MIROS mulls increasing public transport inspections; EAIC wants more frequent driver background checks

Bus-10-Cars-NSE

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) is looking into whether or not Puspakom needs to increase the frequency of mandatory periodic inspections of public transport vehicles. Currently, the mandatory periodic inspections are carried out twice a year. If the frequency of the inspections are increased, the quality of their services will improve, according to MIROS director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon in a Bernama report.

“We will evaluate the need to increase the frequency of the vehicle inspections, which currently only requires public transport operators to go through the routine at Puspakom once every six months, and other aspects which can be improved. Not only will this involve downtime, it also incurs additional maintenance costs which the operators will have to bear if the frequency of inspections goes up,” he said.

This was said when he was asked to comment on the incident involving an express bus which lost control and ploughed into 10 other vehicles, southbound on the North-South Expressway after the Menora Tunnel. Wong remarked that the incident cannot be attributed to road conditions, as the relevant authorities had already taken highest level of safety precautions in maintaining the passage involved.

“Road users should be more alert and responsible in ensuring the safety of their own and of other road users when using riskier roads such as the ones near the Menora Tunnel. Drivers of private and public service vehicles need to know what needs to be done when approaching steep areas such as this, by slowing their vehicle to the determined speed limit and by using lower gears,” Wong added.

Cityliner bus-01

Meanwhile, the Enforcement Agencies Integrity Commission (EAIC) has recommended that enforcement agencies conduct more frequent checks on the identities and backgrounds of heavy vehicles such as buses, in order to find drivers with past traffic summonses. Chairman of the commission, Datuk Yaacob Md Sam told Bernama that this will enable the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM), Road Transport Department (JPJ) and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to take action against the drivers and operators involved.

He said that stern measures need be taken against drivers who are habitual offenders and those who do not have respect for the law, so that they can be traced, suspended or be stripped of their driving permits for a designated period.

“The EAIC fully supports the enforcement of the law upon road users who have abused emergency lanes on highways and on main roads,” said Yaacob. He added that the irresponsible actions of those who abused the emergency lanes not only disrupts the passage of emergency responders’ vehicles, it also creates problems and complications for other law-abiding road users.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• naik jangan tak naik on Jul 13, 2016 at 7:17 pm

harga bas tiket naik lagi… terima kasih kerajaan bee end!!

• Sad state of nation on Jul 13, 2016 at 10:19 pm

…. The more rules and regulations the more opportunities for making pocket money

• Maslan on Jul 14, 2016 at 7:56 am

Same old shit announcement. See you again on next raya fatal accident.

• Every1canTalk on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:10 am

Same story repeat, repeat, and repeat again..
          More than a ton of actions been raised, but not implement and monitor in right manner, how to solve this kind of problems?
          More and more actions set where the ultimate goal is suck money but not reduce road accident, Malaysia Boleh!!!

• drMpower on Jul 13, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Boring la like this always. We need to have more casualties in bus crashes, that they these clowns will do real work. Casualties like death. Many deaths in each accidents. These clowns doing stupid only if no death. How can a bus with that many summons still doing businesses on the road? If like this then stupid me. I always pay fines. What a waste of my tax.

• ALl this is knee-jerk reaction, knee-jerk reaction, knee-jerk reaction. Bus accidents have been happening for decades, what makes you think the incompetent government and their useless agencies can enforce proper enforcement? All of you have been served lip service for years!

This bumbling transport minister another dungu, keep repeating “Oh we will take action against the company, bla bla bla”. Oi! Your JPJ, SPAD sleeping on the job cannot see ke?

• huatcouncil on Jul 13, 2016 at 7:49 pm

It’s not the number of inspections per year that matters, it’s the quality of the inspection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Anonymous on Jul 13, 2016 at 11:54 pm

Brother, do you know how many kms these buses travel per month? Say for example KL-JB, per day it will register at average 1000 km in mileage, in 30 days / a month it will definetly clock 30000 km, hence wear and tear of mechanical parts, increase the risk of these parts to fail. Even my regularly service car encountered brake pump problem. Average OEMs reccomended service interval for buses are at every 20000 km. You do the math. Don’t talk like you know everything quality of inspection etc. EU countries already required public service vehicles e.g. Buses to undertake vehicle inspection every months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Anonymous on Jul 14, 2016 at 12:05 am

*every 3 months

• The problem with these bashers is that they dun know about commercial vehicles. They think buses and trucks is like cars or at least like teksi. But the truth is far far from it.

Heavy vehicles have to go for every 6 mths puspakom inspection and like u said need regular service every 20~30k km. And yet these things still happen. It cud be mechanical problems or it cud be human problems. Accidents just happens. Automotive tech r still not bullet proof yet. Dun belip, just ask Tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…more frequent checking…but no eye see when detected…in the end also useless…Merry go round

• Heavy vehicles operators and public transport drivers must be given refresher courses. They also must be held up to a higher standards than normal drivers. Psychological evaluation and background checks must be conducted before licenses are awarded. Driving these vehicles is a very heavy responsiblity. Unfortunately we all have seen too frequently these HV drivers driving like maniacs bullying and endangering smaller vehicles. They seem to have this might-is-right mentality on the roads. The big guys should look out for small vehicle drivers like what is taught and followed in many developed countries. It’s only right. The question now is, will the authorities carry this out? Past experiences do not inspire optimism. So the mayhem is set to continue.

• Hmm, support mahacronies or support Najib?

• Rasheeq on Jul 13, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Practical approach is what needed. Enforce seat belt for all passengers seats and put camera in every bus over driver’s seat.

• system is there.. but will everybody follow and be sincere on that??

everytime got accident, talking about how many summon the company and driver have.. and later, revoke the license.. but if not accident happen.. nobody care

honestly, when this happen everybody blame driver?? blame the people at the end of hierarchy hahahahahah

• xoxox on Jul 14, 2016 at 8:51 am

the problem is…the authority only talk but never do and enforce it…just stfu if you not going to do anything but talk only..y the driver has so much summons and still can renew his license? tell me why!

• Alex Thomas on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:01 am

typical malaysian mentality, when something bad happens, implement this la, do that la, summon this la yada yada yada….after 3-4 months….it becomes like a piece of shit, chicken shit to be exact

• MOHD FUAD BIN MOHD NOR on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:19 am

this bus drive is good actually. no one died at this fatal….

• Sarjit Singh on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:54 am

A sorry state of our Ministers, always talk no action.
    When incident such as this happen only then action be taken. This could have been prevented if all checking etc. was done in order. Lackadasical attitude i may say. This not the first time, happened numerous times..Dah muak dah with such statements
    Malaysia Boleh…

• Mat Minum Kopi on Jul 14, 2016 at 10:43 am

The enforcement in Malaysia is real joke in Malaysia.

“Kopi power” over everything.
    “You help me, I help you”

Familiar?

• Das Auto on Jul 14, 2016 at 11:13 am

The law and regulation are there. The enforcement is there. The system is there. But we are still a third world country with services appropriate accordingly such as quality of service, maintenance, and pricing. We can be like those in developed countries but are we willing to pay the price accordingly?

• kitekite on Jul 14, 2016 at 11:43 am

just reminds me of one incident at genting a few years ago.. http://www.sinarharian.com.my/mobile/edisi/kelantan/miros-dedah-punca-tragedi-ngeri-bas-terjunam-gaung-1.215807

maybe they use the same FAQ answer..till the case suam2 kuku