Uber and Grab drivers should keep low profile – SPAD

Syed-Hamid-Albar

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has condemned the attack on an Uber car by cab drivers on Monday. SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar advised taxi drivers not to take the law into their own hands and create problems for Uber users, adding that the commission is working towards the best solution to resolve the spat between cabbies and Uber/Grab, The Sun reports.

“As Malaysians who are known for being a peaceful and harmonious race, we should not take matters into our own hands,” Syed Hamid told the media at SPAD’s buka puasa event at KLGCC yesterday. “That incident involves tourists and it has given the nation a bad name,” he added, referring to the Iranian female passenger who was injured in the attack.

Syed Hamid reminded that the government is interested in legalising Uber, and the commission is working to find the best solution to provide a fair return to both taxi and app-based ride-hailing drivers. “They are interested in this, many countries have introduced this IT-based service, we must compete, we cannot be left out,” he said.

Malaysia-Taxi-02

In the meantime, the SPAD head advised Uber and Grab drivers to keep a low profile. “Don’t go ‘oh I was a Uber driver today’ and boast about your services. Before their applications (the legalisation process) are approved, Uber and Grab should keep a low profile. We cannot stop them (Uber drivers), but I advise them not to go boasting about their services,” he said.

Answering questions on whether action will be taken against the aggressive cabbies, Syed Hamid said SPAD will only take action against the taxi drivers if they are found guilty. “We will wait and see. We will hear from the police before we take any action, whether it’s suspending the drivers or revoking their licences.”

Yesterday, police denied reports of a mass attack on an Uber car at KL Sentral, where over 50 angry cabbies reportedly pulled out a tourist before damaging the car. The cops said that “only one or two cab drivers were involved” and the Iranian woman was a student from Skudai and not a tourist.

“If passengers choose to use e-hailing app services, then it is their choice. I believe the government is studying the issue before making a decision. Until then, disgruntled taxi drivers should simply wait for the decision or take their grouses to the relevant authorities and not turn to violence. We will have no choice but to take action against them if they vent their frustrations by resorting to violence as it concerns public safety,” KL police CID chief SAC Rusdi Mohd Isa said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tax Payer on Jun 24, 2016 at 1:59 pm

This is the type of leaders we have. Public are left to fend for their own welfare and safety while they continue to be in their high office comfort

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Same L00 on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:29 pm

His mentality: You do Uber you got beaten your own problem.
      Same mentality as the Proton: You buy Proton you break down you own problem.

• Boris on Jun 25, 2016 at 11:14 pm

What u expect?
        most taxi drivers are ex army or police officers. They need punching bags now n then…just playful ragging laaa. why so serius Lol

• I support SPAD just as i support Najib. People should learn Martial Arts if they want to be safer. You cannot always depend on the Police as they may have other tasks to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:12 pm

I support SPAD too. Our polis is cekap and they are busy fighting real crime. Uber drivers lansi and aksi, padan muka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Yes, there are vigilantes that can deal with these taxi drivers, no big deal

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:55 pm

What a joke of a comment coming from a former high ranking Minister. It is your job to protect the rakyat, here, the uber and grab drivers. How can you ask the Uber and Grab drivers to “hide”??

The gangster cabbies dare to do this because the PDRM, Ministers are busy doing their own private business and got no time to protect the rakyat. So, the cabbies know they can do anything.

PDRM is busy doing their private business. Families of hostage give them RM12 million, but the kidnappers receive RM8.8 million. Kidnappers also got shocked at how they were conned.

So cabbies also busy la harassing Uber and Grab and behaving like thugs.

Hello PDRM, pls stop doing your private business and come and protect us the society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • ComforTaxi on Jun 25, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Just chill Tan Sri..pls take yr sweet time.

Singapore LTA is taking forever to regulate Uber servis there too. Hehehe

• Katy Berry on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Drivers are merely earning a living on the roads of Malaysia. What is there to keep “low profile”.

Do something to those ignorant cabbies instead of barking around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • He probably means ‘low profile’ like Dato Vida

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:28 pm

It is surprising that he was our former Law minister and Home Minister I think. He is the sort of person, if a girl gets raped, he and his type of people will blame the girl.

They will say, the girl did not keep low profile, she wore provocative, she wore ketat etc and they will prosecute the victim (the girl who got raped).

Congratulations Rakyat of Malaysia. These are your leaders. This guy earns 6 figure salary per month (not per year) and yet, this is how he protects the rakyat.

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:04 pm

like our jib gor. very low profile.

• this is why people chose uber/grab car compare to taxi.
    drive by gangsters taik kucing. don’t know how to compete fairly.
    improve your service or go die.

• spongewai on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:15 pm

they are already in low profile what, ape lu cakap?!

Tell the taxi cab to behave & stop making violence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Uber sticker also dunhave, still not low enough?

• jibby martha focker on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:26 pm

True colors revealed.. Now you know why people prefer app based services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Yokohama24 on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:28 pm

I think the “Rapist/Victim” concept can be applied here. It is always the “Rapist” fault and never the victim.

• You should tell that to stupid blue cabbies

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Taxi drivers not happy with government effort to legalize Uber and Grab can join PKR. They always have something against government. Demonstrate lah on the streets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Gangster-protek on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Yes,…protek gangsterism . Promote monopolization.
    Don’t wanna taxi…then change job to full time Uber/Grab driver…Even some taxi are secretly ferrying clients via Uber/Grab….
    Backward land.

• BNaik on Jun 24, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Was the driver’s kena pukul by Taxi’s guys high profile?
    Plz lah, take care ur Taxi’s guys before talk this !!!

• George Abdul on Jun 24, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Taxi gangsters this guy that makes you all suffer, look for this guy not Uber drivers or customers!

• Bernard on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:27 pm

If the taxi drivers involved are not arrested and charged immediately , it will send a wrong message

• Anti taxi = support Uber = support SPAD = support Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 44
  • Ben Yap on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:43 pm

only amateur uber and grab drivers don’t know how to hide themselves. experienced ones know how to avoid.

• SPAD is right! Uber and Grab are haram as they are not legalize yet, only PERS1M is halal now. SPAD should enquire why majority of Uber and Grab cars are not Proton like Taxis

• What the, this is the words from regulator?

Psttt…. you kena wack?, sorry la, I know I’ve taken some portion of your shares, but i still can’t get a full green light from my boss. So, go low profile lah if you wanna do business.

Oh and please just report police if those samseng hurt you. That’s the department that they are in charge on this kinda case.

• Gong Gong Ka on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Minister of very low quality.
    Only SPM drop-outs can apply for Ministerial position in Malaysia.

• Awais on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:58 pm

These cab drivers are all criminals, I am a forigner and they never go on meter, you can check Seri Kembangan area, never go on meter, and plus if asked they act like criminals and don and show as if they own this malaysia. Who cares, these criminals , terrorist taxi drivers are showing there real face now.

Infect grabcar and uber driver are friendly, loyal and trustworthy

• Arnold on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:42 pm

CVLB in Sabah is against with Uber since they are breaking the present law but Spad need more time cause they are looking for more duit kopi to legalize Uber in Peninsula?
    Hope Uber will be legalized so the Rakyat ll not suffer?

• truthbetold on Jun 25, 2016 at 2:42 pm

the way this SPAD chief talk like some mafia samseng. still try to java muka sendiri when he knew he is a failure

• sohai on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:47 am

Wait for the police to take action before you revoke their license if found to be aggressive? There is no need to wait… just not follow meter alone I think you can wipe out 80% of the taxi.

• Hazelnuts on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:52 am

Brainless leader with full of bullshit under the skull…..

• Sparcov on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:35 am

Legal or not legal you say lah!

Legal then announce legal

If Illegal, just say illegal

Hanging there, no wonder the whole country cannot improve ! no decision no result