SPYSHOTS: 2016 Honda Civic 1.5L Turbo in Malaysia

Civic-Msia-Spy-01

“Isn’t that the new Civic?” Hafriz asked me and photographer Sherman as we wiped down our test car of the week for photography. An early Sunday morning to Putrajaya and familiarity with the car meant that I took a while to register the impact – this is the first time we’re seeing a tenth-generation Honda Civic in Malaysia, in local spec. Sherman duly whipped out his camera.

Our cropped pics don’t show the leading camera vehicle, but the FC was starring in a video shoot, likely to be the local Honda Malaysia (HM) TVC. A registered and tinted example, the radically-styled C-segment sedan is seen here in Turbo form, with the same 17-inch, two-tone alloys from the Thai-spec Turbo RS (with Continental MC5 tyres, Bridgestone Turanzas in Thailand) and full LED headlamps.

As shared in our pre-launch review of the Civic 1.8 and 1.5 Turbo, our local top-spec car won’t get the Thai range topper’s “RS” moniker and unique items (gloss black winged grille, full length raised spoiler, RS boot badge) but there will be a range of Modulo accessories to kit up your FC.

A “VTEC Turbo” emblem on the bootlid as per the Indonesian Civic Turbo is expected, but HM isn’t going as far as tacking on step-down mufflers to make the twin pipes visible (they’re designed to be discreet).

Not much else to note other than what should be the signature colour for the car in Malaysia – a dark silver that’s lighter in hue compared to Honda’s usual grey. It nicely shows off the myriad lines and surfaces of this fastback-style sedan.

The new Civic is now open for booking, with HM revealing that all variants (1.8 NA and 1.5 Turbo, both CVT) will get six airbags and an eight-way powered driver’s seat. We understand that the VSA, electronic parking brake with brake hold function, Remote Engine Start and Walk Away Auto Lock will also be across the board. Read our full review of the FC Civic and a new vs old gallery with the outgoing ninth-gen.

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo RS, Thai-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• thepolygonal on May 16, 2016 at 10:14 am

Clap clap clap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Playboy on May 16, 2016 at 10:16 am

No Honda lane watch!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Better don’t miss this party!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Good car.
    Price will be bad….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • mr w205 on May 16, 2016 at 10:30 am

Cepat…pergi beli

• alldisc on May 16, 2016 at 9:35 pm

At 130k, at least 60k will go to najib via the government tax and excise duty structure.

I won’t buy.

But nice to know this latest civic will be joining KL flash flood soon.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 16, 2016 at 10:30 am

Consider a used Elantra instead, great value for money at less than 50% of a new unit (12-18 months old)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
  • what u see may not be what the final car spec sold to public ;)

as usual accessories etc may be taken out to make ‘affordable’ ahem…profitable for them XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Why no lane watch ? Disappointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 16, 2016 at 11:09 am

no lanewatch..going back to bermaz showroom to book mazda 3 sighs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 11
  • Danedz on May 16, 2016 at 11:20 am

Can get before rayer or not?

• Ben Yap on May 16, 2016 at 1:09 pm

want to show off to relatives when raya time lah tu…

sewa rumah dah bayar ke belum?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • seting on May 16, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Tak bayar, coz sting garden (setinggan)

• Tak bayar. Then blame PBT/gov did not maintain their PPR. But bayar kereta no problem.

• kakaka on May 16, 2016 at 1:40 pm

After raya kena tarik, not enough money to pay installment

• maidin on May 16, 2016 at 7:10 pm

don’t bring ur new car balik kampung, in the end ur car will be a test drive and showroom display unit

• Annoynimouse on May 16, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Balik Raya? Perhaps, being stuck in traffic on hiways is a bit more pleasant in a brand new car…

• As usual, Malaysian lives are not worthy of proper safety features, hence Honda Malaysia has decided to forgo Honda sensing for Malaysian customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Number 1 on May 16, 2016 at 11:40 am

Oh yeah, other countries got, we don’t hv.. so-called #1 non-national car some more. #1 in double standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on May 16, 2016 at 11:56 am

Malaysia Government no common sense, how to give Honda Sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Why dragged in gomen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Nonsense Civic on May 16, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Don’t simply blame others, the profit agenda is so damn obvious for Honda Malaysia to take out Honda Sensing for M’sian market. No Sensing means the car becomes nonsense already, they are giving us NONSENSE Civic. Those who buy this will get a nonsense car.

• Keep blaming the gov while we can boycott these greedy company. First thing first, people must stop buying car that lack safety kits, but sadly beauty win over function.

• T badge oso wins over function. Last year 300k new coffins on the road. Wonder how many this year?
          Pity MY consumers r too dumb to make gud choices

• As usual, Malaysian lives are not worthy of proper safety features. Honda Malaysia has decided to omit the Honda Sensing suite even on the top spec car.

• Johnny bravo on May 16, 2016 at 11:36 am

Don’t know why some of you are making a fuss about Lanewatch. Don’t be lazy to turn ur fat head n look when swithing lanes la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Annoynimouse on May 16, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Agree. And why bother with lane watch when all drivers do is stay on the fast lanes at < 80km/h. Even if we have 5 lane highways, some asshol*s will always be ignorant.

• industry insider on May 16, 2016 at 12:01 pm

paultan we see civic until wanna vomit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Kancil Hybrid on May 16, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Fuhh.. Cun gila. Hard to go wrong with Honda. But I will still wait for any Proton with Ricardo 1.5 TGDI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Kipidap on May 16, 2016 at 12:27 pm

HONDA… NO SENSE at all… all nonsence when comes to Malaysia…

• Nonsense Civic on May 16, 2016 at 1:30 pm

No Sensing in Malaysia = Nonsense Civic. becomes laughing stock already haha.. Nonsense Civic, good name.

• Ollie on May 16, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Is Honda the new Toyota?

As in is the exciting car company now a beige-box manufacturer? This car is probably the ugliest thing since the Almera

Lane sensing demands in the comments – huh? thats as necessary as honey to winnie the pooh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Warren Wong Yee Ket on May 16, 2016 at 1:04 pm

I dunno bout you man but from what I see, a lot more people praise this Civic’s looks than say it’s ugly, but as for the Almera, literally everyone says it’s ugly.

• DPCraft on May 16, 2016 at 4:47 pm

While the rear might not be everyone’s cup of tea. You can’t deny the civic FC sweeping line and aggressive stance is modern & cool. Almera looks like a car made at year 2000.

• I wonder on May 16, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Got honda acc in this?

• heybadigol (Member) on May 16, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Looks even better with the black out tints. Illegal of course. The silver is a darker shade, like in the Jazz. Which I don’t really fancy. Prefer the alabaster silver that was on the FD Civic.

• Harry Chao on May 16, 2016 at 2:00 pm

My friends and myself had decided against buying any new HONDA cars at the moment.

Reason: This Sushi car still comes with the scary, killer and explosive “TAKATA” air bags.
    We had lost confidence on TAKATA airbags and We do not wish our love ones to be killed for the wrong reasons any moment while driving when it is meant to save lives .

this 1.5 litre turbo is just a small engine nothing to shout or yell about.

Second Question is how reliable can this Japanese Honda small Turbo engine compare to those well established and class leading European Turbo Mass Market Manufacturers.

Only time and future user feedbacks will tell us whether this Honda newly designed Turbo engine still live up to its reputation or not. I am yet to hear then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Borg Warner KP39 more reliable

• tokmoh. on May 16, 2016 at 2:56 pm

When it comes to turbo, trust Volvo. They’re the longest and most extensive turbo user. It’s also durable, cuz nobody says bad about Volvo’s quality. Unlike German cars, which when u hear the brand, u already chuckle at owners suffering gearbox, banyak masuk workshop trips. Not the Volvo though.

Even the cheapest Volvo, V40 T4, has auto brake up to 50kph. This system, as tested by Fifth Gear, is even better than Merc S-class’ auto brake.

Unfortunately, Volvo not that successful here, bcuz RV and waterface more important for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Amriji on May 17, 2016 at 1:11 am

Volvo does not have a very good handling when compared to its price. Also the inside is pretty ugly especially the current V40. That’s why people think twice on spending on a Volvo.

• Thru your perception only.

Not many people think Volvo is ugly like you do. It all boils down to affordability.

Many people like a volvo because could not afford to buy and maintain one. Meaning having shallow pocket. on the other hand , Honda is affordable to everyone meaning it is a tom dick and harry car meaning lack of class and lack of prestige and lower down the scale compare to luxury european makes. Owning a Honda car is always and will always be one notch lower class compare to others.

If buy honda might as well buy Proton, Mazda
          which is better , cheaper and same status with Honda. There is nothing great about Honda car by the way.

This civic rear looks like copying and modifying volvo S60 rear .

• Newsflash!! Honda dropped Takata airbags since November last year.
      http://paultan.org/2015/11/06/mazda-honda-drops-takata-airbags-shares-take-a-hit/

• Amriji on May 17, 2016 at 1:07 am

Honda stopped using Takata Airbags since November 2015 lah. U boleh kena sue by Honda for that…

• cheap wet cars on May 16, 2016 at 2:00 pm

This Honda car will make all toyota salesmen/women to lose their job…For Sure!

Sam Loo and family will surely be eating sand instead of rice….when he lost his job at Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Sense & sensibility on May 16, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Spying on 10th gen Honda Civic.. in Malaysia.. when spied.. no Sensing. Nonsense! it’s a nonsense Civic in Malaysia.

1) The Sixth Sense (Director: M. Night Shyamalan; Nominated for Oscars)
    2) Sense and Sensibility (Director: Ang Lee; Nominated for Oscars)
    3) Honda Sensing for Civic 2016 in US, UK, Can, Jap, Aus etc (Director: Honda; Winner of multiple Car of the Year international awards)
    4) Nonsense Civic (Director: Honda Malaysia; #1 Non-national Car Brand in Malaysia)

The power of Nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Ibrahim on May 16, 2016 at 2:30 pm

1.8L from RM92888, midrange RM105888 and top spec 1.5L turbo from RM128888. Proton Accordana 2.0L base model from RM105888 and top 2.4L RM120888. 98% will opt for the Honda Civic. The remaining 2% will opt for Proton Accord is from the government agencies. Good luck Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • vodka on May 16, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Is this Tinted Silver color found on the Jazz or the Lunar Silver on the US spec 10th Gen Civic?

• civicx on May 16, 2016 at 3:47 pm

where is lanewatch..safety features is important than paddle shift

• make sense on May 16, 2016 at 4:17 pm

For those guys complain about lanewatch, please you more logic and think.

1. Accord doesn’t even offer full honda sensing package.
    2. If they offer honda sensing in new civic, with already a stronger engine (1.5T vs 2.0), who else will buy the entry accord?
    3. Offering 6 air bags for all variant, emergency stop, rear aircond, remote engine start, walk away lock. For me this is already a big improvement from Honda.
    4. In general Malaysia motorcyclists are riding quite recklessly, side mirror always get hit, I don’t want end up with few thousand repair cost to replace side mirror with camera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Andas on May 16, 2016 at 6:29 pm

I aways remember when dato seri syed zainal launched exora, he said msian want european style, japanese tech but with msian price.

• honda accord full spec with lane watch, honda civic full spec should with it too.

• Amriji on May 17, 2016 at 1:15 am

If Honda cannot offer the sensing package…it is not our problem. We just move on to other manufacturers who can provide complete package. Now is a buyer’s market. Car manufacturers better shape up or just whittle away…

• civicx on May 17, 2016 at 10:49 am

typical malaysian thinking..safety features always not in 1st priority when buy car..that’s why toyota with 2 airbag & no safety features also able to selling like a hot cake

• Zoom Zoom on May 16, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Yes without Honda sensing tech, is still a big upgrade from 9th Gen in specs while maintaining the price at 11x,12x,13xk.+ more powerful 1.5turbo. Std specs like remote engine start, walk away lock not even available in some luxury cars cost above 200k. Std specs with 6 airbags/7″screen/rear aircond/cruise control/electronic hand brake/8 ways power seat still not good enough? Honda has done a good job lar. Bagi chance. don’t keep on complain only.. lol

• they should put honda lane watch on full spec version, as like honda accord 2.4 full spec.

• Amriji on May 17, 2016 at 1:17 am

Yes, it is still not good enough. Why should we get less than what is offered overseas? Honda wants us to buy their cars…they better not short change us. Currently, car market is a buyers market…

• Ah beng on May 16, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Wow looks great in real life as compared to ugly looking photos…surely will destrpy the fast ageing Mazda 3 amd steal some Altis buyers

• Kungfulou on May 16, 2016 at 10:31 pm

No, it can’t challenge mazda 3. Challenge Altis maybe. How bout kimchi cars, where do they stand nowadays?

• Saw this civic in the flesh, seriusly wow! U can really see the scale does impact the design. Nothing like in pictures, the stance very low, wide body and low roof, it makes handsome mazda 3 look like uncle car.

• Ong Chee Boon on May 16, 2016 at 9:43 pm

My two cents:

Front = Sexy!
    Side = Stylish!
    Wheel = Cool!
    Rear = The designer must be halfway drunk when designing the rear…

Okay, i can see many people here commenting about Honda Sensing safety features. While i think Honda is being stingy, the sad true reality is in malaysia majority of rakyat never give a damn about safety features.

Basic = 6 – 7 airbags + VSC we are talking about here, is not even 100% fully equipped across the brands guys. Do you seriously think Honda will add Honda Sensing when they are having a good sales and profit now? Toyota didn’t even offer the very “BASIC” safety features i mentioned above as standard across their product range.

• This will be the No. ONE CAR in bolihland…..stolen.

All keyless entry are weakpoint, yet they still use..?/

Do they care, if stolen buy another loh.

• Jobless on May 17, 2016 at 8:47 pm

New Kimci otr like the Celaka and Elanta as rare spotting a penyu bertelor at Trgganu beach

• APT Turbo on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:50 pm

I saw some news regarding new Honda Civic has overheat issue..is that real~~