Proton Perdana coupé rendered – a Putra successor?

Proton_Perdana_Coupe_render_01

The new Proton Perdana already features a sleek – if rather busy – design, but what happens when you lop two doors off and shorten it? That’s what we were wondering too, so we commissioned resident Photoshop expert Theophilus Chin to come up with exclusive renderings of a Perdana coupé, which you see here.

Like what you see? The eagle-eyed amongst you would have noticed what the base car is – the previous eighth-generation Honda Accord Coupe, sold only in the United States. That should be of no surprise to any of you, as it is well known that the Perdana is based on an Accord sedan of that vintage.

The Perdana’s more rounded front end fits the profile of the Accord Coupe well – the latter’s fastback silhouette is actually closer to the rakish Proton’s, rather than the more upright one on the Honda sedan.

Proton_Perdana_Coupe_render_02

Theo also added the Perdana’s distinctive inverted L-shaped tail lights, prominent chrome rear bar with the new Proton logo, door handles, side skirts and massive rear diffuser with faux twin tailpipes, and the result is an even sportier look than the original car. The Proton’s two-tone wheels are also included, but have been resized to an almost comical degree, and fitted with rubber band tyres.

A bonus here too – the long front splitter, side skirts and the entire diffuser section has been coloured in black (rather than body-coloured on the sedan), and has also picked out the aforementioned tailpipes in chrome. This gives it a much more cohesive appearance and greatly reduces the visual bulk – it’s clearly what the sedan was meant to look like from the start, and it’s all the better for it.

So, what do you think of the Proton Perdana coupé? Could it be a spiritual successor to the long-departed Putra? Sound off in the comment section after the jump.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana sedan

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton should have just hire Theophilus Chin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 5
    • hahaha on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:46 pm

I like the work done but don’t think it will happen…

• I love Protons. Don’t let the foreign overlords bash us.
        Kipidap and dongibab. We bilip in you Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
        • Same L00 on Jun 16, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Still the chicken pox rear bumper (bottom) LOL

• Same Zaik Loo on Jun 16, 2016 at 10:33 pm

I love Toyotaiks. Don’t let the competitors bash us and steal our sales.

This car as well as Protons can pack up and balik kampung. We only bilip in Toyotaiks with ‘Guaranteed Future High Re**** Value’.

Remarks: This statement came out from UMW Toyotaik salesman as nobody want to buy their overpriced and underspecced cars already even with RM10k rebate (can be zero downpayment for potential buyers).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Pautan on Jun 16, 2016 at 4:17 pm

But first you need to poton-banana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Percordd on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Black bumper part is better. Please lah Proton! Haihhhh

• Kunta kinte supporter on Jun 16, 2016 at 11:15 pm

My boss kunta is always a good supporter of proton. He used his saga for 9 years. Even now he is using recond persona, can understand his frustration as we are all low income group and cannot afford to buy better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • tokmoh. on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Wow, the exhaust looks real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Any coupe in the world always cost far more than the sedan. If this is true, then this coupe will cost RM180k since the sedan is overpriced at RM114k

It is amazing that every single facebook comment on the Perdana is bashing the price. Everyone says it is overpriced.

Proton, please take note, see PT’s posting on the car on facebook and read the couple of thousands of postings, everyone condemning the price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:40 pm

I find the price RM113,888 is very cheap. Only a real bodoh will complain that is a high price. Work harder and you can buy at RM113,888.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 67
        • Price is always relative. I find civic at 135k dirt cheap but perdana 113k damn expensive. You will never figure it out.
          Nasi lemak kosong rm20 bloody expensive, sharkfin soup rm 25 dirt cheap. Got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • Albert on Jun 16, 2016 at 4:54 pm

kUNCI KUNTA,
        Protong boasted 900 dudes who prebooked Pondana without even looking at finished product.
        Who are these people?
        1.Those who advertised for them(P1 booked and gave to them as hadiah)
        2.Cronies suppliers ( got banyak hutang,ambik lah berapa keta u nak,contra deal je)
        3.Gomen heads of dept
        Only self syiok people buy rebadged overpriced cars.To them ,it is “IMAGE” ‘gaya”.For us ,it is plain STUPIDITY.
        Protecting a failed car,is lengthening the sufferings of the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Lolol on Jun 16, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Mana u tau?? U kerja sama proton ke? X pyh nak bt fitnah lah. Ada je org byk duit yg x kisah nak spend duit byk2. Bg diorg RM 14++++ tu ikan bilis je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Why u reply to ur own dupe?

• spongewai on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:38 pm

yes, it is nice but still rebadged the previous gen Accord based coupe

stop it and close it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
  • Diesel-Power!!! on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Totally not impressed with the rendered! I hv to agreed tht Theo is a talented guy, but do u think tht ur rendered pic might affected the manufacturer decision on their design? Maybe P1 decided to come out a design similar to urs, but after seeing urs, they may need to amend it to avoid any unforeseen circumstances.? Who knows?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • Yokohama24 on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Good job Theo! You should help save Proton.
    Accordana R3 NEO !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Theophilus Chin (Member) on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:16 pm

I believe there ARE talented designers within Proton. But sometimes the designers’ ideas get thrown out of the window by someone else; and that someone is without understanding of design or taste. For instance someone insisted that the new Perdana’s long front splitter, side skirts and the entire diffuser section be body-coloured; despite looking cheap and tacky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
      • that’s when u put a monkey in tat kind of position

• That is why I love Proton cars. They are designed by our own Malaysians and not foreign overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • redidiot on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Precisely mt thought as well- its not so much the designer but the person who decides.

• policeman on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:51 pm

No it’s not a Putra successor.
    It’ll cost too much. You know this.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Damn, looks quite nice actually !

It’s sad, but I highly doubt Proton will ever launch another Putra or 2-door coupé in the next half-decade at least, let alone a CP Accord-based Putra… even if Proton does it, the odds are it would be Prevé/Suprima S-based instead… possibly even Iriz/BH Persona-based.

The problem now is that in order for a new Putra to be made, Proton needs to sell more ‘pedestrian’ models. Even in the past, the Putra was not a volume seller, it was a niche model, and quite pricey as well. However, the Putra was ‘cool’ and desirable, especially in the modding scene. Like the Perdana V6 and Satria GTi, the Putra was a ‘brand image builder’, proof that Proton had the knowhow and capacity to build performance/luxury cars… if they had the capital (money).

Proton likely made a (financial) loss on the Putra, or minimal profits, unlike the runaway success that was the Wira. It was because the Wira was so successful that Proton could afford to ‘lose’ money on the Putra. Today, when even the much-improved Prevé is struggling to sell, there’s no way Proton is going to spend another RM300 million or so on a new Putra replacement. Same goes for the Satria GTi.

If Proton fans want another Putra, you all know what to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • P1 can no longer afford more than 1 niche models (Putra, Satria, Perdana, Jaguh).

Sensibly they shud just re-skin Satria Neo platform like what they did with Accordana, and re engine with upcoming TDi mill. With all new interior, this can last for another 5~7 years.

• redidiot on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:56 pm

If they are going to go down that path, then they shud look into the interior packaging- how to carve out more room, beter ergos, material etc. Its a good platform. Hampered by bad packaging and inferior power/ drive train combo.

• Sports car and roominess does not go together. Not even something as large as GTR.

I agree they shud update the interior, but just make it spartan and lightweight is gud enuff.

• Apa LanJixo Cibai pun ada on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:55 pm

I am impressed by Theophilus Chin art works for make the car nicer and re-chrome the twin tail pipe (instead of P1 sabotage) . Good Job, i mean…..Theophilus Chin, not P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • ProtonGSC on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Had to admit, sack Proton designer and hired Theophilus Chin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Bangsa on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Yalah…itu nama Othman designer tak ada design sense langsung, buang dia cepat2lah

• Sack the designer on Jun 16, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Sack the designer

• leonardo on Jun 17, 2016 at 8:27 am

Yalah…and hire you instead. That is if ever you get called for the interview in the first place.

• Can pls stop this nonsense Proton news? who cares??? this car is not taste of many young people anyway. 9 years old tech with cosmetic nose and backjob is nothing to be proud of. pls no more Proton news for rest of month…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 32
    • If u dun like, u can go back to Mkini, Rocket and come again after 1 month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 31
      • chin Yap on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Seriously John how much proton pays you? in all these trends you are the only one who support proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • Chin Yap, how much perodua pay u then?

• Albert Yong on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:59 pm

shameless person. No goals in life. No love from family

• U toking in front of mirror again, haven u?
            Told u to take ur medicine but u refuse.

• redidiot on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Leave him be. He’s free to support as much as anyone else is free to bash.

• I support PT to have the free will to write whateva they deemed is newsworthy.
            These jokers that keep telling what PT shud do or dun do can start their own blog if they feel they know better what the consumers wan.

• SAMLO on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

i want one

• I am the Stig on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Looks weird to me! Something doesn’t add up. I think the “butt” design needs fine tuning.

• azrai on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:31 pm

I think Brother’s should come out with 2 new products for the Perdana. 1st, the pre cut black/carbon fibre sticker to blackout the diffuser, and 2ndly, the chrome cover for those 2 faux aforementioned tailpipes.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Nice i like. .will sell like hotcakes..

• Lolol on Jun 16, 2016 at 7:49 pm

This car will sold more expensive than the perdana and Malaysian will bash it

• It took them 1/2 of their life and 1/3 of their soul to re-badge a Perdana. They won’t be doing this coupe until the next trance of RM1.5 bil soft loan from the gov.

• kapchai on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:58 pm

I like it
    Looks like a Holden or Opel of some years ago

• Aiyo, please don’t give them ideas lah, Paul. This will only result in another failure.
    But a true all new Putra I support. There’s still many going around in good condition too. It was one of the more flashy lookers in the stable back then…

• The rear design and colour is what should have been!!!

• donno on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:42 pm

There is a cult following of proton putra’s in the UK sometime ago. Lots of its owners fret when there is no successor to the putra, and the neo didn’t get its proposed vw turbo engine.

• faizul on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:59 pm

This is fantastic!

And at last, the fuel pump is on the driver side, which has always been proton’s style.

P/s: The fuel pump at driver side is actually a convenient feature that not many people appreciate.

• Bernard on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Couple it with a six speed close ratio gear box, sell it for 50k and it will dominate !

But I know that won’t happen. Just saying:)

• Jobless on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:09 pm

I suggest TC render his ideas on how the Perdana should look like by getting rid of the busy looking rear, cluttered bumpers, fake body colored exhausts and other tacky unnecessary parts. I’m sure he can come up with a more sleek and classy look. Then P1 can engage him to take them out of the 90’s in terms of car design.

• The Wira/Putra/Satria lines are dead, no need to bring it back,
    Just give them new silly names like Preve and Iriz.
    Or just Perdana coupé, modern name.

• perdanalamauser on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:28 pm

i think what theo did is the only acceptable things proton should do for a model that exist almost 10 years already. Making it a coupe is the only thing that can make many soul attracted to it.

• rider on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:58 pm

what so great bout this design? the designer just took out the rear doors. Every sedan cars can be changed to coupé.

• The looks is much better compared to the 4 doors, if assumption close to current proton lineup in terms of powertrain should be the 1.6 campro turbo + 6 speed manual?

0-100km maybe can go below 8sec with the proper weight reduction and fine tuning.

Another thing to improve is the color tone of the interior and lets put a recaro bucket seat just like the old putra and satria GTI used to be…

• Jason Lim on Jun 16, 2016 at 4:35 pm

proton should use this design for their diffuser/rear bumper area on perdana

the diffuser on perdana has very bad design
    body color + no cut out for the fake exhaust

• Silthice on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Proton don’t even dare/allow to change the door in the first place

• R3BOSS on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Boring. If i am the ceo, i will throw the design out of the window.

• Nice Rendering of Perdana Coupe on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Wow, just amazing what Theophilus Chin did to the rendering of the Perdana coupe especially on the rear lower part of the bumper, where he blacked out and put in the chrome on the fake tail pipes….. Really nicely done, WHY CAN’T PROTON hire him as an external design consultant, he rendering design is always really good and up to date with the current styling queues of the car market, he would have done a way better design for Perdana given the opportunity by POTONG !! Special Task Force Committee to POTONG since you all are monitoring and instructing those goons in potong, please take note, hire external designers and if you want to keep it local, hire Theophilus Chin where time and again his able to produce excellent renderings of upcoming vehicles from different auto manufacturers.

I bet those whom have bought the new Perdana will now go and change their rear bumper to how its rendered in Theophilus Chin Perdana coupe picture.

• Amarjie on Jun 20, 2016 at 8:44 am

Come to think of it, the back end of the new Perdana reminded me of the back end of Opel Insignia…

• car lover on Jul 27, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Its very beautiful,but just to think bout it, how many that coupe will be get selling,proton need make a new satria neo,its because hot hatch got better selling rate than coupe in Malaysia,proton need a hot hatch or maybe upgradeable proton iriz to more powerfull engine.That only my opinion.✌