It looks like the 2016 Honda Civic has begun rolling out to dealerships in Malaysia. These pix are thanks to paultan.org reader Effie Muzaffar, who spotted a trailer loaded with several units of the tenth-gen model on the highway. This could indicate that a local launch isn’t too far away.
Based on the images, we see the new Civic in different colours, including Dark Red Ruby Pearl and Crystal Black. We expect other popular colour options like White Orchid Pearl, Lunar Silver and more to join the palette as well at launch.
In our earlier report, a local dealer revealed that three variants of the Civic will be offered to buyers – a base 1.8, mid-spec 1.5 Turbo and top-spec 1.5 Turbo Premium. The latter was previewed during the My Auto Fest 2016 event, featuring chrome door handles, LED headlamps and 17-inch five-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels.
Though we can’t tell what headlamps are fitted due to the wrapping on the cars, the lack of chrome door handles indicate that none of these cars are the 1.5 Turbo Premium variant. However, the five-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels on six out of the seven cars seen here hint at the possibility that they are the mid-spec 1.5 Turbo variant.
As for the sole car with the shuriken-style wheel design, this is likely the 1.8L model. Said wheels look identical to that on the Civic 1.8 EL sold in Thailand.
As the variant names suggest, the base variant will be powered by the familiar 1.8 litre i-VTEC naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine making 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. The Turbo variants get the new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill that kicks out 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. Both engines are paired to a continuously variable transmission (CVT).
Regardless of variant, the Civic will come with six airbags and an eight-way powered seat as standard. The 2016 Honda Civic is set to be launched in Malaysia in Q2 2016, with the bookings already open for the C-segment model. With this new information, will you rushing to put in your order for the new Civic?
If you need further insights, do check out our review of the new Civic in Chiang Mai, Thailand, where we tried out both the NA and turbo versions.
GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic previewed in Malaysia
AI-generated Summary ✨
Comments on the blog post about the 2016 Honda Civic in Malaysia mostly focus on its design, performance, and comparison with other cars. Many users find the Civic larger, sportier, and more aerodynamic than previous models, praising its interior and modern features. There are debates over the turbo engine’s power and fuel economy, with some favoring the Focus for driving appeal. Several comments compare the Civic to other popular models like the Altis, Mazda3, and Proton, often highlighting the Civic's superior refinement and design. Some comments mention the car's popularity and limited availability as they are quickly sold to dealers. Overall, the mood is positive, with admiration for Honda's latest offering, though some users express skepticism about features and market positioning.