MINI 5 Door launched in M’sia – Cooper S, RM238,888

mini-5-door-launched-malaysia-2 690

Only half a year after it was first revealed to the world, the more-doored MINI has taken the Malaysian stage. A more practical cousin of the F56 MINI Hatch, the prosaically-named MINI 5 Door launches here in a sole Cooper S variant.

By way of a teaser, the car was recently treated to a tour of KL on the back of a mobile display unit, and is set to hit showrooms nationwide this weekend. Parallels may now be drawn between 5 Door/Hatch and Countryman/Paceman – although of course, the latter pair are spin-offs of the preceding R56 generation.

Measuring 4,005 mm long, 1,727 mm wide and 1,425 mm tall, with a 2,567 mm wheelbase, the MINI Cooper S 5 Door is 161 mm longer and 11 mm taller overall than its three-doored sister, while sitting on a 72 mm longer wheelbase.

MINI 5 Door launched in M’sia – Cooper S, RM238,888MINI 5 Door launched in M’sia – Cooper S, RM238,888

Above: F56 MINI Cooper hatch, below: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door

Two rear entrances are not the only extras you get – compared to the three-door, there’s 72 mm more room inside for your legs, 61 mm more for your elbows and 15 mm more for your head. No more frameless windows, too.

Standard equipment includes full-LED head, fog and tail lamps, LED DRLs, rear Park Distance Control, 205/45 run-flat tyres with 17-inch two-tone Roulette Spoke rims, plus auto lights and wipers.

The boot holds 278 litres – that’s 67 litres more than the three-door can manage. Fold the 60:40-split back seats down for 941 litres of cargo space. A variable boot floor allows you to configure the load space to fit more luggage, or to make it flush with the folded seats.

mini-5-door-launched-malaysia-2 670

Inside, you’ll find Leather Cross Punch Carbon Black-upholstered front sports seats amidst a Black Checkered- and Chrome Line-trimmed interior. Look above and you’ll see Anthracite headlining; look ahead and a JCW leather steering wheel with shift paddles and Chilli Red stitching greets you.

This Cooper S variant comes with a B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine that produces 192 hp and 280 Nm. Given a six-speed Sports auto, the vehicle sprints to 100 km/h from rest in 6.8 seconds before hitting a 230 km/h top speed. Thanks in part to an auto start-stop system, fuel consumption is a quoted 5.5 litres per 100 km, and CO2 emissions 129 grammes per km.

Gadgetry comprises MINI Connected for smartphone integration, a 6.5-inch MINI Visual Boost display with a five-key iDrive-style controller (not touch-sensitive), plus MINI Excitement as standard – this allows the instruments, door trim and centre console areas to illuminate. No GPS, so no Predictive Drivetrain. Suspension is a passive sports setup – no Electronic Damper Control.

A total of 11 body colours are available, including a MINI 5 Door-exclusive Electric Blue. Also, you can have your roof, mirror caps and bonnet stripes in white or black. Front, side and curtain airbags are standard, making six in total.

Fully-imported (CBU) from the UK, the MINI 5 Door is priced at RM238,888, OTR without insurance, placing it smack dab in the middle between the RM229k three-door Cooper S Hatch and RM249k three-door Cooper S Hatch with Wired option.

Included is a three-year/50,000 km MINI Service Inclusive programme. Read our review of the MINI 5 Door from Oxfordshire, England, or pore over all details and specifications on CarBase.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 10:46 am

WHat is the reason to choose MINI over a BMW 3 series?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • what is the reason to choose a Mini over anything at all is a better question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:25 am

I wonder who will be buying a Countryman after this.

• Whattttttttttttttttttt????????oh it’s Mini.ok.

• Kolkola on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:41 am

Better get Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:05 pm

better buy 1 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Crap, the price is sky high and there is not even an option to add in navigation nor adaptive dampers.

They’re priced it so nicely it fits together with a brand new BMW 320i, Infiniti Q50 & Audi A4 1.8 TFSI.

Also with that kind of interior space, the A3 2.0 TFSI Quattro suddenly becomes an option and that has 4WD drive…but hey its a Mini and I’m hip & cool so I don’t need all those other rides but my Mini only.

• although different segment/class, one still looks fleshy with the new Merc GLA. so why one with sanity would depart his hard earn money for this badly spec 5 doors hatch?
    Even thou I drive an X3, i am begining to have opinion on the way BMW specs its cars and charge us a premium.
    I am ditching BMW altogether in my next car purchase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • dr.terror on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:24 pm

does bmw 1series have better cabin space?

• blaster88 on Nov 12, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Hey, its a MINI. The resale value is one of the best even in Malaysia. I have to agree, a 320i or A4 is a better option but its a MINI. Do you need to sell it? the shape is iconic and even the R53 (1st Gen) looks good after more than 10 years….hence the good resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Can Do on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:26 pm

A mini should stay a mini. 5 doors mini does not appealto me. A sedan or 4 door car for that price, I’d go for 320i or A4 or a bit more for a c class. That’s just my opinion. RV is out of the door. In most cases, you lose a lot in any car that buy, whether mini or not.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:39 pm

which one is the eyesore here , the price tag or the 50,000 km warrenty ??

• applegreen on Nov 12, 2014 at 1:41 pm

238k for mini 5-door? better i get A3 1.8 ! But oh well, that price subaru wrx seems like better value! Bigger and faster at slightly cheaper price!

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 2:48 pm

When I saw the price, I was like, hmm, maybe it is well specced with the variable dampers and nav and HUD.

I was sorely disappointed. I’d rather get a 3 series at this point. And plus, why no 1.5 Cooper 5 door? I really wanted to try that cause a lot of people said how nice the 1.5 is actually…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Dude I’m still waiting for them to bring in the new Mini One with that awesome 1.2l turbo engine. Just dunno how they will price it…hopefully around RM140k to match the good old Beetle with decent spec.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 12, 2014 at 3:07 pm

They seriously named it the MINI 5-door…you’re paying that much money for it and they can’t even name it something that doesn’t sound like an afterthought or a placeholder.

Ah well, it’s a MINI.

• neemfa on Nov 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Wahh.. the rear seats look too upright!

• Rakyat on Nov 12, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Is the 1.5 Copper 5 door coming? Don’t force me to buy Axia or Iriz lol

• ispeaktruth on Nov 12, 2014 at 4:44 pm

and there you go ladies and gentlemen, broken heritage, legacy and everything you can name. thank you bmw.

• Gracke on Nov 13, 2014 at 12:14 am

Doesn’t it too over price for such car and it just only pay for the brand????

• bootupjoe on Nov 13, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Call it “Mega” instead of “Mini”….

• Wayne on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:20 pm

contact me to arrange MINI Cooper car test drvie.
    my contact number is 0132102976

our showroom at:
    Sime Darby Auto Bavaria Sdn Bhd
    362, Jalan Tun Razak,
    50400 Kuala Lumpur.