Proton says cars can be jump-started, releases guide

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 019

Proton has come out to reassure customers that all its cars can be jump-started just like any other car, refuting an earlier photo circulated on social media that claimed that doing so will cause irreparable damage to the Transmission Control Unit (TCU).

At the same time, the national carmaker has said that its cars – like those from other carmakers, it adds – are fitted with electronic components that are sensitive to power surges, and thus has advised owners to refer to the owners manual when it comes to jump-starting their vehicle.

In particular, the company has warned against connecting the negative terminal of the booster battery to the negative terminal of the discharged battery, but on the body surface or engine block of the affected vehicle instead. This would prevent any damage caused to the electronic systems – yes, like the TCU.

Additionally, Proton has also listed the steps found in the owner’s manual to jump-start a car. These include:

• Vehicles should be close enough so that the jumper cables could be connected, but be sure that the vehicles are not touching each other. Doing so could cause an undesirable ground connection. It will not be possible to start the vehicle, and the bad grounding could damage electrical systems.
  • The assisting vehicle must have a 12-volt battery and the capacity (Ah) of the booster battery should not be significantly lower than that of the discharged battery. This is to avoid damage caused by circuit shorting both vehicles. Only use jumper cables with insulated battery clamps.
  • Vehicle must be positioned in “P” (Park) for an automatic transmission and in neutral for a manual transmission.
  • Turn off the ignition on both vehicles beforehand.
  • When connecting the booster cable, do not connect the positive (+) cable to the negative (-) terminal, as this could cause sparks and result in the battery exploding.
  • The negative jumper cable (black) must never be clamped to fuel lines with metal sheath or to the fuel filter or brake lines as this could cause a fire.
  • Start the engine in the vehicle which has the booster battery, let the engine idle for a few minutes and then start the engine in the vehicle with the discharged battery.
  • After the engine is started, disconnect the cables in reverse order.

For further inspection and to replace the battery, call Proton’s customer care hotline at 1800 888 398; you can also email [email protected] for enquiries and assistance.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• rip diesel on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:48 am

old proton do it the traditional way..
    conti car got a special place to plug..

this..mmh..interesting..

• Same L00 on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:54 pm

The owners eventually all become experienced mechanics after 2 years maintaining their Proton. Don’t play play with Proton QC.
      No wonder my service centre guy told me “Wanna learn repair a car in short time? Get a Proton then!”

• Mechanic on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:23 am

Biasalah bang, ni kereta Proton

• azrai on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:50 am

Who is in the first place viralling about do not jump start Proton? And for the company itself, I think they cannot jump start, they should give CPR to Proton instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Who u ask? Sam Loo. Cuz he got nothing better to do after 77% sales drop. Either that or swat flies from showroom cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • You cannot jump start a lazy company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • azrai on Jun 10, 2016 at 4:17 pm

..and most of the time many paultan readers ‘jump to conclusion’ just by reading the headline only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Most of the commenters are a bunch of keyboard warriors. They will talk politics in a car forum

• Khursiah Mohamad Salleh on Jul 07, 2017 at 7:23 am

I wonder those who commented has any proton car. . I had use 7 proton along with my kids. I was satisfied and proud to own national cars for the last 30 years. NO such thing as going into workshop again n again and low mantainance.

• I wonder those who commented has any proton car. . I had use 7 proton along with my kids. I was satisfied and proud to own national cars for the last 30 years. NO such thing as going into workshop again n again and low mantainance.

• Proton owners are probably used to this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • yes of cource, like other honda, toyota, merc, bm, hyundai, and produassssss owners…

• azrai on Jun 10, 2016 at 4:18 pm

No la…Perodua owners used to ‘jump Q’ when it is jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • I’ve always connect -ve to body first then only +ve to +ve.any PT author or fellow readers with good EE knowledge can clarify whether there is any harm in doing this?risk of getting electrocuted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Amriji on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:43 pm

What U did is correct. No harm. Just be careful not to touch the terminal and the battery clip buaya with your barehands.

• Should connect +ve first, then -ve..to avoid spark.

• What I have learned connect both +ve and -ve from weak battery to the booster battery, but not the body. Any disadvantage doing such way?

• somedude on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:17 pm

For safety reason as others stated, always connect positive first. If u do -ve first, then when you proceed to positive, your tool(spanner) might touch other body parts of the car. Creating short circuit and damage the battery + spark + fire hazard.

Best place for negative end connection is car body because the booster battery negative terminal might accumulate a coating that’s high in resistance, reducing power transfer to your weak battery.

• This is for lazy pipu who dun read their manuals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
  • Rakyat M'sia on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Pls….pls…pls…pro..ton….where is ur perdana???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jun 10, 2016 at 2:15 pm

This week launch confirm by management.

• Papa muu on Jun 11, 2016 at 2:07 pm

wahhhh ada org nda sabar nak beli perdana la :D sabar ya nak, nnti papa belikan kw perdana

• Ollie on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Rm 1.5 billion – for research into jump-start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
  • pengayuhbasikal on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:13 pm

For electronic loaded modern car , if the battery died…change to new battery is the safest way to go..instead of jump start it and drive away .

IF the died battery not able to store any power , the power will be extracted from alternator hence strain the alternator .. and having stable power input from battery is important to electronic system unless the voltage stabiliser came built in with the car electronics.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Don’t believe everything you read on the internet… even if it’s ‘shared’ or viewed by millions.

If this was America, Proton could rightfully sue (and win) the bastard who ‘sebarkan fitnah’ about the so-called TCU catching fire nonsense. Now, no matter what Proton or mechanics say, some Malaysians will continue to question what is really true and what isn’t.

In the end, it is Proton who loses… again. Welcome to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Consumer on Jun 10, 2016 at 1:03 pm

This is good though, not every one is reading manual. And it should be common to all jump starters. Not only proton.

• Proton Blanket on Jun 10, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Proton ran out of $$$ juice, so it does the same by jump start to the government for more $$$ juice

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 10, 2016 at 2:01 pm

i always connect the -ve to the weak car’s starter contact.. not the terminal

• pejuang on Jun 10, 2016 at 2:29 pm

if u didn’t buy a proton u probably never have to jump start ur car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • Car battery kong not because the car brand. Any car brand you own, either jump start or get a new battery if the battery kong.

• Its all about battery
      not the car maker

• leonardo on Jun 10, 2016 at 4:40 pm

@Pejuang – i have owned many cars, Protons and Non Proton cars before. Also a few 4WDs. It is about the battery condition, not the cars that the battery sits in. If it’s time for the batteries to conk up on you, it doesn’t matter what car you drive.
      Jump starting is only for emergencies when you cannot get a battery replacement immediately at your location.

• azrai on Jun 10, 2016 at 4:20 pm

For the company, instead of jump start they must now use a defibrillator.

• You might use it someday, at that moment you cant laugh like now

• Adudu on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Other alternative than jump start is borrow battery from others or if near to workshop, can send battery for charging.

• Curious aunty on Jun 12, 2016 at 4:03 pm

As i refer to the picture and article provided, why the positive cable on battery and negative cable on engine? I thought jump start is only battery related? Pls enlighten me, i am a lady driver with least experience *cry*