GALLERY: Honda Civic – 10th-gen FC vs 9th-gen FB

Honda Civic New vs Old 1

You’ve read what we think about the new 2016 Honda Civic vis-à-vis the outgoing Civic and Japanese rivals such as the Toyota Corolla Altis and Mazda 3, so there’s no point beating around the bush here – the Civic is back on form, and this new car is an all-rounder that will re-energise the C-segment.

The FC is an improvement over the underwhelming ninth-gen Civic FB in all areas, but in no other department is the difference so stark as in design – as captured in our latest New vs Old gallery.

First, the new car is significantly larger. The FC, at 4,630 mm long and 1,799 mm wide, is a 105 mm lengthier and 44 mm wider than the FB. The larger footprint is coupled with a 19 mm reduction in height (1,416 mm) for a sleek appearance. The wheelbase – cut by 30 mm from FD to FB – is (almost) back to where it was, at 2,698 mm.

Honda Civic New vs Old 5

The FB is an evolution of the revolutionary FD, carrying over the eighth-gen car’s radical monoform shape and dual-tier cabin, although the original concept was better executed. Like the FD in 2006, today’s Civic boasts a shape that’s new in the market, never mind the segment. Fastback-style, with a sloping roof and sculptured panels – it’s quite a sight and really eye-catching from certain angles.

We’ll let this gallery – FC vs FB with Chiang Mai’s iconic Tha Phae Gate as background – do the rest of the talking. The Civic will be launched in Malaysia very soon, and is now open for booking.

Check out details of the local-spec tenth-gen Civic and read our review of the 1.8 NA and 1.5 Turbo.

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo RS, Thai-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The new one looks 100000000% better. Probably better in every single regard. Can this car make the local C-segment come alive again? Time will tell.

Sempat ke orang nak balik kampung in time for Raya with a new Civic Turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Tak sempat coz turbocor tengah jalan on May 13, 2016 at 6:58 pm

As above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Accordana pun tak sempat launch b4 raya on May 13, 2016 at 7:37 pm

At this rate, next gen Accord will launch before PROTON’s rebadged last gen Accord will.

• Mazda 3 on May 15, 2016 at 1:24 pm

The real design look aweful same with previous gen….suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Where on planet Malaysia is Honda Sensing? on May 13, 2016 at 4:16 pm

With respect, journalism comes with some ethical responsibilities, and those of you on this website who cover Honda Civic should start talking about Honda Sensing. Don’t hide it away from Malaysian public.

At least 4 of the technologies offered by Honda Sensing can be turned on/off as desired: cruise control, lane keeping assist, road departure mitigation and collision mitigation braking system. These technologies are NOT NEW – Merc, BMW and other premium brands already have them for years.

Those who say that Malaysian roads are not suitable for Sensing, it is safe to say that you have not driven before in the UK or US. Please try not to assume that the drivers and road conditions there are paradise. The roads in these countries during winter are dangerous due to snow and sleet, not to mention the numerous cyclists there prone to causing accidents.

The main difference between developed countries and us is not due to mere road conditions – it’s our mindset. Don’t ever fear technologies if you want progress. Think beyond 6 airbags and VSA if Malaysians want to have less road accidents’ death rate, one of the highest in the world.

Executives at Honda Malaysia want profit (money, money and money), that’s the biggest reason they use Malaysians as guinea pigs in their double standard practice of excluding Sensing in our market.

Go sleep at night calmly, Honda Malaysia executives and shareholders, while your RM100k+ customers risk their lives on the roads.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 11
    • bad thumb on May 13, 2016 at 7:51 pm

damn i want to like but my thumb too big i hit dislike button instead T.T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • wayang on May 13, 2016 at 9:20 pm

LOL
      Actually youre right on the mindset, but the mindset of people like you who are injecting negativity into the society that is hindering the progress of the country and not vice versa

Theres nothing Honda Malaysia can do given the small volume of cars, thus alot of features has to be omitted for our market and prices adjusted according to our small market

The US sold 17.5 million vehicles last year
      http://www.wsj.com/articles/u-s-car-sales-poised-for-their-best-month-ever-1451999939

While Malaysia only sold 0.66 million vehicle
      http://paultan.org/2016/01/21/maa-releases-2015-total-industry-volume-tiv-sales-figures-for-malaysia-666674-units-matches-2014/

So its natural for car manufacturers to focus in countries where their volume is high and lower their selling prices due to the amount of volume that those countries are pushing

Oh and theres no benefit for Honda Malaysia to use you as guinea pigs either
      Our volume is like lab scale volume and doesnt reflect any true findings if they wanted validation on their experiment
      In other words the data is too small to make any significant findings for them
      Thus they always launch their vehicles in a high volume market first and then later to lower volume markets
      So you can rest assured that if youre getting a model later, it means most of the teething problem associated with it has been rectified unless its a engineering design flaw

Theres no free lunch in this world as well, safety is definitely not free.
      Dont believe me?
      The rich gets the best lock in the world, chauffered in the best bullet proof car in the world, and protected by the best security guards in the world.
      They also have privelege banking rooms and also privileged secured car parks designated for them
      You and the rest of the people who cannot afford it, has to risk your little money being snatched while coming out of the bank, your hand bags being snatched while walking on the road and etc
      Welcome to the real world and face the reality

So you can go sleep tonight calmly without so much anger towards car manufacturers for ripping you off here when you understand the small volume we have compare to other countries that is causing the price/spec differences
      And you also can go sleep calmly understanding that nothing is free in life
      Stop injecting negativity into the society
      We have enough problems and people say if you are of no help to the problem at least dont be a part of the problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 60
      • insider on May 14, 2016 at 11:33 am

Honda salesman. Or maybe honda malaysia staff. Butthurt mode ON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • wayang on May 14, 2016 at 12:46 pm

cant even counter and have to resort to accusation ;)
          you need ky jelly?
          oh i asked because i thought you need, but im not a ky jelly sales man ya

ive defended various car manufacturers on this blog with this nick that makes me sole distributor of various car brrands by your logic?

put more ky jelly
          else it gonna hurt
          again i recommend ky jelly only, not a sales or working in ky jelly

• Sensing on May 14, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Close shop Honda!

• guinea pig on May 15, 2016 at 4:41 am

As you said if Honda is focused on the foreign market, they can reduce other features than active or passive safety features. if ford, KIA and other car-makers can give us best safety why some bitchy Japanese (excluding Mazda) automakers can’t?!

• wayang on May 15, 2016 at 6:25 pm

what other features are you talking about then?

honda already given 6 airbags and vsc across the board as per complaint
          now given then complain no sensing?

stop asking companies to mimic one another
          the japs has their strength and weakness while koreans has their own
          if the japs = korean u might as well unify them all under one car brand
          then you complain monopoly and no competition

the japs might offer you a bit lower in spec, but they excel in car parts and service center when compare to the koreans

to you no sensing feature maybe can die
          to alot of other normal car buyers, not enough service center, has to wait for parts and no second hand value when they want to change car means can die

stop bitching about it
          if you want everything to be perfect, start your own car brand
          i’ll put my money where my mouth is and buy from you
          but make sure its perfect in every aspect

• Ben yap on May 14, 2016 at 11:11 pm

No vsc, complain. Give vsc, complain again by saying no features. Go build your own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • nubie on May 13, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Any opinions? 130K company car allowance.

Get which 1? Honda Civic, Mazda CX3 or VW Jetta.

• I’ll get Ford Focus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Feeed on May 14, 2016 at 2:22 pm

New focus is good but if Headlight come with projector will be better .

• Goodluck on May 13, 2016 at 8:36 pm

My opinion is that you choose the car where in 3 years time will still make you stand out like an upwardly mobile executive, rather that the one that will eventually blend you in with the common crowd.

Otherwise just go with what your heart tells you. After all, your next job might not give you a 130K car allowance!

• Heaven on May 14, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Its a no-brainer. You should stretch the company car budget to the maximum 150k since there’s 20%initial allowance + 20%capital allowance on the first year plus 20% annual ca for the remaining 4 years. Plus it would makes sense to get a budget new Conti so that you could write it off by the 6th year from your company books.

• renault fluense….no regrats

• cant wait for the pricing!

• komarad on May 13, 2016 at 4:44 pm

say yes to honda…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Heaven on May 14, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Before getting too excited, potential Honda buyers should first go into Facebook and search ‘Honda Malaysia Problems’. Just make sure you get your wife to hold on to your seat to avoid falling off.

• No Civic,Not Young before. on May 13, 2016 at 5:08 pm

This two gen Civic are look the same. The logo and name only. Generation of Civic apparently have suffer failure every 2 gen made. Common problem for civic was rear bearing fail, Engine mounting easy break, power steering pump malfunction, aircond compressor & pipe leak, bearing rosak is very common for all civic. Altis has not frequently seen these problem. less maintenance, pls get Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
    • Ultimately Depends on customers preference actually.
      Yes the Toyota Altis has lower maintanance and problems. But the Civic is the car enthusiast’s first choice. Vtec Kicked In feelings.
      Even Mr Harvinder Singh mentioned that the civic is the 1st choice among car enthusiasts in the Driven Web series a while back. Overall, we Malaysians Love Hondas very very much. This is evident by the thousands of units seen on Malaysian Roads and Highways daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Meanwhile Altis gives 2 airbags and no VSC while 6 airbags and VSC is standard for Civic for all variants.

• ajib sheme on May 13, 2016 at 5:30 pm

nice rear bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Car Explode on May 13, 2016 at 5:35 pm

My vote for non-national car is only one:

Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Big Fan on May 13, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Nice

• Why buy this when you can have a Perdana, which is a D segment? Smart people buy Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
    • mana harga turun? on May 13, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Perdana i heard use mouse copy and paste from ex gen Accord leh. Dont you get the leak info oled?outdate Malaysian lah u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Pasta on May 14, 2016 at 8:23 am

Please google rebadging. You just like hearsay than real knowledge. Btw your worshipped brand toyota oso copy paste if according to your term

• elson on May 13, 2016 at 6:17 pm

9th gen are the failure civic ever in honda history

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on May 13, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Great photos. Hard to believe that both cars are just 5 years apart… looks more like 15. The FD still looks more modern than the FB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
  • is this a facelift because they just add some extension to FB’s tail lights. damn lazy honda designer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • wayang on May 13, 2016 at 11:45 pm

Yeah Honda wasted alot of money employing so many expensive lazy designers, can you please show them how a proper car should be designed?
      You can showcase your talent and put them all to shame

• Sack the designers!

• lol. i design buildings for a living. and if you’re a designer you won’t be butthurt with comments like this. sometimes fanboys are more sensitive than the person who design this because designers get criticized all the time.

• wayang on May 15, 2016 at 6:33 pm

fair enough
          show me some of your work
          i would love to criticize too

btw i clean toilets for a living
          you’d be sensitive too when people simply dump their rubbish into the toilet bowl and complain about it clogging
          i get it all the time

oh im sure you wont mind a toilet cleaner like me criticizing your work right?

• Sohai on May 15, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Why the design is like kid design? No unique word in their vocab

• The old Civic looks like a toy in comparison.

• Jobless on May 13, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Looks rather like a facelift look closer the entire boot from c pillar onwards especially the rear lights same shape..even the front looks the same to me..Maybe they just stretched the old platform..same wit current Altis actually usingmodified old platform..as a car blog u should find out and highlight instead of repeating wat themanufacturers sez…anyway the interior lookslike Altis copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • nobrand on May 13, 2016 at 9:41 pm

This car looks like robot in japanese cartoon

• DPCraft on May 13, 2016 at 10:14 pm

The new taillight is sharp definitely looks better then our FB’s Ah beng smile rear design. However both also lose to FD’s Elegant yet aggressive taillights.

• DPCraft on May 13, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Put an FD beside, boom FB & FC looks like Ah Beng.

• the 9th generation is more like facelift of 8th generation.

merely facelift.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 14, 2016 at 11:28 am

Bit unfair comparing the lowest spec FB against the highest spec FC. That FB only has 16 inch rims and the rims aren’t that great looking. Anyways, beauty is subjective, I think the FB (in 2.0 guise) has a better side profile than the FC. I think the FC’s sloping roofline and sharply raked rear windscreen is not as well executed as the Audi A5 Sportback or the BMW 4 Series GC. Other angles, the FC is better than FB. But i still think Mazda3 is the best design in this C Class segment. It really makes you want to zoom zoom.

• Uglee on May 14, 2016 at 12:26 pm

All are ugly

• Mazdafan on May 14, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Mazda 3 rear so kontot one. Ugly to the max. Front so so only. Side profile front better but cant look at rear end. Ugly.

• Mangali Singh on May 14, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Can’t believe they made the butt so damn fugly…. out of idea i suppose… skip.

• the side mirror comes with rear/blind spot camera rite?

wow, in malaysia our side mirror tend to get knock by bikes or car/truck sometimes…would be costly to fix it ^^

• Randi on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:04 pm

That’s way the beestst answer so far!