New taxi app from Big Blue Taxi will launch in October

Malaysia-Taxi-02

It was earlier reported that Big Blue Taxi Services is looking to launch its own mobile application to go up against the likes of Uber and Grab. Now, more information about the imminent service has been revealed, based on a report by The Star.

The new app, which is expected to be launched in October (instead of July), will cater to users in the city’s Golden Triangle region, Ampang, Bangsar, Damansara and Sri Hartamas. Big Blue Taxi Services founder Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail said a base rate of RM2 would be charged to users, and that they would have a choice of taxi drivers around them.

Each taxi driver registered with the service will have their details published in the app, and be assigned a star-rating based on customer reviews on their level of service. Other features, including a complaints section for users and a panic button linked to the police in case of emergencies, can also be found in the app.

“Obviously, they (Uber and Grab) will say their app is better. We are coming out with this app to boost revenue for our taxi drivers and to provide satisfactory services for our customers. We admit that Uber and GrabCar have done a good job in creating the platform. But the difference between them and our app is the features and the fact that our taxis have permits and are legal,” Shamsubahrin explained.

Big-Blue-Taxi-01

The app will also include package deals for those who are looking to travel from the city to out-of-state destinations like Genting Highlands, Malacca and Penang. There is even a “carpooling” function, allowing people within proximity who are heading to the same place to share a ride and split the cost.

In the future, Shamsubahrin said Big Blue is contemplating adding a taxi delivery service to the app. Users will be able to hail a cab, drop their goods off, and have them sent to a location. Payment for service can be done using cash or online payment. “We are just trying to remain competitive in the industry,” he said.

The yet-unnamed app will join one of the many new mobile apps available in the country today, with the most recent being iTeksi. In November last year, MesraCab made its debut, followed by Oride.taxi a few months later. The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) are also coming up with an app of its own.

Shamsubahrin has been one of the more vocal personalities against the “illegal operations” of app-based ridesharing services like Uber and Grab in Malaysia. The authorities are looking to legalise such services by end-2016, with an ‘e-hailing’ model set to create a level playing field between app-based ridesharing services and conventional taxis. With Big Blue’s new app and new regulations on the way, do you think taxi drivers will finally be at peace?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yes, the problem was always the app.
    *snigger*

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 11:31 am

In May 18 of last year, Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail was sentenced to a total of 73 years’ jail for money-laundering and cheating National Feedlot Corporation (NFCorp).

I have no idea why he is running around here and making all sorts of comments.

Or our Prison system can give free cuti to inmates? why not serving your prison time?

Can the Prisons DG give an answer how he can give press conference from his cell?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Albert Peria on May 30, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Datuk tak ada appeal, tak ada bail pun, boleh lepak luar penjara? Amboi, best nya penjara di Malaysia

• wondering whether he got “four strokes of the rotan” from jail though….

• Dear Paul Tan and Gerard Lye,
      Can you please change the pic of that guy next time?
      I have seen this photo so many times in Paul Tan news and laughed almost every time. I thought it was a monkey or king kong when the first time i saw it. Now just reminding me a king kong holding a piece of paper…..I believe he has more handsome photos right?

• you just have to use that specific photo of that specific person aren’t you?

:’D

• Bas mini No. 14 on May 30, 2016 at 11:27 am

Bravo!
    Cheaper fares for rides in 20yrs old Iswara cabs.

• Scott on May 30, 2016 at 11:35 am

One hundred, billion dollar!

• Sgt Scoop on May 30, 2016 at 11:39 am

I really need more taxi apps on my phone. I just can’t get enough of them.

• john is otak batu on May 30, 2016 at 11:49 am

Jangan sebut install app ,hantu pun takut nak lihat/guna apps dia!

• Now that both taxi and uber/grab have apps & uber/grab drivers need to register PSV, so now level playing field.

So shuddup and do ur work, or taxis really become extinct for real.

• MP 3.85 on May 30, 2016 at 1:07 pm

I just vomited all my lunch upon seeing Mini-Me of Malaysia….

• Jeffrey Chew on May 30, 2016 at 1:12 pm

He looks like Dr. Evil in Austin Power

• peter on May 30, 2016 at 1:45 pm

With his taxi company being the main champion creating the traffic jam and street protests in KL and his rude and selfish attitude, there is absolutely no way I’m ever going to install this app or ever take his cabs (used to take before but with his nonsense, no way).

• How many apps they want to launch?

Whatever business these people do, they will want to form an association. Persatuan Taxi…, Persatuan Kontraktor…, Persatuan Peniaga-peniaga…, then they will have Gabungan Persatuan-Persatuan …. and what do they do? Perjuangan and memperkasakan … ada je benda nak diperjuangkan.

• waters on May 30, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Aiyo, these guys ah…it’s not the app. It’s the taxis!! Sir, why don’t you create an app that allows me to get the nearest private or commercial car that has signed up and not pay a RM2 booking fee. The app should be linked to my credit card and allow me to rate the driver.

• Not amused and not bothered. Doesnt make any difference. Smart passengers 99percent of them will opt uber or grab at any given circumstances. Dooooh

• Syoik Tiru Tiru Malaysia on May 31, 2016 at 10:36 am

This lousy apps……even brader-brader bangla won’t install in their RM99 handphone…..

Waste of memory space only…..