2015 Thai Motor Expo: Mazda 2 sports LED headlamps

Mazda_2_LED_Thailand-2

Well, well, look what we’ve spotted at the 2015 Bangkok Motor Expo in Thailand. It’s a Mazda 2 hatchback wearing headlamps with daytime running lights, both in LED tech. The Mazda 2 is produced at the AutoAlliance (AAT) Plant, in Thailand alongside the Mazda CX-3.

A result of the Thailand’s Eco Car programme Phase 2, excise tax of the Mazda 2 has fallen from 17% to 14%, which is another one of the main highlight of this four-door hatch. Therefore, due to lower prices, it’s perhaps the reason why LED headlamps are appearing on the Thai-specced Mazda 2 for the very first time.

As the Mazda 2 falls under the programme – it produces CO2 emissions below 100 grams per km, and will perhaps return fuel consumption figures of under 4.3 litres per 100 km – both are requirements for it to become eligible for the programme.

In relation to that, the Mazda 2 hatch here comes with an option of a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D engine with 105 PS and 250 Nm of torque or a 1.3 litre SkyActiv-G with 93 PS and 123 Nm of torque. It’s paired with a six-speed SkyActive-Drive automatic transmission with manual mode.

Furthermore, the hatchback is set to receive signature Mazda technologies such as the i-Eloop regenerative braking technology and i-Stop (automatic engine start/stop function), as well. Aside from that, it will also get “European-standard safety technology.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bringithere on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:01 am

Bermaz, bring that here and I can almost certainly assure you I’m getting one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:36 pm

me too.

• King of B segment on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Honda City is a better choice:
        – Looks better(Kodo design doesn’t work on small cars) Cute/Angry?
        – Roomier(Bigger in every dimensions)
        – Touch panel aircond
        – Rear aircond
        – HDMI socket
        – Cruise control
        – 2 more speakers
        – 4 more airbags
        – 5 years unlimited mileage warranty
        Most importantly our Mazda 2 doesn’t come with projector headlamps with DRLs which is the signature of Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
  • Leafable on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Malaysia distributor is a shit hole.

• Dr Mamak on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Don’t buy until they upgrade it to LED headlights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • aiseyy…changing the halogen to LED headlamp too costly (almost 10k for both), if i go after market parts, another risk…i don’t see Malaysia will get the better spec from what we currently have *sigh*

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:38 pm

i almost deal this car after test drive, everything so well except

1) no armrest
    2) No led headlight
    3) no leg room.

now i have one eliminate LED headlight oled, may consider to trade in my CX5 to this compact car.

• well done
    Thinking of getting one

• najib on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:57 pm

still going to be overprice..

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:59 pm

dont you think this LED daylight similar as Red angry bird impression?