Honda City – pricing increased from January 1, 2016

2016-Honda-City-prices

Back in October, Honda Malaysia announced that it would be increasing the pricing of its products by 2% to 3% starting from January 2016, the hike attributed to the ringgit’s slump this year. The company said then that it would be monitoring the exchange rate closely and decide on the price in December.

With 2016 a few days away, the first of the increases has come about – pricing for the Honda City model range has been revised, as revealed by a new price list for the car sent in by reader Mohd Faiz. The increase, which comes into effect on January 1, covers all four variants in the lineup, and are as follows:

Honda City Grade S – RM76,100 (post-GST, RM74,008)
Honda City Grade S+ – RM79,300 (post-GST, RM77,124)
Honda City Grade E – RM84,600 (post-GST, RM82,270)
Honda City Grade V – RM92,000 (post-GST, RM89,468)

In more direct fashion, this works out to an increase of RM2,092 for the Grade S, RM2,176 for the Grade S+, RM2,330 for the Grade E and RM2,532 for the Grade V.

The fifth-gen City was introduced in Malaysia in March 2014, and all four current model grades were available at point of launch. All variants are powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine offering 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,600 rpm, and the mill is paired with a CVT gearbox.

GALLERY: 2015 Honda City 1.5 V

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:37 am

is there any reduction in kit counts for the spec v?

rear bumper sensors reduced from 4 to 2…..
    n rear aircond vents went missing…

is this true…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Honda Malaysia on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Because according to the latest car sales number by brand in November, Toyota sales more than us. Hence we safely assumed that Malaysian costumers still prefer high prices with low spec cars. Hence, we stripped off our City specs. Thanks for supporting our best products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 22
      • As told by the showroom. Lucky have got one for my mom in Dec

• Moving coffin on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Jurassic Park going to close shop already la. With BRV etc coming next year, Honda going to kick the dinasours back to Ice Age.

Good for Sammy Loo though. Happy hai-lating.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Thanks for supporting

• DRBhai on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:56 pm

City got VSC, better RV & more airbags than 12year old tech overpriced, noisy roof Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • “Hence we safely assumed that Malaysian costumers still prefer high prices with low spec cars”

YOU GOT TO BE KIDDING ME.

• Malaysian Driver on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:40 pm

This is fake Honda representative is it? How can thet assumed something as stupid as that? Get a KIA instead. Higher spec, load of accessories and cheaper.

• Tan Joo Chua on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:35 pm

U must b kidding. I went for Toyota Camry Hybrid 2.5 in November after buying a Honda Insight n Jazz Hybrid bcos Honda did not offer Hybrid model anymore.

• Matchy on Dec 30, 2015 at 3:54 pm

The sensor reduced from 4 to 2 is confirmed… but rear aircond vents missing?

• HENG YEE CHONG on Jul 12, 2016 at 4:56 pm

May I know what is the different between the reverse sensor from 4 to 2, any effected of when I reversed my car can’t sense the corner part? Got any improvement the center 2 sensor for the new model? Because I already purchased for it, just waiting for the new silver color launching , just wondering why from 4 sensor change to 2 sensor……

• chowhai on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:54 am

Boo Honda Malaysia. Let’s see how you want to maintain your sales target next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • UMW Mampus on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:59 am

Still more value than VIOS, appreciate your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • dodgeviper88 on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:07 pm

don’t see them dropping prices when in 2012 Yen against RM fell by 25%. In fact Yen is not even back to 2012 exchange rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • helmi on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Chehh!

• applegreen on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Menteri kata harga kenderaan turun 20 peratus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:28 pm

kah kah dah kena tipu lagi. bodo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Takpe rakyat kena tipu oleh jernama luar negara tapi marah pulak kat Najib. Politikus PR menang semua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • berserker on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:25 pm

increase or not malaysian will still buy it

• No Honda for me … Definitely not City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • albag on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:49 pm

cukurlah rakyat, naik skit je bising bising… ubah gaya hidup, naik taraf kehidupan!!!

terima kasih ada bn saya cukur!!!

• old dog on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:05 pm

The car price was set when JPY vs MYR at 100yen:3.8 ringgit

When MYR appreciate to 100yen:3.1ringgit begging of the year no price drop, and now its at 100yen:3.5ringgit and need to rise price.

Dont be fool by this Ringgit depreciate BS game..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Apa Yen? This car is made in Melaka, using mainly parts that are imported from Thailand.

By comparison, the Proton Inspira is a Malaysian car. It has more Japanese parts than this “Japanese car” Honda City.

Bodo honda, interior rattle so much, hard plastics all over, gearbox bocor, radio reception issue. May as well drive a MyVi, both same shitty car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • rajaiskandarshah on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:14 pm

phew ! got for my missus in november with the rm 4,000 discount. rear aircond vent is for e and v variants only.

• No body can help consumer NOT even Persatuan Pengguna!
    If all what they post about yen vs rm is true then HONDA cheat on us!

• ben yap on Dec 30, 2015 at 3:15 pm

nevermind, naik sikit sikit only. later discount RM6K lor….

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 30, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Very simple; wait until Feb when they are giving 5k discounts and save yourself 3k.

• Matchy on Dec 30, 2015 at 3:57 pm

More expensive than pre-GST era?

• PPIM mane, PPIM?! :P

• Professional on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:06 pm

thanks for supporting HONDA MALAYSIA HAHAHAHHA

• Bukan Ahmad Maslan cakap gst dapat kurangkan harga barangan ke..apasal semua naik?

• if fine for any business to increase price, if the consumer are smart enuf they know how to choose…market demand will force any biz to reduce price again…overall no doubt honda having good cars, but with the price hike, we expect better spec given to user…not ‘kosong’ car…

• Boss..city s+ ontrd price + gst+ insran brapa ya??rebate utk s+ brapa bln jan 2016..my number fon 0176117248 urgent

• peeved on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Damn …so dont buy? I am planning to get one today….

• Muhammad Ali on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Will like to know when will honda city 2016 version comes out in Malaysia? Thank you.

• that’s impossible to happen…