New Honda Civic in M’sian dealerships from June 11

Civic-Malaysia-Invite

The new 2016 Honda Civic will be in Malaysian showrooms on June 11, 11am to 4pm, according to a customer invite sent to readers Muhammad Hamidie and Calvin Tey by their Honda SAs, and forwarded to us. “The dream ride has arrived,” the e-invite proclaims, touting “exciting features you have only dreamed of, brought to life.”

The new Civic made its first official Malaysian appearance at the recent My Auto Fest 2016 event, and we’ve spotted in on the road during ad filming, but this is the opportunity for all and sundry to get up close and personal with the all-new FC.

We’ve already done so, and you can check out our test drive report of the new Civic from Thailand, as well as a New vs Old gallery with the FC butt-to-butt with the ninth-gen FB. Some eager dealers have also detailed the variants and specifications for the Malaysian-spec CKD Civic, which differs slightly from the Thai-spec car.

Civic-Malaysia-Invite-2

We’re set to get three variants of the new Civic, one with a 1.8 litre NA engine and two with the new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine. Six airbags, a reverse camera, electronic parking brake with auto brake hold, rear air-con vents (not available in Thailand), eight-way powered driver’s seat, remote engine start, walk away auto door lock, and a seven-inch touchscreen audio will be standard.

The turbocharged model adds on leather seats, an auto-dimming rearview mirror, 17-inch two-tone alloys, paddle shifters and a higher grade of trim. Opt for the Turbo Premium and you’ll be rewarded with dual-zone air-con, full LED headlamps and LED fog lamps. Expect a range of Modulo accessories from Honda Malaysia.

Probably the most anticipated non-national passenger car launch this year, the new Civic is just around the corner now.

GALLERY: Malaysian-spec Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo Premium

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WonderMan on May 31, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Mana Perdana?? Teasing lagi kaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
    • kuriang on May 31, 2016 at 1:46 pm

tengah pikir nak selak macam mana pulak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • buy VW Passat or Jetta better, pre-reg at 20K and 50K cheaper respectively than Civic turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
        • As a current VW owner, I won’t touch another VW for my next purchase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Jetta CBU 2013 on May 31, 2016 at 9:24 pm

As current VW owner, only regret is no RV. Fook those breakdown DSG bashing totally baseless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
          • fookbook on May 31, 2016 at 9:52 pm

But but but look at the FB, lot of complaints

• Operation Manager on May 31, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Jetta 1.4TSI 240Nm 13xxKG =88k, Passat 1.8TSI 15xxKG= rm115k,
            Civic 1.5T 220Nm 11xxKG= 140k,

• I can’t say DSG issue is baseless since having 3 friends had broke down and sent their Polo, Golf and Jetta service center due to DSG related issues.. My car is juddering on 2nd gear and SC say I need to make appointment and park my car 1 full day for inspection, and will take 3 full days if clutch pad is needed to replace, where am i gonna find 4 day leave to entertain this.. I am just crossing my fingers everyday

• Jetta CBU 2013 on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:58 am

No problem with mine. Clutch pack replaced under warranty. No need to listen to bashers. I know my car best. It can goes beyond 210km/h easily anytime I want.

• Civiclemb00 on Jun 01, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Wrong, civic turbo ady reaches 1300kg

• mindless basher on Jun 03, 2016 at 7:28 am

This “operation manager” is mindless basher, duplicating comments over few Honda news, giving false facts. My bet he is a sour VW sales agent.

• Operation Manager on May 31, 2016 at 10:55 pm

I cant see any good selling point on new 2016 Civic. (1)Honda engine famous with HIGH WEAR & TEAR; as its mechanically design need to ramp higher RPM in order to near competitor TORQUE (eg. Mazda3 Skyactive 2.0 210Nm, 1.4TSI/1.5Ecoboost 240Nm) . The higher RPM the faster Wear & Tear and create MORE VIBRATION affected engine mounting, cockpit assy losse & chassis body assy noise. Thats the reason you can hear bunyi lembu on honda engine and many engine overhall at workshop. (2)The EARTH DREAM still the same as old VTEC, never improved explore new development. Match a CVT then call EARTH DREAM??? open the bonnet you could see a MESSY UNMANAGED of Honda Engine, tons of wires/cable link here & there everywhere (you cant find these level of messy engine design at TOYOTA MAZDA even P2 Axia). (3)Performance nothing to surprise, can’t even beat FORD, MAZDA, VW, etc… 1.5T make buyer as WHITE RAT to validate the initial design for future improvement. (4)1.5Turbo 220Nm the least powerfull engine performance in market; 1.5 ECOBOOST=240Nm, 1.4TSI= 240Nm 13xxKG, heavy then Civic 11xxKG but still perform better than Civic. (5)1.5T Civic petrol comsumption like drinking water (pair to KOREA fuel comsumption, but Korea turbo much much more higher TORQUE than Honda turbo) (6)The exterior design, FRONT & REAR like loose chemistry, cant match. Interior design similar CITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Lazada on May 31, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Tidak payah launch sudah….. if price over 1.8L civic…. beli civic cukup… new civic looks better in and out…. 1.8l spec good enough… just lack of leather seats…. if got leather seat option, will be best….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
      • Roger on May 31, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Yes if you are not really focused into performance and fuel efficiency. 1.8L spec should be more than enough

• pergi tengok2 okey. ekonomi x bagus, baik jimat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • kaizen on Jun 01, 2016 at 2:02 am

performance????. i suggest u go and read http://paultan.org/2016/05/12/driven-2016-honda-civic-1-8-and-1-5-turbo/. if u do not hv a knowledge and dumb, pls do not comment bro!

• baru nak up on May 31, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Civic = BBNU car, next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Operation Manager on May 31, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Mazda3 2.0 Skyactive 210Nm = rm106k.
        Jetta 1.4TSI 240Nm = rm90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
        • ong chee boon vw con-man on May 31, 2016 at 2:33 pm

bajet tak cukup bang?? dating beli jetta ajer lah!! jangan banding & bazir masa sini!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • Pokmat on May 31, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Yo lo.
            Pitih ado beli.
            Kalo takdo duk diam2

• If want torque then drive a rubbish truck. Plenty of torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • john is otak batu on May 31, 2016 at 2:47 pm

one word = TAKATA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • john is otak batu on May 31, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Sorry, their fanboys busy boasting the “myth” of hi-HP TGDi engine & bashing other cars

• fburnn on May 31, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Now got turbo ady, why not TGDi in future?
        Only bashers have loser brains, lost before fight

• Albert on May 31, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Hondana still doing final striptease for select few.
      PANAS……bradder,jangan kacau.

• Dr Mamak on May 31, 2016 at 6:06 pm

CVT + 6 deadly takata airbags x main la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Roslan on May 31, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Hope price starts below RM95k. Proton must be crying right now because their Proton Accord still sneak peek since last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Tyler Durden on May 31, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Apparently the Perdana will be launched on this Friday – we shall see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • below RM 95k for this dream ride ??? dream on…brader…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Dream of the Civic Chamber on May 31, 2016 at 1:35 pm

A dream ride indeed. Lanewatch and Sensing? In your dream! Bolehland = Dreamland. some say Disneyland :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • Profit1st on Jun 01, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Its biggest selling point, IMHO, would’ve been the Honda Sensing safety suite.

But of course, not for Malaysians. Not even as an option.

The fact that these safety features may save lives (not just the car occupants, but others on the road as well) by reducing LIKELIHOOD of accidents counts for nothing.

• Wondering on May 31, 2016 at 1:50 pm

I wonder how much tuning potential this car have.. considering its using a cvt.

• nabill (Member) on May 31, 2016 at 2:03 pm

engine , probably , but the cvt will nullify watever tuning u do , so back to square one…

• Wondering on May 31, 2016 at 2:58 pm

True, there are cases where a few people manage to tune their car to archive higher HP with higher boost + CvT, though what kind of monster CvT they have i do not know. Last i read was the Mitsu Lancer CvT in the states and the CvT did not break. 250 hp aint bad…

Hopefully this CvT can atleast handle more power then maybe tuning is possible..

• Racechip?

• john is otak batu on May 31, 2016 at 2:49 pm

go for 19 inch rims. and super large boot spoilers.

stickers. and err, thats about it.

• In b4 bashers says PT was paid by Honda Jepunis to put up so many Civic articles.

• Where are you chris harris on May 31, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I reckon honda will gonna break its sales record!

• check out this latest sales stats….impressive indeed for honda….

http://paultan.org/2016/05/24/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-april-2016-by-brand-nissan-sales-down-by-30-7-volkswagen-up-116-8/

• ok, will standby go test drive & floor pedal “kau-kau” no matter what others condemning!

• careful with ur foot plunge… ‘kau-kau’ , later..ur dream ride.. turbo-cor…..

• Fantasy vs reality on May 31, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Ya, dont pedal too much and dream too high. This is a “dream ride”: what u expect is in your dream. The real thing is a far cry from your dream. But you’re allowed to daydream, just don’t let Honda enter (inception) your dream.

• Ben Yap on May 31, 2016 at 2:38 pm

thinking of getting the 1.5 turbo and smoke all those modified proton with large exhaust. want to make these people salivate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • Katy Berry on May 31, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Hey Ben Yap – are you a retard ?
      Modified or non-modified protons, just drive on your on damn lane and evolve a brain. Pointless to “smoke” and just drive within the speed limit.
      Any drivers with half a brain (and a GPS) will know that you will reach your destination at the allocated driving time whether you’re speeding and stopping, or just cruising at a normal speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
      • all the chit-chats and after few shots of ang mo teh….his dream ride have been mentally turbo-induced……..

• all the the chit-chats and few shots of ang mo teh, his dream ride somehow has been mentally turbo-charged….

• IamPeterGriffin on May 31, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Don’t be picking on the wrong car though. Mated to CVT, won’t do you much good if you stumbled upon a GSR engined Proton. But it’s ok, the honda Civic interior is a very nice cabin to cry in.

• Typical school boy mentality…

• Not for long, only until p1 180HP TGDi comes

• I will wait for Proton-Ricardo 1.5TGDi engine 180hp 250nm. Ricardo make 3.8 v8 Twin Turbo McLaren MP12c you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • You wait until your wife pregnant… pregnant for 5 times…then you anak bongsu kahwin…pregnant…gey your cucu…till your cucu university grad then if you are lucky , you will see the spyshot of theso call 1.6TGDi.
        Pray hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • john is otak batu on May 31, 2016 at 7:01 pm

XD….u’re the man! brader

• Really lost count how many years…

• nkhpoorkid on May 31, 2016 at 10:02 pm

What did you say last time kid? Driving Civic at 30 got sweet memories of success when you are at 60 and drive conti?

Lol, driving p1 at 30 save money invest then at 60 ady millionaire!

• Mawing on May 31, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Betul, proton dan janji manis berpisah tiada.

• jonhseen on May 31, 2016 at 3:24 pm

There will be hardcore Civic fans which will take this model modify like crazy dudes at Sunway area and drive like pros at Sepang.
    Toyota Corolla Altis now in serious trouble. Kesian the Toyota sales team. Bravo to Honda Malaysia. Outclassed the Altis in terms of performance and safety.

• Civic Pricing on May 31, 2016 at 3:59 pm

1.8 RM115k
    1.5T RM125k
    1.5T Premium RM135k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Praveen on May 31, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Izit prize 4 new civi

• Albert on May 31, 2016 at 5:50 pm

The Hondana ,supposedly to be launched this week……..sure kaput.
      Might as well get the latest kao kao Civic.
      Perhaps,the diehard proton fanboys will sell everything to pawn shop,to get their “Tiger Logo Potong” Hondana.
      The reality is many banks are rejecting these kaput black listed fanboys.
      The Hondana will most likely be pushed by force to gomen depts.Private car sales will be a trickle only.

• dbase on May 31, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Albert and his dupes in paranoid mode, trying to say p1 drivers are blacklisted people.

• Believe me, this model will be quickly outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
  • Jimmy on May 31, 2016 at 4:21 pm

I would prefer Proton Perdana. More classy and powerful than Honda. Good resale value mah…All agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • DPCraft on May 31, 2016 at 5:01 pm

More classy ?? Thats personal taste
      More powerful ?? Nope, civic has lighter body & and engine about as powerful as 2.4
      RV?? Civic has the best RV in malaysia!!

• Not Toyota Fan on May 31, 2016 at 11:41 pm

What you talking, bro. That Hondana IS a Honda Accord lah. How can a rebadge Honda be “more classy and powerful” than the same Honda Accord? That is some good weed you’re smokin’

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2016 at 2:19 am

Consider a used Sonata. Very good value for money

• civicx on May 31, 2016 at 4:23 pm

lanewatch is missing..my dream ride is gone as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • A car dreaming of oneself as a man on May 31, 2016 at 4:36 pm

This is ‘Ride the Dream’, it means Malaysia’s Honda Civic 2016 is a dream. It’s not real. If you ride this dream, you are dreaming of riding a car that doesn’t exist, or you are actually a car dreaming of yourself as a man riding the car. This is how deep Ride the Dream goes. Let’s consult Christopher Nolan (director of Inception) what HM really means by this dream.

• abg gagah on May 31, 2016 at 5:05 pm

So this gonna be Raya Car for alot of people. And then we can saw this “performance car” stuck in highway during balik kampung,,,hahahaha

• Ben Yap on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:29 am

and those stucked in a new civic for raya are show-offs that haven’t pay their rent and owe TNB money.

• Turbo worries on May 31, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Look at US, turbo engine cause a lot of problems, some still can’t resolved yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Shareezsani on May 31, 2016 at 7:43 pm

What problems are you talking about?

• O yeah, the case where the engine caught fire. Kena recall by Honda in USA.
      But here in bolehland, nobody gives a shit as usual. Sales are projected to skyrocket for sure becoz Honda Ma. LOL.

• is it 1.5T engine only take 1.5 ivtec city and put turbo only? Or its a new engine? Sorry for my innocence question

• timbuktu on May 31, 2016 at 6:06 pm

people here are so excited to see a turbo engine.. like kids suddenly found interest in an old toy. come on. honda is late in the game. turbo charging is a standard already in many european models giving the best of fuel efficiency and torque.

A 1.5 turbo-charged engine only capable of 220Nm arriving only at 1700rpm is quite pathetic. Compare that against VW’s 1.4TSI which pours out 240Nm arriving at 1300rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • vodka on May 31, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Does the VW 1.4TSI comes with added worn piston rings, oil burn and DSG failure FOC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • dunbuy on May 31, 2016 at 10:35 pm

In other words, both cars are sucks to maxx

• timbuktu on May 31, 2016 at 11:10 pm

no wonder u call yourself vodka. pretty drunk i see. do you own a VW with engine failure? or did u just like the rest reading about it and decided to become a keyboard warrior?

VW issue is mostly with DSG and the engine failure is related to owners driving it like hell. Flooring the pedal when cold and revving the engine like there’s no tomorrow is a recipe for disaster for any turbo engine. Try that on your Civic Turbo and see how long the engine last.

• VW Owner on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:33 am

Already sell my GTi…. DSG problem..
          i prefer my old FD2R better

• Ok. Out of sudden,mazda 3 look so tame compare to this

• The amount of people complaining no lane watch is funny. Sure its an awesome feature but you really need this just to be aware on how to change lanes?!

Its not like you guys are sucky drivers.. oh wait.. you guys are sucky drivers. Go back and retake your license bitches..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • When life gives Bolehland lemons... on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:39 am

Things that only exist in the realms of our dreams do not exist in Bolehland market. But they exist overseas. Foreigners make dreams come true and send rockets into the outer space. Bolehland makes dreams to stay, well, mere dreams. ‘Ride the Dream’ is actually a subtle mockery to us, it takes us a while to figure out this hidden message by HM. Honestly, can’t agree more. HM, you win.

• Minime on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:45 am

It’s like saying

1)why need rear sensor, Dont know how to reverse without rear sensor is it?

And then several years later

2) why need reverse cam? Got sensor already ma. Don’t know how to reverse without reverse cam?

If elsewhere or competing rivals have it due to technology advancement to compete,hence it’s a shame honda malaysia couldn’t provide it.

• timbuktu on Jun 01, 2016 at 2:48 pm

what is lane watch? is it blindspot detection? if it is, then it’s a good safety feature.

• Hahaha.. spot on, 7 salty people who needs a gimmick lane watch. It really is an awesome feature to be honest but the way they are salty like it is a life saving feature. Man.. those idiots sure sucks.

• When life gives Bolehland lemons... on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:23 am

Bolehland makes dreams. Not lemonade. ‘Ride the Dream’ represents a dream-inducing Civic. It’s a car for one to sleep in. Not drive. That’s the message HM wants to tell us all along i.e. to sleep. Every slogan by HM has a hidden message – finding out what it means allows one to connect with HM on a spiritual level. You don’t want to miss that.

• Vtec turbo but without VTEC technology… felt like Lack something with Tis engine…

• Proton Perdana tak payah nak tease tease lagi…..
    Honda dah nak beranak……
    Proton baik ko menguggurkan

• Not Toyota Fan on May 31, 2016 at 11:21 pm

2016 Car of The Year. Gonna be 6 months waiting list. Kudos Honda for bringing back the spirit of Civic.

• Somtam on May 31, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Wonder how the 1.5t will work with ron 95

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:08 am

this is new proton inspira for 2018…why i know? cos i am *shakes shaken toddy” value, semi value

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2016 at 1:21 am

Great to see more and more Elantra and Sonata owners coming in to ask for a value for their cabbages.

My good old Hilux in their faces says its all

• Bila la proton nk pakai timing chain…senang2 guna terus injin honda FC..lagi baik……!!!!

• Mazda 3 vs Civic 2016 (aka Dreamin' Civic) on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:54 am

Mazda 3
    1) i-ActivSense: High Beam Control, Smart City BRake System, Rear Vehicle Monitoring, Lane Departure Warning
    2) Others: Head up display, auto dimming rear view mirror, auto windshield wiper, full leather, power seat for driver, cruise control, reverse camera

HM’s Civic 2016 ‘Ride the Dream’
    1) Honda Sensing: In your dream
    2) LaneWatch: In your dream
    3) Other gimmicks: Remote engine start (cuz it’s so damn safe to remotely start your engine)
    4) #1 Non-national Car: Hell yeah, not dreamin’ :)