One system for summonses and enforcement – Liow

liow tiong lai

The JPJ, PDRM and SPAD will work together in forming an integrated system summons and enforcement information, said transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai in a Bernama report. The existing setup sees the three entities working separately, with limitations of not having a common database.

“Currently the three agencies are working separately. As such when there are outstanding traffic summonses from the police, the JPJ is not aware and the department cannot help the police to blacklist the drivers’ licenses. If the police do issue a summons, it has to be submitted to the JPJ for us to blacklist the driver’s license,” he said.

Meanwhile, Liow also said it was not necessary to increase the frequency of mandatory periodic inspections on public transport vehicles, after MIROS said it was considering whether Puspakom should implement such a change. The consideration came about following the North-South Expressway incident near Ipoh which involved a bus ramming into 10 cars, which was found to be caused by brake failure on the bus. He said the twice yearly inspections were sufficient to ensure safety and quality service.

Earlier, the Enforcement Agencies Integrity Commission (EAIC) also recommended that enforcement agencies conduct more frequent checks on the identities and backgrounds of heavy vehicles such as buses, in order to find drivers with past traffic summonses. Chairman of the commission, Datuk Yaacob Md Sam told Bernama that this will enable the PDRM, JPJ and SPAD to act against drivers and operators involved.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mohamad Fauzi on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:10 am

jet

• Mohamad Fauzi on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:16 am

could someone tell me why the Transport Ministers (past and present) via the JPJ offcourse, really really really want the SPEED TRAPS money???

• Deadpool on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:26 am

who let the dogs out~ who who who who!

• kangaroo on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:29 am

Nak bangsai baru gorek lubang

• kazanixm on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:35 am

So when something happens, then they will change the systems?

Better late then never i guess

• Albert on Jul 15, 2016 at 2:54 pm

lET ME ASK U 1 HYPOTHETICAL question.
      If the driver happen to be YAB’s not so well do to uncle….guess what?
      The bus company will be banned forever for not settling 60 summonses.
      His “uncle ” will get light sentence cos he is just driver..the shit bus company mechanics did not check the brakes,right?
      How many bus drivers open up the big nuts/parts,to inspect each bus before driving?None.
      In fact he tried his best to avoid deaths knowing he is driving a brakeless bus.
      The driver could be your uncle.It is just unfortunate.
      Those enforcement guys who failed to haul up this bus AFTER THE 5TH SUMMONS should be SACKED.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:38 am

You can have one system, it makes no difference. JPJ, Puspakom and PDRM officers all take money and let the offenders lose. This is why Malaysia has 3 million drivers and motorcyclist with NO LESEN. The past 20 years, Polis have been taking so much of money from offenders ie duit kopi that the figure has balooned to 3 million now

In this bus accident, the PDRM and JPJ are solely responsible. Do you know that this particular bus has got 60 summonses that are not settled?

How did they renew the road tax?

You got the answer. It is duit kopi. The lazy JPJ who are corrupted should have long gone and arrested the owner of the bus company many years ago. 60 saman over the past few years for one bas is shocking.

Our lazy PDRM officers also should have gone and sent a team to investigate how come just one bus can have 60 saman.

My advice to PDRM and JPJ, instead of eating nasi lemak, relaxing in the office, looking for aweks and having 8 tea breaks eating kuih lapis and kuih talam, please take the initiative to prevent accidents.

This accident could have been prevented. 60 samans for 1 bus is not normal

Hundreds of lorry hantu kill people in Malaysia every year. Whenever JPJ or Polis catch these lorry hantu, the illegal Indon driver just give duit kopi to settle the saman. So, the driver continues his illegal driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Jul 15, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Kunta
      You missed what they are saying,in essence….3 agencies not well integrated/on line with each other…..SO ASK GOMEN for multi million ringgit computer integrated system.
      So ,intense nego going on now,award to which well connected guy……
      If 30 people perished in this runaway bus accident,a big hoo har…. hukum kaw kaw the poor driver,load all the shit on this scapegoat….then 3 months later all is forgotten.
      Bolehland….never ending EVERGREEN PERLINDUNGAN.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 15, 2016 at 4:26 pm

of course, some UMNO crony will get the contract to upgrade the computer systems and software. Buy new PC for RM2000 but charge the Government RM20k per PC sold.

• Why u reply to ur dupe. Takde customer datang ke toyota showroom u ke?

• Susukotak on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:39 am

rupanya malaysia ada byk sistem saman..

• Skumar on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:50 am

mishaps occur first, policy implementation later

• devan on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:53 am

One system for PDRM, JPJ and now SPAD !! We have been hearing of this so many times over so many years yet nothing got done. its the lack of political courage and good luck to you YB Liow

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 15, 2016 at 3:12 pm

System is all there. Just the people running it is ehmmmm……need I say more.

• Trust me, this is NEVER, NEVER GOING TO HAPPEN.

Why?

Because the Transport Minister is incompetent, the Transport Ministry is incompetent, JPJ is incompetent, CVLB is incompetent and SPAD is jauh lagi incompetent.

Next highlighted viral accident, recycle same old rubbish media statements.

• Andrekua on Jul 15, 2016 at 8:05 pm

A system to monitor their summons for? The problem is not with monitoring. The problem lies with enforcement. Just look at summons accumulated by those bus drivers whenever they got into a huge accident. One after another and then, totally silent and wiped off the news altogether.