

• Curious on May 19, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Does it comes with sliding rear seat/adjustable backrest?

• heybadigol (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Why does it appear as though mostly BMWs seem to get this EEV status?

• Cuz BMW (& Mesidis as well) took the trouble to be EEV certified while others dun give a flying F cuz their customers still come back and buy their moving coffins?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Jay Law on May 19, 2016 at 2:40 pm

still no adaptive dampers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Does anyone know if the CKD specs were given an upgrade over the CBU? If they put in a powerboot and reverse camera, I am sold

• X4 price.. buy macan still better

• anonymous on May 20, 2016 at 12:57 am

No man. Do you know the entire process of purchasing a Porsche? All the price tag they put is to lure you at first, later on you will realize you have to add on tons of options to get the car. Friend of mine said can be tens of thousand to hundred thousand plus..

• Firdaus on May 19, 2016 at 9:37 pm

how did they receive EEV status?
    how come merc don’t have that status?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Vincent on May 20, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Which one more worth it bmw 320i or BMW X1? Please provide your opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Any other luxury SUV in this price range is a better deal? 230k-250k. Say RX270, yea it’s a Recon though