MINI John Cooper Works Pro Edition launched – limited run of 20 units exclusive to Malaysia, RM256k

MINI JCW Pro Edition 01

MINI Malaysia has introduced the MINI John Cooper Works Pro Edition, a limited-edition run of 20 units that has been exclusively created for the Malaysian market.

Based on the F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door, the JCW Pro Edition features a number of accessories to help make it unique. The list is led by a JCW Pro aerodynamic kit (RM16,283) consisting of a front splitter, side skirts, rear bumper and rear spoiler, and the car sits on 18-inch JCW Pro cross-spoke light alloy wheels (RM14,858), finished in Jet Black.

The variant is further dressed up with JCW Pro wing mirror caps (RM690) and side scuttles (RM690), which match the side panels of the car. Red and black chequered roof graphics (RM650) complete the distinct look.

Mechanical changes are made up of the inclusion of a JCW Pro tuning kit, which consists of a performance-optimised engine update and a valve silencer system (RM10,000). The package is good enough to boost output on the base B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine from 192 hp to 211 hp. Torque is also bumped up to 300 Nm from the standard 280Nm seen on the Cooper S 5 Door.

chart-4

As for the exhaust flap system, this one offers two sonic modes. There’s Sport for a full sound to accompany everyday driving and Track, which offers backfire pops and cracking for added visceral appeal. Selection can be done wirelessly via two clicks of the Bluetooth 4.0 controller. Carbon tailpipe trim (RM3,000) apply a finishing visual touch.

The MINI JCW Pro Edition, which only comes in Midnight Black Metallic, is priced at RM255,888 on-the-road, without insurance. The performance-oriented offering comes with the MINI 4 Years Unlimited Mileage Warranty with free scheduled service.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Only a real fool will buy a kuci small junk like this for RM256k. Even current Mini owners regret. Initially they thought it was so cool and fell for the mini hype.

Now many Mini owners asking themselves, did I just buy a junk?

Mind you, a very good condition Porsche Carrera S, 2008 model, accident free and done about 30k km is going for RM220k.

Which do you think will excite you and onlookers? Porsche or junk Mini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 92
    • Get a life on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Says the person who can afford nither!

• I agree with you on this. Mini is just a hyped up junk. No value for money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • WhySoNegative?SpreadSomeLove on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:33 pm

MINI

• Buy Posh means buying VW, buying Mini means buying BMW.
      For same price, do u choose VW or BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Funkytown on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:53 pm

The thing is, people who buy Minis don’t care what you think. Just like how people who wear gold Rolexes don’t give af.

• ProtonMusnahBinasa on Jul 25, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Perodua bezza!

• Go ahead, buy an 8 year old Carrera. Your wallet will thank you in less than a year.

• Mangali Singh on Jul 25, 2016 at 2:51 pm

The 2008 Porsche owner was the real fool here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • nabill (Member) on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Maybe that amount of thumbs down will make him think twice b4 commenting nxt time.. Hes been spamming the site with lots of crap.. Im actually surprised he didnt drag down P1 with him to this topic… Bcos even if the topic was about nuclear powered submarines, he wil mention p1, rm1. 5bilion loan and bla bla bla… Godness gracious, its like our education system on show!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • Dude. He oso bash our education system and said he is superior to them. So who right leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • SammyNoValue on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:58 pm

An old Porsche = frequent visits to the workshop!

No thanks!

• eeeza on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:43 am

As a MINI owner, it was really difficult to read your senseless comment. I’ve had my R53 for 10 years and I’m still enjoying it every single day. You are just full of utter nonsense!

• torque on Jul 26, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Utter nonsense…please say that to the 20 buyer already take it in their face. Go now to any showroom and ask if you still could buy it. Some see Mini as collector’s items, may not be the greatest car but it has its own status and history. Think before you said or write anything…else the world will look you like a fool.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:21 pm

automatic JCW, epic fail…people that buy this car prolly some hotshot that got a promotion and big bonus….well after he bought this car, he became the joke of the office and he was stuck in the same position for 10 years..true story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Now, can buy brand new C200 for RM220k after getting 6% corporate discount. Go in style in a Mercedes or a BMW.

Now brand new 528i, BMW Malaysia clearing at RM270k.

• Bro. Kena thumbs down kau kau up there. Time for u to waste ur night to Like sendri

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:52 am

I dont mind kena thumbs down. To me, its not a game who gets thumbs down or up. Btw, the Driven Bezza article, you still hold the record, 640 dislikes.

• JB_KIA on Jul 25, 2016 at 12:31 pm

looks nice but AUTO???

• Jimmy on Jul 25, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Mini’s owner a lot of them already have at least a couple of vehicles in their garages; there are many such ‘mini-collectors’ ‘small-scaled collectors’ in Malaysia. If you regret, you don’t deserve a Mini.

How many of us here would like to own a made-in-Oxford sporty classic Mini with sunroof?

• EurotunerMotorsports on Jul 25, 2016 at 1:52 pm

The Mini brand is doing pretty badly in this country not because it is a piece of junk(after all, it does offer a superb handling experience only second to the Lotus Elise), but because of the astronomical price tag it carries for such a small car. For RM256k, cute looks aside, choosing a 320i or C200 would be a more sensible choice. These two compact executives would offer a lot more luxury and performance figures which is not miles apart from the Cooper S.

In my opinion, I’m pretty sure the mini brand would sell well if most of its cars were priced below RM200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Megane on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:55 pm

200k is still too expensive . 150-160k range makes more sense . ( wishful thinking )

• SammyNoValue on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:56 pm

The lad mentioned below 200k. Pls read carefully and not jump to conclusions

• C’mon man. This type of car should come with a manual box. If you want an auto go get a Golf or something.

• Megane on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:58 pm

This mini is mainly for urban use hence auto transmission . Of course manual is better but should be offered as an option but the requests will be too low to justify the offering . Be practical . I drive a manual Megane by the way .

• CommonSense on Jul 25, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Please dont compare a Limited edition car (any brand for that matter) to a 2008 model car.

• MINI for life on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Why is it still 4 years warranty, they should standardize to 5 years like the BMW all models since mini is being build by BMW !!

• Wan Q.D. Joshua on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Those who are ignorant about the product or price for a car, you should be more widely read and studied to ensure you are knowledgeable in giving own views on any car model. Happy motoring!

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 26, 2016 at 1:10 am

The sound from the exhaust system is very good, seen a couple of Cooper S with it and it’s a joy

• Just Bought It! on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:57 am

It depends on your wallet. Jangan jadi pak karut kalau tak mampu.