2016 Honda Civic in Malaysia – three variants detailed

Honda Caryn Civic variant list

It appears that dealers are raring to start selling the 2016 Honda Civic in Malaysia. This posting on the Honda Caryn Facebook page provides us some insights on the variants and specifications for the tenth-generation model when it goes on sale here.

According to the “brochure,” the 2016 Civic will be offered in three variants – a sole NA and two turbo options. Let’s start with the naturally aspirated choice here (Civic 1.8), which will pack a 1.8 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine making 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm.

As standard, six airbags are fitted here (dual frontal, sides, curtains), along with a reverse camera, electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold), rear air-con vents, eight-way powered seats, remote start, walk away auto door lock, a tilt sensor and Honda Display Audio infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen.

Moving into the turbo realm, we meet the Civic 1.5 Turbo, which adds on leather seats, an auto-dimming rearview mirror, 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels, more premium trim garnishing and paddle shifters.

Finally, the top-spec here is the Civic 1.5 Turbo Premium. As the name suggests, all the equipment from the Turbo is available here, with the addition of dual-zone air-conditioning, full LED headlamps with auto leveling and LED fog lamps.

Both turbo variants get the brand-new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill that outputs 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. A CVT is mated to both the NA and turbocharged engines.

The equipment list mentioned here is certainly an interesting one, featuring items that aren’t available on some of the Civic’s competitors. However, we’ll wait for the official launch for confirmation on what is offered here. For now, do check out our review of the FC Civic in Chiang Mai and let us know what you think of the Malaysian-spec Civic thus far.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic previewed in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• The chick is quite kawaii :-P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 10
    • rosmah on May 24, 2016 at 3:33 pm

where is her showroom? wanna book her one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • john ada otak on May 24, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Question for Honda cars as always. Can drive comfortably for long distance or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • SimLong on May 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Caryn, Pandan Indah Honda showroom. They have a 3S centre there.

• Malaysian on May 25, 2016 at 12:23 pm

No teh tarik hook? circa RM130k but no teh tarik hook? useless car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Honda DNA on May 24, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Poise to bumpy. So-called for the good handling lo

• nonono on May 24, 2016 at 6:37 pm

No

• Civic unconscious on May 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Honda Civic = Ah Beng with slingbags = Wannabes Malay boys on Genting stretch … the Automotive equation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • heybadigol (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 8:20 am

I like the lumbar support on Honda seats. Good for those who have lower back problems. But that was previous Civics, not the FC.

• cekodok on May 24, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Civic what’s the point reali??

new-gen Perdana is the onli 1 to buy.

Ride, Comfort & Quality similar as BMW 5 Series. Price at VW Vento level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 60
    • Can tell the paddle shift is totally useless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
      • hohoboy on May 24, 2016 at 3:47 pm

ya, CVT + Paddle shift wat is the point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
        • Operation Manager on May 24, 2016 at 6:08 pm

2016 Honda Civic 1.5Turbo, WHITE RAT project, everythings is Not-Right & Mis-Match, from exterior Front-Rear mismatch, acceseries Mismatch, upto the core Engine-Transmission combo Mismatch. Worst performance among competitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
        • Honda DNA on May 24, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Tekan bagi enjin groan aje lor. CVT mah hahaha

• samseng on May 24, 2016 at 9:59 pm

tak pe bang, kaki honda akan pasang woofer besar

• For shok sendiri lor…

• Zeubayr on May 25, 2016 at 10:13 pm

I beg to differ. CVT plus paddle shifters can still be fun. Example….. the A4 is 8 speed multitronic (cvt) with paddle shift. Still syok to drive and play around like Gran Turismo.

• useless on May 24, 2016 at 3:53 pm

can tell that you are useless to

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • skyjuice on May 24, 2016 at 3:54 pm

I wonder why?

• Operation Manager on May 24, 2016 at 6:02 pm

1.5T 220Nm@5500rpm. 1.8 174Nm@4200rpm

• i’m preve owner, rather than step on the brake pedal to slow the car if my car getting closer to the slower car in front, i always tend to shift down using the paddle shifter, very addictive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Amriji on May 25, 2016 at 12:09 am

I am facelifted FD2 8th gen civic owner, I agree with U. U can downshift and up shift on the fly. Very useful when U are driving at roads like Karak. No need to fumble in finding your gear stick. Can keep both hands on the steering wheel at all times.

• tok adi on May 25, 2016 at 1:14 pm

paddle shifter on cvt? i would say yes because the virtual gear ratio is there…same fun as shifting on auto gearbox

• Which chick you like. 1.8 or 1.5?

• BAMYouHaveAIDS on May 24, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Any offers for old Honda Civic? i want to buy for my company, 1MDB Sdn Bhd, at least 10units needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • What ur asking is B2B so normally for kompeni is towards fleet sales. This is handled directly by HM. If wan trade in, i think for fleet customers, there is this option. Otherwise for private customers, it depends on the dealer. Need to ask around.

• yesss got rear air-con vent.. nice3.. wait for the official launch…

• Actual prices, please.

• Zoom Zoom on May 24, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Toyota Altis confirmed dead now. At RM 120k 1.8 Civic vs Altis.

Civic over Altis
    1)6 Airbags
    2)VSC & TC
    3)Multi-link rear suspension
    4)Rear Aircond
    5)7″ Screen with Camera
    6)8 Ways Power seat
    7)Remote Engine Start
    8)Walk Away Auto Lock
    9)8 Speakers
    10)LED DRL
    11)Electronic Parking Brake
    12)Auto Break hold
    Anymore?? lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
    • Just Brake dont break it.. on May 24, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Brake…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on May 24, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Crash test.

Corolla got 5 stars. This Civic only got 3. A-Pillars collapsed and side impact test barely passed. Look it up.

What’s the point of 6 airbags when your car is a milo tin?

Also there’s a recall for failing turbo engines a few months back. Now a new recall is on the way for faulty electrical wiring where in a few cases resulted in electrical fires.

And we all know Honda produces unreliable CVT.

So why would anybody get this Civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
      • Prove of the Civic got 3 stars? Stop talking rubbish over your mouth

• LNick on May 24, 2016 at 9:43 pm

What rubbish you talking?

The latest gen civic is better than the corolla. This geneneration of Honda vehicles are one of the only few who excelled at the small overlap crashes according to IIHS and EuroNcap.

• frustrated toyota salesman detected !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Go watch the test Video, the corrolla main pillar bent while Civic pillar still in good shape in all crash mode. How can even corrolla rated 5 stars?

• Acrix on May 25, 2016 at 10:36 am

I wonder where did you get your data from?? Please show which site mentions that the new Civic only got 3 stars??
        IIHS 2016 results shows that Civic, Mazda 3 and Sentra are the top safety pick+ this year which is the highest rating with even scored good on small overlap test. The latest Altis however not even selected and scored only average in small overlap test.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 24, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Honda finally woke up & came out with a worthy successor for the Civic lineage.
    This will be THE car of 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
  • really no lane watch good job honda malaysia alwis miss out one or two feature for malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • better than umw malaysia only give one or two features for malaysian kaka

• Altis dun need to prepare coffin, just the nails for the lid. Nirvana is next destination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • are these using the takata airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Amriji on May 25, 2016 at 12:13 am

If you are a frequent Paul Tan reader, you will already know that Honda had abandoned Takata as the airbag supplier…

• Josh Ling on May 24, 2016 at 5:35 pm

it’s just a shame that our civic is not fully featured with some latest safety tech from honda again….sigh~ a rather decent car though.

• Ongtk on May 24, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Buying Honda is supporting one of the biggest government cronies who owns almost every essential business in Malaysia from transportation, consumers goods to utilities. Proton, DRB-Hicom, VW, Audi (what comes to mind) all under his umbrella!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
    • jinggo on May 24, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Dengki lettew.. puihh!

• But but but u will be buying a safer car for ur famili. As compared to DAP crony umw toyota. They wan to risk ur lives by selling u moving coffins. Choose wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • policeman on May 24, 2016 at 6:37 pm

You know a car has style over substance when the manufacturer only advertises its useless accessories.

• Amriji on May 25, 2016 at 12:17 am

And which accessories is useless? The airbags, the auto hold brake???

• seancorr (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 6:38 pm

IMHO Ithink they could do with just two variants since there is not much difference between the two turbo models unless HM adds extras like Honda Lane Watch and what not.

• policeman on May 24, 2016 at 6:50 pm

I call for a ban on this Civic.

Giving dumbasses 170HP is a bad idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • policeman PT con-man on May 25, 2016 at 8:29 am

tunngang ko punya kapcai yang cuma kurang 1HP ler!

• Again civic has set a benchmark for c segment, as the FD did 10 years ago.
    And this specs can last easily for another 10 years still valid.
    CIVIC is the car that those at age of 20+ to early 30s must have to show that you have achieved in your life and will be memorable when you are 60.
    I am proud used to have a FD.now conti but owning one civic is a must in your life.
    Does not apply to altis or mazda 3,worst say sylphy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • ARM Yusof on May 24, 2016 at 7:32 pm

instead of proving achievement by owning a car, it is much better to buy a house. only that can show you have achieved something in your life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • You cannot drive your house out and show others.
        Material is the drive that move you forward.
        One day you find material doesnt drive you anymore,you either damn rich already or you are not competent anymore.
        By the way i have 8 properties under me, so what?if i just drive a kancil. No one knows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
        • Amriji on May 25, 2016 at 12:20 am

Why must show off? Warren Buffet does not show off…

• Budak MLM le ni..mesti pakai BMW kaler oren..

• Trump on May 25, 2016 at 8:34 am

only retard show off cars with 8 properties???!!!..smart rich ppl can show off business empire & big own name buildings around the world!!!

• Show off and show are two different thing.
            Cannot show off with a civic, you need at least a porsche for it.
            Like comparing wearing a broken shirt, a decent shirt and a bling bling diamond shirt.
            Most people here cannot afford a buiding let alone even a decent house.
            Be realistic in your dream
            And only one Trump in this world, and it can be only brought up in US,not in bolehland.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 26, 2016 at 1:18 am

eh even fresh graduate like my son also can buy a house with help from government…so owning a house isnt an achievement

• with this mindset, no wonder so many young people got bankrupt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • chipanzy on May 24, 2016 at 9:02 pm

TOYOTA,NISSAN totally lost!!!!! EVEN VW AND JERMAN CAR left behind!!!

• timbuktu on May 31, 2016 at 6:08 pm

you are a real chimpanzee.. a dumb one actually. have you check your specs before concluding that VW and German car will be left behind with this Civic turbo? Sometimes I wonder if words ever go past your head before it comes out your mouth.

• Winston Churchil on May 24, 2016 at 9:22 pm

can convert to manual transmission?

• Prosss on May 24, 2016 at 9:24 pm

a honda civic post a day, keeps paultan pocket happy everyday

• Dr Lou Kean Keong on May 24, 2016 at 10:11 pm

No Honda Sensing, Lane watch. Not worth the wait. nothing special to shout about.

• Captain Obvious on May 24, 2016 at 10:51 pm

What is tilt sensor? Auto-tilt side rear view mirror when reverse? or what?

• Nonsense Civic on May 24, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Top variant no LaneWatch. Honda Sensing of course tak ada la, jangan harap. Yay, #1 non-national brand :)

• David Chai on May 25, 2016 at 12:43 am

Reading the comments alone was discombobulating enough. It felt like listening to some unadulterated buffoons commenting as though they know more than what they really do. Scepticism shrouded the entire response.

• Flummoxed by a chichi on May 26, 2016 at 1:51 am

If you were discombobulated, why still took the time to populate the comment section with your discombobulated thoughts? You can instead confabulate with your articulate, ultra-intellectual, IQ 200+ elite circles of yours than wasting time in a comment section that you deem vapid; isn’t that less pretentious and less of a hypocrite?

• CVT is the big letdown!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 1:05 am

few months later, rebadge as new Waja

• CVT is a big letdown!!!

• cendol (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 10:27 am

So should I buy 1.5 Turbo or 1.8 CVT ??

• Ong Chee Boon on May 25, 2016 at 11:01 am

I know it is my wishful thinking… but i sincerely hope Honda Malaysia can include Manual Transmission for both variants in small quantities. This combo would be… yummy.

Needless to say, spec wise and safety features are the top of its class, Toyota and Nissan can’t even get close. Paddle shift is more of personal preference added for fun.

Too bad no Honda Sensing though.

If i can afford to buy one right now, it will be the 1.8 NA. More than enough as a daily driver. But if Honda includes a manual, that would be a different story (grin).

• Frugu on May 25, 2016 at 3:21 pm

I own a Viva now (my wife’s anyway) and this is the first time I’m considering this as an upgrade

• DRB Hicom HONDA

• 1.8 or 1.5 is better? 1.8 is old engine?