2016 Mazda 2 with LED lights now in M’sia – RM91k

Mazda_2_LED_Thailand-2

As we’ve previously reported, the 2016 Mazda 2 has been introduced in Malaysia, bringing with it an updated equipment list. Of course, there is also a revision in price to reflect the changes done to the B-segment car, which is still available in both sedan and hatchback body styles.

At long last, the Mazda 2 finally gets LED headlights (with signature LED DRLs), bringing the car up to speed in terms of looks with the rest of the carmaker’s vehicle range. The headlights feature auto levelling, but no Adaptive Front Lighting System (AFS).

The update is reflective of that in the Thai market, where the Mazda 2 debuted with LED headlights during the 2015 Thai Motor Expo. For those who weren’t fans of the halogen units fitted previously, this update should make the car more enticing as compared to before. At the rear, the 2 soldiers on with bulb-type tail lights. The wheels are still 16-inch alloys (with 185/60R16 tyres).

Beyond the LED headlights, everything else on the 2 remains exactly as before. Under the hood, you’ll find a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder direct injected petrol engine (with i-Stop), providing 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission is mated to the mill.

Inside, there are still leather seats, single zone automatic climate control, manually adjustable seats, paddle shifters and heads-up display. Infotainment comes in the form of the MZD Connect system, with six speakers, a seven-inch touchscreen and Commander Control knob/buttons. The system can be upgraded with a navigation function a cost option (RM1,270).

Safety kit remains the same with two airbags (driver and passenger), with ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and Isofix child seat anchors all fitted as standard.

Mazda_2_LED_Thailand-1

As for pricing, the Mazda 2 (sedan and hatchback) now starts at RM90,766.30, representing a RM5,300 premium over the car’s previous price tag (RM85,466.30). However, these prices only apply for 2s painted in Snowflake White Pearl, Aluminium Metallic and Metropolitan Grey.

If you want your 2 in the brand’s trademark Soul Red colour, you’ll have to fork out an additional RM530. The prices quoted here are on-the-road without insurance, and includes a three-year warranty (100,000 km) and free maintenance (60,000 km) package, whichever comes first. The Mazda 2 continues to be imported from Thailand (CBU).

Bermaz also offers a list of optional accessories to spruce up your purchase further. A ‘sports kit’ consisting of front and rear bumper lips, side skirts and rear spoiler, will cost an additional RM2,300 for the sedan and RM2,370 for the hatchback. Other cost options include a chromed exhaust tailpipe (RM70), boot tray (RM130) and stainless steel scuff plate with LED lighting (RM275).

GALLERY: Mazda 2 at the 2015 Thailand Motor Expo

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:17 am

An almost RM5, 000 premium for the LED head light? I rather have 4 additional airbags to make this enticing Mazda 2 complete on the safety front than superficial looks.

91k is touching close to the Fiesta Ecoboost price tag already. Factor in 10k rebate sometimes given by Ford SA, the Ecoboost might have better bang for bucks, as it is the cloest thing to a hot hatch under 100k on sale currently, too bad Suzuki Swift Sport is no more available.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
    • If u wan more airbags & safety kit, get a Preve or Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 56
      • john amat pandai on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:52 am

Syukurlah John!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Mazda Junk on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Yes get yourself Honda City V RM 92k,way better than this junk.
        My 2015 City E and Preve Turbo can smoke this junk!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 51
        • Kelly Chai on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Why on earth must you “smoke” anyone when you drive? Are you constantly in a rush getting somewhere or are drivers like you in Malaysia happen to be utter dingbats?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 2
        • troll driver on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:45 pm

If u wan to smoke others get yourself a real performance sport car. Not driving on your City or Preve “turbo” and acting like u’r driving a sport car speeding around the road busying smoking others car. In fact u look like a bastard,not cool at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • timbuktu on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:01 am

Do you really think majority people will pay RM5k for just the upgraded LED lights? Stupid Bermaz getting way over its head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • Danny on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Please read the LED specification carefully, is not only the LED itself, it have the auto leveling plus servo motor plus leveling sensor etc, don’t simply comment without right knowledge and mislead the consumer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • IMHO, i would only justify the price hike if the airbag count is increase to 6 from juz 2, then i can say that its ok. but for juz the LED headlamps alone, nope, not convincing me. this isnt saying that the M2 is bad, i had a sit in one couple of days ago, n im thoroughly impress by the interior built quality. the materials used, n the standard equipment on offer, is miles ahead of wat the other japanese makers r offering in their b segments. makes u kinda wonder, if mazda can do this, wat the hell have u been doin all this while toyota n honda?? its easily the best looking b segment car in malaysia. only downside is, the space at the back is really cramped….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Door is like milo tin on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Try close the door, it is so light and feel like you dont close it properly. Nothing so special.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Kelly Chai on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Mate I doubt any cars within this segment are “special”. You don’t expect top-notch quality when you spend less than £ 16k on an entry level vehicle.

• CVT JUNK on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Lol! The car body just lighter to more lighter and Hugh performance. If you want door to be more solid get a 1970 Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Masih tertinggal airbag 4 biji kat Thailand. RM5300 is a big increment just for the lights!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • More money for the red?
    Well… I am getting tired seeing mazda in red anyway.

Can we have duck-shit-green aka. british racing green please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:25 am

Wow that’s expensive and it isn’t adaptive either. Needs more airbags too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • FO lah, 6 k extra just for lights? Airbags should be 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • shawal ali on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:35 am

At that just get d honda city type v,
    Unless ur parents are buying you your first car, cash, n u really like s mazda 2, itll make sense, for normal folks, at that kind of money, a single car with 9 years loan, its either preve cfe or honda city type v,

Both are safe, spacious, d honda is more frugal n high quality inside, but the preve is overall bigger and more powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Mazda Junk on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Yes City E or V
      or Preve 1.6 Turbo better than this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • CVT JUNK on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Bruhh? Honda quality better than Mazda????? Don’t just conclude by looking the car at paper. Go to the showroom and compare the quality of the car. Mazda 2 is most quality and finishing in b segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • You guys do realize that full LED headlights are expensive right? It’s a RM10k option on the pre-facelift 2.0 audi A6

• applegreen on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:12 pm

we do realize that but most PT readers more keen to get more airbags than led headlights. Maybe in future car manufacturers can bring 12-14 airbags special for malaysia buyers only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
      • timbuktu on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:24 pm

U are obviously mocking most of the readers here who put attention on safety rather than some fancy LED lights. Maybe one day when u lose your love ones due to head smashing against the door glass, you may then start to appreciate side curtain airbags and stop mocking us with your 12-14 airbags statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Audi TT matrix headlight is only 5k brah…

• stasta on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:27 am

audi has auto high beam , and its headlights swivel when u turn the steering wheel. thats why 10k is justified.

• transformer on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:42 pm

LED light doesn’t improve the looks for such a small car, it’s just a fancy accessories… one would opt to LED light when they buy an Audi even it’s just for an A1! But not in Mazda 2….. I would rather find a segment larger car with that amount of money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Daylight robbery.

• Please stop quoting “RM5k just for LED light” Its not true. On Jan 1 2016, Honda City V and Toyota Vios G got price hikes of RM2.5K and RM3.2K respectively. That’s because of devaluation of Ringgit. Bermaz at that time did not hike their prices. So, factor in the devaluation of the ringgit for 2016 M2 and assume at best, the price hike for that is RM2.5K before changing the headlamps. The LED lights would have cost an extra RM2.5K. At worst, if we followed Toyota Vios’ price hike of RM3.2k for the devaluation of the ringgit, the LED headlamps come at an additional RM1.8K. Does that not sound a little bit more reasonable than “RM5K for LED lights”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • “Chief executive officer Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh Choon San said this is due to the stable exchange rate between the ringgit and yen, as well as the structure of its car offerings, which are mostly completely knocked-down (CKD) units.”

Bermaz trades in Japan Yen while Honda and Toyota trades in USD. If you take a look for a year period, MYR drops close to 25% against USD but drops close to 12.5% against Yen. Every brand just wanted more $$$ per car sold. Period.

• khairul on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:42 am

Previously I have chat with mazda salesman.. He said that mazda 2 is different from all it’s other siblings (Mazda 3,6,CX-5, CX-3….) cause we imported it from Thailand. Thailand imported mazda parts for reassembling using US Dollar and not using Japanese Yen like Malaysia did. Therefore there will be a price hike due to low ringgit value to US Dollar

• albag on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:21 pm

LEL at the current Mazda2 drivers… where are the signature LED lights?

• Angry Bird on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:36 pm

2 airbags should be sufficient for this small car like Myvi for HB and Saga for sedan.

However M2 with LED lights will make it like REAL Angry Bird on the road with sharp eye. haha

• omegle on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Hi Gerard, as a fellow Mazda 2 owner, did you find out how much does it cost to change the headlamp for the current owners? Thanks

• BeemerFreak on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:52 pm

I have enquired for it to be done in Singapore. Around SGD 3k. But Bermaz says will void warranty

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Mar 14, 2016 at 6:08 pm

As far as we know, concerns involving the car’s wiring means converting from halogen headlamps to LED ones may not be available. However, we will contact Bermaz for an official word on the matter. Here’s to hoping for some good news.

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Mar 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

According to Bermaz, wiring differences between Mazda 2s fitted with halogen and LED headlamps means a plug-and-play option will not be available.

• Same lorr bodoh on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:56 am

Meaning old months back Mazda 2 rv’s is getting higher?

• Timothy Chew on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:15 am

That’s just stupid. Because my mazda 6 2.0 skyactiv comes with halogen lights only. It deserves to have LED or bi xenon.

• no idea on Mar 15, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Most people that are in the comment section saying that a 5K premium is not worth it, little did you know that if you want to get them separately from Mazda or other authorized dealer, a pair of LED Headlamps for Mazda 2 is RM11,000. So a 5K premium over the original price is pretty reasonable.