New WP Putrajaya F 1 to F 9999 number plates open for tender next week – will we see a new record?

Putrajaya-F-No-Plate

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) is wasting no time in implementing the new ‘F’ license plate numbers for the administrative capital of Putrajaya. It announced today that the F 1 to F 9999 number plate series will be open for tender starting from June 1, ending noon on June 14.

Last week, it was announced that the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya will receive new ‘V’ and ‘F’ prefixes on vehicle number plates, replacing the current Wilayah Persekutuan number plate sequence of a prefix and suffix – introduced in September 2013 – and the ‘Putrajaya’ plates, respectively.

According to deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi, the public were more comfortable with the traditional number plate sequence of a single prefix, versus a prefix and suffix numbering system. “This is based on massive decline in bidding for the current KL number plate sequence. So I hope with ‘V’, it will get people excited,” he said.

Commenting on the ‘F’ prefix for Putrajaya, Aziz said the ministry had received a request from Putrajaya Corporation for a ‘Putrajaya’ prefix followed by a number sequence and alphabet suffix, but was rejected due to length. In this case, ‘F’ stands for federal. Aziz said he expected a lot of public interest in the new number plates, especially for the ‘F 1’ Putrajaya plate.

“I think many Ferrari owners will be queuing up to bid for the single alphabet of ‘F’ (number plate),” said Aziz, in jest. The ‘V’ series for WP Kuala Lumpur will be open for tender sometime after the Hari Raya holidays.

The highest price ever paid for a regular Malaysian number plate was RM748,000 for ‘W1N’ by Sultan Ibrahim Ismail of Johor, who also paid RM520,000 for ‘WWW 1’ in 2012. The buyer of the special ‘PATRIOT 1’ plate paid a reported RM1,308,000 for the honour. Will we see a new record with the new ‘F’ and ‘V’ plates? Plenty of cool possibilities with these two alphabets, don’t you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 23, 2016 at 4:01 pm

F47.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Effnine on May 23, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Hope nobody else bidding for F9 in honour of my grades at school.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • LatukBandar on May 23, 2016 at 4:07 pm

With so many alphabet to use, they should have move on to a new alphebet long ago, not WWW 1111 A. Too long.

Now they gostan… Malaysian style. Anyway, F… I don like F… like F for Fail. Just like how people prefer W over B, because nobody wants to get B grade in school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • seancorr (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Ferrari has quite a handful of models from the F355 up to the F612…would love to see a F50 with the F50 plate number on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • thebosssedangbercakap on May 23, 2016 at 4:19 pm

the only way to get the “real”people to be excited is to come out with affordable customized number plates. Not numbers alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Numero Uno on May 23, 2016 at 4:23 pm

For Malaysians it’s all about the numbers: 8, 18, 28,38, 69, 88, 888, etc. Unless you can get the alphabets in your name, no one actually cares what alphabet is in front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • “massive decline in bidding for the current KL number plate sequence” because “WC” refer to “JAMBAN”, why no one say anything?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Matchy on May 23, 2016 at 4:43 pm

V for Victory

• Tristars on May 23, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Due to low bidding, lets introduce new prefix. Kind of stupid reason to me. JPJ mo more money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Gomen boh Lui Liao. Kar nah gong kia Beh har leh lumber bia.

• Big company got untung every years also keep on to make money la kawan. If the gov agency can make money by their own, why not. JPJ are not forcing anybody to buy the reg number anyway.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 23, 2016 at 5:26 pm

I will bet everything that it will belong to DYMM Sultan JOHOR…………. F1 plate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • digidigi on May 23, 2016 at 5:27 pm

not sure if the pricing can set new record, but most likely the highest bid will be from johor.

• More money on May 23, 2016 at 5:39 pm

This is how letters and numbers on vehicle number plates can generate more income to the gov.

• lpost on May 23, 2016 at 5:45 pm

F1 will be more than RM1m

• sohai on May 23, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Than how do you explain why certain series like WWW and RM got more bids than other?
    Your theory couldn’t be more wrong.
    And is not just the 8s. I know of someone who likes ‘1957’ solely because is our independence.
    The F series is lauched not because because of the alphabets infront, is because of the alphabet at the back that people don’t like.

• Plat number should become identification for vehicles registered in Malaysia. The move seem to target more ‘money’ from bidding process. I think gov agencies like JPJ should not be doing this.

• Why should not they do it? They not forcing anybody to buy and if gov agency can earn their own income (not all), it is good. Less funding (from our tax) will be allocated to them buy the Fed Gov. Key point here, if you want to buy, you buy. If not, JPJ not forcing you to buy.

• Medic on May 23, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Hi Danny, i thought the most paid for a plate was PATRIOT 1?

• Wee fuk yew on May 23, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Nobody would like the f word displayed infront n back of their car. That is unless they dont care less or dont have a choice.
    Its just hype to get people to be interested. Anyway,Suckers are born every second. Cest la vie

• heybadigol (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Is F1 a registered trademark? Must the person buying the plate number also pay Bernie for the rights?

• Tak happy, pukul Najix lah! on May 23, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Lewis Hamilton or Sebastian Vettel will be F1 plate owner

• Mat Cendana on May 23, 2016 at 8:23 pm

What’s wrong with JPJ trying to bring in money? It will go to the nation’s coffers, not to some crony. JPJ should be applauded for this move.

The bidding is very fair – if someone wants a certain number and willing to pay big bucks to the country for it, then it’s a Win-Win situation. Bidding for number plates is one of the best things in the country. It provides the bidder with what he wants. But doesn’t deny others anything. This is certainly better than previously where certain numbers are reserved for certain people.

• When was the last time anyone was able to buy a single letter number plate? Probably was an R plate from Perlis. So no surprise everyone from a certain Sultan, politicians, atas govt servants, so-called socialites, their hairdresser, security guard and pet hamster will vie for either an F or V plate. F 1 will probably be bought over a million ringgit or free if they are *cough* *cough* anggota kera-jaan.

• Goldie on May 23, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Be grateful, people, car sales in KK will nosedive next year when we get to SAD. Currently running SACxxxxD and yes we are used to long number plate long before you guys. As for F, why? Apart from famous, fabulous, fancy, I can’t think of any other nice words starting with F.

• kareem on May 23, 2016 at 10:50 pm

No value seen in F plate.
    WTF!!!

• sick&tired on May 23, 2016 at 11:52 pm

I want F69!

• maidin on May 24, 2016 at 12:00 am

i remembered F1 was a highest paid no plate used in middle east

• F stand for FAILURE … vely pantang

• superbird #43 on May 24, 2016 at 1:39 am

F150, F250, F350?

• Reject shop on May 24, 2016 at 7:54 am

So this replaces ‘W’ for good? This has never been made clear. Or is it just F1-9999 as a one-off?

• azrai on May 24, 2016 at 8:56 am

Economy down, even cars people don’t buy. And Public Bank, Hong Leong and StanChart just increase their rate.

• t2357s on May 24, 2016 at 11:55 am

Flip Flop mah. The story of Malaysia.

Education system – Flip Flop
    Auto policy – Flip Flop
    Politicians – Flip Flop
    1MDB – Flip Flop like crazy
    License plate Flip Flop considered kacang putih liao.

• F Boss on May 25, 2016 at 2:03 am

Where to tender? JPJ Putrajaya or KL?

• F for F@#$er