DRIVEN: 2016 Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI Highline

2016 Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI Highline ext 2

The B-segment sedan market is a highly demanding one. For some car buyers, it’s the next step after they’ve gotten that raise, and want to give up their preloved Perodua Kancil. For others, it’s the sweet spot in terms of manoeuvrability and size, without having to dive into the C-segment market.

Aside from having to excel in urban driving, interested parties also have other expectations when shopping in this segment, including looks, equipment, handling, practicality and safety. The challenge for any automaker is to meet these needs, while slapping on a price tag below the psychological RM100,000 mark, which is where a large chunk of the market is at.

The Volkswagen Vento is the latest entrant to this battleground, ready to take the fight against established nameplates like the Toyota Vios, Honda City and Mazda 2 Sedan. Does the European contender have what it takes to stand out from the crowd? Well, we went on a trip to Penang in the top-of-the-line Vento 1.2 TSI Highline to find out.

On the looks front, the Vento is certainly a handsome looking thing. Though it may be a facelifted Polo Sedan, the significant exterior overhaul might trick some into believing it is a “Passat Jr.” The big changes take place at the front, with a larger grille with three chrome slats, followed by a restyled hood and bumper. The latter now features rectangular fog lights, which join the halogen headlamps.

At the rear, the changes are more subtle, with a slightly tweaked bumper. Chrome trim pieces have also been added to the lower apron and bootlid as well, and there are new graphics for the tail lamps. Rounding up the exterior highlights are 16-inch ‘Syenit’ five-twin-spoke alloy wheels with a two-tone machined finish.

Under the hood, the Vento Highline gets a 1.2 litre TSI four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine, a step up from the lower (Trendline and Comfortline) variants’ 1.6 litre MPI NA four-pot. Power for the blown Euro 5 motor is 105 PS at 5,000 rpm, while torque is rated at 175 Nm (up by 22 Nm from the MPI) between 1,550 and 4,100 rpm. Like on the previous CBU Polo Hatch, the partnering transmission is a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch unit.

As for equipment, the Highline gets Climatronic auto air-con, leather-wrapped multi-function steering wheel and gearknob, cruise control and a 320G multimedia headunit with four speakers. Other convenient items include a three-way height-adjustable armrest and rear air-con vents.

Safety-wise, the Highline is rated with a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating, as it comes with ABS, brake assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors, four airbags (dual front and sides) and an Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS). Electronic stability control and hill-hold assist are exclusive to the Highline as well.

So far, the Vento impresses with its equipment list. However, some may argue that for the RM94,461 on-the-road price (excluding insurance), it may leave you wanting. For instance, the City comes with two extra airbags in its highest ‘V’ variant, while the Mazda 2 Sedan comes with LED headlamps and a heads-up display (at the cost of two airbags). Keep in mind that both are priced below the Vento. So, where does the extra ringgit go?

2016 Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI Highline int 1

Well, the powertrain is a good start. The pint-sized 1.2 litre TSI turbo mill may not generate as much horsepower as the larger 1.5 litre powerplants in its rivals, but it has a lot more torque than both. Translated to on-the-road performance, the engine propels the Vento’s 1,178 kg kerb weight with ease and urgency.

The seven-speed DSG is as you’d expect, providing quick and seamless shifts when operated manually via the gear lever (no paddle shifters here). Left to its own devices, the dual-clutch box does take a moment to respond to a sudden dose of throttle input. According to Volkswagen, the 1.2 TSI and seven-speed DSG combo provides a claimed fuel consumption figure of just 5.5 litres per 100 km (combined).

Moving on from the engine, our test drive involved sections of highway and B-roads. Out on the highway, the Vento displayed an impressive level of refinement, soaking up the road deformities effectively. The ride is firm but still supple enough to iron out the odd bump here and there. It feels a tad bit better than the City, and much less busier than the Mazda 2 Sedan. Wind noise is also kept at a minimum, unless you plan to exceed the legal speed limit of 110 km/h.

On the downside, the ‘Cable’ fabric-upholstered seats could use some improvement to lower back support to better facilitate long-distance driving comfort. However, those not involved in the driving will be pleased to know that there is an ample amount of legroom available (better than the Mazda). Rear air-con vents are also available for passengers, although they aren’t exactly powerful blowers.

When tackling the twisty bits, the Vento did well to keep its composure, aided by tyres that are wider than those found on its rivals – 215/45. Planted is one way to describe the Vento’s handling, with understeer kept under control during a brief sprint along Penang’s coastal roads. The steering isn’t the most communicative due to its electrical assistance but responds quickly enough. Again, the 1.2 TSI powertrain excelled in its role around the bends as well.

The Vento also exhibited its impressive handling prowess during a controlled exercise, where we had to execute a quick double lane change. Compared to some of its rivals that showed up during the day, the Vento was the last to be associated with the words “jittery” and “nervy.” Let’s just say that certain models we tried proved to be quite a handful during the exercise.

2016 Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI Highline drive 13

Moving on to practicality, the Vento unfortunately will not snatch the “king of packaging” title from the Honda City. Its 454 litres of boot space beats the Mazda 2’s 410 litres, but loses out to the City’s 536 litres. Cabin stowage space echoes the same tune here, just shy of what the Honda can offer, but better than the Mazda.

Speaking of the cabin, there’s not much in the way of “showroom attractions.” The multimedia headunit does the usual radio, Bluetooth and such, but doesn’t come with HDMI input or navigation. Neither do you get keyless start or a heads-up display. You do get a nice Golf Mk7-like flat-bottomed steering wheel, multi-info trip computer display and auto air-con though. It’s very functional, but there’s nothing beyond that.

To sum up, the Volkswagen Vento delivers a wonderful driving experience thanks to its punchy powertrain and lovely dynamics that epitomises German engineering. Beyond that, the Vento’s vulnerabilities are exposed when it comes to its feature set, of which the Honda and Mazda can offer more, and at a more enticing price tag. Does that make it a bad car? Not in the slightest, because the Vento provides a much more composed drive compared to its rivals, which is something you’ll have to try to believe.

At RM94,461 on-the-road price without insurance, the made-in-Pekan Vento does what is required of it without a fault. Only thing is, for those looking for more toys (features) to play with, they may be left feeling disappointed, and may opt for its alternatives instead.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Apa LanJixo Cibai pun ada on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Honestly, first sight at the first picture, i thought is SAGA FLX facelift. after few second, only notice is VW. Too close to saga flx, really

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 16
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:50 pm

I may hate Proton but at least the Saga does non breakdown non stop like the DSG VW. I rather use a Saga anytime. At least, I won’t spend my whole life in the SC sorting out problems or waiting for the tow truck in the hot sun.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 23
      • Khorne on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:40 pm

My 2013 Saga FLX CVT (New) and Polo HB 1.2 TSI (used) have performed flawlessly. Both never broke down, but the Saga CVT did overheat once. I service my VW once a year and the Saga twice. Both are driven on alternate weeks and the VW is better overall in power, comfort and running cost. Overall my VW experience is very good. But they are two very different cars. So tell me, what car do you own?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 65
        • bodoooooooo on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:26 pm

I see Kunta Kinte imagining VW breakdown always in his comments. Must be a pathetic day-dreamer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 50
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:10 pm

You must be poor VW owner. Don’t be angry with me if your car is faulty and has a bad reputation. And don’t be angry with me if your VW has no RV.

Pity VW owners. RV has dropped due to the DSG scandal as well as the Dieselgate scandal. But your RV has dropped mainly because your HQ played your backside. They recently sold all their cars for half the price. When VGM themselves throw prices, what do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • I will sure buy TOTO if I see a VW breakdown on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • To Gerard Lye on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:30 pm

VW used to announce no more DSG for small capacity vehicle such as the 1.2 liters couple years ago. Why is it now again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • VW Glenmarie HQ on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Khorne, you have done a good job! You will get a promotion for doing this. Please contact our HR in Glenmarie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
          • Operation Manager on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:58 pm

After 2014 Tow truck cant make more business with VW DSG as issues solved. Now TowTruck standby 24hrs behind CIVIC Turbo any time overheat breakdown. Honda Turbo technology 20yrs behind competitor. Use CVT announce EarthDream is joke of the year; then Nissan should own EarthDream decade ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
        • oh mak lu cina on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Own one Proton Bangsat and One VW Bangsat. Congratulations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 8:05 am

Polo used to use normal auto. It was not too bad. But arrogant VGM now purposely using DSG cause no more normal auto boxes left. Just to clear sales of their polo aka vento. They know VW owners cannot sue them after all

• Huat Council on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:55 pm

You are just talking nonsense. You obviously have not owned nor driven a Volks before, dude. This Dsg concern is seriously over-exaggerated. My financial controller (my empress) and I have owned 2 daily driven VWs with Dsg7 in the last 5 years without a single glitch. As long as you understand how a dual clutch ‘Manual’ transmission works, there should be no issue.

• For 90K..must well buy Perdana.
        Better spec, size & reliable.

• still on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:41 pm

why still dsg? what’s wrong this ego vw? is that mean they are still not admitting their mistakes? or they are trying to clear the dsg stock by using this cheapest vento to ease the clearance…anyway, 100k have a lot of choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Das Autar on Jun 29, 2016 at 7:47 pm

It’s a Hoaxwagen, you still believe them?

• timbuktu on Jul 07, 2016 at 12:40 am

There is an inverse relation between the tendency of exaggeration and the IQ of a person. The words Kunta Kinte used such as “DSG break down non-stop”, “spend my whole life in SC” and “waiting for tow truck in hot sun” clearly reflects on his knowledge, credibility and low IQ. I pity this bloke.

• En Ketam on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Funny thing is, if your replace all the VW badges to Proton most people would believe it’s a facelifted Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
      • Huat Council on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Nothing wrong with a Proton Saga, unless you are one of those Badge Snobs.

• Visit Workshop on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Perodua Axia Sedan > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rr on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:06 am

I agree. Perodua Sedan price at RM55K, buat have keyless entry. Not Like RM138K Proton Perdana have no keyless entry… haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • 2013 Used Passat CC only 90K+.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Volkswagen owners have the tow truck driver on their speed dial.

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s birthday parties

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck drive for Valentine’s day to join the couple for wine

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s wedding ceremony.

Volkswagen owners visit the tow truck driver when he is ill and take care of him

Volkswagen owners children are usually proposed to the children of the tow truck drivers for marriage

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 24
    • Proton sangat power ohhhh POWER WINDOW POWER,NOISE ON HIGHWAY LIKE THE WHOLE CAR GOING TO TEAR APART hahahaha dont jealous la u didnt owned a continental car so you jealous keep barking there saying this and that haters gonna hate ! #keepcalmandbuyhonda TAKATA AIRBAG okay? ~ hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • mr w205 on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:44 pm

No thanks… mazda 2 is better.. it just that they stingy on more airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Pakulupapito on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:11 pm

A little cramp but driving experience is great. Not for big people.

• Adrian Chia on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Dear Gerard,

Refering to the “Like on the Polo Sedan, the partnering transmission is a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch unit.” Which variant are you referring to that has the DSG equipped?

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Apologies for that. It’s in reference to the previous CBU Polo Hatch 1.2 TSI. Thanks for the spot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • To Gerard Lye on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Have you interview VGM why introduce DSG again or not?

• malaysian on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:48 pm

How’s the ride & handling compared to an Iriz premium?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:35 pm

The difference is minimal… iriz using 15″ and this vento using 16″ size wheels. But the iriz has a slight edge.. in iriz u can feel the handling is more fluid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • need sifu-sifu advice, at rm50,000~99,000, which car provides the best driving experience and most sporty cornering? haha… low-income malaysian here.

• Pakulupapito on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Mazda 3 new low spec during promo 90k+. If you want best driving exp try this. Or get used 2014/15 high spec.

• 2nd hand or 3rd hand 180sx or mx-5 or busted up engine RX7. Choose wisely.

• Crz kua..

• P1 better than continentals? What heresy is this?!

• Bob_B78 on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Not heresy. P1 handling is good, if not better than most japanese/korean out there. I used to have satria and wira before i have VW and I could tell you I still remember how well P1 drives. There is no other car leaving such an impression on me other than a BMW 5 series among all the cars i have driven before. Only brand snobs think european handles better than asian cars.

• lilytan on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Iriz ride n handling is just superb for a B segment car. Even better than the vento n far better than the japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • JAYASHREE on Jun 01, 2018 at 4:51 pm

im selling my iriz n getting vento

• john is otak batu on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Media player looks outdated!!..Sigh. Dashboard overall too rigid. Still 10 years back looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Huat Council on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:04 pm

It’s part of the minimalist retro look concept without the gimmicky buttons which I personally think it’s a cool design. Well, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea I suppose.

• thepolygonal on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Bottom panel between the two dials, first look I thought it was a cassette player… sadly it was not.

• Smokey on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Did the car break down during test drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • beehedge on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Hahaha– No worries….tow-truck follow u while u test-drive the car…Haha

• tommy on Jul 09, 2016 at 12:53 pm

why don’t you test drive it yourself and see whether it breaks down or not?

• nabill (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:14 pm

I feel the roof should be black color to enhance the looks abit… Is the dsg model code same as the previous polo 1.2?? Does it still feel jerkey and hesitant in slow traffic?
    Kinda agree with some of u, it does look like a saga FLX facelift somehow!

• Golfer on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Good review. Definitely a good car to consider. Would take this over the Mazda 2 any day if i was looking for a B segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Henry on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:32 pm

This brand still selling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • its a conti woh, barang quality tertinggi, gaya, mutu dan keunggulans..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • dodgeviper88 on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:12 pm

rather take the mid spec and be safe with a conventional gearbox and 1.6 engine. The acronym DSG is very taboo nowadays, together with Takata, which VW is actually using it too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Huat Council on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Let me guess, you must be a wage earner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • exciting on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:36 pm

If you like to play it safe, this car is not for you.

On the other hand, if you think that a bit of risk makes life more interesting and exciting, the 1.2L TSI-DSG combo will make you smile. I know I did the first time I put it in Sports Mode.

• applegreen on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:20 pm

maybe this car lose to honda city but not to mazda2. Vento is roomier and more practical

• tokmoh. on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Sked DSG

Sked RM52k wiring harness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • camtakpro on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Just waiting for Drop Everything promo from VW, then this Vento will cost rm69k.

But they can earn back with DSG and wiring harness.

• ProspectiveBuyer on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Has the DSG problems resolved by VW? If I buy this, will I be travelling without any worry that the car won’t break down?

• camtakpro on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:51 am

Stop asking this question. VW themselves said it is already solved just like our Jibby said he wants to get rid of corruption.

• Bernard on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:06 pm

It’s worth it if it’s 50k or less…

• tokmoh. on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:48 am

But the wiring harness alone will cost more than entire car, oh waiiiii

• oh mak lu cina on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Oh, VW: Please mention that this 1.2 TSI is a SOHC 8 valve engine…

• Hi Gerard
    can you elaborate on how this latest iteration of DQ200 gearbox behaved during your test drive? did it exhibit any issues (i.e. loss of power, lack of throttle response, hesitation or sudden surge)during start stop traffic? after all VW claims all issues surrounding the problematic DQ200 have been ironed out and it exhibits a more refined behaviour now

• camtakpro on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:54 am

These won’t happen in test drive unit or test drive report. Test drive review will just mention “blah blah blah subtle…. blah blah blah not subtle… blah blah not super powerful… blah blah blah but enough to move around.”

You just go buy one and experience yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • Since the DSG issues are on everyones mind, but not addressed….just keep quiet…incomprehensible!!

Issue statement to say model change, blah blah or whatever.

BTW, 2 frens VW also engine seized halfway, a Polo Gti and Golf Tsi

• I think the VW brand makes it handsome….pretty bland like Proton Saga to me…Malaysians love brand..

• Raymond Woo on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:57 pm

At that price I recommend a 2015 vw passat. Same price rm95k but better specs

• Tommy on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:02 am

I’ve driven the new Vento 1.2 with the dsg box. It’s a good car, with attractive pricing and great engine. My polo 1.2 tsi is going to be 6 years by year end. No problems at all. Service may take longer than jap brands, but all turns out well.

As one of you mentioned earlier, VW problems have been blown out of proportion. People like to harp on the bad points.

• Die hard fan on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:19 pm

If you want to promote VW, pls dun use “but” in your setences…the image and RV are so low now, you have no choice already bought 6 years ago..sell oso cannot..so promote lar now on line…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • thomas on Jul 30, 2016 at 11:12 am

I don’t really understand what is your rationale of complaint? talk about resale value, stick back to toyota or honda lah. How many continental cars are commanding good resale value one? Honestly i dont understand why people come and argue about resale value when is a common knowledge that jap cars are better at resale value. People happily drove his Polo TSI 1.2 for 6 years and share his experience you also want to complaint, then what do you want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • nathan on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:20 am

As my point of view people buy car based on their individual preferences and driving pleasure, doesn’t matter it’s a JAP or continental made. So Resale Value don’t really matter when you really like that particular car, anyway Cars are considered as reliability, it always losses money compared to houses.If a buyer putting a high priority on Resale value,then he or she might as well opt for public transports.

• as a guest on Mar 05, 2017 at 12:42 am

I’m considering to change my 7-year old MyVi for a Vento and thought that I could get some feedback from the reviews here. It is with regret that all I read are squabbles instead constructive feedback. As I understand, the performance of a car depends on a lot of factors (eg. users, usage, conditions, etc) but none of these information was provided. It is not my intention to offend anyone.

• Me either, I read thru all the comments and blergh all about nonsense argumenta. Can please argue on the car itself instead of comparing with other brand?

• JAYASHREE on Jun 01, 2018 at 4:49 pm

can i know ur sincere experience driving this car in petrol consumption and many others?