Bids for F 1 number plate to exceed RM1 million – JPJ

Putrajaya-F-No-Plate

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) is hoping to hit a new record with the implementation of the ‘F’ license plate numbers for Putrajaya. It expects bids for the vehicle registration number ‘F 1’ to exceed RM1 million during the tender period from June 1 until noon on June 14.

Should bids for the coveted ‘F 1’ number plate exceed RM1 million, it will be the most expensive vehicle registration number ever bought in the country. The highest price ever paid for a regular Malaysian number plate thus far was RM748,000 for ‘W1N’ by Sultan Ibrahim Ismail of Johor.

In a report by The Star, JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said the bidding process, which is done through an open tender, would end on Tuesday. Following this, the tender for the ‘V’ license plate numbers would begin on July 15 until the end of the month.

In a previous report, deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said, “I think many Ferrari owners will be queuing up to bid for the single alphabet of ‘F’ (number plate).” We’d expect other number plates in the range – F 12, F 40, F 50 F 355, F 360, F 430, F 458, F 575, F 550, F 612 and many others to be pretty popular with buyers as well.

What do you think the winning bid amount for the ‘F 1’ plate will be? Do you think it will exceed the million Ringgit mark? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hailthepurist on Jun 13, 2016 at 9:48 am

$$$ do make smart people turn idiots..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Lulla on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:14 am

Better help poor n needy instead rather then wasted money on this nonsense issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • pomen on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:16 am

gov really make easy money…

• superbird #43 on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:38 am

FA1L

• C.P.MOHAN on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:48 am

More like “easy come easy go”

• Fizo Omar on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:59 am

I want F120 ( FIZO )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:06 am

Very good the Government is finding creative ways to make more money. But sadly, money collected is not used wisely. Simply waste. Like renting a Private plane for RM98 million when you already got 7 Government only planes ready to take you FREE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:14 am

Government should set up a scheme whereby the money JPJ collects from these number tenders go directly into charity homes and charity organisations.

Then, it will be worth it. Otherwise now, money will go into don’t know whose pocket. We really can’t trust the JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • contender on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:15 am

The best number plate would be PATRIOT ….. nothing better, the only drawback is money does not go to JPJ

• Redline on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:27 am

This is really nothing more than rich people DONATING their money to the government. If some people want to donate their money to the government and get a nice number plate in the process, then hey, good for you. I personally wouldnt spend too much on number plates, but thats just me.

• Car lover on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:30 am

Always asked the rayat spend wisely and compare the price but sendiri spend rayat money without comparing. Just simply spend and enjoy sendiri and let rayat mati sendiri and keep take out and removed the subsidise.

• Ragnarok on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:45 am

Its easy to say that its a dumb thing to pay so much for a bloody registration number just to be unique and to compliment a Ferrari or McLaren especially tho we’ll never understand how the rich’ mind think. But given that I am not rich as some already interested parties, why not just spend the money on something more tangible? What good is a fancy plate number? To prove that ‘you’ are the one? You can afford to pay for a plate of 1 alphabet n a number? For easy identification? As mentioned earlier, to compliment with your Ferrari with F1 techs or McLaren F1?
    Again, as mentioned earlier, its easy to say that its dumb to fork out so much. Something the rich might say us lesser folks won’t understand the significance but paying for a million ringgit? How smart can that be?

• poor fag on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:46 pm

That’s because u think 1 million is a lot.. to the rich is just peanut.. when u got so much money dunno where to spend on, a nice number plate looks good..

• Black Dog on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:00 pm

After they change the KL number plate to V series, the the current W xxx A series will become limited edition and very valuable soon. Keep it!

• I put in my bid F1 for 1 buck

• Not kaya on Jun 13, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Aiya ! 1 million ringgit for 2 digit number , sure the buyer really rich , for the buyers 1 million number , think first , your 1 million much better give to charity , until you die people will remember you

• expecting 1mil?2.6b ok?50b enough?

• Robinie King Sharmila Devi Donald on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:51 pm

My bf has tendered all the special number. We tenget soon for V oso. My slk need v86. Pray for me to win

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22